Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but a few flaws.
Before you purchase this game you must ask yourself whether you are a true TDF fan, if not, i would strongly recommend not to buy it. You'll be bored out of your mind if you don't love cycling. But, however, if you do then you certainly will enjoy it. Don't worry, the game isn't played in real time, you don't spend 6 hours on each stage putting your feet up watching your...
Published on 13 July 2011 by H. Jones

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly Tour de Farce....
Since the 2011 Tour shaped up to be one of the best in a long time, I knew I would be a bit disappointed when it finished, but as luck would have it the final stage took place on my birthday, and my great wife bought me this to try and help keep me happy until the Vuelta starts in August. So perhaps I went in with expectations a bit too high, but while not a bad game I...
Published on 31 July 2011 by M. McCann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but a few flaws., 13 July 2011
By 
H. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
Before you purchase this game you must ask yourself whether you are a true TDF fan, if not, i would strongly recommend not to buy it. You'll be bored out of your mind if you don't love cycling. But, however, if you do then you certainly will enjoy it. Don't worry, the game isn't played in real time, you don't spend 6 hours on each stage putting your feet up watching your chosen cyclist doing the work for you. The game picks the most exciting and/or interesting parts of each stage and allows you to play them, in between these sections it simulates the outcome of the race for you. Some people have said this simulation aspect of the game is a bit long winded but in complete honesty, it'll normally take about half a minute to move you on to the next section of the race, with about 3 minutes as the absolute maximum waiting time. TDF 2011 is basically a strategy game but you do get to control your rider to an extent, you can increase/ decrease his speed, move laterally across the peleton, attack, send commands to other team mates etc.. For me, the most rewarding and fun way of playing this game is to not focus on the rider you are controlling, but to try to cater for all the riders in your team's needs. For example, you select Bradley Wiggins to control, then you come up to an intermediate sprint, so you tell Edvald Bossen Hagen (I'm not the best for spelling foreign names) to sprint off the front, you instruct a lower ranked rider to head off into a breakaway for a stage win, then a mountain comes up, off goes your polka-dot jersey contender, meanwhile you have to ensure that Geraint Thomas gets home safe for the white jersey. And of course look after Bradley Wiggins. See what I mean? Despite all of the fantastic parts of this game, there are still a few little things that let it down, for some reason during time trials, your rider doesn't wear a TT helmet, occasionally you may pass through another rider (but not too often) , sometimes elements of race tactics can be frustrating because the tutorial section isn't exactly perfect and finally some teams aren't 100% official, meaning some names are altered such as Andy Schlik, instead of Schleck, but if you truly love the Tour de France, you can look past these small errors to see an enjoyable game for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly Tour de Farce...., 31 July 2011
By 
M. McCann "rednotdead1976" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
Since the 2011 Tour shaped up to be one of the best in a long time, I knew I would be a bit disappointed when it finished, but as luck would have it the final stage took place on my birthday, and my great wife bought me this to try and help keep me happy until the Vuelta starts in August. So perhaps I went in with expectations a bit too high, but while not a bad game I did feel slightly underwhelmed and there was potential for this to be a much better game.

The game tutorial could be better since it raises more questions than answers in some cases-perhaps some footage illustrating the points rather than a simple static screen shot may have worked better. Plus options within the game are limited in relation to what orders you can give out- for example if you decide to go on an attack and want your team to block and slow down the peloton to protect you, you can't do that. The "Protect Me" order only has your team surround you which is not what you need at that stage, so perhaps the AI needs tweaked.

On a more petty note the voice acting is atrocious which can be a bit off putting after hearing "I've got a rocket under my saddle" as a response to an order to attack for the umpteenth time.

The simulated parts where the CPU takes over are also quite annoying, since they do not seem to take into consideration the orders you were giving just before you lose control.

Overall I think this game suffers from promising a lot and not fully delivering- I was more interested in the strategy end of it, so perhaps controlling the whole team from a car would be better than actually controlling one rider and also issuing orders. The menu system for doling out orders is also a tad annoying-sometimes to select a team mate and an order, you have to use the control stick that should be used to control your player which means you can lose a head of steam very easily by trying to sort out your team.

So while I would not call this game a total write-off, there are elements that mean it does not meet its full potential and it can be a bit frustrating. There are some small details that, in a better quality game could be forgiven but really it should deliver more. I will still hold on to it and play the rest of it through but if it is all out action you want then you will be disappointed. There is probably enough strategy to keep most people happy though again it is more the lost potential that means I would only recommend it to die hard cycling and strategy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 4 July 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a big disappointment. Being a big fan of earlier versions of the PC game, I was bitterly disappointed and utterly bored by this console version. This is a serious candidate to being the worst game I have ever played and it is simply not worth the money, or any money for that sake!

I have never played a game where you spend close to 98% of your time just waiting, and the worst is that you can't even speed up the game to avoid this long waiting periods. Not even in the intermediate part of the stages where you are not controlling a rider. The console version is restricted to you only following one rider out of a team of 5 riders eventhough I do believe the teams really consists of 8-9 riders in the real Tour de France. Eventhough this might be more realistic, I think that controlling all riders in a team is more fun and gives more variation. Also, you have no influence on the gear (helmets, wheels, preparation etc.). You're choices are extremely limited, which makes this game very monotone. I was already bored after playing for 30 min.

I discourage anybody who are thinking about buying this product. It is money out the window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 17 Oct. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an awesome game, played on it for 5 hours yesterday and it has an excellent AI, very good tactical decisions and most of the teams and riders. I really recommend you buy this because it is an awesome that will give you hours and hours of fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor interface, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having 'played' with older versions, this new version is extremely poor. It's just a matter of sitting there and watching a green energy bar, no other views except looking from right to left 'sparsely ' no arial view or camera views. Not worth the purchase, waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had/has the Possibility to be Great, 4 July 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game on the day of release, looking forward to playing the console version of the PC "Pro Cycling Manager". I have only played this a few times so i`m hoping that this game improves the more i play it but there are a few things that have become quite annoying already. Each stage is split into 3 or 4 parts where you control one of your riders during the highlighted/most interesting parts of that stage. inbetween these parts you have to sit and wait while the game simulates between these parts which is BORING. Also you cant check on a Map how the split looks. The Steering is very much "Robotic" and the relay part is a little confusing. Also how do you do a lead out train if you was Cavendish ? i dont think you can. Also you have to stick with one rider during the stage and cant switch between riders so if you are riding as Wiggo on a flat stage and you want swifty to go for the win you can only tell him to attack. Pro Cycling manager on the PC is far far better. Oh and some of the team names are doing a "Pro Evo" and are miss spelling them to get around the Licencing issues. Frank Schlik and Andi Schekk ? (something like that)

Anyway this could of been a great game which could of launched a franchise to what is the most watched annual sporting event in the world. Unfortunatley its fallen well short.

I hope they learn from this and produce a better game for 2012.

I think i`ll be trading mine in this week if it fails to grip me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good game for cyclist fans, 11 Sept. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
its an ok game grafs okay en feel okay had hoped bit more like cycling maneger
but its fun to play for a while till the end of the year releases come out ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Aug. 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
The game really sucks - having tried the PC version the gameplay is really disappointing - it is several years ago I last tried Cycling Manager on PC but even then that version was way better than this one. Here you only control one rider and more than 80% of each stage you have no control as this is just simulated. Do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID,RUBBISH GAME, 30 July 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tour de France 2011 (PS3) (Video Game)
this has to be the worst game i have played in my life,the game is boring after abit,i did read the reviews about it before i got the game but i though i would give it ago anyway,how wrong i was,lucky i payed only £[] for the game which i traded it in today.if i was you i would not even consider buying this game at all.but it's upto you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tour de France 2011 (PS3)
Tour de France 2011 (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews