Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent film that I enjoyed seeing while in London.
Now before you watch this you should know it is based on Beauty and the Beast, however it is actually the film of a book called Beastly which is the modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Everyone went to see it thinking it was a new piece of work and have all compared it to the Disney version. All I can say is please read the book before you watch it. It isn't very...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern fairy tale story
Beastly, follows Kyle (Pettyfer) who is the son of a popular & wealthy T.V news anchor in America. Kyle is a good looking guy (and what's more he knows it) who gets anything he wants. As a student, near the start of the film he is voted class President(or something) on the back of his pure cockyness, rather then any hard work, unlike his beautiful fellow candidate Lindy...
Published on 8 Feb 2012 by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern fairy tale story, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
Beastly, follows Kyle (Pettyfer) who is the son of a popular & wealthy T.V news anchor in America. Kyle is a good looking guy (and what's more he knows it) who gets anything he wants. As a student, near the start of the film he is voted class President(or something) on the back of his pure cockyness, rather then any hard work, unlike his beautiful fellow candidate Lindy (Hudgens). And much to the dismay of Kendra (Olsen) who is referred to by fellow students as the "Witch", due to her Gothic appearance & beliefs in the Supernatural. So, Kendra has finally had enough of Kyle's approach to life & decides to teach him a life lesson, so, she casts a spell on him, a spell that will make him look Beastly for an entire year, and unless he finds someone to say "i love you" , kiss him, and mean it! as he looks now, he will forever remain Beastly. So Kyle drops out of College due to his new appearance & has to start changing his ways to lift the curse.

Overall this is very much a modern telling of a combination of Beauty And The Beast & The Frog Prince. The story does kinda work well, although the love interest aspect feels too forced , and the acting is on the whole very good. The standout being IMO Neil Patrick Harris's (Doogie Howser, M.D.) quirky blind tutor, who manages to lift things in places by adding a little injection (Doogie Howser pun ;-p) of comedy to the proceedings. Mary-Kate Olsen (New York Minute) also impressed, putting in a good performance, playing totally against type, she was spot on. Vanessa Hudgens (High School Musical 1-3) gave a solid enough performance as co-lead, but IMO the jury is still out on Alex Pettyfer (I Am Number Four), his looks seem to be getting him the roles rather than his acting ability IMO, judge for yourself.

In conclusion, this modern take on Beauty And The Beast & The Frog Prince, has a good enough story to make it semi-believable, albeit the romance seems a bit too forced & predictable. The acting is good, although it isn't always as believable as it might had been. I liked the Supernatural side of things with Mary-Kate Olsen's character & the comedy injections by Harris's character stood out to good effect. It was enjoyable, but nothing more. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent film that I enjoyed seeing while in London., 4 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now before you watch this you should know it is based on Beauty and the Beast, however it is actually the film of a book called Beastly which is the modern retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Everyone went to see it thinking it was a new piece of work and have all compared it to the Disney version. All I can say is please read the book before you watch it. It isn't very long and makes you appreciate the movie more. For instance stalker elements, they seem a bit odd in a B&B film however most assuredly they are still in the book just through the magic mirror which they decided against using in the film.
Embrace the suck is pretty lame, and they altered the ending so it was just happy and not magically extra happy, as you will know if you read the book. To be honest it was a very nice production and I think they did a good job, but please READ THE BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as critics said, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
So this movie received mostly bad reviews, but who were these reviews written by? Adults. Who is this movie aimed at? Teens. So it's not wonder it was so critically received, and let's be honest, most teen movies are, but if all the reviews are written by adults, is this really fair? Yes, usually the standard of acting is not as good, and the plot lines are either cheesy or predictable (or both), but the people who it is aimed at are young people who will watch just about anything for a laugh and won't read into the deeper meaning of things. I don't think that these reviews are fair, and the same goes for this movie.

Beastly is a modern retelling of 'Beauty and the Beast', and is a film adaption of the book written by Alex Finn. Now with two pieces that are distinctly Disney playing major roles in this movie ('BATB' and Vanessa Hudgens), I was concerned that perhaps this movie would appear too... well.. Disney.

This movie will definitely appeal to teenage girls who like cute, romance movies, probably not so much to boys or adults. So, being as it's a modern adaption of Beauty and the Beast, everybody should know how the story's going to go... give or take an arrogant, loaded, bastard, and a drug-abusers daughter... So I guess the story of 'Beauty and the Beast' doesn't really fit into the modern world, but who cares? It's a movie. F-I-C-T-I-O-N. So apparently the acting wasn't too good, but personally, I didn't really notice this. I thought that this was a good movie, with an important moral message, that is important is this day and age: look aren't everything. By retelling this Disney classic that everybody knows the story of in modern times could help us to relate to it and to release the message behind the story.

I was only disappointed in the fact that Alex Pettyfer spent so little of this moving looking his usual, dishy self, but on the whole it was quite a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
How shall I start? This film was AWESOME! Speaking from a young perosons perspective I think this is a great film particuarly for teens and I was shocked to how good an accress vanessa hudgens is out of hight school musical. Alex Pettyfer, what can I say, hes a great, easy on the eyes, british actor known from a few other good films. I loved this film and I would definitely reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise., 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit dubious at buying this as I'd read a few other reviews saying it wasn't that great, but being a huge Beauty and the Beast fan I decided I wanted to see how it would be adapted to real life and modernized.
I was pleasantly surprised by the film. It wasn't amazing, but it certainly wasn't terrible either.
Vanessa Hudgens did seem a bit, well, stiff in her acting, but Alex Pettyfer and Neil Patrick Harris made up for it.
Pettyfer's portrayal of the 'Beast' was excellent. The strops he throws when Lindy refuses his expensive presents are exactly how the Beast reacts when Belle refuses to come down for dinner. It was my favorite part.
Although I won't be replacing Beauty and the Beast with Beastly in my top five, it is a good film to watch if you loved the Disney cartoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEASTLY? The film was great!, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
Once again, Alex pettyfer has made an unmissable movie!

A modern-day beauty and the beast about an arrogant high schooler Kyle (Pettyfer) and
the down to earth, smart girl Lindy (Vanessa Hudgens, HSM) who collide after a witch curses
Kyle for insulting her and showing her up at a party. Kyle is cursed ugly (Just a few blue
veins really!) forever unless he can find someone to love him, along comes Gabriella, Whoops! I mean
Lindy. The two slowly start trusting one another and friendship and more starts to bloom between the two.

But will it be too late for Kyle?

The movie was an enjoyable one, not perfect, but what movie is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good film, 2 Sep 2011
By 
J. Melville "eztiga" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on a whim from the local supermarket because I have enjoyed most of the movies I have seen with Alex Pettyfer in (I am Number 4 being another recent release). I watched with hope rather than low expectations and the movie delivered. They may not be the most stretching roles for any of the cast and as most people know the story of Beauty and the Beast its not surprising the film ended as it did. I think that there have been some unfair reviews and you should give this film a go. I was pleasantly surprised by the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 17 Jun 2011
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beastly [DVD] (DVD)
BEASTLY is a freakishly fun film starring Alex Pettyfer and Vanessa Hudgins. It was really, really good! The acting was particularly impressive, it was very believable! The effects were very hideous and funny and very realistic! The humour was laugh out loud at points and i loved the modern twist to Beauty and the Beast. This might be a 12 but most of it is at a kid's level. The only things is there is the occasional swear. But only the S word. A brilliant film that you will want to watch over and over again! A hilarious and ingenius film! 10/10! BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and not particularly good teen romance, 29 July 2011
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The movie is a loose and modern take on a 'beauty and the beast' alike story. Kyle - a popular, rich and self styled 'attractive' 17 year old - is, as a punishment for his cruelty transformed into a 'beast' by Kendra a goth witch from the same school. And how surprising, he has a year to find someone to truly love him, if he is ever to have his looks returned.

In essence a movie where the whole content is apparent right from the start, sadly also not helped by either the acting or the two dimensional story. To top it off, one hardly gets the impression that the protagonist changed convincingly and permanently.

In essence, it may well work as an early teen romance but you will probably do better to avoid it as an adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was quite a childish love film, which I'm sure my four year old ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beastly (Amazon Instant Video)
Beastly was okay, but it was more aimed at, at least PG rating. Was quite a childish love film, which I'm sure my four year old would enjoy. Disappointed it cost me 3.49 should of been FREE this one. Four stars is generous because I stayed and watched it to the end not got up midway to do the washing up which was tempting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beastly [DVD]
Beastly [DVD] by Daniel Barnz (DVD - 2011)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews