Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2009
I bought this book in the expectation that it would give a solid introduction to various agile methods - both coding principles as well as agile processes. It turned out to be focused primarily on coding principles ... of course, when you think about it ... it does after all focus on C# principles, patterns and practicies. You will see lots of coding examples (too many in my opinion) and very little about the agile processes around the actual coding. So it sure does deliver what it promisses: you will see how to actually implement coding patterns in C#.

If this is your first book on good object oriented patterns and practices then it's a good buy. If you already know your patterns, well, then it's a good brush up worth reading anyway.

If your are looking for a book on agile process like XP and Scrum then this is the wrong book.

As a senior C# programmer on my job I will certainly recomend new colleges to read this book.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
I have a bookshelf groaning with books on C# and agile software development. This is without doubt the best I've read. Robert Martin has somehow managed to distil his experience of many years into one cohesive tome, which is easy to read and provides practical advice on all aspects of development - agile, TDD, UML and design patterns.

As for the previous reviewer who gave this a ludicrous 1 star review and suggests the GOF as a better alternative, I would suggest that he is either an abstract genius, or has never actually read the GOF stuff and is just name-checking this in a poseur like fashion!

For the rest of us, this is probably as good as it gets.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
I was impressed with this book, it is easy to read and has many useful points in it. It does occasionally labour points and in parts could be clearer, but all in all it is a well written and helpful book.

For an introduction to the SOLID principles, which is what I bought it for, it was excellent.

If you want a book that gives an introduction to Agile as a whole it is not the best available.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
Every software developer should read this book.
It's packed with information and examples by an author who has been there and done it.
And actually invented quite a lot of it.
If we all read this book, work would be so much more productive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
A lot of technical discussion and samples of design patterns and coding principles. Only introductory discussion of Agile practices.

I learn many things from the design patterns and coding discussion, but the author likes to repeat things and "force" some of his opinions. And there is not a lot of discussion about agile practices in general.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
This book is certainly not for beginners. It is for anyone who wants to get very serious about programming. I think the book could have been shorter by leaving out pages of examples (since the target audience is advanced developers as well). I think this is probably the best development book I've ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
This is THE book that should be read by any developer who claims to be Agile to confront this view with reality. Amazing overview of test driven development, solid principles of object oriented design, rules of package design and practical design patterns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
This book covers takes a broad approach with more than enough information to get you going in Agile development techniques. There are also numerous references to other works that you can follow up, when you are ready, to delve into any particular area.

Buy it - study it - apply it - improve the quality of your code.

Brilliant!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Great Booj
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
I have a positive attitude towards this book due to the fact that I have read other books in the same series, such as The Clean Coder and Clean Code. The previous books have given me a good motivation and insight what to look for in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)