Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bash up the titans
Well, I've just got back from seeing Immortals at my local cinema, and, unlike the other reviewers (so far)...I loved it! The movie is basically a mash-up of 'Clash Of The Titans' and '300' (it even climaxes with our heroes defending a narrow pass from a huge army). There's plenty of slow-mo battle action, but on top of that there are several scenes when the gods descend...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by Peter Parker-Penn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire
This so called 'film' manages to fail on every level, including those previously unknown to exist. Its plot is weak, the acting is formulaic and predictable, as are the special effects. A poor attempt to replicate the style of 300. It deserves no stars. Even the lighting is so bad one can almost, but not quite, see nothing throughout the film. Had this film been 10...
Published 3 months ago by Miss S. O'Brien


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire, 22 April 2014
By 
Miss S. O'Brien (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
This so called 'film' manages to fail on every level, including those previously unknown to exist. Its plot is weak, the acting is formulaic and predictable, as are the special effects. A poor attempt to replicate the style of 300. It deserves no stars. Even the lighting is so bad one can almost, but not quite, see nothing throughout the film. Had this film been 10 minutes long it still would have dragged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Horrid Movie, 27 Aug 2012
By 
nje (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly horrid mess of a movie with no substance, no plot and no depth to the characters they serve up.
This is the type of movie that kills a genre that movies like 300 and Gladiator created.
The actors gave hollow, amateurish performances, the over stylised production falls flat on it's face (even in 3D) and the plot seems like it formulated by a bunch of movie execs.
Believe me, you will want to give this movie a miss.
It's got nothing original or interesting to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
The myth of Thyseas promised for an epic journey but failed to deliver.
Disjointed scenes covered by a mist of darkness means half the time you're not sure what's going on...
What's worse is that with no proper plot in place the whole thing is all over the place and despite some big names, the acting is very poor.

Leaves you to wonder how this ever got to the cinemas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars imortals, 2 April 2014
By 
Andrew Thomas "qashman6" (wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I BOUGHT THIS AS i love these type of films but there was something dodgey about it the film was shaking and not great like a blu-ray should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful. Waste of money. Don't bother!, 15 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortals [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen, and one of only a few I have switched off half way thru! Very disappointing and I would not recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CUT BEYOND BELIEF!!! AVOID!, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Endre Knutsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortals Limited Edition Steelbook (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The UK version of Immortals is CUT! DO NOT BUY THE UK VERSION!!! The movie rocks, but the UK Bluray version is cut heavily...Please do not bother with this release.
It`s money down the toilet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of derring do, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
Harmless gods and swords stuff.
No intellectual faculties required.
Nice easy film to watch.
liked John Hurt in it - he's always good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not watch - utter waste, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
No strong story simply people fighting. No where near the quality of 300. Poor act from Frideh Pinto and so the hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bash up the titans, 18 Nov 2011
Well, I've just got back from seeing Immortals at my local cinema, and, unlike the other reviewers (so far)...I loved it! The movie is basically a mash-up of 'Clash Of The Titans' and '300' (it even climaxes with our heroes defending a narrow pass from a huge army). There's plenty of slow-mo battle action, but on top of that there are several scenes when the gods descend from Mt Olympus to kick villain butt, including a fantastic climactic battle between Zeus and his fellow Olympians and the newly-freed Titans. If you enjoyed '300' you'll love these scenes as the fighting is brutal. I was surprised at how violent the film was. I thought I spotted one obvious cut (when Hyperion kills Cassander) and after checking the BBFC website it seems that the film was cut by 18 seconds to get a '15' certificate'. The BBFC website also states that 'An uncut 18 classification was available', so maybe we'll get an uncut version on Blu-Ray. The director, Tarsem, is famous for his visuals (he directed 'The Cell' and 'The Fall') and the film looks great, and after seeing Henry Cavill in action I can see why he has been cast as Superman. He actually bears quite a resemblance to Christopher Reeves. The 3D in the film seemed designed to create depth of field rather than shove things in your face, so I don't think you'll really be missing anything if you only see it in 2D. I've read that the movie studios think that audiences are too sophisticated to want to see gimmicky 3D, but frankly, if I'm paying extra to see a movie in that extra D, I expect more bangs for my buck (and more things whizzing out of the screen and over my head)!
If you accept Immortals for what it is-a fun 'popcorn' movie-you'll have a great time watching it. Hopefully it will do well, as the ending clearly sets up a possible sequel, which promises more of a focus on the war between the Gods, which could be epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor show, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortals [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love titan type films but this one was so slow it didnt hold my attention. At times it was so dark it was difficult to tell what was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Immortals Limited Edition Steelbook (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
Used & New from: 21.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews