Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you must iron.....
Well, I've had all sorts of irons over the last few years. Steam generator irons are my favourite, however after having to return 3, yes 3 of these irons to Argos I decided the best thing to do would be to buy a normal run of the mill steam iron and just get on with it. So here it is, my Philips PowerLife Steam iron is fabulous. Obviously the steam doesn't ram out of...
Published on 10 July 2012 by H. M. Hobbs

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good points, a few not so good
This iron has a great cord length and heats up quickly. The water reservoir is the easiest to fill I have seen yet, with an easy access good sized filler hole. Steam output is very good and has two settings plus off. The downsides are that it is a little heavy (a matter of personal preference - some would say that makes it easier to iron with), but what I really don't...
Published 17 months ago by Listener 1


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you must iron....., 10 July 2012
By 
H. M. Hobbs (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
Well, I've had all sorts of irons over the last few years. Steam generator irons are my favourite, however after having to return 3, yes 3 of these irons to Argos I decided the best thing to do would be to buy a normal run of the mill steam iron and just get on with it. So here it is, my Philips PowerLife Steam iron is fabulous. Obviously the steam doesn't ram out of the iron and flatten everything in sight but it has a fairly decent steam output, it doesn't get clogged up with limescale too much and it's a great size. It also has a really decent water tank. For the money I would recommend this to anyone. Obviously ironing is the bottom of my list of 'things I love doing' but if you must iron.... this does the job nicely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good value steam iron, 27 July 2011
By 
A. Woodfine (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
We bought this to replace one of a different brand which was twice the price but stopped working, irreparably, after two years and approximately ten uses.

Good points: very smooth, lightweight/comfortable to use, straightforward controls. Very natty cable fitting making it easy to be used by either left or right handed persons. Good capacity water tank. Long cable.

Bad points: none found so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little iron, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
I really hope that this iron lasts, because it is really good. The tank is easy to fill and the steam lasts for ages, but the best thing is the groove for getting between buttons. This is the best one I have had for nipping round the blighters, and I have had a few irons in my 44 years of marriage! I am going to try not to drop this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good points, a few not so good, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
This iron has a great cord length and heats up quickly. The water reservoir is the easiest to fill I have seen yet, with an easy access good sized filler hole. Steam output is very good and has two settings plus off. The downsides are that it is a little heavy (a matter of personal preference - some would say that makes it easier to iron with), but what I really don't like is that the sole plate has a tendency to exacerbate static problems, so that even pure cotton garments like shirts will 'stick' to the soleplate, making smooth, continuous ironing difficult. Others have said the soleplate sticks horribly if spray starch is used - I haven't tried it, but I can believe it. So.........soleplate issues, otherwise very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great iron at a good price, 5 Sep 2011
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
I've liked this iron from the first time I used it. It is light and heats up pretty quickly. It is easy to switch between the steam settings and is very easy to fill with water and you can see the water level clearly. If it had an auto-switch off it would be perfect but then it would have probably cost more. I'm very pleased with this iron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phillips GC2910/02 powerlife iron, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
Have found this inexpensive iron simple to use, efficient, not too heavy but makes light work of all the cotton items including bedding. As with all steam irons just have to remember to keep topping up the water - not a big deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best iron ever, 26 Jun 2012
By 
John Duckett (Milton Keynes, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
This proved to be an elightened purchase for my elderly mother who wanted a light and easy to use iron. It is very light and could not be easier to use. It's easy to fill the water resevoir which has plenty of capacity and the performance using steam is excellent. Also, this iron is great value for money. My wife tried it and it was so good that we've ordered another for our own use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value iron, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this iron to replace a Tefal Aquaspeed, which broke after seven years' use. The Philips iron is a bit lighter and also smaller than my old iron, which makes it easier to use on clothing. This iron does not create as much steam as my previous one, which isn't a problem on most clothing, but when ironing 100% cotton sheets and duvet covers it does struggle a bit and I need to use the steam boost button. Aside from this I think the iron works well, the water reservoir is large enough, it's easy to use and it's good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Amazing, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
Sooooooooooo much better than my previous iron. It just glides through the clothes just so much faster and better. The steam function works perfectly well leaving behind no creases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value for money, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips GC2910/02 PowerLife Steam Iron, 2000 Watt - Blue (Kitchen & Home)
This iron is good value for the price i chose this iron over another as the lead was longer the only thing i would say is the water tank does need filling more often than my old one however it is a good iron overall plenty of steam and light to handle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews