Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When you can get it to work, it's great.
The game comes with quite a few glitches (like most games at launch do), but when I manage to get into a multiplayer game, it's great. Unique mechanics that mean the game is only a little about combat, and almost all of the time your control of one individual (spy, envoy, assassin, etc) will decide victory rather than huge wars like other RTSs. If they fix the bugs, as I...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by dan674

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If it was free.... i wouldnt play it.
This is a truely terrible game and would not compare favourably to 1997 release Lord's of Magic. Terrible graphics which require a powerfull machine to play, lack of depth in the story and unit content coupled with a myriad of faction's which are basically the same with a different coloured flag.

Add to this that the game is almost unplayable out of the box...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Mr. Matthew Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If it was free.... i wouldnt play it., 18 Oct 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is a truely terrible game and would not compare favourably to 1997 release Lord's of Magic. Terrible graphics which require a powerfull machine to play, lack of depth in the story and unit content coupled with a myriad of faction's which are basically the same with a different coloured flag.

Add to this that the game is almost unplayable out of the box because of graphics bug's and slow scrolled speed (which cannot easily be adjusted) and you realy should not waste your money. A huge disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More dross from Cyanide, 28 Nov 2011
By 
J. Ewing "JE" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I guess I shouldn't be surprised at the ineptitude on display here. It's done by the same developers that served up the bug ridden Blood Bowl game. I remember thinking that was a shame because I desperately wanted to enjoy Blood Bowl... but surely they couldn't ruin another of my favourite franchises? Actually, you'd better believe it, they can and they did. When are publishers going to sit up and take note that Cyanide cannot be relied upon, and surely the only thing keeping them afloat is the strength of the franchise brand they happen to have purchased. Maybe they should get credit for that at least.
Anyway, I've ranted enough about Cyanide, let me tell you that the game, if you can get it to run despite horrible graphics bugs, is shockingly bad. You have a UI that doesn't convey information, units that can't be selected, and it's a great pity because some of the ideas and spy concepts are actually quite neat. Concepts mean squat without a decent implementation though.
Avoid - get your GoT fix through the books or TV series instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Graphics - Terrible
Gameplay - Woeful

Waste of time and money? - Yes

It is such a shame as I am a big fan of the books - I was hoping for something along the lines of Total War but in the GOT universe.

Could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely awful., 1 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is one of the most disappointing games i have ever experienced. This is what happens when a company decides to jump on a bandwagon of a popular tv show/book and does nothing to live up to it. This is a case of paying premium money for what is effectively a game ten years old , which i would pay a minimal amount for. Im a fan of strategy type games but this is just so outdated and boring.

Very Very Disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 30 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This really is a disappointing effort, I was expecting something epic and engaging and what I have ended up with is a throw away retro throwback. The game is just generally quite shoddy, had it been released 6-8 years ago I might have been satisfied with the graphics though compared to other recent releases they really do just extremely dated. The same thing goes for the game play, while it has a few novel features compared to other recent releases it is nothing new and is not likely to hold your attention for long.

This game might be worth buying in several months as a 4 bargin, it should keep you entertained on a boring afternoon though that is about all you can really expect from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Annoying, 4 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm a massive fan of the books so thought this game would help me understand the positions of the lesser towns/castles in Westeros, but no, they all look the same and are generically named just Town or Castle, the Lord of each faction has the same Avatar, the banners of each unit are too small that even when zoomed in its an effort to figure out which house they belong to. The micromanagement is just annoying, you constantly have to keep looking at each dull town to make sure no envoys are taking it from your control. Just doesn't capture the imagination, it's like a very early Settlers game set on a poor Westeros map. They had a few promising ideas with spies and other minor things but they failed to implement them well. I was hoping for a game where you could recruit knights to your cause from each castle, with their own traits and soldiers, sort of like The Lords of Midnight and Doomdarks Revenge, classic Spectrum games from the past that would fit more with the political intrigue of GoT, but no, here you just buy as many generic knights as you can afford which equals BORING. Save your money and wait for Stronghold 3 which looks much more promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed., 15 Oct 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am a huge fan of the books and the TV series, and I was hoping that this game would do the series justice unfortunatly I was mistaken. The gameplay is boring and the graphics have come straight from 2002. The story is also boringly done. In fact I played this game for about 2 hours and then got so bored I just uninstalled it. Some may like it, but I found it a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this rubbish, 3 Oct 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I completely agree with the other reviewers who note how dated and shoddy "Game of Thrones: Genesis" is. George RR Martin famously writes his novels using Wordstar 4.0 on MS DOS... this game is only slightly more up-to-date than that. The developers, "Cyanide Studio" are aptly named as this product is about as appealing as a cup of poison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Micromanage your way to war..., 22 Nov 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Now admittedly by selecting to do a computer game based on Game of Thrones they bit off a great deal, sadly it seems to have been far more than they could actually chew.

You can see what they were attempting to do, write a game in which the political manouevering before the war starts is just as important as the war. Unfortunately the political manouevering seems to involve sending millions of tiny people to certain places to do not very well definied things, while stopping your enemies sending their tiny men to places, or if they have using spies to spot what they have done.

You constantly have to keep the little men on the move, protected, working, and stopping your enemy from doing the same to you. Which even on the first few levels can get a bit overwhelming.

The combat when war finally comes is... lacklustre shall we say.

I wouldn't reccomend this game to a fan of the books. I wouldn't reccomend it to a fan of RTS games either. I am sure however there are a number of people who would enjoy the game it's just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish, 20 Dec 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Like many avid Game of Throne I was really looking forward to playing this, only to find it to be a load of c*** on a stick.
When you compare it to games in the total war series, this falls far short. In many ways it is a classic blizzard game as it feels, looks and plays like a game made in the 80s.
Do yourself a favour and do not buy this cash in, seriously if you see it in the 1 bin and you buy it, you would have been ripped off !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0468dc)

This product

A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD)
A Game of Thrones: Genesis (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows Vista / XP)
9.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews