Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth seeing
It's a national sport to dismiss Keira Knightley as a talentless pretty face (particularly in the UK.) Her acting range is limited but in the right role she is way better than her critics care to admit. The girl is a true 'movie star' - the camera just LOVES that face - and in 'Last Night' we movie star Keira and Keira the actress at their best.

'Last Night'...
Published on 6 Aug 2011 by SazzaBlackIsland

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable story line
I was disappointed with this film. There was not a lot of substance to it and it was a bit slow in moving along.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs. M. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth seeing, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
It's a national sport to dismiss Keira Knightley as a talentless pretty face (particularly in the UK.) Her acting range is limited but in the right role she is way better than her critics care to admit. The girl is a true 'movie star' - the camera just LOVES that face - and in 'Last Night' we movie star Keira and Keira the actress at their best.

'Last Night' is a slight tale of a seemingly happy 20-something married couple tempted by infidelity over the course of a single night. He (Sam Worthington) by work colleague Laura (Eva Mendes) and she (Keira Knightley) by old flame Alex(gorgeous Guillaume Canet). It's a modern, very `cool' and sober take on the eternal themes of lust, lost love, fulfilment, loyalty, trust and choices. Both are pursued and both are tempted but who will give in?

Perhaps in the current climate of global economic crisis, war and revolutions the angst of fairly well-heeled and `beautiful' people may seem a tad too trivial for some. This might explain the film's poor performance in the USA. The film doesn't trivialise though - that's the point. Neither does it moralise. Unexpectedly (for me anyway) it makes you think. In addition it looks gorgeous and captures the essence of a particular kind of city living perfectly. All the acting, from a credible international cast (no fake US accents here) is believable. Mind you, the on-screen chemistry between Keira Knightley and Guillaume Canet is so "hot" that you are left wondering why on earth she ended up with the dull guy. In this context the casting of Sam Worthington is perhaps a weakness in an otherwise interesting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The masterpiece!, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
It is a haunting movie that stays with you. I am nicely surprised.
The actors are brilliant. I would highly recommend this film. I would like much more such wonderful films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cinema Review- an eager wait for a blu-ray release, 24 July 2011
By 
David Atkinson (Ryde, Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Night [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My review posted online after watching it at the cinema:

This film is beautiful. Set in America, but with an international cast, Last Night provides a gripping insight into the relationship of a married couple who even at the end of the film, don't really seem to have any major problems with their relationship, yet both end up cheating on the other, to varying extents.

Not only is the cinematography beautiful, but so is the cast, the script and the performance. Subtle movements of the body, the slight quiver of the lip, the deep, held breaths; it was a pure, heart-breaking joy.

I must confess, the reason I chose this film over the other was for Keira Knightley. She is a guilty pleasure of mine and I think that this film is an example of some of her best acting. Her voicing was brilliant; not the usual well bred English accent, but something much more vulnerable. Sam Worthington, who I admit I had to look up, was splendid- a far cry from `Avatar'. He playedKnightley's Australian husband who is away on business for most of the film; a wonderful stereotype played rather freshly. Eva Mendes did a great job, though despite the scene where her character is softened in the pool, I did feel she was, well, a bitch. Most of my praise must go to Guillaume Canet, who playedKnightly's old French flame. His acting was superb; gentle, soft touches, the right amount of passion: the way he held his emotions were award winning. It was surprising for me to discover how the same basic acts can conjure different emotions within, with Canet's role generating sympathy to balance Mendes'sdislike.

This film whilst not a complete tear-jerker, did give me the ol' wet-eye. Heart-breaking yet somehow satisfying, right until the abrupt end.

I'm am shocked at the lack of attention this film has received and shocked at the meagre 6.6 on IMDB. I can't wait to watch this again with friends, or even by myself with a massive tub of ice-cream with servings of self-pity on a winter evening. I would recommend this highly for the acting, direction, and the simple beauty of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable story line, 18 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
I was disappointed with this film. There was not a lot of substance to it and it was a bit slow in moving along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiera Knightly at her best. Very thoughtful movie, 28 Nov 2014
This review is from: Last Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Kiera Knightly at her best. Very thoughtful movie. Eva Mendes was really good as the flirtatious temptress playing the victim. I thought this film is a really good study on temptation in any relationship and the subtle emotions and not so subtle as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I do like Keira Knightly, 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: Last Night (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie nearly lost my attention several times throughout its duration .
The dialogue was very stilted , and i just didn't feel any empathy or connection with any of the characters.
I do like Keira Knightly , she brings slight light to this dark movie , but to be honest , i found this banal and depressing .
On the plus side i think it did show some of the struggles that couples face with fidelity , but it was overly arty , overly dark and tried to hard to be like a french movie - all cigarettes and quivering lips .
Forgettable .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly real and moving, 14 Nov 2011
By 
R. Parker (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
In this brilliant indie film set in New York the charcters played by Kiera Knightley,Sam Worthington, Eva Mendes and Guillaume Canet explore the concepts of love, temptation, infidelity and marriage. It's an incredibly authentic and at times painful examination of the issues and the actors are brilliant. I would highly recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional roller coaster - superb acting!, 8 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Last Night (DVD)
Joanna and Michael (Keira Knightley and Sam Worthington) have been married for four years, having originally met in college.

At a party she gets to meet Laura (Eva Mendes), a new colleague of Michael's, and is suspicious when she sees the rapport between them, and later learns that she was one of the team away on a recent business trip with Michael, a fact he had not mentioned. At home later she accuses him of having an affair, which he firmly denies.

The next morning he is off on another business trip, again with Laura in the business party.

Joanna bumps into Alex (Guillaume Canet), who she had a relationship with some years earlier. It is clear that they both still have strong feelings for each other.

Laura is clearly out to seduce Michael - will she succeed? Or will Michael stay faithful to Joanna?

Alex is clearly out to seduce Joanna - will he succeed? Or will Joanna stay faithful to Michael?

This was emotionally exhausting, superbly acted, and utterly believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually very good, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
The cast is very good. Knightly and Mendez shine, both play very good and sexy roles. There is more underneath here than the standard rom-com we have cow to expect. An under rated film, I "enjoyed" it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Without Guillaume Canet this movie is worthless, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Last Night [DVD] (DVD)
Keira is never consistent as an actress, her performance is either very good or very lacklustre. Her performance in " Last Night" is definitely one of her lacklustre roles. I'm not quite sure if the role required her to drop the plummy accent but she struggles in her attempts to do so and therefore appears fake and wooden at times. Sam Worthington who played her husband was as dull as dishwater and honestly halfway through I couldn't care less about them or their marriage. In fairness, Eva Mendes was good but I worry that as pretty as she is, she will be typecast as an actress and end up constantly being offered the hot gal, mistress, lover or love interest roles.

However, I have to give huge HUGE props to what can only be described as an outstanding Oscar worthy performance by Guillame Canet in the role of Alex. I didn't realise that he is the boyfriend of Marion Cotillard. Canet's acting is truly superb and this is in addition to him being splendidly gorgeous. He is completely and utterly full of soft touches, gentle glances and sweet smiles. I truly wept at the end for him. The way he held it together in spite of the fact that he was besotted with Keira was truly moving and one of the main things that made the movie worth watching. Together with Griffin Dunne playing the role of the older and wiser man, dropping those taunting lines that can only come from someone who has lived and loved (and probably lost) before but its these words that haunt poor Alex. These two men MADE this movie . Loved it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Night [DVD]
Last Night [DVD] by Massy Tadjedin (DVD - 2011)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews