Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unknown review
wow! amazing! I originally watched this film at the cinema and just had to buy the DVD afterwards! Its true- 'fans of Taken are gonna love this'. I did. Its one of those movies that you only fully understand at the end but it just makes it more exciting throughout watching it as you cant guess whats going to happen! One of my favorite films by far- Amazing price on...
Published on 28 Mar 2012 by chrys123

versus
93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no Taken *may contain spoliers*
I must admit i approached this film with geat anticipation after the revelation of Liam Neeson's ass-kicking ability displayed in the excellent Taken.
And although big Liam holds top billing in both that is where the similarities end. That doesn't mean this is a bad film because its not, it has however been done before.
Man and wife check into a Berlin hotel for...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Cb1306


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't see that end coming!, 5 Feb 2012
By 
T (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
A biochemist, Dr. Martin Harris, and his wife arrive in Berlin for a conference at which a scientist and his controversial Arab bankroller will announce breakthrough research. While his wife checks into the hotel, Harris grabs a cab to return to the airport for his briefcase, left at the curb. En route, an auto accident puts him in a coma from which he awakes four days later without identification and with gaps in his memory. He goes to the hotel: his wife refuses to recognize him and another man has claimed his identity. With help from a nurse, the cab driver who crashed him, a retired Stasi agent (played by the excellent Bruno Ganz), and an academic friend, he tries to unravel what's going on. Is the answer in the briefcase?

Well, yes - but that's as far as I'm going. Far removed from Ronin, where you spend the whole movie anxiously waiting to find out what's in the case but ultimately not doing so, we do find out what's in the case here. It's a real blast. The movie takes you on a journey with Harris as he desperately tries to prove, and find out, who he is. Just when you think he's going to expose the identity thief and reclaim his life the climactic savage twist is dropped in and you're left sitting there thinking, "Where the heck did that come from?"

Groovy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 18 July 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Unknown starts out with Dr. Martin Harris (Liam Neeson) & his wife Elizabeth Harris (January Jones -Mad Men) travelling to Germany, Berlin (where the film is all set) to attend a Biotechnology Submit, Dr. Harris being an Bio-technologist himself. Everyhting is fine until they reach the Hotel, and Martin relaizes he has left his briefcase at the airport on a trolley & so quickly hails a taxi to rush back, but forgets to inform his wife. During this time the Taxi has an accident & falls off a City bridge into a river, where he is saved by the female Taxi driver Gina (Diane Kruger -Inglourious Basterds), but falls into a coma shortly after. After 4 days, groggy & his memory not so good, he tries to go back to his wife at the Hotel.

Now this is where it gets interesting. He returns to the Hotel but his wife denies she knows him, and to his shock there is another man,(Aidan Quinn -Legends of the Fall), with her claiming to be Dr. Martin Harris. Has he gone mad? totally lost his memory ? what the hell is going on ?! he phones his old friend of 15 years, Rodney Cole (Frank Langella -Frost/Nixon) , but cannot contact him. Eventually he starts to even doubt himself who he is, and under stress collapses & goes back to the Hospital. However, it's not long until he realizes there is more going on here than meets the eye.

I have to say that i did really enjoy, Unknown, its a bit more pedestrian than Liam Neeson's recent smash hit Taken, well what film isn't really, and IMO it's not quite as good as that offering. But it does have its adrenaline pumping moments none the less to keep you excited. The cast is very good & does enough to convince you of what is going on, Liam Neeson is his usual laid back style, he isn't the World class of actors truth be told, but he has a good screen presence & just seems to pick the right scripts to pick himself up after some less mainstream movies he does inbetween. Also don't be put off that the film is set only in Berlin, after a while that wears off & you solely concentrate on the story as the background melds in perfectly, it could be any City really. If you haven't seen Neeson's other movie i mentioned, Taken, then i'd recommend that one first over this if you like action orientated films.

In conclusion, Unknown is more of a mystery thriller & a bit more pedestrian compared to Neeson's recent hit Taken, but it has it's moments here & there on the action front, but nothing to the extreme of Taken. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice twist, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure what to expect with another action film from Liam Neeson but I'm glad I watched it.

It wasn't like the same old plots that seem to get repeated over and over again in the film industry today. The story is quite implausible but if you put that aside it is a good watch.

I don't think I would watch it again however I would recommend it to all who like action/conspiracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'IT'LL HOLD YOUR ATTENTION', 7 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Unknown [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is quality entertainment, telling the tale of 'Dr Martin Harris's struggle to regain both his memory and identity after a freak accident left him in a coma for four days.
He finds that someone else has assumed his role in terms of name and that of husband to his wife.
Suddenly he finds that he has become a target and many of those he's asked for help are killed-off.
It's a gritty and nail-biting movie that will hold your attention throughout, and yes---if you enjoyed 'Taken' or like 'Liam Neeson' movies......you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars West by North West!, 30 Mar 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fresh from his exploits in Taken it was obviously a good idea to exploit Neeson's newly minted tough guy persona while still fresh in the mind of the film-going public: hence Unknown, a shamelessly derivative product if ever there was one! Perhaps I'm being a little too harsh, but I think not. Naturally, it's impossible to escape our cultural influences and we cannot look at anything without looking through the filters of our experience and here we have a perfect example. Whether consciously put there or otherwise the visual echoes of previous productions flicker and sometimes beam from the screen almost blindingly throughout.

But this isn't meant to be a criticism: for the movie buff it's all part of the entertainment! We have bio-scientist, Dr Martin Harris (Neeson), arriving in a snowy, wintery Berlin accompanied by his wife (January Jones). Almost three decades before, in Hitchcock's Torn Curtain, we had physicist, Dr Michael Armstrong (Paul Newman), arriving in Copenhagen accompanied by his fiancée (Julie Andrews). Both esteemed American scientists are visiting European capitals to give presentations at an important scientific conference.

On arriving at their hotel Harris realizes that his briefcase, containing important items like a passport and his presentation papers, has been left at the airport and, bizarrely, without telling his wife he hops back into the taxi and returns to the hotel hoping to retrieve the lost briefcase. However, calamity strikes and the taxi is involved in an incident that causes it to swerve and hurtle through a barrier into the icy river. Harris is knocked unconscious but the female driver, who we later come to know as Gina (Diane Kruger) is able to escape and make the surface. She realizes Harris is still in the car and manages to dive down and save him!

He wakes up in hospital and is told he's been `out' for four days. Immediately discharging himself he manages to make his way back to his hotel to find his wife who steadfastly refuses to recognize him having in the meantime mysteriously acquired another husband, Dr Martin Harris (Aidan Quinn), who has all the necessary documentation to prove that he is the real Harris and Neeson the imposter!

So which one is the real Harris? Since Neeson is the star, it must be him, surely! But just like Roger Thornhill (Cary Grant) before him in North by North West, he has a tough job persuading just about anybody! However, he's given the name of a private detective, a former Stasi operative named Ernst Jurgen (Bruno Ganz) who acts as the `wiser older mentor' type figure a la, Dr Brulov (Michael Chekov) in Hitchcock's Spellbound. Jurgen advises `Harris' to find the taxi driver, Gina, as he thinks she may be the key!

And, indeed, this turns out to be a valid assertion. Gina, just like Michelle (Emanuelle Seigner) in Polanski's Frantic, who aids Harrison Ford's Dr Richard Walker (a `mere' medical practitioner) in an `unknown' Paris, proves to be just the kind of streetwise, knowledgeable young sidekick `Harris' needs.

So, we've seen many of the elements before but the principal source seems to be Hitchcock, primarily, in North by North West: even an evil though amiable and courteous `Mr Big' a la James Mason's, Phillip Vandamm, in the form of Frank Langella, enters the action about half way through and January Jones and Diana Kruger are a kind of amalgam of Eva Marie Saint's, Eve Kendall.

Fittingly, then, after suitably Machiavellian plot machinations, the film ends on a train. It might be derivative but very entertainingly so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Liam? Frank Langella? what were you thinking . . .?, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unknown [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
WARNING: Spoilers all the way, and no apologies for them.

Liam Neeson can act, so what's he doing in this schlock? The last time I saw him and Aidan Quinn at odds was in "Michael Collins," not the most historically reliable of movies, but a heck of a lot better than this. Quite a bit of the movie is taken up with two car chases, and that's not counting the car ride that ends up with the taxi in the river. OK -- it's a clever premise -- the hit man who loses his sense of who he is after an accident to the extent of forgetting he's a hit man -- and then causing all sorts of trouble for his backup. AND, when he does finally remember who he is, he tries to do the right thing, presumably because he's appalled at the damage he has already caused (several corpses) and because he has had the good fortune to meet an honest illegal alien taxi driver (female, pretty) who has shown herself willing to help him at a time when he didn't know who he was. Then there's suspense: will his backups manage to carry out the hit? Oh, and there's a bomb timed to go off at a crucial moment . . . Yes it's a mess, but it's the kind of mess that can be made only by slick action-movie makers and decent actors who feel they have to do this kind of thing. But do they . . . really? Come on, Liam. Get back to some worthwhile movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE FILM!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoyed Taken, your enjoy this! It is Most Definitely worth a watch. Lots of action, good story line, and it keeps you gripped to the storyline untill the end!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showcase for Mercedes Benz., 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Good film but what sticks in my mind is a certain German car manufacture are everywhere.
One snow scene outside some posh hotel we have a entourage of motors including a silver gullwing car still its just out of the showroom look after driving miles through snow?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will keep you guessing until the end, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
SLIGHT SPOILERS Liam Neeson plays his usual hard-man role to perfection. The first half of this film is terrific. Neeson plays scientist Dr Martin Harris who has travelled to Berlin for a conference. He is accompanied by his beautiful young wife, Liz, played by January Jones. As soon as they reach their hotel things start to go wrong for Harris and his feelings of confusion, paranoia and dis-orientation really come across. He meets another beautiful blonde, Gina (Diane Kruger) and they team up out of desperation. Fortunately, Gina can handle herself as well as Harris and they fend off one thug after another. There are many fight sequences and car-chases, some of them ridiculous. Watching this film it is hard to figure out how the plot can come to a sensible conclusion and it is fair to say that it doesn't entirely. It gets more far fetched by the minute. Despite it's plot faults "Unknown" is an very enjoyable action movie that will keep you guessing until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unkown, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
I like the actor Liam Neeson and a friend of mine had seen the film so she recommend the film to me. The film is very good keeps you guessing, Love it. The DVD came well packed and quickly and was what I ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unknown [Blu-ray]
Unknown [Blu-ray] by Jaume Collet-Serra (Blu-ray - 2011)
£7.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews