Customer Reviews


644 Reviews
5 star:
 (415)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some...
Published on 25 Aug. 2011 by Andrea Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by PhilipStirups


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some very sweet moments where the boys' innocence in genuinely touching. Older viewers will love the memories the film brings back of first holidays abroad, drunken kisses and teenage infatuation. It's a feel-good, nostalgic film that we can all relate to. I left the cinema with a great big smile on my face and I would definitely watch this again.

**Note: I hadn't seen an episode of the Inbetweeners before watching this film, but I'm glad I didn't let this deter me because it did not spoil any enjoyment of the film one iota. So if you have yet to see an episode of the Inbetweeners, do still go and watch this as it's a good introduction to what is an undoubtedly great series (I've since ordered the box set!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the writers pulled it off. (snigger), 28 Dec. 2011
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It was always going to be difficult to translate a much loved half hour series into a 90 minute special without any boring/slow bits. However, having watched this film last night, I would say the writers definitely succeeded in writing a script that had everything.

This is a final fling and goodbye to the four boys, knowing there are no more series to come and that there is nowhere else they can go with this. It's a fitting finale. There are several strands to the story, and appearances from many of the supporting characters such as the lads' parents, Mr Gilbert, Head of Sixth Form, and Carly D'Amato, love of Simon's Life. Mr Gilbert's end of term address is beautifully abusive and obnoxious, as we have come to expect.

This is certainly a rite of passage movie, with several gross out moments, brilliant one liners and some poignant moments even. We see a vulnerable side to Liar Liar Pants on Fire Jay, Neil shows a flair for the older ladies ("dinner ladies"), Will ends up being almost the cool one, and Simon grows up and smells the coffee.

There are baddies, a poo scene, a bevvy of slutty lovelies, a quadrant of nice girls,a boat party and a smattering of vomit. There's also a "blink and you'll miss it" cameo from 6ft 8 Mr Gilbert at the end on a quad bike, and some truly amateur dancefloor scenes that will leave you cringing.

Oh, it's funny too. My husband and I even screamed at the screen a few times with our hands over our mouths shouting No! No!

Overall, recommended and a fitting end to a brilliant series.

PS Inbetweeners Trivia- Antony Head (from Buffy, Gold Blend and the Prime Minister in Little Britain) makes a cameo at the start and it's his daughter, Emily Head, who plays Carly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem! Very funny, original, and entertaining, 9 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Being an Inbetweeners fan, having watched every episode aired, and owning all three series. I wasn't quite sure what to expect. Since we all know, from past accusations, the TV programme to cinematic film format hasn't gone quite to plan, almost pretty much most of the time.

However, when I went to go see this at the cinema, I was entertained for a whole 90 minutes, and you should expect to be entertained! Despite paying for incredibely expensive tickets just to watch a film! Although, to most reviewers claiming 'It wasn't as good as the television series'. I beg to differ! The film was altered from the television series to make sure that the people who hadn't heard of or viewed the TV series could still relate to the film. Raise your expectations with this film, because it may appear as 'one extra long episode' to some, however I thought it was a great addition to the finale of the series.

The writers, especially, showed the true friendship between these boys, their individual personality and development still intact. The comical and the emotional journey of becoming an adult and dealing with rejection, these characters have learnt from, without changing who they really are inside.

Overall, to sum up this review. A very funny, rude, crude, light hearted and comical film, which truly redefines and lives up to E4's greatest television sitcom ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Telling it straight, 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I'm aggravated by the minority who rated it 1 or 2 star, I can only imagine these people have no sense of humour or just feel the need to pick on a successful film. I can imagine you watched or are about to watch this film for the fact you enjoyed the series? Well congrats to you because your about to endure the 90 minute version! Whether it feels like a film or just an extended episode is neither here nor there really as it's a fun, uplifting, hillarious, touching and if your having a bad day this is bound to cheer you up!!

I can only hope for a second..

Brilliant, Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not up the standard of the fantastic TV series, 29 Feb. 2012
From modest beginnings on E4, "The Inbetweeners" became - in my view - one of the greatest British TV comedies of recent years. If you'd ever been a teenager in suburbia, you could relate to Will, Simon, Jay and Neil's ham-fisted efforts to get drunk, impress girls and navigate their hormonal way through sixth form.

The transition to the big screen brings a few moments of sheer comedy gold, such as the hilarious nightclub dance and hotel pool scenes, but the movie generally doesn't have the same wit or invention as the TV series. Whereas the TV episodes were short, sharp and usually ended with the boys' failure and humiliation, the movie is drawn-out and sentimental, and a happy ending is telegraphed from early on.

The film's plot, which revolves around the group's encounters (and growing bond) with four holidaying girls, doesn't really convince. The girls themselves are well played, but their interest in the boys - despite the latter's charmless, gauche and sometimes obnoxious behaviour - beggars belief. None of the romantic possibilities in the series were ever so forgiving, and four attractive girls on holiday in a party resort are hardly going to hang around after being ignored and offended. Elsewhere, the main 'villain' of the piece (a nasty club rep) doesn't get enough screen time or play a coherent role, and Simon's tedious obsession with Carli is overdone. A couple of amusing cameos from sociopathic teacher Mr Gilbert simply remind you how much better the series was.

While the story allows the boys to mature a little - even Jay gets a poignant scene when he realises that he and Simon will soon go their separate ways - I had the feeling that none of the lads travelled far enough along their character arc to justify the movie's upbeat conclusion.

Overall, despite its weaknesses, this is a nice postscript to "The Inbetweeners" that will entertain fans. Sure, it's lewd, it's crude and it's unsophisticated, but the movie's depiction of teenage boys, and their typical drunken holiday antics, is faithful and amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. R. Morrison (uk, berwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good fun film, stil dont think its as funny as the tv show, somthing is missing dont know what, but the comedy is still there and there is some definate laugh out loud moments in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 21 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Thye film itself is fantastic and a must see especially if you liked the TV series. Great value for money and excellent service, very quick and no hassle at all. Myself and my teenage son could not stop laughing through the whole film.5/5 excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 20 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny film - well worth watching but probably not with your parents! I had not seen the Inbetweeners before so did not know what to expect and did not think it would be something I would enjoy. How wrong I was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Brilliant., 6 Jan. 2012
By 
S. Brown (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, the digital copy is terrible! The film though, was almost brilliant. It was essentially just a long episode of the television series, which should have been a good thing! However, I felt that it just ran out of steam in parts, where the television series didn't. There was about an episode's worth of laughs in there, just spread out into an hour and a half. Not only that, it was so incredibly cringe-worthy in parts though, even more so than the television series! Despite that though, it was a really good film, which was hilarious and a fitting end to a great series. If you like inbetweeners then you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen counterpart. The film which barely touches 90 minutes, manages to maintain the crude and honest humour that made the Inbetweeners, but in some ways, the whole premise is of the programme is contextual- i.e. set in a school environment. Going abroad means the quirky and unique programme is stripped (literally in some parts) of its magic.

Enjoyable, but not the same as the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD]
The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] by Ben Palmer (DVD - 2011)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews