Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHECK MATE!!
A beautiful film and I totally agree with the other reviewer that you do not need to have an interest in Chess in order to enjoy this wonderful film. The film starts from the early moments of Bobby Fischer's career to the sad ending. To some people he came across as a strong-minded genius, whilst to others he came across as an arrogant, selfish egotistical individual...
Published on 28 Aug. 2011 by Darcy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A genius comes but once in a lifetime
Expensive for a DVD that lasts 1 1/2 hrs. However, it is obviously a 'niche' product, brought out by a small, specialist film company, so one can't complain. It is certainly interesting in that it gives an outline of Bobby Fischer's upbringing and his amazing chess playing skills. There was a lot of cutting to interviews with various professionals who knew him throughout...
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by S. Ahmad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHECK MATE!!, 28 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film and I totally agree with the other reviewer that you do not need to have an interest in Chess in order to enjoy this wonderful film. The film starts from the early moments of Bobby Fischer's career to the sad ending. To some people he came across as a strong-minded genius, whilst to others he came across as an arrogant, selfish egotistical individual. Whatever your views on Bobby, there is no denying that he loved his craft and dedicated every moment of his life to becoming the best Chess player of his era.

Ultimately, he lived the way he wanted too and made his own decisions, he did not conform to how society wanted him to act or behave. Whether that was his ultimate downfall, you will have to make up your own mind.

Finally, in an era where celebrity and fame are easily accessed, be prepared to watch a man live his passion and achieve success using his own determination, focus and drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting "Bio" documentary of Fischer, 26 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this via Netflix curious to learn more about the Chess legend of Bobby Fischer
The film covers his life from his childhood, the controversial matches and drama that followed, and his exile in Iceland where he remained until his death in 2008. The tile is quite apt for the flim passing a nod to Fischer's struggles and his single minded and sometimes rather eccentric personality.

Prior to watching this documentary I had very little knowledge of Fischer, bar some of his well known matches. I am not a Chess enthusiast just a passing interest in the game but still I found the film worth a watch and it gave me a broad knowledge of the man.

It has to be said though, the Chess element isn't explored in depth. Some of the well known matches are covered, but not really from a Chess experts perspective (if you are looking for a Fischer film on chess techniques and play then this isn't for you). It's a biography through and through.

Some fans might feel it doesn't portray Bobby Fischer in a very positive light. I would tend to agree in some ways, but it is quite obvious Fischer was a hugely talented, but a very complicated/troubled man who wrestled with many issues in his life many of which were not related to Chess at all. The historic events though are given fair coverage, Fischer's somewhat secluded personality is touched on, and we have a good collection of stock film archive material throughout his lifetime, as well as the well known matches with Spassky and others.

I enjoyed the film for what it offered, a look into the life of a troubled genius, it doesn't pull it's punches in telling his story (good and bad). Though it does celebrate some of his achievements in Chess, and credits Fischer with having a huge impact on the popularity of the game and broadening it's appeal. Even for non Chess fans the film is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Man Is An Island., 16 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
There is a lot to be said for Gareth Wood's question in his review when he asked; are documentaries just intended to provide people with information about the past that used to be common knowledge to anyone who was vaguely aware of the news?

If you are already aware of Fischer the man or are a fan of his chess, then I suspect this film is not going to offer you much in the way of additional insight. That said, those paying a first visit into his world should be delighted as it paints (albeit in the broadest brushstrokes possible) a compelling picture of a brilliant but ultimately broken individual.

Although the technical elements of his chess are largely sacrificed in the interests of producing a commercially viable film, it vividly communicates many elements of Fischer's unique physical attributes; the often commented upon swagger as he walked and the changing look in his eyes over the years from alert intelligence to a kind of tired pleading at the end are successfully rendered in film for all to see.

The documentary tries hard to not judge its subject although ultimately, it seems to arrive at the same conclusion that many who knew him also came to i.e. Bobby Fischer was a very troubled individual but in the end, his incredible chess talent acted as a portal into the game for an entire generation of devotees and for that we do owe him a huge debt of thanks. Respect for Fischer himself might be another matter entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough chess !, 21 May 2012
By 
dan S (suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
I was a keen chess player of 9 at the time of the Reykjavik 1972 World Chess Championship between Fischer and Spassky, and even at this age was drawn to the "Cold War' clash between the US and the USSR, between the brilliant newcomer and the World Champion. I remember reading chess books after the event, and took a slight but definite long term interest in a chess hero of my youth. I was always hoping he would return to chess, and watched his slide from sanity with sadness.
This DVD concentrates on the 1972 Reykjavik final, the 'Match of the Century', and then follows Fischer's life to his demise. So does the DVD capture the feel of that time? I think in large part it does. It is essentially a documentary with footage of the time, much of which I'd never seen. There are interviews with Fischer, which captures his single-mindedness, and total focus on chess throughout his early life. It also details his loss of sanity, and examines possible reasons for this. It contains interviews with those associated with chess and Fischer throughout his life. There is also detailed commentary on the 1972 match, with many of the games, and the shenanigans associated with the game arising from Fischer's game-playing/paranoia.
Personally, and with a hopeless chess bias, I would have liked greater commentary on the chess, but that is available elsewhere. Where this DVD works is as a portrait of a real genius, set against the backdrop of the Cold War, his incredible early successes, and finally the slide into madness often associated with such intense and isolated focus on a single field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
Before watching this I had merely heard the name Bobby Fischer and knew he had been a chess champion at some point. This film however corrected that by building a comprehensive picture of his life from cradle to grave and raised/answered the questions of what made him special and what made him crazy. Worth watching whether you're into chess or not. Great, but tragic, story of a highly flawed genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting more..., 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
after reading 'Bobby Fisher goes to War' I was expecting a similar documental narrating the 1972 World Chess Championship Match. I feel the document was very shallow. Did not go into interesting detail at all... maybe a good documental for non-chess players? I do not think so, they would get bored...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A genius comes but once in a lifetime, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
Expensive for a DVD that lasts 1 1/2 hrs. However, it is obviously a 'niche' product, brought out by a small, specialist film company, so one can't complain. It is certainly interesting in that it gives an outline of Bobby Fischer's upbringing and his amazing chess playing skills. There was a lot of cutting to interviews with various professionals who knew him throughout his life, and of course, extensive shots of him playing chess - in Reykjavik during the world championships and elsewhere. All in all, not exciting, but a glimpse into the mind of a genius: someone who is obsessive about perfecting his one skill, to the exclusion / detriment of everything / everyone else around him.

I noted that there was not much reference to his anti-semitic rantings and only a short passing reference to his outburst (in the Philippines, not in Japan) condoning the 9/11 attacks on New York. Which is a shame, because it would have given more of an insight into the whole person, and how a brilliant (single minded) mind can disintegrate into paranoia and withdrawal from the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very great documentary!, 20 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD]

Can just recommend this movie, even you are not playing chess. It is a drama being so highly talented ... and so highly isolated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
It's a good film about a great player. I still remember the big match in 1972. Nice Special Features. I just wish that the DVD had some subtitles. I don't expect danish subtitles(!) but it would be helpful with english. Playing time (for the film only) is 93 min.
The danish version (which I got in Denmark) only last 89 min (even though it says 92 min on the cover!), and I don't think that any scenes are missing. So maybe the English to Danish DVD transfer were speeded up by mistake??? My dvd-player is not broken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You are in check, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting and informative insight into the troubled mind of a chess playing genius and the rocky road he travelled.Life is not all black and white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD]
Bobby Fischer Against the World [DVD] by Liz Garbus (DVD - 2011)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews