Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film really enjoyed it
Yep was a good film really enjoyed it, would recommend this film, AAA**** But not to good at writing a review
Published 9 months ago by Carol

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing great
If all UK prisons were like the one portrayed in this film, I'm sure there would be riots non-stop. It seems to be a very exaggerated depiction of a typical jail. The prisoners do not seem very real, and the staff seem to be wearing different uniforms to those seen in other series such as Bad Girls.
The film also seems like a completely different product in...
Published 23 months ago by Mikey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing great, 29 July 2012
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
If all UK prisons were like the one portrayed in this film, I'm sure there would be riots non-stop. It seems to be a very exaggerated depiction of a typical jail. The prisoners do not seem very real, and the staff seem to be wearing different uniforms to those seen in other series such as Bad Girls.
The film also seems like a completely different product in comparison to the book it was supposedly based upon.
Worthy of a rewatch? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film really enjoyed it, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
Yep was a good film really enjoyed it, would recommend this film, AAA**** But not to good at writing a review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this macho thriller throws a lot of punches at the prison service, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Semi-based on ex-prison officer Ronnie Thompson's memoir, this macho thriller throws a lot of punches at the prison service; how many of them connect is a different story. James D'Arcy plays a freshly qualified warden locking horns with a con (Noel Clarke, nicely menacing) on his new wing. In an unnecessarily fiddly plot, our lad has to suss which of his fellow screws is on the take, smuggling drugs into the nick. Shonky dialogue aside, there is something grimly believable in director Reg Traviss's portrait of life inside: sweaty and suffocating, 10 officers to 350 inmates. But the violence is unrelenting, scene after scene of it, and spectacularly unenlightening: like watching rottweilers gone feral. A nasty streak of retro lads mag sexism runs through the middle, too: women mostly relegated to her indoors or her wrapped around a pole in a sleazy club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `See This? This is Real War', 18 May 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
This is a British film from director Reg Travis who also brought us the rather good `Joy Division' and `Psychosis'. He has taken this from the book by Ronnie Thompson - himself a former prison guard and this does not pull its' punches.

It is about ex-marine and war veteran Sam (James D'Arcy `Master and Commander' and `WE') he has left the army and is in the employment market. After his welcoming home party two of his old mates offer him a bit on the side in the wholesale narcotics (illegal) business. He politely declines as he is a father and husband etc. His long suffering wife points him in the direction of Her Majesty's Prison Service. Whilst he is at first reluctant, he soon decides there is little else he is qualified for and well it does come with holidays and a pension, so what can go wrong?

The answer to that last one is not long in coming. The fictional prison is rife with mistrust, illegal booze, drugs and a very sinister Guv'nor. There is also a divide in the officers or `screws' as they are deridingly referred to. He gets taken under the wing of veteran officer Deano, played with brilliant South London aplomb by Frank Harper. He explains that the Guv is on the side of the inmates as he is a careerist guvnor and hence, not their friend. He also finds out that the prisoners run the wing at least one guy does, Truman (Noel Clarke `Kidulthood','Centurion' and `Doctor Who'). He is a nasty piece of work and seems to know an awful lot more about Sam then Sam knows about him.

It doesn't take too long for things to kick off, and as Sam's home life hits the rocks, so his work life begins to spiral out of control.

There have been a few good prison dramas of late, like `Cell211', `Dog Pound' (a Canadian `Scum') and `R- Hit First Hit Hardest', but I think this is probably the best of the bunch.

I had thought this was going to be a typical prison drama, but it is ruddy excellent, with a great musical score, acting of the highest calibre and violence that seemed realistic and none gratuitous. It has more than enough twists loads of profanity and a believable story. I think that Reg Travis has made a brilliant and original film and I sincerely hope it gets the attention it richly deserves- highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great British prison-movie, 14 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
Screwed is the tale of ex-marine Sam (James D'Arcy - Flashbacks Of A Fool) who comes home after his harrowing service to a depressed job-market. With mouths to feed & few options, he signs up as a prison guard at HMP Wakefield where he is met by a multitude of characters, guards (screws, as they are called) & cons alike. After being propositioned by resident top-dog Truman (Noel Clarke - 4.3.2.1) and faced with the rife corruption, he begins to question whether there is anything separating the guards & the cons apart from the bars?

This is an excellent prison drama, concisely shot by director Reg Traviss, about the morality of guarding prisoners. When drug-use outside the prison in the personal lives of the 'screws' prompts Sam to ask "it's a bit hypocritical ain't it?" he's not half-wrong. This is an excellent moral struggle for Sam throughout the 1hr45min duration, that is well supported by the able-bodied cast, notably Frank Harper (Billy Bright out of Football Factory) & the fantastic Jamie Foreman (Snatch). Noel Clarke's Truman is a duplicitous character and this keeps an electric sense of tension throughout this film as we see Sam, poorly supported at home, become trapped between poverty & the job.

Highly recommended for a gritty British prison drama, violent in places, with some notable faces and decent acting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caged animals? Unleash the narrative beast please!, 16 Jun 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
If ever there was a wasted opportunity to add another Great British prison movie to the roster headed by Alan Clarke's incendiary Scum, then Screwed is it. The credentials were promising. Based on the real life memoirs of Ronnie Thompson, an ex squaddie who post a tough tour of duty joined the prison service and apparently found another kind of war on the inside, and the adaptation to screen is headed by Brit thespian bad boys Noel Clarke, Frankie Harper and James D'Arcy. Yet what unfolds for the duration of the pic is the standard raft of clichés we movie fans have seen time and time again.

There's some early promise that maybe this will have something to say as regards a returning war veteran, hints that the screenplay will have caustic asides on the British penal system - and the problems inherent within our prisons, but it never delivers, instead choosing to macho everything up in such a fanciful fashion you have to wonder exactly what is actually based on facts? There's also the small matter of the fact the whole picture plays as very similar to Phil Davis' excellent 1995 football hooligan movie, i.d. Only there it was an undercover policeman getting in feral with his work, here it's a prison officer doing likewise. There's even a sex scene that is lifted straight from Davis' movie.

Having not read Thompson's book, "Screwed: The Truth About Life As A Prison officer", something which I intend to correct in the immediate future, I can't vouch for the veracity of this adaptation to screen. However, the film feels empty, like it's following a guide book written by the British press on how they "think" our prisons operate, fuelling the horror fire of what filmic adaptations over the decades have led us to believe are regular occurrences. Only Thompson knows the truth, both of his experiences and of how his book has been translated on screen, but all things considered it's a lazy same old same old film. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwed, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good price,great film an received it in a couple of days. I always buy my films from Amazon. But it is always good to read others comments before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the book!, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
This review is written from the point of view of someone who has read the book first, then watched the film.

If you're just planning on watching the film, you'll probably think its ok. You may even think its better than ok! Don't bother buying the film if you've read the book first; rent it or borrow it instead.

When I read Screwed, I didn't realise it had been made into a film. When I found out that it had, I was happy as I'd enjoyed the book and thought I'd give it a try.

As it turns out the film is a big disappointment by comparison to the book, which is a decent account of British prison life, from the point of view of a prison warden. Other than the fact that the film's cast is mostly male, and the setting is a prison built in the Victorian era, the film has virtually nothing to do with the book. The names aren't even the same in most cases, nor do many of the book's characters make an appearance! Barely any of the stories from the book have made it into the film, and those that have don't have the same impact as they did on paper.

The film turns the morality of Thompson's clique of prison wardens from the book right on its head. Instead of representing the screws as a work-hard, play-hard bunch, he's used the film to make them look like con-bashing, drug-taking morons. Thompson & Co have obviously opted to pander to the audience of Kidulthood etc by glorifying crime and making prisoners look hard done by. Including Noel Clark and Frank Harper in the cast won't have done any harm here either. Still, as long as it pays.

Ronnie Thompson should be gutted. I don't know how he allowed it to happen. I would have expected him to have a more significant input considering he was writer of Screwed the novel, screen writer of Screwed the film and was one of the producers of the film too. You would have thought that, since he wrote the book, he owed it to himself to keep the plot of the film as close to the book as possible. Well, he hasn't.... This film is a classic example of why some books shouldn't be made into films.

I won't bother with a synopsis of the movie, its already on here, and the people who liked the film have done a good job on that front.

If you watch the film, and don't plan on reading the book, you'll doubtless like it and won't see what I'm talking about. I like this genre, and in some respects I wish I'd seen the film first because I know I would have enjoyed it loads.

I've now given the film away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Noel Clarke in Prison, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
Although this views prison life from a prison officer's perspective, it held no interest for me whatsoever. The only thing that engaged me was seeing Noel Clarke in a prison context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
callan (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Screwed [DVD] (DVD)
Good film worked so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Screwed [DVD]
Screwed [DVD] by Reg Traviss (DVD - 2011)
5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews