Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read. . .
This book peers into the soul of the infamous Mary Tudor, the queen known best for burning Protestants. But as a young girl, her father shunted her off to the side, and had take up the job of nursemaid to her younger sister, Elizabeth (if you want to hear about Elizabth from Ms. Meyer, you can look at her Beware Princess Elizabeth). In Mary, you see longing and fear,...
Published on 17 Jun. 2002 by Rose H.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Written insultingly
I was confused as to the age of reader this book was written for.
It seemed to be written for children without being child friendly.
Too many historic facts were crammed into short dumbed down sentences with no real detail.
It was a shame as this could have been a good book
Published on 13 Feb. 2010 by L. Murrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read. . ., 17 Jun. 2002
By 
Rose H. (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
This book peers into the soul of the infamous Mary Tudor, the queen known best for burning Protestants. But as a young girl, her father shunted her off to the side, and had take up the job of nursemaid to her younger sister, Elizabeth (if you want to hear about Elizabth from Ms. Meyer, you can look at her Beware Princess Elizabeth). In Mary, you see longing and fear, and the occasional spurt of joy. I recommend it highly to almost anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Written insultingly, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
L. Murrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Paperback)
I was confused as to the age of reader this book was written for.
It seemed to be written for children without being child friendly.
Too many historic facts were crammed into short dumbed down sentences with no real detail.
It was a shame as this could have been a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Kindle Edition)
this book is about marys teens and her young adult life it stops before she ascends the throne ,its good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the road, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad story but slow in places. Shows another side to Mary then what history has told us before .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Victim or Monster - this book will not help!, 25 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Paperback)
This is a compact book detailing the life of Princess Mary. It captures the young Princess's horror at the way her mother, Katherine of Aragon was treated by her Father Henry VIII and by Anne Boleyn. It also illustrates the shame and humiliation she must have felt when she was made to act as a serving girl for Anne Boleyns daughter, Princess Elizabeth. It is a testament to this book that I was thrilled when Queen Anne finally lost her power (and ultimately her head) and the evil women who had treated Princess Mary with such cruelty had the smiles wiped from their faces.

However the book just does not live up to the promise . . . you think you know me but do not judge my actions until you have heard my story . . . Yes it is all very understandable why Mary hated Anne Boleyn but this book does not cover how Mary came to be known as 'Bloody Mary'. It does not address her religious fanatacism. In short it does not address anything that the author cannot justify. Mary was a complex character - neither completely good or bad. Just as she was neither completely the victim or the monster but the author chooses not to discuss or explain any of this leaving us with a rather two dimensional and one sided view of Bloody Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mary, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Kindle Edition)
Shocking to read that she was treated so cruelly. Understandable she became hard hearted and found her religion the only thing she had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly disappointing read!, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. J. R. Stanbrook "book worm" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping it was going to tell me a little more on the rule of Bloody Mary - if that is what you are after forget it! This book doesn't even mention it! I found it an extremely patronising read. I agree with another reviewer, what age group is this book written for! It's a perfect style for young people, and incredibly patronising for the grown up reader (sorry if you're a young person reading this - I don't mean to be rude to you!!) The writing style is very juvenile. Frankly as an adult reader who is used to Alison Weir & Philippa Gregory this can only be described as lame! The story itself is just the usual Anne Boleyn period written from a different view point and not well written at that! Mary Tudor's later life has so much potential - why re-tell a story that has been told a million times??

A terribly disappointing read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Tudor, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Kindle Edition)
Never read much about Elizabeths half sister before. Was an eye opener. I loved the book because it showed what she was like and why she signed the death warrant for Lady Jane Grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Kindle Edition)
All about her teenage years and what she was going through at the time when the king got his divorces from her mother...she was not do mean just proving her mother right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary, Bloody Mary (Paperback)
great story, very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary, Bloody Mary
Mary, Bloody Mary by Carolyn Meyer
£2.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews