Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Lau at his best
Shaolin is one of those films you will want to watch again and again. A stellar cast which gels ever so well is accompanied by a great script and beautiful music score.
The film itself is pretty much about how one mans greed impacts and has a disastrous effect on his family and ultimately this is a tale of his rebirth.
Andy Lau plays Hao Jie and he beats his...
Published on 8 Jun 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good stunts.
Not what I was expecting but an ok story and good stunts as usual. It is a good evening filler and nice to have in collection.
Published 16 months ago by Not rushed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Lau at his best, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
Shaolin is one of those films you will want to watch again and again. A stellar cast which gels ever so well is accompanied by a great script and beautiful music score.
The film itself is pretty much about how one mans greed impacts and has a disastrous effect on his family and ultimately this is a tale of his rebirth.
Andy Lau plays Hao Jie and he beats his rivals who in turn take their revenge by wiping out his family.
Hao Jie (Lau) is arrogant and sneers at the shaolin monks compassion and humanity but when the tables are turned on him, those same monks now stand between Hao and his rivals.
Shaolin is led by the talented Andy Lau, Wu Jing, Jacky Chan and Nicholas Tse and several other notable actors, but its their interactions which gives this film life and the actions sequences are frequent, direct and very well filmed and thank god all the cast are vastly experienced in action.
On a personal note i loved this film and found it emotive and its one not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film., 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant and beautifully woven story. Some of the scenes in this movie were hauntingly poignant. Intense, emotional, powerful - all of this impacted by some fantastically choreographed fights. Absolutely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Very Moving, 7 May 2014
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shaolin (Amazon Instant Video)
This is an excellent film. It is beautifully shot, the storyline is engrossing, the acting is excellent and the appearance of Jackie Chan provides some appropriate humour which does nto detract from the film. The fact that it is subtitled means that you get the 'gist' of how the film is moving along without the awful dubbing that you see with other films. The story is basically about one man's journey to 'find himself'. Having been a general in the Chinese army he is all for war and killing - including Shaolin monks. After the death of his daughter for which he blames himself, he asks to join the Shoalin Monks and becomes a very different type of man. For more of the sotry, watch the film. There are no boring bits and it is a really uplifting movie. Excellent and definitely on par with Mongol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH THIS FILM! AMAZING!!!, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Shaolin (Amazon Instant Video)
Well I'm a kung fu fan - I've seen them all. One armed boxer, Snake in the Eagle's shadow, Druken Master and many more but wow this film is in a different league. Anything with Shaolin monks in is normally pretty good to be fair... but this film is ..... amazing. Yes it has sub titles - but that did not spoil the enjoyment. Guns vs kung fu I thought it was a no brainer but this film is realistic and moved me through many emotions. The kung fu in this film is great, moving and even the kids kung fu is ...... amazing. I like to think I'm a film buffin and the amount of film i've seen I'm not moved easily. Jackie chan is in this film - not a fan of all his films but he is really good in this film. Nice to see him back too his roots...and being less comical. Be patient as the story builds slowly ( takes about 15 minutes to get into) but plenty of action.

I've always thought kung fu films with guns in is a waste of time and thought that about this film in the first 15 minutes...and then it became clear to see this is a movie, directed by a genius. The acting is amazing and it is a movie I will buy on dvd to keep.

Ok enough about me rabbling on ...... be patient and focused when watching this movie and you will see what I saw... a five star movie that deserves your review.
P.S i'm a woman who grew up on kung fu as a kid (dad forced it on me as the whole family used to watch kung fu videos on a Friday night, so it grew on me) so don't let that phase you.... but after watching this film, you'll agree, I'm no ordinary woman to appreciate a film like this. I'm still rabbling...lol
Final words - JUST WATCH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than expected! A new favourite!, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
Good grief, I didn't expect this film to be as good as it was. I really didn't. I was laughing, I was crying, and I was amazed. My one complaint is the amount of flooded lungs - everyone seems to be dribbling blood even when they were injured nowhere near their chests - but that really was my only complaint.
The martial arts are amazing, the story is brilliant, and the setting is beautiful. Lots of martial arts masters involved in the casting which made the movements more authentic, and more impressive - though a few have clearly been aided by special effects, because people can't really fly like that.
Nowhere near as cheesy or overdone as a lot of martial arts movies I've seen, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My view on Shaolin, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin (Amazon Instant Video)
I love the movie, touching, sad, but with a good ending- humility..like the shaolin moves which make it even more interesting. Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Action Movie!, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
A very good all-action movie. Really enjoyed it!
Well worth a look. Gripping storyline too.
A great Martial Arts Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good stunts., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaolin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not what I was expecting but an ok story and good stunts as usual. It is a good evening filler and nice to have in collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment, 10 May 2013
This review is from: Shaolin [DVD] (DVD)
powerful story of the finding of self mixed with Jackie Chan making noodles and showing the best in martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaolin [DVD]
Shaolin [DVD] by Benny Chan (DVD - 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews