Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peake's spirit freed
This is a brave courageous and loving epitaph by Maeve Gilmore to her clever tortured husband Mervyn Peake. With only a few pages of completed material and some chapter headings to work with she has finished what Peake might have done if his brains had not deserted him. It is episodic as life is but imaginative, if not as forbiddingly gloomy as Gormenghast. Without...
Published on 7 July 2011 by T. J. Collcutt

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puts to rest what Titus Alone began
Although Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone are conventionally referred to as 'the Gormenghast Trilogy', really it's only the first two which deal with the castle of Gormenghast and its inhabitants; the third installment - which seems to have always inspired mixed feelings amongst readers - has only Titus himself in common with the previous two books, and narrates a...
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Toxophilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puts to rest what Titus Alone began, 18 Jan 2012
Although Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone are conventionally referred to as 'the Gormenghast Trilogy', really it's only the first two which deal with the castle of Gormenghast and its inhabitants; the third installment - which seems to have always inspired mixed feelings amongst readers - has only Titus himself in common with the previous two books, and narrates a series of encounters in a surreal and incongruous world.

Titus Awakes is a sequel to Titus Alone - and just as little of a true Gormenghast story. For those therefore who disliked Titus Alone for whatever reason, there is little point in reading Gilmore's continuation.
Personally, having left Gormenghast with Titus at the end of book two and finding enough in Titus Alone to keep me reading until the end, I did desire closure to what for me is both a fairly large undertaking (considering both the series's length, and Peake's dense, treacle-speed narration), and one of the greatest literary works I've read. Since Titus Awakes was released a few months after my beginning Titus Groan, I resolved to read it as a finale.

Inevitably Gilmore's style is more straightforward, less visually vivid, and - it's fair to say - of a lesser quality than Peake's legendary writing, but after slogging through the original 'trilogy' its drifting flow was something of a relief to me. Titus wanders aimlessly again through as many encounters and environments as he did in Alone, but the surreal and dreamlike elements are diminished - almost as if his wanderings are gradually bringing him into the real world we all inhabit. By the end of the book, he truly has bridged the gap; Gilmore blends the end of Titus's narrative with the end of Peake's life (at least as a writer), which I found effective and touching.

Titus Awakes is of course not a true Gormenghast story - one cannot bring dead authors back to life - but it is a funeral for the saga of Gormenghast and Titus. No man can conduct their own funeral, and Gilmore does the service better than anyone else could. I at least feel that the proper rites have now been observed, and the series which was tragically cut short can rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peake's spirit freed, 7 July 2011
By 
T. J. Collcutt "Terry Collcutt" (Bletchingley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brave courageous and loving epitaph by Maeve Gilmore to her clever tortured husband Mervyn Peake. With only a few pages of completed material and some chapter headings to work with she has finished what Peake might have done if his brains had not deserted him. It is episodic as life is but imaginative, if not as forbiddingly gloomy as Gormenghast. Without revealing the details the end is apt and sensitively handled and full of hope for Titus' future. I like to think Maeve Gilmore has freed her husband's spirit which he was tragically unable to do for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poignant Masterpiece, 13 Sep 2013
To any true fan of Peake's work picking up this tome was obviously going to result in mixed feelings. However I am delighted to say they need not worry; the heart and core of the former book's remains intact and this was a joy from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad Titus Awoke, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have finished reading Titus Awakes just now.

I'm glad to receive some closure as to his future wellbeing but remain desperately dissapointed that he never again saw Gormenghast or his dear ones.

The peace and order of that place, purged of Steerpike would have returned the reader to a more fitting conclusion: returning Titus to a life of purpose and fulfilling his mother's prophecy that he would tread a circle.

The ubiquity of coincidental encounters with helpful characters immediately addressing Titus's physical needs (food, shelter, transport, employment, solace etc) became somewhat tedious and undermines the authenticity of his wanderings.

Maeve gave me a welcome closure however and I thank Peake's estate for giving this to us.

Farewell Titus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting glimpse of what Peake might have written., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You might think that this book, like the fourth volume of he Hitch-hiker's Guide to the Galaxy, redefines the word "trilogy"; it does not. It is the sequel to Titus alone which is itself so different to the first two Gormenghast books that it is better to see the whole work as a pair of two-part novels.
Peake set himself a problem when he killed off all his most interesting characters by the end of the second book. Without Steerpike, Barquentine, Fuscia and Flay it must have been hard to see how the Castle could sustain another book so the only option was for Titus to leave and find more characters in the world outside to carry the story that his own somewhat un-likeable character was hardly up to. Muzzlehatch filled the bill admirably and I hoped Ruth would do the same in the fourth book. Everything looked hopeful that another great Peake character was about to develop then Titus wandered off again and she was out of the story. The same thing happened to all the characters, even the dog, and one soon realised that these were people that Peake had sketched with no hint of how they would develop, leaving Maeve Gilmore with the choice of trying to guess her husband's intentions (a tall order, to say the least) or simply move Titus on. Her choice of the latter course leaves the reader with a rather unsatisfying sequence of episodes but at least we have a glimpse of some new Peake characters.
I suspect that I am not alone in wishing that Titus had returned to Gormenghast (as the opening fragment suggested he might) to explore the tensions that his experiences in the wide world would undoubtedly generate with the surviving inhabitants.
Buy the book (it is cheap), read it and dream of what might have been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Off-Peake, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the fourth in the Gormenghast series of novels but this one was written by Mervyn Peake's widow from scraps and notes her husband left, following his untimely death.

It is a brave attempt but there is always the nagging feeling that this is NOT the real thing.

If you are a Gormenghast fan then I suppose this short novel is grist to your mill.

Me, I was disappointed and feel even now that it should not have been attempted in the first place, seeing that there was so little original material left by Peake himself for the writer to build upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Unnecessary Book, 29 July 2011
By 
Gardenque (chester, cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I read this book expecting to be disappointed and underwhelmed. Despite her marriage to Mervyn Peake and her own undisputed artistic and literary talents, Maeve Gilmore was never really going to cut the mustard as far as I was concerned. In that respect, my disappointment was a foregone conclusion but I had not expected it to be quite so deep. Apparently, the manuscript to `Titus Awakes' was found in a drawer several years after her death. I have to say at the onset that I wish it had been left undisturbed. Based on a snippet by Mervyn, she has produced a book that made me think it has done more harm than good to the Gormenghast `cause'.

Before his life was so cruelly cut down by illness, Mervyn Peake's intention had been to continue the story of Titus in such a way that he would find himself in a number of different situations. The first of these was in `Titus Alone' in which Titus attempts to break his ancestral ties. Coming hotfoot from the timelessness of the first two books, I personally found the `car chase' premise of `Titus Alone' rather hard to stomach. The recent Peake exhibition in the British Library suggests that this was something that his then publishers were all too aware of: there are letters advising him to be much less specific about the technological details. In `Titus Awakes' we are subjected to a series of adventures which seem both unnecessary and tiresome. We are asked to believe that Titus, who had once displayed the strength of character to tackle the evil Steerpike, has now become little more than a leaf blown by the wind, constantly taking the route of least resistance. While this may be a plausible character development - just - it is also a frustrating one and certainly does not make for interesting reading. The only spark of interest comes later in the book where Titus discovers compassion for the character of the Artist (who one assumes is based on Mervyn himself) and their arrival (again, presumably) on Sark at the very end. Unfortunately, if there is a message here, it went right over my head. Mervyn Peake, although the creator of Gormenghast, was never one of its characters and this overlap of author and creation I found both artificial and pointless. If Maeve Gilmore sought some kind of reconciliation, her own description of her life with Mervyn (A world away: A memoir of Mervyn Peake) surely does the job better.

The publication of this book was presumably aimed at satisfying the craving for more Gormenghast ("The Lost Book of Gormenghast" trumpets the cover!) For me, `Titus Awakes' continues the Gormenghast saga only in its apparent entropy and departure from the original vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a fictional biography, 21 Oct 2012
I read the original three books and found the ending disappointing. The start of this, obviously written by Peake, briefly returns to Gormenghast but turns away again to follow Titus in the wider world.

Titus as an adult away from the castle is,I found,an unpleasant, egotistical character and I had trouble understanding why characters were so eager to help him or, at times even be around him. This is only reinforced by the abandonment of his child and it's mother. However in his wandering Gilmore provides him with a means to achieve at least a measure of redemption. It's known that Peake had a nervous breakdown while serving in the army during WW2, at about the same time he was writing Gormenghast and later had electro convulsive shock treatment in later life to try to relieve Parkinsons. Gilmore has written these incidents into the book, along with herself and their family, and brought Peake and Titus together. From this point onward Titus has a purpose, to find the patient he cared for, and the it becomes apparent that Titius Awakes is the story of how writing Gormenghast in some way saved Peake ad gave him (and Titus) a purpose in life at a point where he could have given up and faded away. The ending (I doubt this would be a spoiler) where Titus and the patient are reunited at the harbour of the island (Sark?) is truly moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titus Awakes: The Lost Book of Gormenghast (Kindle Edition)
I know this was an unfinished work that was completed by his widow but If you were expecting Mervyn Peake's voice to somehow come through then, like me, you'll be disappointed. This story just meanders aimlessly all over the place, the characters aren't developed properly, it's just plain - well - unfinished! It's a pity it didn't remain lost.

Don't waste your money or your time and that's all I have to say on the matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the lost book of Gormenghast, 23 Jan 2012
As a huge fan of the Gormenghast books, I was hesitant about reading this but curiosity finally got the better of me. However, I didn't expect to be blown away and I wasn't.

Mauve Gilmore doesn't do a bad job of continuing Titus' story, although her writing style is amaturish and slightly pretensious. What is the reader supposed to make of lines like: 'He was both in a dream and not in a dream'? The main problem is that the story is episodic as Titus drifts from one scape to another with no real point to his wanderings. Gilmore's focus is not as sharp as her husband's and I sometimes had no idea what was supposed to be going on. The main point of interest is that we get a new perspective on the character from a female writer, especially early in the book when he abandons his lover and child. The mood is generally sombre, lacking the humour that Peake could inject with a line of dialogue or a character description. There are endless recollections of characters and scenes from the previous books that get a bit tedious and are at times pointless (why does Titus shout 'Fuchsia' when pointing at his pregnant lover's belly???).

Overall, this is best viewed as a curiousity, a glimpse of what might have been, rather than the 'lost book of Gormenghast' as it says on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews