Customer Reviews


531 Reviews
5 star:
 (370)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara gets rebooted, but how does it fare?
I have had this game on my radar since it was announced several years ago. As a casual follower of the Tomb Raider franchise since Tomb Raider II, I was immediately intrigued, because I'd always felt that while the games were brilliant back in the 90s and early 00s, it seemed that interest in the young Miss. Croft had faded significantly in recent years. So I was...
Published 17 months ago by T. J. Woodhead

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Tomb Raider" Fan Very Disappointed
I have now played the game to the end Apart from the artwork which is superb I really can not compliment the game. It is mainly all about shooting the bad guys. .. yawn yawn. If the game had been called "Lara Croft" I don't think I would be quite so disapponted with it but to call it "Tomb Raider" is wrong when in this game the tombs are only optional and too easy and...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lara gets rebooted, but how does it fare?, 17 Mar 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
I have had this game on my radar since it was announced several years ago. As a casual follower of the Tomb Raider franchise since Tomb Raider II, I was immediately intrigued, because I'd always felt that while the games were brilliant back in the 90s and early 00s, it seemed that interest in the young Miss. Croft had faded significantly in recent years. So I was fascinated to find out how a new, younger version of Lara would work in the context of a more modern, grittier story. So how did it do?

It's impossible to review Tomb Raider without first considering its modern competitors. The first, and most obvious of these, is the Uncharted series. When Uncharted was first announced back in the mid-00s, reviewers and gamers alike were quick to brand the game as a 'Tomb Raider knock-off'. And it was no surprise really; both series feature a strong lead character who is in search of a particular ancient treasure, trying to claim it before a stereotypically evil bad-guy gets his hands on it. Both series incorporate supernatural elements into an otherwise realistic world, and both borrow heavily from the Indiana Jones films. And it's true; Uncharted certainly owes some of its success to the 'Tomb Raider'-shaped hole that had opened up in the market, and turned out to be one of the greatest games series of the last decade.

But this isn't a review of Uncharted; it's a review of 2013's Tomb Raider. Ever since gameplay was shown, gamers have been labelling the reboot as an Uncharted 'clone'. And while it is certainly true that the vast majority of Uncharted fans will undoubtedly love Tomb Raider, the two games are not as alike as many gameplay videos or gamers would have you believe.

You start the game aboard the 'Endurance'; a large ship, whose passengers and crew are attempting to find the lost Japanese kingdom of Yamatai, where a Sun-Queen named Himiko once reigned (all of which is based on true history). Lara Croft, the protégée of Dr. Whitman (a failing television archaeologist) is part of the expedition, when a storm hits, destroying the ship, and shipwrecking it on a nearby island. The plot of the game sees you exploring most of the vast island, trying to keep the rest of the crew safe from the savage islanders, while attempting to discover the secrets behind the island.

The gameplay itself is excellently designed, and merges perfectly with the fast-paced storyline. A lot of the gameplay is based around platforming; climbing up buildings, jumping from platform to platform and zip-lining from one place to another. While the climbing mechanics are not quite as robust as those in other games (i.e. Uncharted), and you will occasionally become frustrated at Lara's peculiar tendency to through herself into a giant chasm, but on a whole they work very well. A particularly nice touch to the climbing aspect is the use of the climbing axe, which as well as doubling as a brutal melee weapon, also allows you to climb special 'craggy' areas of cliff faces. As you progress through the story, you unlock more equipment, and as a result gain access to more areas. For example, about a third of the way into the game, you unlocked the ability to fire rope arrows, which allow you to pull objects towards you from a distance or set up your own zip-lines, as well as tripping over enemies.

Speaking of arrows, there are four staple weapons in the game; a bow, a handgun, a rifle and a shotgun. Each of these has different purposes and can be upgraded separately using salvage that you collect from the environment and downed enemies. The bow quickly becomes a vital piece of equipment, due to its usefulness in exploring as well as fighting. Arrows are silent, allowing you to adopt stealth techniques easily. Arrows can also be fired near to enemies in order to distract them. As you progress, a range of different arrows can be unlocked, including fire arrows, napalm arrows and the aforementioned rope arrows. The bow mechanics are some of the best I've seen in games. The handgun can be silenced when enough salvage has been found, and also can be modified to have a burst fire mode. The assault rifle is inaccurate, but quick firing, and is modified later in the game to include a grenade-launcher attachment. The shotgun can be customised to have a secondary fire that features a longer range for decreased damage. The focus on salvaging and modifying weapons gives the game a realistic 'survival' feel, while incorporating some RPG-elements that are thankfully becoming increasingly common in modern games. These elements extend into an XP system that allows you to unlock more moves and abilities for Lara, such as the ability to collect arrows from enemies you have shot, and a series of useful finishing moves. Lara also has the ability to use "Survivor Vision", which works similar to "Eagle Vision" from Assassins Creed or "Detective Mode" from the Arkham series.

I was initially sceptical of the shooting mechanics of the game. Unlike Uncharted, there is no option to 'shoot from the hip'. In order to fire your weapon, you must be aiming using L1. When I first discovered this, I believed it to be laziness on the developers half, but quickly discovered that it was deliberately left out to give the game a more realistic feel. Unlike Nathan Drake of Uncharted fame, Lara has never used a gun before, and it shows. You can't casually mow down hundreds of enemies as you run past them without a thought; taking out enemies requires you to really think about where you are positioned, and selecting your weapon carefully. Several times throughout the game, I found myself repeating a section over and over again, before realising that the weapon I was trying to use made the section particularly difficult. This plunges you deeper into the game's narrative, allowing you to appreciate how scared Lara must be. And while I love the Uncharted series, never has it got my heart racing quite as much as some of the intense shoot-outs in Tomb Raider.

The cover system is particularly well-designed. To begin with, I was having a hard time getting used to it. I was so accustomed to getting into cover using a particular button that I found it difficult to make Lara take cover, and occasionally got torn to pieces by machine gun fire as I was standing helplessly beside a wall. I quickly found out that Lara was clever, though. As long as I was near enough to a wall or table, and enemies were nearby, Lara would automatically take cover. This works perfectly, and very quickly, I was using cover to my advantage extremely effectively. Lara naturally tries to survive.

That's a big part of Tomb Raider, as it turns out. Crystal Dynamics (the developer) have worked hard to turn Lara Croft from a badass treasure hunter into a naive, scared young girl, barely out of college. You are supposed to sympathise with Lara greatly, and they've done a great job of allowing this, through narrative, voice-acting (kudos to Camilla Luddington for doing a fantastic job of voicing Lara!) and gameplay. It's intense, but you're with Lara every step of the way, from the moment she first sits beside a campfire, shivering from the rain, to the time she makes her first kill, right up until the end.

Speaking of the end, the story finale isn't actually the end of the game. While the narrative follows a linear plot that sees you walking across most of the island, the game is decidedly open-world. You revisit areas that you've been to previously, but with new abilities and equipment, allowing you to unlock new areas to find the remaining treasure. In a way, this is very akin to Batman: Arkham Asylum, where your progress through the game allows you to access more and more areas. While the island itself is a little more linear than the Arkham games, the fact that it is all confined to an island allows you some freedom (unlike the Uncharted games, where there is a distinct path at all times). Throughout the world, there are various documents to find, as well as treasures, and other collectibles.

There are also several Hidden Tombs throughout the game, which incorporate puzzle and platforming elements (think of the Assassin Tombs etc. from Assassin's Creed). While these are a fun addition, they are generally too short, and not as challenging as I would have liked. Nevertheless, they are a nice break from the other parts of the game.

The games graphics are generally very impressive, with excellent lighting to accent the effort that has been put into creating a living, breathing island. Many of the sections of the game force you to use fire and torches to light your way, and the effects on the fire are particularly impressive. Some of the cutscenes lack detail, and occasionally, lip-syncing is a little poor, but these rarely take away from the action.

On a whole, the campaign is fantastic, gritty, and lovingly-made. It is one of the most enjoyable single-player experiences I have had from a game, and I'm not afraid to admit it. The multiplayer, however, leaves much to be desired.

I can sort of see what Eidos were trying to do with the multiplayer, but unfortunately, the game doesn't translate well into a multiplayer experience. Lara's lack of experience works extremely well in the single-player, but when put into an online environment, the guns all feel too light, the gameplay frustrating, and the controls flimsy and unpredictable. Very often, I ended up too close to the enemy I was trying to kill, and ended up in a massive climbing-axe-swinging-fest, during which we simply circled around each other, failing to hit each other, until somebody else came along and put us out of our misery. I am aware that a lot of people dislike Uncharted 3's multiplayer aspect, but it at least feels like a robust, well-made aspect of the game, rather than a tacked on feature. It's just a good job that the single player is so fantastic.

Breakdown:

Gameplay: 9/10
+ Fantastic climbing and platforming mechanism that throws Lara into the 21st Century of gaming.
+ Well-designed shooting mechanics that capture Lara's inexperience perfectly.
+ Various ways to engage the enemy; stealth, melee or cover-based shooting.
- Multiplayer is often frustrating.

Graphics: 9/10
+ Incredibly detailed world
+ With some impressive lighting-use.
- Some occasional cutscene syncing issues.

Sound: 10/10
+ Voice acting is brilliant, giving each character a very realistic feel.
+ Music is tense, and adds to the feel of the game brilliantly.
+ Gun sound effects are particularly realistic.

Replayability: 9/10
+ Multiplayer mode provides a lot of playtime, if you don't find it too frustrating.
+ Lots of treasures to be found, and Hidden Tombs to locate.
- Slight lack of enemies to kill after beating the game.

Narrative: 10/10
+ Great, fast-paced story with some great twists.
+ Interesting storyline which matches real life history.

Conclusion:
While I appreciate that Tomb Raider might not be everybody's ideal game, I have found it to be one of the single most enjoyable gaming experiences. It borrows ideas from some of the most successful games of the last decade, and while some of the mechanics do not feel as robust as they do in other games, the culmination of them into one game makes Tomb Raider stand out. It's a fantastic celebration of what gaming has become!! If you enjoy Uncharted, Assassin's Creed and the Batman: Arkham games, then I'm sure that you will love Tomb Raider!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, just not for me, 15 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
To be honest I was disappointed with the game, but I can't in good conscience give it a bad review. The story is excellent and the concept and setting set the game perfectly. The dialogue is natural and gives me great confidence in Rhianna Pratchett doing great things with the upcoming television series The Watch. From the first tomb raider, the game has evolved, from being mostly about puzzle solving, with some gunfights to a more even mix. Less challenging puzzles, but more fighting. The game play here has almost done away completely with any puzzles. There's one or two that take a little thinking about but nothing like the vast monster that was sir francis's folly. Remember? The giant tower with the rooms leading off with Thor's Hammer? The game play itself is almost like a film. Long cutscenes, and when climbing, every few seconds control is taken from you to show her almost lose her grip. For the first hour it felt like I was watching a film but with minor input. This then gives way to what feels like wave after wave of bad guys.

If you're after a game where you can climb and gun down endless cult members, this is undoubtably a very good game for you. It's kind of more like uncharted than ever. If, like me, you were wanting puzzles that you can spend hours climbing around trying to find something in the room that has any effect on anything, I'm afraid it's time to get the ps1 back out of the attic.

Please, do not let me put you off this game, it is an exceptional example of what it is, just not my sort of game. Now I must go and lock the butler in the fridge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reboot that's worth it, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game. I wasn't happy about the reboot as a long time Lara Croft fan but it won me over. The action and puzzles are seamless and it has a story that makes sense and is engaging. As for the new Lara she is a real character fully fleshed out and very likable.

If you liked Far Cry and Uncharted you will like this game. It has the sense survivor element as Far Cry with well executed actions scenes that are actually better than Uncharted.

A definite buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Straight To The Point Review, 6 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
I got TOMB RAIDER yesterday and have only stopped playing it to eat and sleep, the game is truly amazing! First off the gameplay is great and the animations are also very good, graphics are very impressive and the sound is superb.
Now this is a reboot so i wasn't surprised that the game ain't nowhere near as hard as the original TR on PS1 (which is my favorite in the series, didn't like the rest!), but for reviewers to give this game 1/5 or 2/5 is just crazy! I'm a fan of the original but i am also a hardcore gamer and know when i play sumthing special and this is exactly that, i treat this game as a stepping stone for our heroine LARA to learn her skills and transform into the RAIDER we all love as this is an ORIGIN STORY!

I have yet to play the multiplayer so i really cant comment on that, but i did buy this game for its singleplayer campaign!

For me this game and NI NO KUNI are the best games of this year so far, CRYSIS 3 was good but these two are of a superior caliber!

Thankyou for reading! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic reboot., 8 Mar 2013
By 
C. Simmonite "Daisuke Ando" (Street, Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a big fan of the Tomb Raider franchise since it's initial release on the Sega Saturn back in '96 and loved every entry in the series that CORE Design developed. Yes, even Angel of Darkness. When the reigns were handed to Crystal Dynamics I feel the games took a massive slump. Legend was utter tripe, Anniversary was average at best and Underworld needs to burn in the pits of hell. Needless to say I was not impressed with Crystal's lacklustre attempts. So naturally, I was sceptical when this new Tomb Raider was announced. Even more so being the third reboot of the franchise.

So. Now I have played through and completed the single player I can safely say that this game is just fantastic. Crystal have finally managed to create a decent TR game!

Story -
Unlike previous games in the franchise, this title is heavily story driven. It's a dark and gritty tale of overcoming mystical, horrific and insane odds whilst desperately trying to find a way to save her friends and escape the island of Yamatai. The story itself is told well, with additional tidbits revealed in documents scattered about the island.

Graphics -
The game is beautiful and highly detailed. Definitely one of the best looking games I have seen in a while. The lighting is superb, more so when it's day time with the sun beaming beautifully down on the island. The PC version in particular is one of the most graphically impressive games available.

Gameplay -
The games play well and the controls are easy to pick up. Lara will automatically assume a 'cautious' stance when enemies are detected and thus automatically take cover when within range of low walls, etc.
The emphasis on survival is lost pretty soon after the game begins though sadly. After requiring to kill a wild animal for food to cure Lara's hunger, she seems to go the rest of the game without requiring sustenance again. A shame really, as I feel an MGS3 style stamina/recovery system would've benefited this game tremendously, though that is what I was led to believe this game would have. Besides the wolves early in the game, the only threat to Lara's life are the seemingly limitless well armed human enemies. At times it does feel like playing a generic TPS. Only when the enemies shift to a more super natural force towards the end does the heavy shooting action seem more justified.
For the most part gameplay is in the great outdoors, beautiful ancient Japanese castles and war time Imperial Japanese fortifications. But do not fret. There are a few 'optional' tombs that you can get to raiding. They are small in size but offer the best puzzle experiences within the game.
If you like collecting hidden items, then you'll find plenty of that here. Documents, artefacts, maps, along with weapon parts and salvage, which can be used to upgrade and enhance your weaponry. Plenty to keep you occupied.

Overall-
Despite being so different, I find it hard to be disappointed by this game. I personally feel that this reboot has been successful. We all now have to accept that Tomb Raider has been reborn into a darker, more gritty tale of survival against impossible odds with a more realistic and believable young woman at it's helm.
The original games, the first in particular will always be the closest to my heart but if Crystal Dynamics keep up this formula, I can see Tomb Raider rise to the top again.
I honestly cannot wait for Tomb Raider 2.

For me at least, I can't see anything else topping this game in the foreseeable future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Tomb Raider" Fan Very Disappointed, 19 April 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
I have now played the game to the end Apart from the artwork which is superb I really can not compliment the game. It is mainly all about shooting the bad guys. .. yawn yawn. If the game had been called "Lara Croft" I don't think I would be quite so disapponted with it but to call it "Tomb Raider" is wrong when in this game the tombs are only optional and too easy and quick to get through - are they having a laugh?! I would have expected one super compulsory complicated tomb puzzle at least in the game. I hope if they ever make another game in the series they will note how disapponted some of their fans are. In the meantime I have fished out some of my older Tomb Raider games to put this bad experience behind me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Uncharted 3, 15 April 2013
By 
D.M. "dcardiel" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
Maybe mine is not the best title for a review one should do, but I'm honest: Probably Naughty dog's Uncharted got most of what it is from Tomb Raider games, but this one looks (and is played) like the next step in Uncharted franchise.

But hey, it's better! The game look as good as a single-platform would, the plot is solid and addictive, and you can spend hours and hours searching for relics and exploring the environment. And also there is all this survival horror stuff that makes you feel that Lara is in a Chainsaw massacre movie.

Anyway, very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mark B (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic game. Atmospheric, emotional - and absolutely perfect as the origin story of the iconic Lara Croft.

The game play is a cross between Far Cry 3 and Uncharted, and is really nicely driven by the story. It's not entirely sandbox, with most levels fairly linear, but within levels there is a littile flexibility about how you go about things.

Don't expect any of the tomb exploring of older incarnations, this is effectively a stealth/first person shooter.

Definitely worth it - great fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this Tomb Raider?, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is actually fantastic but it just doesn't feel like a Tomb Raider game. It's almost as if Square Enix so the success of Uncharted and tried to emulate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shoot em up, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomb Raider (PS3) (Video Game)
not bad not enough tombs though. seems like the designers have lost sight of the title Tomb Raider dont you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider (PS3)
Tomb Raider (PS3) by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews