Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Atmospheric, with Challenging Puzzles.
This is a modern take on what used to be called an "Adventure Game" - the idea being that you move your character around and investigate clues, to take the action forward.

This is an analytical game and moves at a measured pace, controlled by your input to the puzzles that are presented - you don't move on until you solve them. So this is not a game where your...
Published on 21 Sept. 2012 by Bruce

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Holmes is Where the Heart Is
`Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper' was not the best game to grace consoles this generation, but in the limited world of 360/PS3 adventure games it had a good story and the puzzles were fun. For this reason I had some hopes for `The Testament of Sherlock Holmes', developers Focus had another year of experience to build on their last game and provide an even better...
Published on 17 Jan. 2013 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Holmes is Where the Heart Is, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
`Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper' was not the best game to grace consoles this generation, but in the limited world of 360/PS3 adventure games it had a good story and the puzzles were fun. For this reason I had some hopes for `The Testament of Sherlock Holmes', developers Focus had another year of experience to build on their last game and provide an even better experience, so why is it so much worse? For one thing, the story is nowhere near as compelling as `Ripper'. In most cases a story does not really matter during a game, but as `Testament' is an adventure title that slowly moves along, it is of paramount importance that the gamer is drawn in. You are not and Holmes fans will also be upset by the disregard for some of the character's cannon.

The game is best when playing the puzzles themselves, they are tricky, but in most cases achievable. The game screams its PC routes in the style of puzzle, as they have not evolved much from the days of `The 7th Guest'. It is during some of the puzzles and the majority of the traditional adventure aspects of the game that the PC base damages the console game. Moving around the screen with a control pad is difficult and delicately moving parts of puzzles is at times impossible. Focus appear to have done the bare minimum needed to convert the game onto console, so you are left at times with a glitchy mess that is hard to move around in. Not good enough.

This lack of effort continues in the graphics and cut scenes; both would not look out of place in a 2005 PC game - unacceptable for a full RRP console game. All could have been forgiven had the story interested me a bit more, but as it was, only the puzzles detracted from the tedium of the story and annoyance of the controls. This is a game suitable only for those adventure fans desperate for a game to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poor execution., 6 Oct. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game primarily because I was reading the Sherlock Holmes stories at the time. I also greatly enjoyed LA Noire, and looked forward to another game that required you to use your brain. The story within the game is a decent go at a Sherlock Holmes adventure, though I feel as though it lost its way towards the end.

In terms of gameplay, it isn't great. The graphics are dated and the character movement is clunky at best. It also tends to be a tad glitchy. The puzzles and early detective work are well thought out and relatively challenging, though at times it becomes less about connecting everything together and more about diligent searching of the environment.

I felt that one of the stronger elements of the game was the "deduction board", where you have to piece together the clues you discover to advance the case... and this was criminally underused (only 3 times I believe). It is also a rather short affair, lasting at most 15 hours all told... and it has zero replay value. Another issue I had was that there is no chance to go wrong as such. It is impossible to advance the game unless you do everything you need to do. A Heavy Rain type mechanic would have been excellent, where your decisions change how the game plays out... but that isn't the case here.

I'd recommend getting the game if you can find it cheap, enjoy Sherlock Holmes books, want a laugh at how annoying Watson is, and are a bit of a trophy hound. It has to be one of the easiest platinums ever released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Atmospheric, with Challenging Puzzles., 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a modern take on what used to be called an "Adventure Game" - the idea being that you move your character around and investigate clues, to take the action forward.

This is an analytical game and moves at a measured pace, controlled by your input to the puzzles that are presented - you don't move on until you solve them. So this is not a game where your reactions are tested and you have fast-moving action and shooting things. You can take your time to solve any puzzle and the "Deduction Board" halts any action, while you think about the facts that Holmes and Watson gather from the crime scene.

The game is quite faithful to the Sherlock Holmes books and features quotes from Conan Doyle, rather than being based on any of the recent films or TV series. Holmes and Watson are resolutely British and the voice acting is good, with solid English accents that would sit well in the period. Holmes is cool and aloof, self confident to the point of arrogance, while Watson is more animated and emotional. During the game, you control either character - one at a time.

The graphics are very good for the backgrounds - the interiors,buildings and London itself have been rendered in great detail, giving a real sense of atmosphere and place. The characters are a bit stiff and awkward, which is maybe why it's only a 4 star game - but then they are not rushing about, driving the action.

The game starts with a strange scene of children finding toys in a loft, which is really badly animated and they talk incoherently in strange American accents - it's enough to put you off the game, before you've even started. However, once they find Watson's diary of events, we are straight into the realistic world of Holmes' London and after brief familiarisation, we are into much darker stuff; with a tortured and mutilated body rendered in great detail, which we must explore fully.

The adult nature of the game, makes the "cutesy" opening scene all the more out of place and I would warn people not to get lulled into thinking this is suitable for children. It has full-on gore and adult themes from the off and the puzzles are pretty hard.

If you are looking for a fast-paced thriller with jokey leads like the film with Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law - then forget it, this game is more serious and moves slowly. But if you want an intelligent game that takes the original books seriously, then this is for you. It is possible to get stuck for a long time on some of the puzzles and deductions, but there is always an answer and I think they are appropriate for the 'Great Detective'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 20 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is ok but not really in the same league as LA Noire. It's clunky and awkward, and the puzzles are just contrived puzzle book stuff, and usually nothing really to do with plot (mostly just opening locks). Unlike LA Noire, where you collected relevant clues across the whole city and had a much greater choice of how you played the game, here you are restricted to very small game play areas - usually a couple of rooms, or a few streets at best. The plot is complex, but you involvement isn't. Overall I found it disappointing for a game with a £40 price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
loved all the puzzles here and the characters were so realistic! The gameplay was interesting and fun! defiantly worth playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what i expected, 20 Oct. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is very poorly made, looks horrible for a ps3 game, not worth the money, only good thing was the delivery coming on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
Is Sherlock Holmes the game.Good puzzles and very english.I buy the game because i like Sherlock Holmes.Is the best game from this person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best sherlock holmes game, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. S. J. Taylor "sjtsongs" (bolton le sands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
i finished this game last night. it was excellent. the story has you guessing half the way through and there is a few shock moments. i could not recomend it more. they only small downer is that the puzzles are too hard ,but there is help with them. fantastic game !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Testament to an Excellent Adventure Game, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an excellent addition to the Sherlock Holmes series of games and a welcome console edition. The graphics are crisp and clear and there are many nods to previous Sherlock games and the actual stories by Conan Doyle.

I thought the storyline was brilliant with plenty of twists and gave me more than a few OMG moments. (I do take my games very seriously!)

It's not terribly long as these games tend not to be but it's gripping throughout and the puzzles are pitched just right, tough enough to keep you scratching your head for a few hours in some cases, but none so ridiculous you give up altogether.

The NPC characters are a bit weak and seem to have a very limited set of stock phrases, in about 3 different voices only, but most are not central to the plot so you can live with that.

The only thing that really rankled is there's a very irritating "skip puzzle" feature which is activated by clicking R2. I could not find a way to disable this and on several occasions put the controller down and accidentally pressed R2 and solved the puzzle automatically meaning I had to load a previous save game and start again. This aside, I enjoyed it thoroughly and cannot wait for the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gaming husband, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) (Video Game)
My husband completed this game in 1 month. He enjoyed it but would not re play the game. He found the graphics at the end a little strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3)
The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews