Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Brown Warm Like the Sun
The movie begins and ends with the camera focusing on the sun. At the beginning it is summer and at the end it is winter. The story is a parable like Daedalus and Icarus. Don't fly too close to the sun, or in this case get too close to Estelle (yes Estelle means star). Yet, she is not a stereo-typical femme fatale; she even tells Stefan at the beginning of their...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Merlin's Owl

versus
30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but maybe not to everyone's taste
This film gives us a glimpse into the hippie culture of the late 1960's. Shot mostly on the scenic island of Ibiza, it explores the relationship between an enigmatic unconventional girl (nicely played by Mimsy Farmer), who is described as being 'American' but has a perfect English accent, and a naive German drifter. How they meet is not entirely clear, and it is hard to...
Published on 4 April 2009 by Floydoid


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but maybe not to everyone's taste, 4 April 2009
By 
This review is from: More [1969] [DVD] (DVD)
This film gives us a glimpse into the hippie culture of the late 1960's. Shot mostly on the scenic island of Ibiza, it explores the relationship between an enigmatic unconventional girl (nicely played by Mimsy Farmer), who is described as being 'American' but has a perfect English accent, and a naive German drifter. How they meet is not entirely clear, and it is hard to see any real chemistry between them, but they do share some nice times together. They experiment with various drugs, which descends into addiction, ending in tragedy. As another reviewer has hinted, it is hard to warm to either of the main characters. Ultimately this is a moral tale about the dangers of illegal substances.

As a long time Pink Floyd fan, it has been the holy grail of movies to find, as I believe that this DVD release marks the movie's debut in the UK, tho it has long been regarded as a cult classic in France. At long last it was nice to see how the Pink Floyd score was used within with the movie, tho I personally feel we don't hear enough of what is (for me) an under-rated album within their cannon.

In conclusion, this is a decent watch if you're a fan of cult or art house movies, are interested in hippie culture, or are just curious about Pink Floyd's involvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden Brown Warm Like the Sun, 2 May 2012
By 
This review is from: More [1969] [DVD] (DVD)
The movie begins and ends with the camera focusing on the sun. At the beginning it is summer and at the end it is winter. The story is a parable like Daedalus and Icarus. Don't fly too close to the sun, or in this case get too close to Estelle (yes Estelle means star). Yet, she is not a stereo-typical femme fatale; she even tells Stefan at the beginning of their relationship, "I warn you, I want MORE." Stefan's friend in Paris warns him about Estelle too but he is irresistably drawn to her like a moth to a flame (please excuse the pun).
Yes, heroin is very nice and it gives you a lovely warm feeling but it is so terribly MOREish. It's a shame because this young couple have a great time lying on rugs smoking pot and sun-bathing and swimming in the Eden-like Ibiza. But, the forbidden fruit of heroin rears its poppy-head. Still they have alot more fun trying LSD to get off the gear and manufacturing their own concoctions and all the time smoking plenty more puff.
Pushing the sun / heroin analogy further Stefan tells a story of a cult of young men in Calcutta who worship the sun. They sit naked and cross-legged and look at the sun until they go blind.
Well, I suppose you could call the movie prophetic because NOBODY in '69 would have thought the world could be in the grip of drugs to such an extent as we are now. And at least there is some sort of drug or counter culture in the movie. Their use of drugs is to give a new meaning to the world rather than just obliterate it.
I found this movie very satisfying and the low ratings irritating. The Pink Floyd soundtrack seems to be the motvation for many people watching this movie which is fine and good. But I think they don't really get the Floyd if they don't get this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget Floyd, enjoy the movie, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] (Blu-ray)
When Barbet Schroder's first 2 movies (this and The Valley) are discussed it's always in the context of Pink Floyd. Now I've nothing against this band, indeed their musical contributions to these movies are excellent (although sparingly used) but there's so much more(no pun intended) to enjoy. I found this film an engrossing experience. The acting is naturalistic and believable, the locations are beautifully shot, the druggy descent well charted. Loved the Don Quixote windmill scene, thought Mimsy Farmer was excellent (and stunning). The ending was a little abrupt - I preferred the ambiguity of The Valley, but overall this is a fascinating look at the death of the hippy dream and well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Errr, yeah........, 25 July 2005
This review is from: More [1969] [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say, I only really bought this film to hear and see the Pink Floyd soundtrack in it's correct context (the music was written for the film, not seperate songs added later).
As a film it's alright, not earth shattering by any stretch of the imagination, but ok.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The is the BEST version you can possibly get!!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] (Blu-ray)
The video quality considering the year it was made is exceptional!! The transfer was done GREAT by the director of the movie!! The extras included were nice!! The booklet with the articles was an AWESOME read, very detailed and entertaining!! Blu-ray plays PERFECTLY on North American systems, DVD is PAL only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More [1969] [DVD] (DVD)
The quality was fine. The movie is not very exiting but the music of Pink Floyd is just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more nostalgia., 24 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] (Blu-ray)
i first saw this film at an arts lab in beckenham i think, its hard to remember all of the sixties. But i was immediately enraptured and transported back in time. Mainly because the film still has the power to involve and grab your attention. A product of its time for sure, it stands head and shoulders above most of hollywoods current output. Also i had forgotten quite how "punk "early pink floyd were. Such a long way from dark side of the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For die hard Pink Floyd fans only., 27 July 2010
By 
Stormbringer (Wolverhampton, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More [1969] [DVD] (DVD)
Another film that I bought because of its Pink Floyd connection. That fact is to me its only redeeming feature.
All of the characters, not just the two leads, I found to be utterly detestable. Perhaps that is what Barbet Shroeder was trying to get across in a film which clearly portrays the negative side of drug addiction.
The story line is very basic, set amongst very cheap film sets, and I doubt this film will interest anyone other than curious Pink Floyd fans. The music is clear enough, but there is not enough of it, and seems to be played as incidental music in scenes rather than a true soundtrack to complement the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Is Less, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] (Blu-ray)
Banal and tedious, "More" is chiefly ( if at all, judging by the absence of reviews for this release ) remembered as featuring a Pink Floyd soundtrack, despite the fact that you barely hear any Pink Floyd and what you do hear is backgrounded. I did not buy this blu ray release to hear Pink Floyd, I bought it as I anticipated an interesting film. I was wrong. The dialogue is beyond banal, the performances and narrative non existent. What's left, amoungst the self concious pop art decor & voguish nudity, are occasionally diverting images that look nice on blu ray. If you enjoy Ibiza as a travel destination, you might want to have this film on in the background.
An empty and boring experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] (Blu-ray)
Speedy delivery. No probs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969]
More (DVD + Blu-ray) [1969] by Barbet Schroeder (Blu-ray - 2011)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews