Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and expertly filmed
Vincent Lindon is in a completely different role here to the husband he plays in the compulsive thriller 'Anything For Her'. In this film he is a sensitive working man who is entranced by the quiet, submissive allure of his son's teacher (Sandrine Kiberlain - 'L'Appartement', 'A Self-Made Hero', 'Petit Nicholas').

The film is a study of loneliness: the barren...
Published 13 months ago by P. J. Salisbury

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More impressionistic than substantial
Very little happens in this impressionistic little French film that is full of silences.

The characters were paper thin (very little is ever communicated between them) and the uneventful story (it is very slight) was predictable and not particularly involving. Having said that, it held my attention very well.

The story could have been done justice...
Published 17 months ago by BS on parade


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and expertly filmed, 24 Feb 2013
By 
P. J. Salisbury (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Vincent Lindon is in a completely different role here to the husband he plays in the compulsive thriller 'Anything For Her'. In this film he is a sensitive working man who is entranced by the quiet, submissive allure of his son's teacher (Sandrine Kiberlain - 'L'Appartement', 'A Self-Made Hero', 'Petit Nicholas').

The film is a study of loneliness: the barren life of a single school teacher who exists on her own without friends or a lover; and of a man who is constrained by his male role as a manual worker but who also feels alone in a marriage where he has failed to find a way to reveal his inner thoughts to his wife. Such emptiness, however, cannot remain for long where there is a spark between two people.

Lindon and Kiberlain stumble through a minefield of conflicting conscience, attempting to reconcile new feelings with old loyalties and their sense of morality. Of all the questions raised by the film, the most significant is probably: 'Do the central characters leave the film with a greater understanding of themselves or each other?'

Another fine example of the capacity of French cinema, more than any other, to produce films of emotional complexity and sensitivity. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French "Brief Encounter"?, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Geoffrey H. Thorne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
This film represents the first time that I have ever seen Sandrine Kiberlain and Vincent Lindon. As a result of this particular film, it appears that I have missed a great deal, an omission that I intend to rectify over the next months.

I am amazed to see critics comment on the lack of "eventful" action. What has happened to viewers? Do they expect CGI and explosions all the time? This is, quite simply, a wonderfully acted little masterpiece. Vincent Lindon is fascinating as a manual worker who seems perfectly happy with his lot in life, until he meets his son's enigmatic teacher (Sandrine Kiberlain). She embodies an undoubtedly disappointed woman, although, apart from one clue in a telephone message from her mother, there is no definite answer as to what that sadness relates to. Her ability to express herself is through the violin, whilst Vincent Lindon's is through his work as a builder.

An attraction of opposites is a common ploy in films, but, here, there is a sublety lacking in so many other films. The attraction between the two is mainly conveyed by embarrassed glances and the quality of the acting means that this is eminently watchable, as it is done by two consummate actors. There are two scenes which are almost unbearably beautiful to watch, and many more which will stay in your memory.

Please watch this. You will not regret it (unless of course, you want CGI-generated films). Quality and good acting are what make films masterpieces. This qualifies on those two counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nearly perfect, 23 Dec 2013
By 
B. L. Rudd "GUITARIST" (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
A marvellous movie from Stephane Brize. Wonderful acting from the leads Vincent Lindon and Sandrine Kiberlian. The birthday party scene was priceless when the wife looks at her husbands reaction to Mademoiselle Chambons violin performance and knows whats going on as women instinctively do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More impressionistic than substantial, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Very little happens in this impressionistic little French film that is full of silences.

The characters were paper thin (very little is ever communicated between them) and the uneventful story (it is very slight) was predictable and not particularly involving. Having said that, it held my attention very well.

The story could have been done justice in a ten minute short film, but it worked well at feature length. I didn't feel it ever took the p**s with unnecessary long pauses or meandering scenes. Everything in the film justified its inclusion. It's certainly not a riot of colour and base excitement, but it was interesting, thoughtful and mildly affecting with a bit of emotional impact.

I liked it without being bowled over sideways by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the loveliest movie!, 31 Aug 2013
By 
R. Warren "RoseM" (SA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Just loved this movie for its delicacy and shyness of the characters giving so much depth to what could have been just another romance.
Sandrine Chamberlain so beautiful.
I will watch this again .. and again ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful acting, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Particularly from Sandrine Kiberlain, who has an ethereal look. The scenes with her ex-husband are so sensitively performed. Finally, the interviews with director and cast are among the most revealing I've ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it. A picture of some of those moments that may take you out of your normal life and start a new one. If you dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very French, 14 Jan 2012
By 
ken shabby (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
I must say i am bit out of practice at watching films like this. I appreciate that in these modern times most films hurtle through the door like a man with his hair on fire. This is slow, with few fancy film-making tricks like camera moves or flashy editing. The takes are long, the performances are careful and measured and not much happens or is said. I suspect the acting is very good and we see a nicely-made wooden window get carefully fitted into an apartment window.
A nice film about not being able to have what you desire (love, not a new casement window, that is)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mlle Chambon, 9 Feb 2012
By 
Cesar G. Esterman (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD, its a very unusual film but quite plausible in a way. I don't want to mention how it is ending as it would spoil the story. I would recommend the film to matter of fact people who believe all dreams could have far reaching consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars C'est triste mais que c'est beau..., 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely, touching story of a builder and family man's passion for his son's school teacher, the enigmatic Mademoiselle Chambon. Not much is said but lots conveyed by the brilliant pairing of Kiberlain and Lindon. I love those 2 together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD]
Mademoiselle Chambon [DVD] by Stephane Brize (DVD - 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews