Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short...but sweet., 2 Sep 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Older or more competent readers may initially be put off of the idea of what is essentially a book written for people who don't like reading (100 pages of very large type in the `Quick Reads' series) but `I Am A Dalek' is actually far more enjoyable than many of the longer young-audience hardback's published in the wake of the new Doctor Who series. The book reads very much in the style of the new television series one-episode stories: very fast moving and completely shorn of fat. The story is something of a variation from that of the TV story `Dalek': in that story Rose was responsible for transferring some of the `human factor' into a Dalek, here we have a human who is taken over by the Dalek factor. There's also plenty of genuine Dalek action, including the bizarre concept of a gunless Dalek causing mayhem only with it's `sink plunger' arm, and some nice humorous moments. The only slight problem I had with the book is the rather unnecessary coda, which is a bit of a cheat and undoes a previously powerful moment earlier in the book. Still, this is good fun, and if you like the fast and breezy nature of the new television series you'll find this a perfect read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RESISTANCE is futile!, 18 July 2006
By 
Mr. Paul W. Evans "Paul Evans" (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow! I didn't expect much from a quick read, but this is simply a fantastic read. The quick reads have been designed to get people into reading books and this should do just that. 30 years ago it was Terrance Dicks Target Dr Who novels that taught me to read and I hope this does the same for this generation.

This could easily be 1 part story from Season 2 with the 10th Dr. His character is captured excellently here as is Rose. The Dalek is as evil and tricksy as they have ever been if not more so. Here it briefly explores their hell bent desire to keep the Dalek race alive at what ever cost.

Brillant book and at this price you can't go wrong. Come on lets have another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for little kids, 4 Dec 2006
By 
My 4 year old daughter loves Doctor Who, unfortunately most of the books out there are just a bit too old for her yet and too long. This was perfect, we managed to read a chapter a night before bed and it didn't take too long to get through it. This is her first book with chapters in and she thought it was fantastic. I just wish there were more like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars short and sweet, 30 Jun 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Half the length of the usual doctor who novels, and a little better than some of them as a result in presenting a story that could be done on television. The tenth doctor gets his first encounter with the daleks - and remember, he's a no second chances guy - and action ensues.

A very easy read and a very enjoyable one. The supporting cast are nicely sketched, and there are strong emotional moments that make you feel for them. Also look out for the best way to deal with a dalek since the van in dalek invasion of earth!

A nice little book, and well worth reading if you can't wait for the next tv episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Am a Dalek, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the Quick Reads series of Doctor Who novels, and features the Tenth Doctor (as portrayed by David Tennant) with Rose. Just a little over 100 pages long, this quick read is definitely that; but it's a great story.

The Doctor and Rose land on the Moon; only it's not the Moon, and the Tardis is trying to tell the Doctor something. Not far away, an archaeological dig has found something quite wrong in some Roman ruins. And that's only the beginning.

This is a really good story, full of great Doctor Who action and characters, and of course Daleks. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet - the story that is, not the Dalek, 18 May 2009
Simple but absorbing Quick Read featuring The Doctor's nemeses and his companion Rose Tyler, and primarily designed to encourage reluctant readers and improve literacy skills in a fun way. As a teacher of English I think that it does that job admirably; it's a short, fun read, like a TV episode, but whittled down to the essentials.
Rose and the Doctor are in character, the Dalek is suitably menacing and the extra characters were written with just enough personality so that you worried if they lived or died. The explanation for how the Doctor and Rose end up where they do is a bit weak, but that's missing the point. A well-written, accessible and fun read for fans of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, fast-moving - just what's needed for a Dr Who book, 10 Aug 2006
By 
C. Rice (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to in some ways agree with the people that think that Dr Who books are not very well written. I've read several and enjoyed them (as a Dr Who fan) but wouldn't recommend them to anyone else unless thye were as interested as I am. But this short story is different. Anyone who's just enjoyed dipping into the recent TV series should try this very short read. Reading it I got completely engaged for the duration (you'll probably read it in one sitting) and it was strangely like watching a TV episode, except almost better because I imagined all the events and it was really cool. The story is a typical kind of doctor who one but it's refreshing to read it rather than watch it for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A quick and enjoyable story, 23 Mar 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As part of the small range of the "Quick Read" books, I thought that this one would be a fine addition to the collection. After reading the plot synopsis and buying the book, I thought it was a good way to spend a couple of days reading.

This story is written by Gareth Roberts, who is known to prefer the Doctor Who stories that are set on Earth. Anyone reading this book can tell that. The detail that is put into everyday elements of our basic human lives is brilliant, and the reader can relate with it easily. When the TARDIS lands down in Southern England, the Doctor and Rose are horrified when they see a Dalek appear on an ancient mural. It is later revealed that there really is a Dalek, albeit an empty casing that has laid under the Earth for thousands of years.

When a young woman is then hit by a vehicle, the two events may not seem as seperate as some may think. Without spoiling the plot, it is nice seeing how the pieces slot into place and leading to a single Dalek causing havoc for the local area. It is also a completely different way of resolving the problem in comparison to previous stories. All I'll say is that Gareth Roberts has used what he writes about best to stop the Dalek decimating everything.

In comparison, I finished the book in two days and I thought it was a great read and one that I would reccomend to any Doctor Who fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the doctor in the tardis with rose tyler, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: I Am a Dalek (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
brilliant ten and rose read! it is a short wee story but its detailed very well! its for adults and for kids as the doctor comes face to face with his oldest foe but can he stop it before it even regains its strength?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr who david tennant i am a dalek., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: I Am a Dalek (Doctor Who: Quick Reads) (Kindle Edition)
I found david tennant as dr who actor brilliant i also liked him acting in most things but big dr who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews