Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value intro set
Everything you need to get started bought seperately this set would be double the price - all you need is two DIY paste tables a room to put them in and a big kid to set up and a little kid if he is lucky to watch and join ion a little bit
Published on 4 Jan. 2013 by Mr Stephen Halligan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly it did not work
Bought this for my two grandsons for Christmas and as my brother had a Hornby as a child this was the deciding factor. Put it together on Christmas Eve afternoon and I found to my horror/disappointment discovered it did not work. My grandsons are 5 and 7. Contacted Amazon on the chat line and another set is promised for the 30th. I cannot describe my dismay...
Published 14 months ago by whistleberry


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value intro set, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
Everything you need to get started bought seperately this set would be double the price - all you need is two DIY paste tables a room to put them in and a big kid to set up and a little kid if he is lucky to watch and join ion a little bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY NEPHEW LOVES IT, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
NOW ALL WE NEED TO DO IS KEEP BUILDING,AND HE'S LOOKING FORWARD TO THAT :) THIS IS HIS FIRST TRAIN SET AGE 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly it did not work, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
Bought this for my two grandsons for Christmas and as my brother had a Hornby as a child this was the deciding factor. Put it together on Christmas Eve afternoon and I found to my horror/disappointment discovered it did not work. My grandsons are 5 and 7. Contacted Amazon on the chat line and another set is promised for the 30th. I cannot describe my dismay (understatement), that this major present for two little boys was not working. Tried it on wooden flooring as well as tiling. Lesson for anyone purchasing this set is to check it out in advance of giving as gift. Amazon reacted speedily and I appreciate it is Christmas but it was a gift and I am so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal starter set, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband, and it has been a great success. We have both enjoyed playing with it, and are currently building the layout together too.

One thing I would suggest is that rather than buy the plastic buildings and scenery, take a look around and either get yourself some of the excellent ready-cut card kits available for stations and other buildings, or take a look online and download some to print out and make up. You will be able to add something different to your layout.

There is sufficient track here for a simple oval layout with a siding, although the image on the plastic mat provided does not quite fit the track once you lay it out, which I feel does detract from the look of the thing. However, the mat is really there only to give you an idea so I recommend you rapidly dispense with it and build your own layout as soon as possible. If you are lucky enough to be able to find a good model railway shop within reasonable travelling distance I also recommend a trip there for advice.

All in all an excellent starter set which will enable you to have fun from the word go. Well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is perfect for any budding modeller, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
The look on my son's face said it all. This is perfect for any budding modeller. Will be putting the track on to a slotted board so it's quicker and easier to set up. My son's jaw hit the floor when he opened this on his 5th birthday last week. Excellent quality build too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little set., 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Schnuggles (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
At £50 this is a bargain and a really good set to start off a model train hobby. My 5 year old was desperate to have his own proper train set and I was concerned over getting one of the >£100 sets so this fit the bill. The track mat is a great idea and didn't take long to assemble it all.

My only problem was with the controller. Everytime there was a derailment, the controller would stop working for about 1 minute, one of it's safety features. I gave up with it in the end and got a better one off the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but beware, 28 Feb. 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
This product was really good to start off with.
Unfortunately the motor carriage broke pretty quickly.
To solve: take the blue roof off and charge a screw driver with static.
Take dust off the motor by hand and then remove it with the screwdriver.
After this has been great although for £50 you can get the lakelander with extra track and a much better motor carriage!
Overall Good but better hornby out there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great 'old school' starter set but with one proviso...., 29 Jan. 2015
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
Now having a son of my own, I decided it was time to indulge myself in a lifelong desire to buy my own child a 'right of passage' Hornby train set. Thomas is only 2 years and 8 months old so is very young and needs constant supervision but he will 'grow into it' and this is a good starter set.
Hornby have been transmogrified many times over the years but incrediibly are still British company though the products are made in China, no surprise there.
This is great value set and well made (but see below) and in terms of 'bangs for bucks' globalisation has meant that you get for more for your money. You get a locomotive, a loop of track and two pieces of rolling stock. Also a useful layout mat. The only problem (and why this gets 4 stars not 5) is the cheap and nasty contoller unit. It is a transformer and a simple rheostat with a polarity reverser switch so the train can have its speed contolled and be reversed. Poor construction is an understatement. It is flaky in operation. The cut-out (caused by the regular short circuits on a train set) is always tripping and you have to disconnnect it from the mains for one minute for it to reset rather than having a simpler reset switch. Construction is poor - unlike the lovely locomotive and carriages which are very nice for the money. The transformer / controller unit costs about £30 retail as a separate purchase which is a joke (more than half the price of this set!) - it looks like it costs £5 to make. The first thing I did was I bought an older version of the controller second hand on the well known auction site. It was 20 years old, solidly made and worked like a dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good VFM, great way to enter the hobby, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
I bought this as a present for dad who had been thinking of re-entering hobby railroading for a while now. He loved it and needless to say has now invested a great deal of money in more expensive DCC trains. However he still loves this little beauty and maintains an analog track just to run this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horby, 9 April 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hornby R1151 Caledonian Belle 00 Gauge Electric Train Set (Toy)
Fab item great value for money! Would highly recommend this to all.
A must for anyone's collection for hrs of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews