Customer Reviews


390 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like going back in time.
Took me back to when games were fun, played it though twice, has everythng you want in an adventure game, oh the fun of using the bow and flaming arrows to take out the baddies is pure joy, im gonna try to complete it just using the bow.
Usually the controls on games like this are a bit dodgy but not here, every button you touch does what it says on the tin. I have...
Published 16 months ago by Clifford J. Patmore

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad game if it had a different name
Tomb Raider 2013 is a mixed bag. Sometimes amazing, sometimes tedious or just disappointing. I'll discuss the good first.
1) The graphics are simply stunning, there's no doubt about that. Tomb Raider has never looked so good and the animation on her character is superb.

2) The combat is very well done, very reminiscent of Square Enix's Hitman: Absolution...
Published 16 months ago by W. Lee


‹ Previous | 138 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tomb Raider, 18 Mar 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having seen past reviews averaging from 4-5 stars; I was very excited at the prospect of buying this game as many years ago i owned the PS1 Games and loved them.

However i was soon to realise early on that this was not the case!

Gameplay
Incredibly scripted and far too many cinematics and cut scenes
States open world gameplay but its a corridor shooter disguised as open world gameplay.
Very structured events e.g. No control over Lara's crouching/standing positions, as game dictates this which ruins the tense moments as when she crouches you know you enemies will be nearby.
It is basically a simple game, having to press certain buttons at the right time and no free movement.
Good points is that it is fluid and the graphics are the best I've seen on the Xbox 360/PS3

Multiplayer
Havent yet played.

Story
Bit mundane, the 'tense' moments arent that tense at all, 90% of the time i skipped the cut scenes as there were too many to count, i felt like i was watching a movie at some points and not playing a game.
Probably just me but lara's voice became intolerable with all the moans and groans and stereotypical 'English' accent

Overall
Would not recommend this game if you are a classic tomb raider fan. I personally would buy uncharted as it has graphics and best of all; incredible gameplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The first ever boring Tomb Raider game, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So disappointed! I've been playing tomb raider from the very first one but what used to be a game that always promised many attributes, such as puzzles, skill and needing a brain to solve it, this is just another boring shoot-em-up! There are way too many cut out scenes and Lara is irritating and the other characters pretty dull too. I only got as far as the first third of the game before I decided I'd had enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid at all costs. Laura Croft disappoints, 29 Aug 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
You play Miss Laura Croft, who is on a mission to seek revenge for her fathers disappearance. I should point out the 360 graphics are so drab and dreary with washed out colours. Miss Laura Croft's clothing just looks like plastic and everything seems badly made. I was shooting a rock and it didn't move, the physics in the game are limited and when Miss Laura Croft dives into water it's like she just flops about like a fish.

The developers have copied Uncharted in many ways and you feel like you are about to bump into Nathan Drake at the next cave. Speaking of caves, there are many vast dungeons you must explore with limited ammo. The guns sound absolutely terrible and I can't stand Laura Croft. Her voice sounds like a man talking in riddles.

You can do side missions to earn money for food and clothing as you eventually end up stranded in a large, dry and deserted field. You must use the towns only working telephone to apply for a loan. When that fails you are left with charitable donations trying to work yourself out of poverty and improve your land. Trees grow, crops rise and Miss Laura Croft can now afford that train ticket to get the hell out.

I feel at this point the game could of explained the sudden departure from the caves to a open field but there are even more weird and unnerving points to discuss. The mansion where she lives is haunted and it's quite scary.

The 360 version is also the worst with crap graphics from the second level onwards. I had very bad cramp when using the 360 controller as it wasn't designed for adults. Children maybe.

Well I completed this game in 4 hours and can't stop thinking it could of been much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment!, 11 Mar 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It has an average feel to it. The graphics are okay nothing amazing, the main story is too short and the controls are sloppy. When you jump on to ledges it is mega glitchy.

Only borrow this game from a friend or buy it when it goes down in price a lot because it wasn't worth the wait and the pre-order bonus was terrible. Somehow the multiplayer mode is even worse, repetetive and overall boring.

I'm never this harsh but this game was so overated. 3/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISK DOSE NOT WORK IN XBOX??, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The disk has some scratches on and dose not work in mine or my brothers xbox? it arrived with many markings over the disk and i could tell just buy looking at its condition it was not going to work... was ment to be a present for my brothers birthday but i cant give him this now? not happy with this as it looked like a potentially good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly poor, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Karl Grosvenor (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is really terrible and so overrated,only buy this if you're a shooter fan,but if you like adventure games steer well clear as this is only Tomb Raider by name,other than that it's just a mundane shooter that's worth only one play through if you can put up with the trial and error tedious game-play,this is without doubt the worse game I have played in living memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubish effort not worth buying, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has been put together without any actual research into how the weapons would work or the result of being shot..I shot one enemy in the head with 3 pistol rounds and he ran for cover then continued to attack my character..after the first 2 shots at his head he wouldn't have been thinking let alone fighting on..no research..lazily put together and its trying to be far cry 3 and failing very badly..give this game a miss wait for gta5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 92 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tomb raider 2013, 5 Mar 2013
By 
James Barber (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What a wast of 40. Just like fable, running down a path. Not like tomb raider at all. If you like the old tomb raider games as I do, do not get this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more like COD raider, 19 Mar 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I cannot believe they called this tomb raider it is an insult to the makers of old this is a lot like COD and to label it tomb raider is a disgrace.. Even lara croft looks like someone out of call of duty what a sham of a game lara is truely dead :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OFFENSIVE TO VEGETARIANS/VEGANS/ ANIMAL LOVERS, 18 Mar 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you are offended at the idea of being made to kill then hack up and eat a deer then do not buy this game as this is exactly what you are made to do very early on in the game. I have to say that as a strict vegetarian my principles have never come in the way of playing a computer game before but even on a fantasy level this was horrific! I can't say what the rest of the game is like as unless you are prepared to do the above you cannot progress in the game so i'm afraid it went in the bin! I was so offended i am writing to the developers about it as i cannot believe that there is no option but to do this or you cannot play the rest of the game.
Offensive/disgusting/horrific. I think you get the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 138 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider (Xbox 360)
Tomb Raider (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews