Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Entertaining
"Eats, Shoots & Leaves" is not a grammar guide per se, as it doesn't really teach the basics of punctuation. Instead, it's a grammarians dream come true - an enjoyable and illuminating discussion of the history and importance of punctuation (Hmmmm, did I use that dash correctly?). Lovers of punctuation have been decrying the use of "netspeak" with no or minimal...
Published on 8 Aug 2004 by Westley

versus
67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative and mildly entertaining
Punctuation is rather like taxation law - it's a dry old subject but if you don't understand it you can't use it to your advantage. Having left a rather unimpressive comprehensive school at the age of 15, I relished the chance of receiving some, albeit late, tuition in punctuation. And I got it, courtesy of Lynne Truss. OK, professional journalists, English scholars and...
Published on 4 April 2005 by Mr. S. Foster


‹ Previous | 128 29 30 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard Going, not what I expected, 8 Mar 2005
By 
AE Hunter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this book expecting a "Grumpy old Woman" approach to the mis-use of punctuation. However, the author is just too staunch in her approach for me.
Rather than a mainly humorous rant about the use of commas, semi colons and apostrophes (her favourite rant), I found a woman so embittered by punctuation that she did not reach me. Even a stickler would find it hard to take on board this woman's serious approach to gramatical tuition.
I must admit, in parts, this book has it's moments but I feel like a girl in a classroom, rather than the ear bashed friend of a tyranical grumpy (a sure recipe for humour).
So, with hindsight, I wish I had purchased grumpy old men instead.
Sorry punctuation lovers, but this book was just too hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for some, but not for all., 12 Oct 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good grief, it's boring. It's another "A brief history of time", you'll have it on your bookshelf looking resplendent, but you won't read it. Written by a propeller head, for propeller heads. It's absolutely impenetrable. If you can get your brain around it, you deserve a prize, or at the very least a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't stand it!, 31 July 2006
I was given this book as a gift and I am mightily sorry that they wasted their hard earned money on it. The author basically rages about everything, in an oh-so-smug, 'I'm superior to you all!' tone of voice. After a few pages, I was so completely enraged by the author's attitude and the way she lectured the reader in how stupid they were, I threw the book away rather than inflict another person with it.

Over-hyped and a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hypercritical and Hypocritical, 13 Jan 2004
By 
A. G. Bailey "Dadge" (Birmingham, - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
[This is the third time I've written to ask you to amend my review. What is going on?]
How can a guide to punctuation have a punctuation mistake on the cover?? This one does: "zero tolerance" should be "zero-tolerance" because it's an adjective. So, not only does this book lambast people for making piffling errors, it commits them itself. If you're really interested in improving your punctuation, look elsewhere on Amazon for much better books than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Check out the two errors on the front cover!!!, 17 Oct 2005
By 
H TEAPE "Hughie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It states: "The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation".

Stating it this way suggests intolerance to punctuation which I'm sure is not what Ms Truss meant. Also, there should be a hyphen between "Zero" and "Tolerance". This is because they are used here to form a composite adjective before a noun.

For example, one would not state: "The teacher has a zero tolerance approach to behaviour". They would instead state: "The teacher has a zero-tolerance approach to bad behaviour".

Therefore the correct way to state it is: "The Zero-Tolerance Approach to Incorrect Punctuation". This would therefore suggest an intolerance of poor punctuation which is what she really meant.

I'm by no means an English grammar expert but this is a bit worrying if she's trying to teach us all good grammar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor value, unclear advice and clumsy humour., 9 Aug 2005
By A Customer
You don't get much for you money with this book. The print is large, the margins wide and the lines widely spaced. The advice on the use of punctuation is difficult to follow and poorly referenced. This is presumably supposed to be excused by a light hearted approach but the humour is clumsy, annoying and intrusive. If you want a good book on punctuation go else where and do the same if you want to be amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit like Mike the Bike, 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This book is sort of funny, a bit. It is comprehensive and very well researched. Lynne Truss knows her stuff, but must be a bit crazy to give a damn. After all it's only punctuation. Still, it's very impressive that she can write such a readable book about such a boring subject.
Fans of this book might like to check out Mike Byron. Mike the bike would like this book. Savy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 478 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hypocritical, 23 Nov 2003
By 
A. G. Bailey "Dadge" (Birmingham, - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can a guide to punctuation have a punctuation mistake on the cover?? This one does: "zero tolerance" should be "zero-tolerance" because it's an adjective. So, this book is hypocritical in both senses of the word: not only does it lambast people for making piffling errors, it commits them itself. If you're really interested in improving your punctuation, look elsewhere on Amazon for much better books than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So what happened to the proof reading ?, 8 Feb 2004
Amusing, yes. Sold on its own hype, certainly.
But a great dissapointment.
Anyone bored should check out page 77 where missing commas abound.
If you are going to write the zero tolerance guide then at least make it absolutely flawless. I wouldn't dare to apostrophes terrify me.

What a great shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intrested but not sold, 4 Jan 2004
By 
This sound's like quiet an intresting book, although I havent read it yet and would like to, but I am enjoying the other reveiws on this sight much more than I think I would like to read the rantings of someone whos a stickler for something which fundamentally is a nicety but not a requirement. Afterall, you can all understand this reveiw cant you (yes, it's all on purpose...)?

Is it really fair to profit from ranting at people who may not share the same level of education or ability as oneself about a facet of human society which is not immutable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 30 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eats, Shoots and Leaves
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews