Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb series. Highly recommended.
I haven't seen all of these episodes because I missed some on the TV, but they really show some of the world's rarest creatures in their natural habitat. All credit to a truly dedicated film crew. The Lost Land of the Volcano, filmed in Papua New Guinea was particularly interesting to watch with some excellent footage of birds of paradise and the scientists at work on the...
Published on 22 July 2011 by Discerning

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would like to have it on Blu-ray?
Having enjoyed several BBC releases on Blu-ray through the last years, I felt a little disappointed ordering now only a DVD set.
The more astonished I was watching familiar scenes (from BBC Earth Blu-rays) on "Tiger" and "Volcano".
These series had been published on Blu-ray in Germany few weeks ago as "Expedition Himalaja" and "Expedition Neuguinea" in a...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by U. Schulz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb series. Highly recommended., 22 July 2011
By 
Discerning - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen all of these episodes because I missed some on the TV, but they really show some of the world's rarest creatures in their natural habitat. All credit to a truly dedicated film crew. The Lost Land of the Volcano, filmed in Papua New Guinea was particularly interesting to watch with some excellent footage of birds of paradise and the scientists at work on the expedition. It has taken quite a while for this to be released on DVD but here it is at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of wildlife films, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I am so pleased that this fantastic collection has been put together on DVD - No longer shall I have to trawl iPlayer for repeats of this engaging series. These DVD's may not appeal to those who crave the glossy cinematic spectacular documentaries that the BBC are so good at making (Blue Planet, Life, etc) but for those of us who have spent blood, sweat and tears in the name of science and/or adventure, these films provide a captivating reminder of field studies passed and the excitement of seeing animals in their natural habitat. I would recommend this collection to anybody with an interest in travel, conservation and wildlife - and certainly to any of those who are interested in following a career in field research and documentary production (a good deal of each episode shows a behind-the-scenes warts-and-all look at wildlife documentary making).

A request to BBC - with the success of these DVD's could we please have a release of Expedition Borneo and Expedition Alaska, (the precursors to the "Lost Land..." series, and every bit as interesting and exciting) on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Land Collection, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This series of three wildlife documentaries in a way carries on from where Attenborough left off. The series is highly informative and a pure delight to watch. It is important to realise that the making of these films contribute to a dossier of documentation that is desperately trying to bid in favour of habitat conseravtuon in the areas explored. The surveys are thee contributing factors of environmental assessments presented to various governments around the world emphasising the very need to stop further exploits of destruction from ruining those ecosystems forever.
The films themselves are very much hands on, illustrating just what it takes to be in 'the field'. I suppose this style of wildlife documentary film is cutting edge with a class and genre all its own. Interaction of crew, field agents, terrain and wildlife are what make this style fresh and in a league all its own.
The package is sleek and stylish, highly colourful, easy to work around the menu board and certainly gets my 10 out of 10 recommendation. Surely the best DVD package I have purchased in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the lost lands, 2 Nov 2011
By 
C. A. Hopkins "Tina" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a set of DVDs that as a family we have been trying to get for a very long time.

Although all those taking part are very clever they tell you what is going on in such a way that you can understand every thing they are talking about. You find yourself crawling through logs and abseiling down waterfalls, the photography is superb and when they achieve something like finding a new species you find your as excited as them.

These DVDs are highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the lost land collection, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Saw all three of these expeditions on the BBC, and was totally blown away by them all. Not only are these programmes highlighting the immense importance these areas have in our World but also the devastating effects to us all if they are lost through logging etc...
To share in the magic that all the presenters bring to our screens, with their enthusiasm, and boundless energy is a real treat.
The photography/ filming is stunning and highlights to us all, what beautiful places we are blessed with on this planet.
A must for all nature/ wildlife fans, and great value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
what a amazing series theya are with some of the rarest animals in the world, i have been waiting ages for this to come on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top nature DVD, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. C. H. Bonham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great series on the TV, to have it on DVD is fantastic. If you want to see a different twist on nature and evolution that goes on all around us, yet we know little about it, this is for you!! My A level students will be watching the creatures of the Land of the Lost Volcano, evolution in action and close up too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. E. Thomson "jasper tiger" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Even if you are not a Steve Backshall fan, the other contributors are experts who not only know their subjects, but can put the information across in an interesting way. Well worth watching time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant documentary series at a bargain price, 31 Aug 2011
By 
A. Wilson (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fabulous production about three expeditions by a group of scientists and filmmakers to document flora and fauna of pristine areas of the world either at danger from logging or to help establish reserves for wildlife, in this case the Tiger. As a professional scientist who spends a considerable amount of time on field work in remote places of the world I can fully appreciate the trials and hardships which scientists undertake to observe nature. I think that G. Rodrigues (see review) has really missed the point of the series. Science is very much a human activity and this series is a great example of good science being done in the field by an adventurous group of scientists. Whilst it is likely that they have a good safety protocol in place, the dangers they expose themselves to, for example Steve Backshall climbing remote mountain peaks, are very real and life threatening. It is insightful to see honest emotions and experiences captured on film. I am really pleased to see that the BBC has finally made a documentary series about real scientists doing real science with excellent footage of newly discovered species. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb collection, 2 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Land Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a little gem of a nature collection. Split into 3 sections a team of expert scientists and cameramen make new discoveries about the natural world, venture into places that have never been seen before and discover new species that have never been recorded.

They are dedicated in their quest to preserve the natural world and work with local politicians to highlight how important it is for them to work towards protecting the wildlife in their countries.

What amazes me is that in such a short space of time, dozens of new animal and insects are recorded for the first time and they tread in places that have yet to be walked by mankind. It just reminds you that we probably know more about the surface of some planets than we do our very own.

If you are interested in natural world documentaries then this is one to watch as it is just that little bit different to most of what is out there. The pack has dropped to nearly half what I paid for it and I would say that it is a bargain at the current 8GBP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb51e2f60)

This product

The Lost Land Collection [DVD]
The Lost Land Collection [DVD] by Steve Backshall (DVD - 2011)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews