Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sociopathic Red Heads Look for Solace in Ireland!
Yes this is a very unusual film, it stars (Oliver Bartelemy of "Mesrine" fame) as Remy; he is an immature adolescent who everyone seems to have a manic dislike to and the reason for that? Well it is pretty obvious, he is ` a ging-er' or any other pejorative term you wish to call someone who euphemistically often refers to themselves as `strawberry blonds'. His football...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by Tommy Dooley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what you may expect
After the likes of Mesrine and Irreversible I became a big Vincent Cassel fan. How excited I was when I first heard of this under-the-radar 'Our Day Will Come' so I snapped it up without thinking. I could not have been more disappointed with this poorly made incoherent mess of a film.

A depressed ginger loser (Olivier Barthelemy) is befriended by a sociopathic...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. J. DEIGHAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sociopathic Red Heads Look for Solace in Ireland!, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
Yes this is a very unusual film, it stars (Oliver Bartelemy of "Mesrine" fame) as Remy; he is an immature adolescent who everyone seems to have a manic dislike to and the reason for that? Well it is pretty obvious, he is ` a ging-er' or any other pejorative term you wish to call someone who euphemistically often refers to themselves as `strawberry blonds'. His football team hate him, his sister despises him and his mum pretty much regrets the union of spirits that led to him being born into an unkind world.

He avoids reality by searching for love on the internet, once his self harming `girlfriend' says she will really harm herself, he sets of to save the day in a graveyard. En route (well this is French after all), he quite literally runs into Patrick - Vincent Cassell (`Black Swan' and 'Mesrine'). They sort of hook up and Patrick is a psychiatrist and decides to help Remy get his self respect back. First off they go for confrontational violence with the aim of initiating some meaningless but non the less, gratifying sex.

As Remy becomes emboldened he has a brain wave and that is that in Ireland everyone has red hair and so they will be Kings among men with their bright red `carrot tops', so off to the ferry and freedom!
This then is an often funny, violent, mad and very surreal film which takes us on a personal journey into a person's own shame. It has gay undertones, but they are a `red' herring (oh I should not have said that). It is probably one of those films that will have you raving or raging. What would be a plot hole in an ordinary film, is transferred to being part of the madness that this road trip of sorts takes us on.

It is 109 minutes long and first time director Romain Gavres has done a more than passable job of keeping me, at least, entertained for the larger part. It is both original and amusing and the sort of film that big companies would shy away from; in French with pretty good sub title's, if you like off beat films and European cinema then you should try this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not opened, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. B. C. Stephens "big fan" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd arrived on time in safe and secure wrapping. It was then sent unopened to my friend in Ibiza. He was very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what you may expect, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. DEIGHAN "Deevius" (Northeast England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
After the likes of Mesrine and Irreversible I became a big Vincent Cassel fan. How excited I was when I first heard of this under-the-radar 'Our Day Will Come' so I snapped it up without thinking. I could not have been more disappointed with this poorly made incoherent mess of a film.

A depressed ginger loser (Olivier Barthelemy) is befriended by a sociopathic ginger psychiatrist (Vincent Cassel) who attempts to help him open up and realize his dream. His dream after seeing some gingers on a postcard of Ireland is to go to Ireland (from France) and "be with his people". So begins an uninteresting and utterly pointless journey of strange mediocre events culminating in ... well ultimately nothing.

You'll struggle to find anything worth watching or caring about as this awful movie goes absolutely nowhere, slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bizarre, politically incorrect, had me hooked from beginning to end, 31 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
I must big this film up because it only has two stars and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Two red haired men embark on an orgy of violent revenge against a world which they perceive as discriminating against them because of their hair colour.
This is a very leftfield film in the European art house tradition with some violent and disturbing scenes. If you are accustomed to films with a clear story with a beginning, middle and end where things are satisfactorily resolved this film will not be for you.
If, however you are willing to take a risk and want to see something unlike anything you ve seen before, give this a go. The work of Michael Haneke, Luis Bunuel, David Lynch, Russ Meyer, John Walters comes to mind watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misses the mark, 3 Nov 2011
By 
P. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this film after viewing the trailer and the fact that Vincent Cassell takes a lead role. The film starts off well and we're intregued by Cassell's maniac character taking the young Remi under his odd wing. Remi is a deeply troubled teenager, confused, unconfident and a victim. The two men share a common victimisation and they begin to strike back against a society they see as punishing them for the way they are. Ok so this was building up nicely then the film just falls flat, the story doesn't really know ultimately where it's going and the offbeat notion of it is without message. I found myself looking at my watch towards the end of the film as I was becoming irritated with it to be honest. Apart from Cassell - avoid!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missable, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
I had expected a much different movie to what I actually got. The reviews I had read led me to believe that this was an action movie with a different storyline, to what I am used to. It proved to be nothing like any positive reviews, it was slow paced, boring and poorly acted. I have been an on then off fan of Vincent Cassel's, he has made many good movies and a lot of 'B' grade ones. This would have to be one that I rate at the bottom of his list of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor!, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
After being convinced to buy after seeing trailer I was very disappointed! Story line is ridiculous and extract. it's more of a black comedy type of film. The front cover is very misleading!. Going to give disc to a charity shop or use as a tea mat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Whingers, 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible French film about two morons who indulge in weird, threatening and violent behaviour in an attempt to deal with their feelings of alienation. The whole thing goes nowhere and and there are countless scenes that have no point or purpose. Terminally boring and a complete non-event. Pity because Vincent Cassel is a good actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Do IT, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Our Day Will Come [DVD] (DVD)
Saw a trailer for this on another world cinema movie.... possibly the worst film I have ever seen....Don't Do IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Our Day Will Come [Blu-ray]
Our Day Will Come [Blu-ray] by Romain Gavras (Blu-ray - 2011)
12.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews