Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new cult classic!
The last of five appearances, Jay & Bob are at last featured in their own movie, having been supporting characters previously. Kevin Smith goes to town & unleashes the latent excesses of his two recurring characters, with guest-stars from Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy & Dogma, as well as new guests thrown in. The two travel to Hollywood to prevent a film of...
Published on 25 July 2002 by Eugenia Ravens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but not one of Kevin Smith's best
Jay and Silent Bob - as somewhat apparent from the title (one hopes) - emerge from their background supporting roles from the previous four Kevin Smith movies and get transformed into the lead characters in this one. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, this can be a bit much at times and in my opinion at least, a lot of the balance from the previous movies is...
Published on 23 May 2011 by AK


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new cult classic!, 25 July 2002
By 
Eugenia Ravens (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The last of five appearances, Jay & Bob are at last featured in their own movie, having been supporting characters previously. Kevin Smith goes to town & unleashes the latent excesses of his two recurring characters, with guest-stars from Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy & Dogma, as well as new guests thrown in. The two travel to Hollywood to prevent a film of their alter egos being made, but its far from an uneventful journey as we encounter hitch-hiking favours, robberies & an orang-utan along the way.
To appreciate this film, you may need to first see the aformentioned films, if only for the sake of continuity & to appreciate the pair's secret origin! I laughed non-stop at the jokes & in-jokes. Jay & Silent Bob Strikes back is a secret to be shared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars List of Special Features for Jay & Silent Bob Strikes Back Blu-Ray, 2 Jun. 2013
By 
J. LI (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
* Audio Commentary with Kevin Smith, Scott Mosier and Jason Mewes

Languages (Main Feature): English (DTS-HD 5.1)
Subtitles (Main Feature): None
Runtime: 104mins
Region: B
Video: 2.35:1

The only special feature is the audio commentary and there is no subtitles on this Blu-Ray edition which I have confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jay and Silent Bob are in the hizouse, 18 Dec. 2011
Before I start I suppose that first I should admit I am a Kevin Smith fanboy and don't even think Jersey Girl was that bad. Jay and Silent Bob, as any Smith fan will know, are two of the most popular characters in Smith's movies although they had previously always been on the sidelines. Finally, in 2001, they got their own movie which follows all of Smith's traits from his skill at writing hilarious dialogue right through to his self-confessed technical inabilities. He also manages to get some great cameos in this including Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Shannon Elizabeth, Jason Biggs and many more and we also get to see some familiar faces. The only thing that spoils this movie slightly for me is the poor casting of Will Ferrell but apart from that, if you enjoyed any of Smith's other movies, then chances are you'll like this. Clerks is still his best though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly poetic toilet humour, 1 July 2010
I love Jay and Silent Bob,Kevin Smith is an amazing director/writer and since arriving on the scene with Clerks the adventures on the king of stoners Jay and Bob have got better and better. This film is just laugh out loud gags from start to finish with so many massive stars putting in cameos including Chris Rock who is brilliant in his small role in the film It also features Will Ferrell as a wildlife marshall with half a brain.
A must have for Kevin Smith fans and comedy fans alike but not for those who dont find fart jokes and toliet humour funny as they will hate this film be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely stupid fun, 31 July 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are some films that you know you just shouldn't like and yet you love anyway. People watching `Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back' will either come to it fresh, or know about the `Askewniverse.' This film is definitely for the latter - those who have watched writer/director/star's previous work, i.e. Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy and Dogma - all of which are set in the same timeline (or `Askewniverse' to use the technical term). In other words, you'll get the most out of Jay and Silent Bob's movie if you've seen what's gone before (in the correct order).

If you're the former, you may like it, but it'll be a bit of a fluke it you do - it'll mean that you're probably into immature, smutty gags and smoke pot - which is mainly what's contained within the movie.

You really have to put your brain on hold, or at least move it down into your boots because the humour here is as low-brow as you're going to get. It's mainly a case of `know what you're getting' with this film. If you're prepared for one of the daftest, smuttiest, stupidest road trip movies ever made, which follows the exploits of two pot-heads who want to stop a movie about their life being made in Hollywood, then you'll probably enjoy this. If you're looking for something a little more intellectual then steer well clear.

Bonus points to the film-makers for getting what must be one of the longest lists of celebrity cameos ever assembled for a movie - every one sends themselves up beautifully.

I enjoyed it tremendously - in all it's low brow glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but not one of Kevin Smith's best, 23 May 2011
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Jay and Silent Bob - as somewhat apparent from the title (one hopes) - emerge from their background supporting roles from the previous four Kevin Smith movies and get transformed into the lead characters in this one. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, this can be a bit much at times and in my opinion at least, a lot of the balance from the previous movies is missing as a result.

The basic plot revolves around the two trying to stop a movie being made, with characters being based on the pair, for which they need to undertake a coast to coast trip to Hollywood.

If you are a died in the wool Kevin Smith fan, it is a logical place to go after Clerks [DVD], Mallrats [DVD], Chasing Amy [DVD] [1997] and Dogma [DVD] but I still found this one the weakest of the lot. If you have not seen any of the previous ones, some of the jokes will probably be lost on you and you are certainly more likely to buy into the franchise, if you start with one of the others.

This is not to say that the movie was not funny - it certainly had its good fill of inside jokes and even though a lot of the humour is somewhat juvenile, it is at least executed relatively well - but do not expect to be wowed in the same way as you would be with say Clerks [DVD]. So in essence, no new ground broken and while the appearances of most significant characters of the prior movies was nice, if you need to make a choice from the lot - in my opinion this one is towards the lower end of the pile that is Kevin Smith's work. Luckily Clerks 2 [DVD] that follows is again a partial return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The craziest comic duo return., 7 April 2008
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perhaps the funniest Kevin Smith film upto now. Jay and Silent Bob return, this time as the leading characters of their own movie. Other characters make pleasant yet brief returns. This film is more whacky than any other Kevin Smiths pervious movies, but be warned its not for everyone. If your a foul-mouthed, pot smoking, comic loving, red-bloodied male .... then this film will be hard to dislike. If you like more sutble and tasteful comedy ... then maybe this isnt for you.

Out of all Kevin Smiths films that I have watched, this is the best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars maybe too much of a good thing, 21 Nov. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
in the four films that kevin smith wrote and directed prior to this,the characters of jay and silent bob stayed in the background of the central characters and stories but when they appeared they usually stole the show,hence a victory for the two likable stoners,but now,we get a film that takes jay and silent bob out of the shadows and a film is made in their name and the results are ,well ,mixed ,if im honest.

The film has a list of cameos that dont fail to impress for the most part,ben affleck,can be a little annoying in this one but his inclusion after mallrats and dogma is welcome,matt damon,will ferrell,chris rock and carrie fisher all appear and do good to moderate jobs.

The film follows the stoner two as they head to hollywood with the intention of stopping a movie being made that features characters of themselves,along the way ,mishap and chaos and misunderstanding follows and the film is sketchy enough in places as it feels like a sum of parts rather than an entire movie,crude humour beckons and there are funny moments but sometimes the humour is too deadpan and self loving and this is probably the worst of kevin smiths movies,not a shambles by any means but not a film that will change the very fabric that is entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally the movie weve all been waiting for!, 6 Jan. 2014
Ok, if you havent seen Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy and Dogma, I recommend going back and buying those, although this and none of the above are sequels, they are all set in the same universe and Jay and Silent Bob (and a lot of the characters in this film all) appear in those previous movies.
So this was supposed to be Kevin Smiths final movie in the Viewaskewniverse franchise (this and the films mentioned above).
So what we get is the two guys that have been background character throughout the whole thing get there own movie where they meet a lot of the cast from the previous films.
You've got Dante, Randall, Snowball (Clerks)
Brody (Mallrats)
Holden, Banky, Alyssa, the gay black dude (Chasing Amy)
And a bunch of actors from the previous films in new and funny roles... oh and Will Ferrell is also a main character, so if you're a fan of his films, this is one of his lesser known gems.
The plot revolves around Jay and Silent Bob finding out Bluntman and Chronic (the comic character to which they hold likeness rights too) are getting there own movie and internet fans have been insulting the characters. So J&SB go to Hollywood to stop the movie getting made to stop all these internet fans saying bad stuff about them. Its just one big movie full off wild crazy shizz. I really suggest you own this movie. Click buy now. Snootch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh, Laugh and Laugh some more, 12 Sept. 2002
Clerks is the only Kevin Smith film i have seen prior to this, and that was amazingly funny for such a low budget black&white movie. However actor/director Kevin Smith has come a long way since then and ploughed a lot more dollars into this title, and he doesn't disappoint.
For a long time i have always thought us Brits were the best at delivering toilet humour and vulgarity to a film, but i have to say Kevin Smith gives us a run for our money here. However, like the American pie movies, this is only likely to strike a chord with the younger adult audiences, and the older generations probably won't get the jokes and tut tut at the huge amount of profanity.
Basically Jay and Silent Bob are a couple of stoners who hang out at a convenience store in New Jersey, and they have had comic book characters based upon them. Once they hear that a movie is being produced using their characters but with real actors, they embark on a mission to stop the film causing havok throughout their journey. On their way they meet some of the American pie cast and you will see a lot of references to other movies.
All in all this is a great value Dvd set comprising 2 discs. The features disc is colossal with some extremely funny outakes that you wished were left in the theatrical release. Picture and sound are of a very high quality and if you have a dirty sense of humour, this is a must for your collection and superb value for money. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back [Blu-ray]
Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back [Blu-ray] by Kevin Smith (Blu-ray - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews