Customer Reviews


457 Reviews
5 star:
 (275)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Andrea Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by PhilipStirups


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!, 25 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some very sweet moments where the boys' innocence in genuinely touching. Older viewers will love the memories the film brings back of first holidays abroad, drunken kisses and teenage infatuation. It's a feel-good, nostalgic film that we can all relate to. I left the cinema with a great big smile on my face and I would definitely watch this again.

**Note: I hadn't seen an episode of the Inbetweeners before watching this film, but I'm glad I didn't let this deter me because it did not spoil any enjoyment of the film one iota. So if you have yet to see an episode of the Inbetweeners, do still go and watch this as it's a good introduction to what is an undoubtedly great series (I've since ordered the box set!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not up the standard of the fantastic TV series, 29 Feb 2012
From modest beginnings on E4, "The Inbetweeners" became - in my view - one of the greatest British TV comedies of recent years. If you'd ever been a teenager in suburbia, you could relate to Will, Simon, Jay and Neil's ham-fisted efforts to get drunk, impress girls and navigate their hormonal way through sixth form.

The transition to the big screen brings a few moments of sheer comedy gold, such as the hilarious nightclub dance and hotel pool scenes, but the movie generally doesn't have the same wit or invention as the TV series. Whereas the TV episodes were short, sharp and usually ended with the boys' failure and humiliation, the movie is drawn-out and sentimental, and a happy ending is telegraphed from early on.

The film's plot, which revolves around the group's encounters (and growing bond) with four holidaying girls, doesn't really convince. The girls themselves are well played, but their interest in the boys - despite the latter's charmless, gauche and sometimes obnoxious behaviour - beggars belief. None of the romantic possibilities in the series were ever so forgiving, and four attractive girls on holiday in a party resort are hardly going to hang around after being ignored and offended. Elsewhere, the main 'villain' of the piece (a nasty club rep) doesn't get enough screen time or play a coherent role, and Simon's tedious obsession with Carli is overdone. A couple of amusing cameos from sociopathic teacher Mr Gilbert simply remind you how much better the series was.

While the story allows the boys to mature a little - even Jay gets a poignant scene when he realises that he and Simon will soon go their separate ways - I had the feeling that none of the lads travelled far enough along their character arc to justify the movie's upbeat conclusion.

Overall, despite its weaknesses, this is a nice postscript to "The Inbetweeners" that will entertain fans. Sure, it's lewd, it's crude and it's unsophisticated, but the movie's depiction of teenage boys, and their typical drunken holiday antics, is faithful and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem! Very funny, original, and entertaining, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Being an Inbetweeners fan, having watched every episode aired, and owning all three series. I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Since we all know, from past accusations, the TV programme to cinematic film format hasn't gone quite to plan, almost pretty much most of the time.

However, when I went to go see this at the cinema, I was entertained for a whole 90 minutes, and you should expect to be entertained! Despite paying for incredibely expensive tickets just to watch a film! Although, to most reviewers claiming 'It wasn't as good as the television series'. I beg to differ! The film was altered from the television series to make sure that the people who hadn't heard of or viewed the TV series could still relate to the film. Raise your expectations with this film, because it may appear as 'one extra long episode' to some, however I thought it was a great addition to the finale of the series.

The writers, especially, showed the true friendship between these boys, their individual personality and development still intact. The comical and the emotional journey of becoming an adult and dealing with rejection, these characters have learnt from, without changing who they really are inside.

Overall, to sum up this review. A very funny, rude, crude, light hearted and comical film, which truly redefines and lives up to E4's greatest television sitcom ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dogs Balearics..., 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to write a review which is pretty much long winded drivel, like the the reviewers giving this movie 1 & 2 stars.

You just need to know that this movie is awesome. It wasn't in Number 1 spot for over 6 weeks for being poor, was it?

Exactly.

If you love The Inbetweeners series, then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling it straight, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I'm aggravated by the minority who rated it 1 or 2 star, I can only imagine these people have no sense of humour or just feel the need to pick on a successful film. I can imagine you watched or are about to watch this film for the fact you enjoyed the series? Well congrats to you because your about to endure the 90 minute version! Whether it feels like a film or just an extended episode is neither here nor there really as it's a fun, uplifting, hillarious, touching and if your having a bad day this is bound to cheer you up!!

I can only hope for a second..

Brilliant, Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the writers pulled it off. (snigger), 28 Dec 2011
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It was always going to be difficult to translate a much loved half hour series into a 90 minute special without any boring/slow bits. However, having watched this film last night, I would say the writers definitely succeeded in writing a script that had everything.

This is a final fling and goodbye to the four boys, knowing there are no more series to come and that there is nowhere else they can go with this. It's a fitting finale. There are several strands to the story, and appearances from many of the supporting characters such as the lads' parents, Mr Gilbert, Head of Sixth Form, and Carly D'Amato, love of Simon's Life. Mr Gilbert's end of term address is beautifully abusive and obnoxious, as we have come to expect.

This is certainly a rite of passage movie, with several gross out moments, brilliant one liners and some poignant moments even. We see a vulnerable side to Liar Liar Pants on Fire Jay, Neil shows a flair for the older ladies ("dinner ladies"), Will ends up being almost the cool one, and Simon grows up and smells the coffee.

There are baddies, a poo scene, a bevvy of slutty lovelies, a quadrant of nice girls,a boat party and a smattering of vomit. There's also a "blink and you'll miss it" cameo from 6ft 8 Mr Gilbert at the end on a quad bike, and some truly amateur dancefloor scenes that will leave you cringing.

Oh, it's funny too. My husband and I even screamed at the screen a few times with our hands over our mouths shouting No! No!

Overall, recommended and a fitting end to a brilliant series.

PS Inbetweeners Trivia- Antony Head (from Buffy, Gold Blend and the Prime Minister in Little Britain) makes a cameo at the start and it's his daughter, Emily Head, who plays Carly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SO funny, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It was with great trepidation that I approached this film. When someone tries to turn a television series into a film there are usually groans all round as fans prepare themselves for the on-screen slaughtering of their (soon to be ex) favourite show. However, fans of The Inbetweeners have nothing to worry about because this is genuinely one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.

Essentially, school's out for Will, Simon, Jay and Neil, and their lives as adults are just beginning. It's been a rough last week of term for all the boys as Jay's grandfather dies, Simon is dumped by Carli and Will discovers that his father has unexpectedly married his much younger mistress. In order to pull his friends out of the depression that they've sunken into, Neil decides to book the boys a holiday to Malia, Crete. So, the boys set out for 'two weeks of sun, sea, booze, minge, fanny and sex and tits and booze and sex', but of course, things don't exactly go to plan.

Personally, I hate it when producers try desperately to hang onto a television show that has run its course. Thankfully, in the case of The Inbetweeners, viewers across Britain were devastated at the end to such a brilliantly funny television series and I think that in itself is a huge part of this movie's success. Almost every single Inbetweeners fan rushed down to the cinema at the end of the summer to see this movie, hoping for anything even vaguely amusing to satiate the withdrawal symptoms that had developed after the end to this series, and they were rewarded. The Inbetweeners Movie is pure class comedy and had me in hysterics from the beginning to the end. I thought that perhaps the jokes would be a bit dry and and a bit of a flop really, especially since the boys have moved away from their usual scene and ventured abroad, but I was proven wrong as this film was just as funny, if not funnier, than the original television series.

The acting was absolutely brilliant - as expected. The cast of The Inbetweeners are absolutely brilliant and are probably what I would call some of Britain's finest young talent. A holiday in Malia really was the perfect place for Jay as it gave him so much opportunity to brag about how much he knows about women and James Buckley captured his character perfectly. Jay probably undergoes the biggest development and change of character and thanks to James Buckley it was a smooth transition and seemed perfectly natural. Simon Bird brought all of Will's sarcasm and wit across the ocean with him to make him the funniest that he's ever been. Blake Harrison's dance skills are now known by all teenagers in Britain as he showcased his brilliant and funny moves across the clubs in Malia. Joe Thomas did not disappoint with his bizarely spiked hair and Simon's pathetic persona. It was nice to see Simon finally grow a pair and stop being a blundering fool. In addition, we saw a different side to all of the boys as they develop throughout the film and finally become men at the end. It was a perfect end to the Inbetweeners, though it's a shame to see it go.

(By the way, if I've counted correctly, I saw a total of three penises in this movie, none of which are particularly attractive so - Beware!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. Morrison (uk, berwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good fun film, stil dont think its as funny as the tv show, somthing is missing dont know what, but the comedy is still there and there is some definate laugh out loud moments in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Enjoyable - Even if You Don't Watch the Show, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Elk2011 "Elk2011" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Having never watched "The Inbetweeners" TV series, I wasn't particularly looking forward to watching this movie - but as my family were I gave it a go and while I wouldn't say it was the best movie I've ever seen, I can't deny it was enjoyable for the most part.

The movie follows the boys on a holiday to the Crete, with the rather obvious objective of having as much sex as possible. As it turns out, they spend the whole time working their dubious charms on the same 4 girls with varying degrees of success. The other sub-plot is around Will trying to win back his girlfriend Carly who happens to also be in Crete with her new holiday fling.

For me there are parts of the movie which are comic genius, the main one being the fantastic dancing scenes at the nightclubs. But there's also a lot of crude humour such as the vomiting which just didn't appeal to me and I ended up just looking away from.

As someone who hadn't seen any of the characters in action before, I did particular enjoy Simon's character and also thought that Lydia Rose Bewley as Jane was fantastic comedy value.

Overall I enjoyed this movie for its slapstick humour, although some bits are clearly better than others. Unless you find crude humour very unpleasant then chances are you'll enjoy this for one for it's simple comedy and fun characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Thye film itself is fantastic and a must see especially if you liked the TV series. Great value for money and excellent service, very quick and no hassle at all. Myself and my teenage son could not stop laughing through the whole film.5/5 excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD]
The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] by Ben Palmer (DVD - 2011)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews