Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars286
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 February 2014
Perhaps I am easily pleased but I found Immortals an enjoyable film to watch. The 3D effects were well judged, great photography, good choreography to the fight scenes and a cast who at least tried to be entertaining. I cannot comment as to the accuracy of the mythology surrounding the characters but if that was to be the main criteria, I would watch a documentary instead. If you are trying to build a 3D library, there are worse films you could purchase, and for just over eight quid, I think this is a bit of a bargain. Certainly a film I will watch again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2014
The myth of Thyseas promised for an epic journey but failed to deliver.
Disjointed scenes covered by a mist of darkness means half the time you're not sure what's going on...
What's worse is that with no proper plot in place the whole thing is all over the place and despite some big names, the acting is very poor.

Leaves you to wonder how this ever got to the cinemas...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
88 of 114 people found the following review helpful
on 10 March 2012
The UK version of Immortals is CUT! DO NOT BUY THE UK VERSION!!! The movie rocks, but the UK Bluray version is cut heavily...Please do not bother with this release.
It`s money down the toilet!
1818 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 27 August 2012
A truly horrid mess of a movie with no substance, no plot and no depth to the characters they serve up.
This is the type of movie that kills a genre that movies like 300 and Gladiator created.
The actors gave hollow, amateurish performances, the over stylised production falls flat on it's face (even in 3D) and the plot seems like it formulated by a bunch of movie execs.
Believe me, you will want to give this movie a miss.
It's got nothing original or interesting to offer.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
48 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2011
Well, I've just got back from seeing Immortals at my local cinema, and, unlike the other reviewers (so far)...I loved it! The movie is basically a mash-up of 'Clash Of The Titans' and '300' (it even climaxes with our heroes defending a narrow pass from a huge army). There's plenty of slow-mo battle action, but on top of that there are several scenes when the gods descend from Mt Olympus to kick villain butt, including a fantastic climactic battle between Zeus and his fellow Olympians and the newly-freed Titans. If you enjoyed '300' you'll love these scenes as the fighting is brutal. I was surprised at how violent the film was. I thought I spotted one obvious cut (when Hyperion kills Cassander) and after checking the BBFC website it seems that the film was cut by 18 seconds to get a '15' certificate'. The BBFC website also states that 'An uncut 18 classification was available', so maybe we'll get an uncut version on Blu-Ray. The director, Tarsem, is famous for his visuals (he directed 'The Cell' and 'The Fall') and the film looks great, and after seeing Henry Cavill in action I can see why he has been cast as Superman. He actually bears quite a resemblance to Christopher Reeves. The 3D in the film seemed designed to create depth of field rather than shove things in your face, so I don't think you'll really be missing anything if you only see it in 2D. I've read that the movie studios think that audiences are too sophisticated to want to see gimmicky 3D, but frankly, if I'm paying extra to see a movie in that extra D, I expect more bangs for my buck (and more things whizzing out of the screen and over my head)!
If you accept Immortals for what it is-a fun 'popcorn' movie-you'll have a great time watching it. Hopefully it will do well, as the ending clearly sets up a possible sequel, which promises more of a focus on the war between the Gods, which could be epic.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 2 March 2014
Harmless gods and swords stuff.
No intellectual faculties required.
Nice easy film to watch.
liked John Hurt in it - he's always good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Too much violence but from all these movies on ancient greek mythology, this stands out a little bit more!
I am using it for my thesis, so this is why I watched it and I enjoyed it more than the other films I'm watching!
I would say give it a try, it is not there to amaze you but you will have some good time!

I don't recommend it if you hate violence, at times I had to look away!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Despite the other reviews, I quite enjoyed this one. I do admit it is not the best movie I have ever seen, but I did like it. The 3D effect is really good. Also I thought that the performance of Henry Cavill was pretty good. I could not make up my mind about buying this at first, then I found it on Amazon Warehouse Deals for £8.51 & that made up my mind. I recommend give it a try.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 4 April 2014
No strong story simply people fighting. No where near the quality of 300. Poor act from Frideh Pinto and so the hero.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 25 August 2012
No pulse because the heart is missing, in the sense that you don't really care for the characters or see the arc as they develop. Whatever you might think of Clash of the Titans (COTT) they at least attempted that. There is no tension and scenes pale in comparison to other films - LOTR: Helms Deep compared to the Great Wall here just one of many you can make. Mickey Rourke hams it while trying to be quietly menacing failing where Stellan Skarsgård prevails in "King Arthur" as Cerdic.

Pains me to say this as I loved him in "The Tudors" but Henry Cavill's performance is mainly done by his physique. He is not given a script, or the time , to show an emotional performance. It does seem that he is overwhelmed with the lead role. He can do better, but he really is not given the chance to do so here before we head off for the next cut and thrust.

So does the action and bravado make up for it, like it did in 300? Sadly not because it's too quick, save for the Titans V Gods and the final showdown, when they remember to draw it out for some belated tension. No cinematography, seems CGI ruled that out. Rather this is action porno of the limp kind. If you want that (and the five star reviews seem to love this of Immortals) then I would recommend Ninja for the blood lust.

I'd almost recommend anything else to watch but this film. Not because it's terrible but because it's annoying when you've seen other films pull it off so much better. Hence me wanting to give it 2.5/5. It does not deserve a 3 because this is an average effort.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Clash of the Titans (Blu-ray + DVD) [Region Free]
Clash of the Titans (Blu-ray + DVD) [Region Free] by Sam Worthington (Blu-ray - 2010)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.