Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a treat
This is a really good collection of DVDs. The series 'Lovejoy' is still a treat to watch and there aren't too many duff episodes. Nicely acted by all especially Ian McShane who fits the role perfectly. There are no extras to speak of but that doesn't really matter though it does have English subtitles.

This is a nice and compact set with six DVD cases sitting...
Published on 7 April 2012 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories and acting - shame about the abysmal .sound track!
I really enjoyed the Lovejoy series when it was originally transmitted, though it went downhill when Eric left, his replacement being quite objectionable.

When I saw that the full set of discs was available at a reasonable price I could not resist their purchase but have been very disappointed with the sound quality on the discs that I've played so far, it is...
Published 14 months ago by Dangerous Dave


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a treat, 7 April 2012
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really good collection of DVDs. The series 'Lovejoy' is still a treat to watch and there aren't too many duff episodes. Nicely acted by all especially Ian McShane who fits the role perfectly. There are no extras to speak of but that doesn't really matter though it does have English subtitles.

This is a nice and compact set with six DVD cases sitting snugly in the box and it doesn't take up too much room. All in all this is terrific with great scenery, good character's and a touch of nostalgia too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, 31 Mar 2012
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, very funny and enjoyable. I bought this set for my wife's birthday and we have gradualy worked through it and it has caused many laughs. All the episodes seem to be there and all the DVDs played perfectly.

For those not familiar with Lovejoy it is a series about an antique dealer who is a bit of a rough dimaond and all his adventures with his underworld friends and his upmarket customers. There is lots of comedy and friction between the characters and every episode is strong. Tinker played by Dudly Sutton is a brilliant side kick and is the wise man in the team. All in all a trip back in time and well worth the money fop the many hours of entertainment it has given. The only thing lacking from the set is that there is very little in the way of extras on the DVDs. Would have been nice to have some interviews and out takes etc. However, I am nit piocking here - for me still a 5 star product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovejoy collection is a great bargain, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Anybody who grew up from the mid-80's to the mid 90s will remember this series as something they would look forward to watching. A superb TV rendition of the Jonathan Gash novels with a wonderful cast of characters. There is great humour and mystery in these stories throughout the complete 6 series box set. If you enjoyed watching Lovejoy this box set is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Ncballard (worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is going to be short and sweet.Having had Series 1 on DVD for years i thought i'd buy the complete collection. And was not disappointed, Not having seen quite a few episodes from the early series (due to other social activities)It was nice to fill in the gaps and watch them in order. Would i recommend this box set well yes the packaging is great but there are no extras on the DVD'S But it's great to go all nostalgic and enjoy great TV again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving LOVEJOY, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Arthur Athanassiou (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This was the series where I really got to know and admire IAN MCSHANE. The lovable rogue character "LOVEJOY" - lives around the enticing world of antiques - and he quickly drags you into his world and the ways of his art. The series does change some of the secondary charaters from season to season and this is a bit off-putting. When I bought the set I had no idea that the series went to season seven - I have only seen series 1 and 2 and both are enjoyable.

Buy this series if you like quick witted, fast moving story lines - with a little bit of rough and tumble. Very well presented box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step back in time, 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my husband's birthday as he was a big fan. Transported us back in time to the idyllic world of Lovejoy. Warm characters and entertaining storylines although we didn't recall some of the more violent scenes. We had a laugh at the fashions/hairstyles and spotting all the old cars. Sheer escapism and extremely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories and acting - shame about the abysmal .sound track!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the Lovejoy series when it was originally transmitted, though it went downhill when Eric left, his replacement being quite objectionable.

When I saw that the full set of discs was available at a reasonable price I could not resist their purchase but have been very disappointed with the sound quality on the discs that I've played so far, it is of a very low level and even when the volume is raised to a level that should make it audible much of the dialogue is muffled and indistinct.

I'd gladly give the set five stars but for the abysmal sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Busy housewife, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Now I have my Lovejoy dvds I do not mind spending time doing the ironing
I loved this series when itwas first shown on TV. As I lived in the area
at the time it takes me back to a time when life was good.When I finish the boxed set
I wiil watch it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much loved Lovejoy, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This series showed in Australia when it came out, and had similar character ideas to those of 'Minder', a roguish dealer, just on the edge of legal dealings,. with plenty of shady background work. However, 'Lovejoy' goes a little further; the antiques background is interesting and we learn a lot about them. Obviously a favourite pastime for the writer of the original novels.
The platonic relationship between Lady Jane and Lovejoy provides just the right amount of tension (nearly as much as with Steed and Emma Peel in 'The Avengers', and the boozy Tinker and the naive Eric add the required characters so beloved of English stories.
Entertaining, wonderful plots and a great part played by Ian McShane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My parents love it!, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Reddhead (Looe, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this boxset for my parents for Christmas and they LOVE it! They enjoyed the show years ago when it was shown on the TV but couldn't keep up with the recent repeats, they kept being shown out of order so they gave up. They are working their way through the dvd's, they have a "Cup of tea and Lovejoy" in the afternoons. A very nice gift for a Lovejoy fan and so easy to wrap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD]
Lovejoy - The Complete Collection [DVD] by Ian McShane (DVD - 2011)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews