Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kindle Reference So Far
This is an excellent product. I use it on Kindle For PC. It is much easier to use than the paper version. Searching is very easy. It takes you to an index where there are links to the various senses and parts of speech. This is the first Kindle reference book I have bought that is optimised for searching. This book is a model for other publishers to follow (including big...
Published on 5 July 2012 by Ken Ward

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not useful for Crosswords
This may be useful for creative writing for linking moods, concepts etc but does not work in any straightworward way for helping solve crossword clues which is what I wanted it for.
Published 19 months ago by Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kindle Reference So Far, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent product. I use it on Kindle For PC. It is much easier to use than the paper version. Searching is very easy. It takes you to an index where there are links to the various senses and parts of speech. This is the first Kindle reference book I have bought that is optimised for searching. This book is a model for other publishers to follow (including big names in publishing!).

Some reviewers suggested there were spelling mistakes. I haven't looked, and perhaps never will look at every word, but everything seems fine. Roget does contain some foreign words, some old English words, and some words in unusual, but correct senses. For instance, under 'desire', there is '... twist; thirst...'. 'Twist' does look odd, but is used perfectly correctly. Elsewhere, 'drouth' is used perfectly correctly in the sense of a shortage, even though, 'drought' is more normal.

So a good cheap book which is easier to use than the print version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for the writer or puzzler on the move., 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
This is such good value and so easy to use. Very comprehensive and it is easy to use and search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not searchable so useless!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
This is supposed to searchable but it isn't (unless mine has not downloaded properly), hence its use as a resource is somewhat limited. Disappointed in the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A portable treasury., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
I have used the hard copy for years - now I carry it with me where ever the kindle goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not useful for Crosswords, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
This may be useful for creative writing for linking moods, concepts etc but does not work in any straightworward way for helping solve crossword clues which is what I wanted it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars E-Thesaurus review, 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
I am disappointed with this. I had expected the same or better than the printed version but find that the alternative words offered are very limited and one is left referring to the e-dictionary, which is good but which does not do the same job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American spelling?, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
Can't really complain at a purchase price of 1.99, and the search, within the limitations of the Kindle OS, works reasonably, but it appears to be based - admittedly from a limited number of searches - on 'American' English with only some of the variations linked so it seems that finding some words where there are US/English spelling variants might be a bit hit & miss. Some examples: searching for 'humour' & 'rumour' returns no results and can only be found using the American spellings of 'humor' & 'rumor'; searching for 'defence' does return the US version 'defense', but 'defence' isn't actually listed.

Disappointing that this aspect isn't mentioned in Amazon's product right up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Searchable?, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
May claim to be 'Fully Searchable' and it does include all of the words that I have requested so far, but does not then give all of the alternatives.
I had a paper-back copy of this many years ago, which was much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again its what you're used to..., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
Not getting on with kindle version as need to be able to flick through easily.
I have to say I havent had the kindle long and maybe I am missing the shortcuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easier in hardback, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roget's Thesaurus - Definitive Edition [Fully Searchable] (Kindle Edition)
Finding it hard to use but I will keep on trying. At least the corners won't get curled up from over use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews