Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the writers pulled it off. (snigger)
It was always going to be difficult to translate a much loved half hour series into a 90 minute special without any boring/slow bits. However, having watched this film last night, I would say the writers definitely succeeded in writing a script that had everything.

This is a final fling and goodbye to the four boys, knowing there are no more series to come and...
Published on 28 Dec. 2011 by sam155

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by PhilipStirups


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the writers pulled it off. (snigger), 28 Dec. 2011
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It was always going to be difficult to translate a much loved half hour series into a 90 minute special without any boring/slow bits. However, having watched this film last night, I would say the writers definitely succeeded in writing a script that had everything.

This is a final fling and goodbye to the four boys, knowing there are no more series to come and that there is nowhere else they can go with this. It's a fitting finale. There are several strands to the story, and appearances from many of the supporting characters such as the lads' parents, Mr Gilbert, Head of Sixth Form, and Carly D'Amato, love of Simon's Life. Mr Gilbert's end of term address is beautifully abusive and obnoxious, as we have come to expect.

This is certainly a rite of passage movie, with several gross out moments, brilliant one liners and some poignant moments even. We see a vulnerable side to Liar Liar Pants on Fire Jay, Neil shows a flair for the older ladies ("dinner ladies"), Will ends up being almost the cool one, and Simon grows up and smells the coffee.

There are baddies, a poo scene, a bevvy of slutty lovelies, a quadrant of nice girls,a boat party and a smattering of vomit. There's also a "blink and you'll miss it" cameo from 6ft 8 Mr Gilbert at the end on a quad bike, and some truly amateur dancefloor scenes that will leave you cringing.

Oh, it's funny too. My husband and I even screamed at the screen a few times with our hands over our mouths shouting No! No!

Overall, recommended and a fitting end to a brilliant series.

PS Inbetweeners Trivia- Antony Head (from Buffy, Gold Blend and the Prime Minister in Little Britain) makes a cameo at the start and it's his daughter, Emily Head, who plays Carly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's that box set...?!, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly one of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. It boasts a great cast and it is wickedly funny but without ever being 'too' repulsive and offensive - a great achievement considering it's a 'lads' comedy.

I laughed out loud on a number of occasions but the film does more than make you laugh: without giving too much away, there were some very sweet moments where the boys' innocence in genuinely touching. Older viewers will love the memories the film brings back of first holidays abroad, drunken kisses and teenage infatuation. It's a feel-good, nostalgic film that we can all relate to. I left the cinema with a great big smile on my face and I would definitely watch this again.

**Note: I hadn't seen an episode of the Inbetweeners before watching this film, but I'm glad I didn't let this deter me because it did not spoil any enjoyment of the film one iota. So if you have yet to see an episode of the Inbetweeners, do still go and watch this as it's a good introduction to what is an undoubtedly great series (I've since ordered the box set!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film which lived up to expectations, but not a lot more, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I was really desperate to see this film at the cinema when it came out, but for some reason or another didn't get around to it. Being a huge fan of the Inbetweeners, I knew I would like the film. And like it I did. But whereas the episodes in the series are 25 minutes long, and have an extremely high laugh-out-loud ratio, this wasn't replicated by its big-screen counterpart. The film which barely touches 90 minutes, manages to maintain the crude and honest humour that made the Inbetweeners, but in some ways, the whole premise is of the programme is contextual- i.e. set in a school environment. Going abroad means the quirky and unique programme is stripped (literally in some parts) of its magic.

Enjoyable, but not the same as the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Brilliant., 6 Jan. 2012
By 
S. Brown (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, the digital copy is terrible! The film though, was almost brilliant. It was essentially just a long episode of the television series, which should have been a good thing! However, I felt that it just ran out of steam in parts, where the television series didn't. There was about an episode's worth of laughs in there, just spread out into an hour and a half. Not only that, it was so incredibly cringe-worthy in parts though, even more so than the television series! Despite that though, it was a really good film, which was hilarious and a fitting end to a great series. If you like inbetweeners then you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars in-between good and great, 18 May 2012
By 
bizmandan (staffordshire, england) - See all my reviews
Let's be honest, there aren't many great UK youth movies out there, it is something that I have to begrudgingly admit that the Americans do a lot better. So hats off, then, to The Inbetweeners Movie, because it has managed to put it's self out there with the panache of a Yank flic but with the fundamental feel of the best of Brit comedy. If you have Kevin & Perry Go Large in your head, forget it. This is much closer to Superbad... but with more jokes about lady parts.

What I really love about this movie, when looking at it from a production side of things, is that it is essentially just a feature length inbetweeners episode. I hate it when a TV show is made into a movie and all sorts of "improvements" are made, but in this movie we have the same cast, same feel, same dirty old jokes. Happily though, you can see that some money has been spent on this film, but not in the way that the production values have got in the way of the story, or mythos of the TV show, which it so often can with this sort of film.

From the direction and editing side of the film, one thing that stood out for me is that there are so many strategic uses of slow motion to great effect like the boys in `Pussay Patrol' T-shirts coming out of a hotel like rubbish Reservoir Dogs or the inevitable mid film montage with "the dance" (if you have seen it you will know what I mean) the affect is used very skilfully, increasing the comedy, without laying it on too thick.

At the end of the day, The Inbetweeners has always been about its central friendship and amidst the vomit and the virginity losing, the film delivers a realistic believable portrait of four young blokes, look out for a touching discussion as the penny drops that university might spell the end of the friendship. The performances from Bird, Thomas, Buckley and Harrison are pitch-perfect and amplify a sweetness that is only an undercurrent in the show. Lessons are learned - one huge element of the show is laid to rest - and friendships cemented, although never in a soppy way. As they arrive back in Blighty, the unthinkable might have happened: they might have come of age.

For fans of the show I don't think a much better movie could have been made for them, for casual viewers, like me, this is a reasonably entertaining movie when compared to comedy movies in general, but when comparing it to the Kevin and Perry's of yester year, it's a bloody masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely entertaining even if you haven't watched the series., 9 Jan. 2013
I thought I might be at a disadvantage because I hadn't seen the series (and to be honest there are probably in-jokes that went over my head), so I wasn't prepared to find this as startlingly funny as I did. Even if you were put off the series by the school-life setting (not something I find fun) you may love this as it's a completely different animal, plucking very well-established characters and dumping them out of their comfort zone on a lads' holiday to Malia.
From the outset it's clear the actors are brilliantly assured in their characters, so we get four very different leads. Will is whiny, nerdy and sarcastic. Simon is sweetly earnest, lovestruck and unintentionally tactless. Neil is compliant, laddy and has terrible judgement. And Jay is cheeky, rude, and fancies himself as the only real 'lad' of the pack. The film only has a few thin central bits of plot, but they're simply there as a framework to hang lots and lots of mishaps and comedy gold. From the amount of zingers in the dialogue, to the excellently judged moments when it veers from realistic to absurd and back again the film won me over with its warm likeable characters, horrendously shabby hotel (loved that arrival scene), tactlessly fumbled romances and carnage strewn nights-after.
If there's one off-note, it's that Theo James as charming egotistical swine holiday rep 'James' is a little too genuinely nasty and unsettling as the villain, adding a sheen of discomfort to a role that didn't need to be played quite so well.
The film is a sweet, surprising, and very enjoyable comedy with a high hit rate of gags that work, and it caught me unawares, making me laugh a lot.
Well written and genuinely funny comedy with characters you care about? That's got to be worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Highest grossing UK comedy, but certainly not the best, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
IMDb reckons that the UK's highest grossing film in 1971 was 'On the Buses'. In forty years time, we'll be wondering why this one was so successful too. For a 'film of the hit TV comedy' it is much better than most, but I can see why it flopped badly in the US.

It's not just the cultural and language issues (do they even know what clunge is?), it's that, stripped of the school context, this is just another 'desperate young men looking for sex' comedy. Had the series not happened, it would never have had the audience or the success it has had.

It's also about one and a half 24 minute episodes of material stretched out over 90 minutes. I laughed, but not with the frequency or risk to wetting myself of the series. The main reason for getting it is the extras: you can skip watching the actual film and not miss much.

Some of the humour is nastier without being funnier too. Look at the 'parent sex' issue. In the series, there's a mum who everyone fancies and a father who doesn't know what TMI means, and both these are used to drive comedy of embarrassment, particularly of their kids. Here, the equivalent is that one of the boys gets off with some much older women. Ha, ha, h.. hang on.

As is increasingly the case, for no good technical reason whatsoever, DVD buyers are given a raw deal compared with ones prepared to buy the Blu-ray as well: the latter get the 18-rated edit. The good news is that it looks like the differences come down to an extra use of a c-word, a better view of a performer, and a couple of slightly more obvious shots of dance floor fingering.

So yes, it's worth getting, but...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday on the Buses, 21 May 2012
By 
The adaptation landscape of TV sitcom to big screen feature film is littered with the twitching corpses of many a failure. Whilst the TV show works due to a limited budget and restricted locations, the film process opens up the possibilities for the makers; usually ending up in a poorly thought out trip for the entire cast to a holiday location. Things therefore bode ill for `The Inbetweeners Movie', as it follows this tried and tested path to a tee - the boys set out on a lads' trip to Malia where all manner of hijinks ensue. Whilst this idea may have failed elsewhere, `Inbetweeners' writer/creator pair of Iain Morris and Damon Beesley know exactly what they are doing.

The secret to `The Inbetweeners' success is that it does not try to be any different from the show it is based on. The characters are all present and for all their misadventures they pretty much stay the same throughout. With a plot that is on the thin side, the movie works because the set pieces and script work brilliantly. All the horrible things that can happen on a grim lads' holiday happen. The comedic timing of Simon Bird and co. is exceptional as always and they really bounce of each other so they feel like genuine friends. This chemistry is the beating heart of the film that pulls the story along, even during the slightly long winded final act.

With great comedic acting and writing, it is the story itself that is the only bug bear. 4 blokes go on holiday and happen to meet 4 girls. All a little safe and in regards to the romantic side of the film nothing is done to undermine the clichés that litter the genre. Seeing as the film prides itself on breaking boundaries and thumbing its nose at convention, this is a shame. However, to punish the film for having a bland plot is harsh, it is merely there to act as a prism for some great comedy - and on this level `The Inbetweeners Movie' is a triumph.

Although set on a sunny island, the film does not need to be seen in BluRay as the HD is not really pushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect finale to one of Britain's best sitcoms, 6 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. Knee (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Will, a self confessed geek, is trying to prove that he's not as weird as everyone thinks. Simon, a truly hopeless romantic is trying to get over his recent break-up with Carli, his childhood sweetheart. Jay is out to finally get some real clunge, and Neil wants to become a better swimmer. Together they are The Inbetweeners - four tragically uncool teenagers who have finally finished their exams and are off to celebrate their new freedom by way of a lads holiday to Greece.

Wedgies, delayed flights, substandard accommodation and weird fellow holiday makers set the scene before the boys meet four girls in the emptiest bar in Malia. As Will punches far above his weight, Jay has weight issues of an entirely different kind. Simon bumps into his ex, Carli, and Neil is lured by Malia's answer to mutton dressed as lamb.

What ensues is a hilarious romp as the awkward quartet try to score a balance between getting outrageously drunk, and getting finally laid.

Fans of the award-winning hit sitcom series which preceded the film will not be disappointed, as the gags are familiar and the characters remain true to form. Newcomers to the title will still be able to enjoy the film to the fullest.

The script is well written. The score, packed full of party anthems and original material by Mike Skinner (of The Streets fame) is as catchy as it is appropriate for the mood of the film. The editing is seamless and the screenplay flows well.

The Inbetweeners will have you laughing the whole way through, from the "Ham and snorkel" scene to Simon's rescue by the coastguard. The path to true love is never a smooth and easy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray, for not ruining the series with a bad film!, 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Alex Lay "Alex" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I love the inbetweeners.
Of course I do.
It's effing brilliant, isn't it?!

I was so excited for this movie and sat in anticipation as it came on in the cinema.
I guess I expected something similar to Kevin and Perry Go Large, but more modern.

I think the film is watchable by people who've never seen the show, and the characters have their own introductions.
Is it as good as the show?
No, it's not. But it's up there.
The back-and-forth humour could have felt stale after an hour and a half, but the directors knew what they were doing and therefore this didn't happen.

So, it's a lads' holiday set in Malia (though, filmed somewhere else and made to look like Malia).
They all want to get laid.
Simon is still trying to get over Carlie.
Neil has an amazing line in this film...
Simon says (no, we're not playing a game here) "You should bring your ball to the beach Neil"
Neil: "Can I will?" (So funny)
Will: "Yes Neil... Yes you can"

Will is chasing a girl clearly out of his league. I love Will the most. Witty, nerdy and extremely lovable.
Jay is most keen to 'get it onnnnn' with the ladies, and acts like a bit of a douche in the film... a lovable douche.
(Yes, I love all these guys).

The film includes sex, LOTS OF HUMOUR, fall-outs, stupid bits, AMAZING DANCE MOVES and much more.
If you haven't seen this yet, BUY IT.
Or else.... I WILL KEEP PRESSING CAPS LOCK AND USING EXPLANATION MARKS!!!!!!!!!!!

Great film, and good to watch with friends/family.
5 *s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD]
The Inbetweeners Movie [DVD] by Ben Palmer (DVD - 2011)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews