Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars13
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2011
Another compilation in Silva Screen's TV Themes series, this one features a good selection of classic and up-to-date themes from British TV series. With the exception of Hal Lindes' theme from Between the Lines, these are all mainly re-recordings by the Prague Philharmonic, London Music Works & Mark Ayres.

The Prague tracks are, on the whole, performed well although some sound muffled and badly recorded. The Mark Ayres re-recordings are inoffensive music-by-numbers tracks competently performed, but now re-issued so many times, they come under the "skip button" category.

The London Music Works tracks though, are dreadful. I don't know who they are, but they sound like a similar setup to the infamous "Power Pack Orchestra" that released a number of albums on EMI's MFP label.

As usual, Silva Screen make no mention on the front or back of the CD that these are re-recordings, so if you've come across a sealed copy in a store, you have to buy it before you find out. Sneaky.

Recommended? Yes, but only just.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
It is a mixture of the good, the bad and the ugly. There aren't so many tinny keyboard tracks but there are some hammy tunes in among the best themes. The 'Professionals' stands out as one the poorer attempts. I was disappointed that the 'Onedin Line' was so short. However, on the whole its not too bad.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
This album doesn't contain the original themes so I don't really see the point. We are usually incredibly familiar with TV themes because we hear them so often, hearing an alternative version just doesn't scratch the itch. Amazon should make it very clear.
Sent it back.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
A good mix of TV themes most from years gone by like the 1950 and 60s but also a few newer ones such as Lewis, Eastenders and big brother CD 1 is from 1957 - 1971 and CD 2 is from 1972 - 2006 but some of the programs are still on TV now. All in all not bad at all, good for a quiz but you might have to cut some themes short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
A good collection of themes from the days when TVs were the size of wardrobes. Name that tune etc. Fun & well worth the money. I could go on but Peter Kay`s already done that. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
It probably didn't have the themes of tv things I would have preferred, but this is jus personal. It depends on what you have watched, there is nothing wrong with the cd at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
I bought this to use with people living with various stages of dementia and it was excellent for the purpose - it prompted no end of memories and discussion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
I bought this CD because i wanted to develop a quiz with a difference for workshops and training sessions and this has proved great fun. It has also started lively discussions about long forgotten tv programmes and is a great warm up game. This has been a great buy, with a good selection of tv themes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Original and the best. When you listen you will recognise the intros and enjoy the rest, superb orchestration here Thank goodness!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
i enjoyed this album, some classic themes on it, brought back lots of tv memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)