Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite entertaining
My one complaint when I watched 'Van Helsing' was that they tried to combine too many monsters in one movie, apart from that I quite enjoyed it. In 'Dylan Dog' director Kevin Munro successfully combines vampires, werewolves and zombies in an entertaining romp about the undead set in New Orleans. New Orleans is apparently undead central where they flock to live ordinary...
Published on 4 July 2011 by PJ Rankine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Let the Dylan Dog Out?
Sometimes a feature film feels like it is more of a TV pilot than an actual standalone movie and this is certainly the case with ‘Dylan Dog: Dead of Night’, starring one hit ‘Superman’ Brandon Routh. Others may like to think of Routh as having a fun extended cameo role in ‘Chuck’ or ‘Scott Pilgrim’ – he may have...
Published 1 month ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually quite entertaining, 4 July 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
My one complaint when I watched 'Van Helsing' was that they tried to combine too many monsters in one movie, apart from that I quite enjoyed it. In 'Dylan Dog' director Kevin Munro successfully combines vampires, werewolves and zombies in an entertaining romp about the undead set in New Orleans. New Orleans is apparently undead central where they flock to live ordinary lives alongside the living. Dylan Dog; played by Brandon Routh of 'Superman' fame, used to be employed by the undead to keep the peace but it all went awfully wrong when his fiancee was killed by vampires. Now he makes his living as a conventional private detective investigating divorce cases and the like assisted by Sam Huntingdon who longs for something a little more exciting. He is called upon to investigate the murder of an importer apparently by a werewolf and turns down the job only for his assistant to be murdered the next day plunging him into a search for the legendary Heart of Belial and conflict with the city's undead population. From there the body count piles up, the jokes keep coming and although it is a little predictable it was actually quite entertaining. Everyone gives a good account of themselves and the effects are all good. None of the various mythologies are ignored in the way that films like 'Twilight' do.
I would have liked to have seen someone a bit more rugged for the lead role as Brandon Routh is too smooth and his nasal voice is not really suitable for the film noirish voice over that accompanies the action. Sam Huntingdon is very entertaining as Dylan's sidekick Marcus and has a good storyline of his own that meshes in neatly with the main story. Anita Briem plays the sweet and innocent love interest (or is she?), watch out for the scene near the end where she strips off her shirt, damn has she got some muscle hidden under there.
Overall if you're a fan of 'True Blood' then you'll probably enjoy this too, even the vampire clan are called 'True Bloods'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NO PLAN, JUST BIGGER GUNS, 13 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The movie starts out great. A young girl ( Anita Briem, Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D babe)is preparing supper for her and her dad. She is dancing in the kitchen, starting out with some good rock jams. She gets a clean plate out and sets it on the counter and then suddenly there is blood on the plate. It is dripping from the ceiling. She runs upstairs and her dad is dead. A werewolf jumps out the window...enter Dylan I. Dog (Brandon Routh), private investigator. He used to investigate weird undead things, a younger, hipper version of Kolchak, the Night Stalker. Dylan is old school. He uses snail mail. Deals with cash and checks, drives a VW Beetle (that backfires) and uses a film camera.

Dylan refuses the case until his friend Marcus (Sam Huntington) is killed. Now it has become personal. There are four werewolf clans. They operate in New Orleans like the mafia. The vampires are out to get Dylan and don't worry too much about Marcus, seems he was bitten by a zombie and becomes part of the "undead." There is a zombie support group for the recently undead. Seems all the can eat are worms, maggots and hot dogs. There is even a twist at the end.

The film has some flashbacks to a previous time/movie in order to catch the story up to date. For those who liked the old Night Stalker series, check this one out. 4 stars for adults/ 5 stars for teens

comedy/horror/mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Who Let the Dylan Dog Out?, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Sometimes a feature film feels like it is more of a TV pilot than an actual standalone movie and this is certainly the case with ‘Dylan Dog: Dead of Night’, starring one hit ‘Superman’ Brandon Routh. Others may like to think of Routh as having a fun extended cameo role in ‘Chuck’ or ‘Scott Pilgrim’ – he may have failed as a son of Krypton, but he does have charisma. It is this natural charm that lifts ‘Dead’ from being just a cheap genre flick into something that is also fun to watch. Routh plays Dylan Dog, a PI who used to work in the area of the supernatural, but no longer. That is until the demons come to him and one of his best friends starts to smell of rotting meat.

It is the witty scripts and chemistry between the actors that makes ‘Dead’ a breeze of a film to watch. Sam Huntington is excellent as the rotting sidekick Marcus and acts as a perfect foil to introduce the audience to the world. The plot is also fun, if a little daft. It really does feel like the first in a series of adventures that would have worked out well in 24 or so 45 minute TV episodes.

Unfortunately, the pilot feel of the film is not only down to the narrative, but the quality too. TV special effects are better than they have ever been, but are still miles behind the top Hollywood films. ‘Dead’ at times feels cheap. The special effects and makeup is admiral, but there is so much going on that a film of this size was never going to be able to afford top quality production values. I for one am happy to overlook some shoddy special effects if the story holds up. Therefore, ‘Dead of Night’ remains a fun film that fans of ‘Buffy’ or ‘The Dresden Files’ etc. will really enjoy. None genre fans should probably stay with the bigger budget outings.

Due to the special effect issues, the DVD is as good to watch as BluRay as it will not expose the issue as much. There is a fun making of on the disc as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Whats wrong with my arm?...., 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dylan Dog: Dead Of Night [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Superman returns after a string of cameos as a comic book detective who hunts and looks after various creatures of the night.

Dog is the primary word here....

Routh is quite a good actor, but with this nonsense, it's really hard to accept him other than ham, and the support is also bad too.

Actors like Stormare, Diggs and even Huntingdon are wasted with the material and the cheese they lay over the film.

Imagine a really camp Constantine mixed with Underworld and Sin City, and you've got this hash of a movie.

The editing is poor and the narration is all about the place. I've never read the source material, but from what i've read, this doesn't touch it.

There are a couple of good scenes, the mart for zombies, and the self help group is a good inclusion, but it doesn't deter the film from being what it is.

A bad egg, from what could have been a camp, fun, movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than I thought it might be, 24 July 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm kind of surprised this film doesn't get a bit more love. It's a light hearted mash up an old school noir private eye story with added vampires, zombies and werewolves. There's bits of Blade, Angel Heart, American Werewolf in London and others in here and while it may not be on the level of any of those, I thought it was still enjoyable.

It's based on the comic series by Tiziano Sclavi and stars Brandon Routh (the Superman DC wants you to forget which is a shame) as Dylan Dog, a private eye working in New Orleans. Due to his previous dealings with certain special clientele he gets drawn into a case after a rather attractive young lady's father is murdered. It turns out that much of New Orleans is populated by the undead (?!) hence the vampires/werewolves/zombies mentioned earlier - they're all involved in the case to different extents as it moves forward.

It's all very tongue in cheek with some scenery chewing acting performances and some witty scripting. Routh plays it relatively straight in the title role and acquits himself just fine with amusing support from Sam Huntington as his sidekick of sorts. There's an appropriate amount of action and bloodshed to keep things ticking over and some of Dylan's past history is filled in. Overall I'd say it's worth a watch at the very least I reckon (especially as it's on Amazon Prime at time of writing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
good film don't know why we never got a pal release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For fans of Constantine, R.I.P.D, Hellboy, Blade, 22 Dec 2013
A comedy horror with plenty of action. I enjoyed Constantine so thought I'd give this a go. Brandon Routh and Sam Huntington star. They were in Superman Returns together. This film is based on the Italian comic book series, which you'll find right here on Amazon. Anita Briem is lovely. The special effects are good. Worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no substance, 21 May 2014
The acting is quite poor but then what so you expect when the dialogue is cheesy and predictable. The plot isn't interesting or well thought out. One of the lead characters who you are meant to care about just seems to become irrelevant at the end. I’d give it a miss, I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, little bit of skipping, 30 Mar 2014
By 
D. Lloyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, it was ok... Most certainly nothing I would go to the cinema or rent on a dvd.
The bad: cheese factor 11, naff factor 8, predictable, trying to be classic detective, strange actor to choose for lead role, no real story
The good: you could skip bits, I like the side kick from being human, good for a background movie, good for something to watch when there is nothing else to watch, better than what the bbc puts on their channels now
Recommended for kids or something to watch that doesn't require watching to know the whole story and not miss anything and not require a rewind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definatley worth a watch, 8 Mar 2014
I thought this film was going to be a disappointment but it was surprisingly enjoyable, some parts did seem a bit cheap and chessy but it was a good film. some horror/comedy don't work but luckily this one works, id def watch a 2nd Dylan Dog. The actors were perfect for each other and it was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dylan Dog: Dead Of Night [Blu-ray]
Dylan Dog: Dead Of Night [Blu-ray] by Kevin Munroe (Blu-ray - 2013)
£10.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews