Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Shocking - Great Entertainment!
Viewers who saw the first two installments of Whitechapel will appreciate that there is a significant change in format this time round. Whereas the first two series were three part stories based on Jack the Ripper and The Kray Twins respectively, this time round we have three two part stories. Additionally these investigations are based much more loosely on historical...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Brett H

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
I really like this show but cannot buy DVD's without subtitles. Can you explain why the TV series has subtitles and the DVD's don't? For those of us with reduced hearing (and even more so for someone like my father who couldn't hear at all), these DVD's are worthless!
Published on 14 May 2012 by J. Baybusky


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Shocking - Great Entertainment!, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Viewers who saw the first two installments of Whitechapel will appreciate that there is a significant change in format this time round. Whereas the first two series were three part stories based on Jack the Ripper and The Kray Twins respectively, this time round we have three two part stories. Additionally these investigations are based much more loosely on historical crimes than the first two series. I imagine this is because the Ripper and the Krays are the only two major criminal activities in the Whitechapel area which most viewers will be familiar with.

It is easy to see why this change has come about. Whitechapel was probably intended as a one off, but following its resounding success there was a lot of pressure to come up with a follow up. What we got was a farfetched tale involving clones of the Krays which stretched credibility to extremes. The powers that be clearly appreciated that this time the format had to move on. The result actually works rather well. The historical crimes are still real - you can google the Ratcliff Highway Murders , the Thames Torso Murders or the various masked murderer crimes mentioned on the show, and get the details. The fact that the crimes being investigated are more loosely based on these events makes for a much more realistic story line as opposed to the straight copycat replication of the earlier series.

I thought that the three stories each worked although my personal favorite was the last of the three which was dark and shocking with a substantial sting in the tail. It certainly makes for good if not compulsive TV viewing. One thing I do not think is necessary though is for parts of the filming to be in the semi dark. I presume this is to conjure up visions of the atmospheric Whitechapel of the 1800s, but personally I thought it was unnecessary and did not add anything apart from straining the eyes. However, again Rupert Penry-Jones and Philip Davis put up a convincing performance as DI Chandler and DS Miles, and in the background is Edward Buchan, played by Steve Pemberton, the Ripper and Kray expert, whose knowledge clearly extends to other crimes of the Victorian era as he beavers away in the archives.

I do hope we get more of Whitechapel, and in its new format I imagine there is much more scope to produce additional episodes. I would think the only limitation is if they feel they have to keep seeking out gruesome real life crimes to base it all on, but I really do not see why they should not make up a few of their own if they are struggling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, 8 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Stumbled unto this show through an associate that moved to the U.S. I think the characters are well played, the script is thoughtful and the quality of the film is excellent. I could only which for such a show as this here! Thank God for multiregion DVD players!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of the series I was pleased to see its return and I think overall its still got to be one of the best police detective dramas there is.The acting is on top form as usual with all the main characters having there own personal demons to cope with which I think gives the characters that slight edge on other police detective programs and also I must say there is still no holding back on the gruesome scenes. All the stories were gripping with the usual twists and turns and I must say overall I really did enjoy watching this series and I hope that there will be more in the future.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitechapel, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favorite progammes on the box. The stories are not suitable for nervous people. Good acting and good scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is very good and excellent drama to watch. I look forward to ordering the next season very soon.

Shirley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story but a bit creepy, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I already own Whitechapel series 1 & 2. I loved series 1 following a modern Jack the Ripper, thought series 2 was pretty decent with the Krays and think series 3 is good but creepy with this (unnamed) serial killer. In my opinion series 3 better than 2 but not as good as 1. The story follows a murderer that seems unconnected with his victims. They are very gruesome crimes which the the team headed by DCI Chandler tris to solve with the guidance of historical crimes. There is a new character in the form of an over efficient female DCI from a neighboring borough who consults on the case. One of the weirdest things about this series is the little odd flashbacks throughout the episodes. Right until the end you cannot work out what they actually are. I found them seriously annoying and distracting to the story line. I hope there will be a series 4 which I will buy straight away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHITECHAPEL - SERIES 3 (DVD), 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this series, very watchable! Acting excellent as was the story lines!! Will definately buy further series so keep on making them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting even better!, 19 April 2012
By 
A. J. Pomfret "Tony Pomfret" (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Bring together a team of excellent actors & actresses, mix in superb script writing and the dramatic backdrop of a part of London associated with so much history and you have a recipe for success. In this third series, we see the characters, some complex and disturbed, develop. The story lines are exceptional. I thoroughly recommend these series, but do watch in sequence to the heart-wrenching end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crime and Refurbishment, 14 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Whitechapel is not the nicest area to live in, but despite its reputation of being the home of Jack the Ripper, there are few murders there in modern London. However, `Whitechapel' wouldn't have you believe this, as the series returns for a third outing. This time as 3 separate 2 episode cases, rather than the 3 part adventures of season 1 and 2. Whilst season 1 was an excellent and dark take on gritty crime action, as the team took on the memory of Jack the Ripper, Season 2's Kray brother storyline was far weaker. To survive any longer the show had to be shaken up, and thankfully they have been.

The core of what makes the show tick is still present; Rupert Penry-Jones as the uptight DI Chandler and Philip Davis as his more down to earth DI. The first season saw more of a triangle of leads with Steve Pemberton's bookish historian Buchan playing a vital role in discovering the truth. For season 3 he is moved into the police station and given a permanent role as police historian. Rather than increasing his worth in the show, it actually detracts from it. He seems to have less to do and has become as much a side character as the various coppers that make up the team.

It is not the change in character dynamics that makes Season 3 of `Whitechapel' the best yet, but the episode structure. There are three separate stories, each taking up two episode; similar to `Sherlock's 3 feature length episode a series. This makes the show a lot punchier as the time between the initial crime and the capture is reduced. Also the episodes are based on less famous criminal cases and can therefore break free from any historical ties. With three impressively pacy and thrilling storylines, `Whitechapel' is going from strength to strength. A slight rethink of Pemberton's role in Season 4 could make this the ITV version of the must see `Sherlock'. As it is, `Whitechapel' pales slightly in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 14 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this show but cannot buy DVD's without subtitles. Can you explain why the TV series has subtitles and the DVD's don't? For those of us with reduced hearing (and even more so for someone like my father who couldn't hear at all), these DVD's are worthless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD]
Whitechapel - Series 3 [DVD] by S.J. Clarkson (DVD - 2012)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews