Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2011
This film is very low budget, uneven, certainly and flawed - but forget all that as at its heart this is a very rare gem of a movie - powered by an unforgettable, Oscar worthy performance from Aidan Gillen.

It is a film about the impact people can unexpectedly have in your life and how your whole life view can be altered through meaningful human interaction and for that alone it is an important film.

The ending is heart-wrenching and as poignant as any - It's a Wonderful Life or Midnight Cowboy come to mind as comparable in their impact and emotional resonance.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
This film is a brilliant example of great British film making. The cast are superb, Aidan Gillen is particular is outstanding, as Aidan Murphy, the lovely but misunderstood man, and this is one of his best performances to date. The film itself is funny, gritty, and compelling, and you get to see a different kind of friendship than you would in other films. The writing and directing is brilliant, and Jamie Thraves has really done his best. I would recommend this film to anyone. Spread the Treacle Jr. love!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
Very intense and absolutely worth watching. I don't quite understand why so many people regard it as a comedy only. Yes, there are moments that are absolutely hilarious. Nevertheless, I feel that at times it is very sad and rather a tragedy with a relieving outcome. But then again, we're all different, and isn't this what a good film is all about? Treacle Jr. is definitely not a film you would forget within the next five minutes. No wonder it was well received at various film festivals. Working on it must have been very demanding. Aidan Gillen's works was rewarded at Milan Film Festival. I feel the entire crew should have received the award.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
I thoroughly recommend this film. It is funny, shocking and moving, with an absolutely brilliant performance by Aiden Gillen as a dysfunctional but wildly optimistic drifter. A must-see movie!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
The performances in this movie are intense and capitvating and the plot is simple and open-ended which adds even more of a gritty, real-life atmosphere.

Low budget or not this is one of the best movies of its type I have seen.

Fantastic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Recovering from a very painful double fractured arm, I awoke early one night in pain, put the tv on and luckily enough caught the start of Treacle Jr. Sat there completely absorbed by just how well the dark and edgy side of South London had been captured. Living in London, I've met all those characters in the film, they are all out there, in pubs, bus stops, parks etc. This is what us Brits do best, no glitzy big budget Hollywood over the top blockbuster, but a realistic portrayal of life! Going back to films and dramas such as Loneliness of the long distance runner, Boys from the Blackstuff and Nil by mouth, you get to feel where this film comes from and where it is taking you. People who like effects, over exaggerated plot lines, polished,nicy nice, all encompassing films won't get this, why would they, this is a portrayal of a life that some dont want to know or will never know. What it is, is an insight and a journey into a world that exists, it's a bit too real for some and probably to uncomfortable for others, hats off for having the balls and guts to make and produce a film like this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
On the surface, this film is about a lost soul on the brink of some unfathomable abyss, something inexpressible is gnawing away at the nether regions of this mans very being. It's too painful to look back at the family he leaves behind and too terrifying to contemplate the finality of whatever lies at the bottom of the abyss.
Beneath all this is a heartwarming story about a comedic, slow-witted Irish man who quite literally rescues this man from an unknown fate. Every sentence to come from Aiden Gillan's mouth is a feat of human observation so endearing that you either want to laugh or cry - and when tragedy strikes it strikes hard. There's a strong fisher king vibe to the narrative in the way that human intervention can be the saving grace that is needed for one lost soul, and it's never going to be the way you'd imagine it.
Yes I liked this film a lot and I recommend it to lost souls and film lovers alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 7 November 2011
This is an independent film from writer and director Jamie Thraves. It tells the story of Tom (Tom Fisher), who at the age of forty decides to leave his wife and small child for no discernable reason. He just gets on a train for London and bins his identification and beds down on the street - as you do.

He then gets attacked by a gang of homophobic thugs who think he is gay. That encounter leads him to A and E and as is fairly typical it is full of an odd assortment, including Aiden Murphy (Aiden Gillen) who takes a shine to Tom. Whilst Tom is withdrawn and obviously troubled, Aiden is over the top gregarious and the sort of person you can often encounter on public transport - the `nutter on the bus' type.

Aiden takes Tom back to his flat which he shares with his `girlfriend' Linda (Riann Steele), she is a street wise and savvy low end of the market prostitute, who also knows a good deal when she sees it. She injects some visceral realism into the whole proceedings. Aiden makes money by doing anything which includes renting out `Treacle' a neighbours cat for mice hunting in `greasy spoon' cafes.

This is a very quirky film, but it is also a comedy, a study in the human condition and mental health problems. Aiden Gillen is just excellent and caries the film with the weight of his performance and what at first for me was a very irritating character actually becomes likable because of his over whelming positiveness.

This was made for £30,000 which means some corners are slightly rounded, though not necessarily cut. There are a lot of questions that are ignored let alone being addressed, but to mention them might be a plot spoiler. That said I really enjoyed it, the music is good too, including the under appreciated `Fanfarlo'Reservoir. At eighty five minutes this held my attention throughout and made me laugh and cringe in places, I wish Jamie Thraves all the best for his next venture
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Nice piece of local significance for me. Not too ambitious - the better for it. A present (x2) for family.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
I have been a loyal fan of Aidan Gillen's work for years and I consider this one of his best performances ever. The budget was small but with talent and writing that you have in this film, you need little else. Aidan plays Aidan (this film was wrote with him in mind) a likable but rather annoying guy who's life is not easy but has a eternal sunny disposition despite all. Tom is married, has a baby but just decides to leave for work one day and leave his life. It may be that he needs a break but he meets Aidan and never quite gets rid of him. This is a beautiful film with great performances from all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)