Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars295
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2013
I am a huge hitman fan and this game does seem to be different than previous hitman titles but on it own rights it does not dissapoint. It has fluid gameplay as there are many ways to kill the target so replayability is great in this game. It is quite a long game as it took me more than 20 hours to complete it on professional. Graphically it is a very good looking game with amazing details to each level and runs smootly. The AI is great and responsive and the voice acting is very fluid and real. For me this is a bargain for its price and trust me you will not be dissapointed. Any it is 18 plus for a reason as kids will not be able to handle the missions as kids are used to shoot em ups which this game is NOT. GO buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I was really looking forward to Hitman Absolution hoping it would carry on where Blood Money left off, unfortunately I think this game has gone in a different direction. Where Blood Money let you play vast maps pretty much however you wanted to, in most of the missions in Absolution you have to follow a script with not much room for deviation in a relatively small map, this of course limits your options and playing style. As such, some of the best methods of eliminating a target such as staging elaborate accidents seem rather mundane now as its pretty much a case of just pressing a button or pulling a lever. With this game I found there simply weren't as many options for taking out a target, something that made previous games so enjoyable.

Another gripe I have with this game is a lot of the levels in Absolution are aimed at evading enemy detection with no actual target to eliminate, I found this to be pretty tiresome. This was compounded by the new disguise system in which anybody dressed in the same costume as you is immediately suspicious, forcing you to use the new instinct feature or simply hide as if you weren't dressed the same as them in the first place, and if this doesn't work more often than not they start shooting anyway, forcing you to restart at the last checkpoint if you want the silent assassin score.

A feature from previous titles I missed was pre-selecting which weapons you started missions with and being able to modify them with silencers, scopes, and larger magazines. This has gone completely, in most cases you start most missions with just the silver ballers which sort of makes unlocking weapons redundant.

Other reviewers have mentioned the new checkpoint feature, this didn't bother me too much apart from the way anyone you have subdued or killed will re-spawn when you load from the last checkpoint. It would have been good to keep some continuity in this regard. As an aside continuity is also lacking in some cut scenes, where you've played a mission in disguise as chef, a lab tech, or whatever, as soon as the cut scene starts you'll see 47 in his signature suit, never mind.

On the plus side this game is visually stunning and there are some new features such as crowd dynamics that really work, however the linearity of the game and missions spoiled it for me. Overall it's a good game but not really up to par with with Blood Money or even Silent Assassin, a real shame.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
I must admit, I still haven't played any of the previous Hitman games despite owning the hd collection for about a year. I decided to delve into this game instead cause I simply did not have the time to play the other games. Anyway, Hitman: Absolution is a slick, responsive and mechanically confident game - and on occasions it's one of the most satisfying stealth games I've played in years. Agent 47's former handler at the International Contract Agency, Diana Burnwood, has gone rogue. Exposing the Agency and cutting its lines of communication as a distraction, she has gone into hiding with a valuable Agency asset, a young girl named Victoria. You are Agent 47 on a contract to eliminate Diana, the Agency is closing in on Burnwood but something has gone wrong, it seems like Agent 47 has a change of heart thus making him a target of the agency itself. The game-play is nothing short of fantastic. There are a few ways to dispatch of targets - One of them is the standard way, shoot them. But another way is to get really creative with the props around you - to make it look as if you killing these people were just accidents. The levels can be re-selected so you can play them again and boy can that be fun in the way of you trying to beat the score you made last time. The score system is if you kill your target - you get 50,000 points, If anyone gets in the way or if you go guns a blazing then the game punishes you for it by taking away points.The genius of it is the way the designers let you do that. It's not just about deciding whether to sneak past people or get into a gun-fight - it's about slowly tracking the movements of people through large environments and observing the ways you can manipulate them and their surroundings to bring about their downfall. Perhaps you place explosives where you know they'll wander, or maybe you arrive just in time to nudge them over a railing into a deserted alleyway, and often you do all this dressed in borrowed clothes that conceal your identity from all but the most detailed investigation. Hitman: Absolution includes all of that stuff, and on the higher difficulty levels it leaves you to figure a lot of it out on your own. You sneak or roam in disguise through police stations, courthouses, dilapidated mob-run hotels, maize-covered farmland ect. The level design was by far the most fantastic thing in the game. Agent 47 is a great character of course but the villains were so bizarre and over the top but also quite funny and amusing especially the main villain with his cowboy hat and the Saints who were a bunch of killer Nuns in leather as if they were in a Tarantino flick (Kill Bill). The storyline was great and had a few twists and turns which works and fits quite well, especially with a game that's heavily focused on stealth. The game in my opinion was tremendous fun and totally awesome, although there were occasionally some frustrating moments it was still a blast, I highly recommend this to stealth fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Absolution was a long wait for fans of the infamous Hitman series. Always known as a unique stealth third/first person simulator, the character Agent 47 just wasn’t as Hollywood as say, Sam Fisher or Solid Snake. 2012’s latest addition to the series, the first since 2006, popularises the concept into one which feels barely a fraction of Hitman, tied in with other mechanics of almost every other third-person game since yes, the previous instalment Blood Money. For one, I thought I’d never see cover mechanics, or object-illumination in a Hitman game – but I suppose these are the trends of the industry.

But my main issue is the disguise system which feels as illogical and asinine as setting up a small company to count the moon every night. Suspending your disbelief in Hitman has never been in question since the disguise system used to work. In Absolution, disguising feels more of a disadvantage and gives the impression it works AGAINST the player. This is because when you change your clothes, others wearing the same garb get suspicious by just looking at you. So on your first play-through, you may feel you have to eliminate several NPC’s to choose from an array of costumes to avoid being detected. Therefore, Absolution actually confuses the player into using cover-mechanics in addition to wearing a disguise. NPC’s actually disregard 47 visibly wall-hugging in broad daylight. The formula simply does not work and plagues Absolution’s 20-hour campaign. In modern gaming, 10-hours is the standard, so Absolution is generous by the fact a game hasn’t lasted this long since the early 00’s. Unfortunately, it instead tests your nerve and punctuality.

The biggest change of all is Instinct, a limited, almost super-human like power. This ability allows you to see through walls and predict NPC’s paths. It feels overpowered but completely necessary in Absolution considering the nature of the (broken) mechanics, as once an opponent is on to you - loading the save game is mandatory if you want a good score. Strangely, the limited “juice” you get for using this increases when knocking out or killing opponents, which is ridiculous because everyone knows the best way to play Hitman is to remain a ghost, and cause no disturbance. Now, players are encouraged to incapacitate NPC’s… totally ridiculous. Even more so is the fact that if you’re approaching a suspicious person, you have to activate the “super-power” to simply hide your face. It feels awkward, stupid and broken.

There’s also a mini-game which is actually part of the HUD. When walking past NPC’s who may be suspicious, an arrow appears in the HUD giving you an indication of who is staring at your face with suspicion. This arrow grows as the NPC comes to the realisation you’re Agent 47! This feels oddly awkward, like they just couldn’t be arsed representing the suspicions in character expression. In a couple of missions you’re required to walk through streets and “blend in” with crowds to prevent a suspicion from a mass of enemies. It feels like a mini-game rather than a brand new spanking game for a popular franchise.

Other incredibly mundane and predictable modern trends Absolution follows is how doors magically lock behind 47 at checkpoints when the game wants to cache the next area. As a result, many of Absolution’s levels feel as linear as other modern FPS’s and just act as small area after small area.

More differences to characters and plot occur in Absolution than ever before. Whereas the atmosphere used to be quaint and peaceful for the most part, with your character acting as a ghost effectively, in Absolution the storyline merely follows a regular video game plot where “bad guys” appear and do things only bad guys can like swearing and setting fire to buildings etc. There’s profanity, sexual dialogue, as well as plenty of explosions and general stupidity you see in Hollywood movies. 47 is no longer a secret and tends to make stupid mistakes in the story, underestimating and fearing the most clichéd “bad-guy” for some time. In a shock contrast, most of the missions are no longer hits and are simple “get from point A to point B” marathons. For the most part, these consist of using the cover function to dart from cover to cover, causing a diversion, before running for the exit and hoping no one sees.

The Hitman formula has really changed, and sadly way too much and negatively to recommend to fans of the previous games. On it’s own, this would be an average or OK game as well. Things I did like about Absolution are the graphics, some of the levels are beautifully made and crafted, and of course the score is fantastic as well. The atmosphere remains dark and adult – as stupid as some of the characters really are in the story. The difficulty levels are excellent as well, being quite tough but more fun on your second play-through, once you get over the trial and error process of learning the maps. In the end though, Absolution feels like we lost a good friend in 47 by being very little of what he once was.

5.5/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I've never played Hitman before, but I like the stealth genre (Splinter Cell/MGS) so I was quiet eager to give this a try.

It's a good experience, with good replayability, but lacking when it comes to story details and the larger picture.

Gameplay is brilliant, take-downs and kills are perfectly done, shooting mechanics are reasonable with a good range of pistols, revolvers and SMG's. The finest aspect has to be in waiting for targets to position themselves and for you to take advantage of this- with spectacular results- from poisoning coffee to car bombs, it's all happening!

However, like I've said, story is thin on the ground, with clichéd and two dimensional characters such as the protagonist 47 and co. Voice acting and facial rendering is also poorly done, often detaching from the illusion. Sound is fairly unremarkable, other than the occasionally entertaining NPC discussion to snoop on.

Thanks, sorry If I've angered any fans.

To end things off, I picked this up for £20. I wish I'd gone for Farcry 3. A bargain bucket buy unless your a franchise fan.
N.B: If your picking this title up second hand, don't worry about the pass for ''Contracts'' that comes with new editions. ''Contracts'' is a replay 'arcade' mode if you like, where friends set challenges for you to accomplish in levels of the campaign. Your still playing alone, no co-op mode. Wasn't worth anything, I've only played it to see what it is, I'm not going back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I've been a pretty big fan of the Hitman series since the second instalment. I have many good memories from the series' illustrious and detailed environments, infiltrating a comprehensive assortment of locales with deadly precision. Codename 47 is a 'legendary' assassin whose clinical efficiency has enabled players to feel like the ultimate badass. Until Absolution.

I will come straight out and say this is not a bad game. It has high production values, competent gameplay, a fairly long campaign and an intelligent multiplayer mode that should provide plenty of replay value. For Hitman newbies especially this is something different and it's worth checking out. But Hitman purists are going to be divided on this one, because it makes some uncomfortable changes.

First of all, it's important to note that the series has always been popular due to it's open worlds that allow plenty of user freedom in approach. It's a stark contrast then for Absolution to contain many levels in which the objective is a linear path between point A and B. Granted, these often work somewhat within the confines of the story, but they're boring in comparison to the trademark Hitman levels we've all come for. The slightly more open environments that are included in the game aren't the series' best either. The truth is, they just aren't that good or diverse.

My biggest gripe though is just how plain dumb the game occasionally becomes. Magically changing into someone's clothes withstanding, the Hitman franchise has always been a smart action game.. one that makes the player feel cunning and resourceful. But there are some key issues here that really detract from that formula. The biggest of which is the developed disguise system, which at times feels outright broken. To my memory, wearing a disguise has never been full-proof, but provided you acted accordingly and didn't get *too close* to other NPC's, you could slip by important areas unnoticed. Now a detection meter appears whenever you are in eyesight of a character (and sometimes even when you're not). This meter shoots up so substantially that sometimes wearing a disguise alone doesn't even make much of a difference than to your trademark suit. What's more irritating is that crouching around behind tables directly next to an enemy is apparently less conspicuous than walking around with a covered face 20+ meters away. This is all especially annoying in levels that seem to force you to take disguises in order to access vital areas.

There are other issues too. Upon taking a human shield I've seen police just continue to shoot me regardless (and the 'shield' doesn't seem to even take any of the bullets) and on other occasions seen them open fire automatic weapons into crowds of civilians. Little things like this pull you out of the experience and make the game feel clumsy - Which is a real shame, because every now and then you'll come across a level that really wants you to explore and immerse yourself in the situation.

What's more, the game now contains a tightly followed story. Honestly, I can't hand any credit to it whatsoever because it not only hits plenty of cliches, but generally doesn't make any sense nor fit the Hitman universe whatsoever. 47, a biologically created assassin generally devoid of emotion, takes out a contact on his long time employer only to carry out her dying wishes in sentimental fashion only minutes after killing her. He is tasked with protecting a young girl that has obviously been through some scientific experimentation, but actually does a pretty bad job of it. Not to mention the fact that very little is ever really explained about this girl until late on in the game. It's just not a very compelling motivation in my opinion and doesn't give enough reason to fuel such linearity. What's more, there are several instances in which 47 literally gets bonked on the head in Hollywood fashion, knocking him unconscious like some kind of chump, completely out of the players control.. even after single handedly sieging an entire building full of armed guards. This from a man who has personally executed Mafia bosses, military leaders and has even glided his way through the white house, gathering international acclaim as a ghost-assassin. It's lazy storytelling.

The contracts mode however is a very good addition to the series. It enables players to go through the single player missions with entirely different targets and objectives, based on other players requirements. Every action is scored and therefore players and friends can compete a contract for who can be the best assassin. Creating contracts is just as fun as completing others and the whole mode adds a large amount of replay-ability to levels which you may think you had completely sussed out. The mode isn't perfect, but it's a great addition that I hope to see expanded in future entires.

...Back to the big picture, Hitman Absolution is still a good game. It still has classic Hitman moments and it's definitely still worth playing. However, it's not the game it could or should have been and it's not the best game in the series by a fair margin. Out of 10 I'd give it a 7-8, when really I expected and wanted a 9. As such, I'm way more excited for the Hitman HD Trilogy coming soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
As a massive fan of the Hitman series I was first in line to pre-order my copy of Absolution when it was announced. After what seemed like years of waiting, delays and put-backs it finally landed and in my opinion it does not disappoint. The next gen graphics are brilliant minus a glitch here or there, but these aren't regular and don't do enough to be considered a flaw of the game. The sound effects and voice acting are also top shelf. One criticism I do have of this though, is the amount of talking 47 does do! The character I love shoots first and well... doesn't bother to ask questions. It does seem like the developers have tried a bit too hard with the back story, which I don't think is really necessary with Hitman games. Give me a contract to fulfill, I don't care about the details. I really like how open the levels are to the players creativity, for instance, the first proper contract has 12 different ways to assassinate your target! Even with the new 'Instinct' feature you still have to spend a good half hour sussing out your surroundings and the options open to you. I haven't finished this game yet, so it's still an open question: "Will this be as good as Silent Assassin or Blood Money?" Chances are, not likely, but it is still a brilliant game and a must have for anyone growing sick of generic FPS'ers being churned out left, right and centre. In all I would give Absolution a good 8.5 out of 10.
Reviewers I have seen complaining about no map, how disguises don't offer a bulletproof guarantee against being spotted and the "poor" save/checkpoint feature... gaming is meant to be challenging. If you don't like it, go back to Call of Duty

I should note that this is based wholely on the single player campaign as I do not currently have Xbox LIVE Gold. I do like the idea behind the "Contracts" mode though, and will update when I get round to having a go of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I am new to the hitman series and this the first hitman title i have played and i can say i was very satisfied with the game and enjoyed something different from your all out attack shooters. This stealth game was exactly what i needed to experience something different and i loved the fact that there so many ways in which you can kill your targets, for example you could just go straight forward rambo style killing (not recommended) or you could use your brain and wait for the right moment and you can also find things in the environment which will kill a target and make it look like an accident than a murder and in my opinion this is the most satisfying way of playing the game.
Graphically the game is decent but nothing breath taking, on a technical point of view there are few glitches but nothing which will ruin your experience or enjoyment of the game.The best parts in the game are ones where you are thrown into big crowds and this bring the game to life and in these sequences the environments show what hitman is about and in my opinion that is variety.
some of the characters in the game are interesting and definitely breathe life into the game and the voice over work is pretty good

Overall i give this game a 8.5 out of 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I remember play previous Hitman games and they were all about stealth. So I thought that I would give this a try as I have been getting more into stealth games.

Well first things first you can play this as a third person shooter. You get virtually unlimited supplies of weapons. I played it occasionally as a stealth game but it is much more fun to play the game as a serial killer. I murdered loads of people in this game and for most of the levels. I got negative points. You walk round the corner and you see a hotel maid so she starts screaming. You could just hide until it is all over. Or you could do what I do, un holster my shotgun and blast her in the face with it. They when she is down just shoot her again to make sure. Or you see someone standing by a cliff. It is so much fun just to push them off the cliff. Mostly this is how I got through the whole game. Occasionally I murdered everyone on a level just because it was so much fun.

I am sure I was supposed to slip past people but that just was not fun.

I did a couple of levels sneaking about. They were a lot of fun also.

Unlike that piece of trash Star trek the whole game is a lot of fun. I cost me £6 and was worth every penny.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Over the last few weeks we've met a variety of characters including Connor (Assassins Creed 3), the Master Chief (Halo 4) and David Mason (Black Ops 2). Now its time to meet Codename 47 (or Agent 47 if you prefer).

Codename 47 is back and he's never felt so deadly. I found myself quite surprised as this is definitely the first Hitman game that I've played with a clear narrative, I won't spoil the story but I'll just say that much as we see in Halo 4, we see a much more human side to the bald headed death dealer. I really enjoyed the story even though at times it can be a bit cringe worthy and found myself somewhat surprised by the insane tutorial mission and genuinely gripped by the following levels. I've had the game on Xbox since Saturday, I ordered it from Shopto.net and the single player campaign took me 13 hours to complete, the game is frustratingly satisfying and has more in common with a puzzler than most third person shooters.

The gameplay in Hitman Absolution is every bit as brutal, refined and deadly and is just what the doctor ordered. It offers both the novice and experienced Hitman players numerous ways to dispose of their target. This time around the IO have given us multiple opportunities to use a variety of accident kills, whether its a disco ball falling on a target or a giant skeleton you find literally thousands of ways to dispose of your targets littered round levels. And just in case all hell breaks loose there is a full cover system so you don't have to run around shooting people you can pick enemies off from cover. The new additions the addition of instinct meter which allows you too mark and execute targets using a similar system to what we saw in splinter cell conviction, I found that although the premise of this was exciting, I preferred the suitably named Precision Shot addition. If I'm honest I miss the traditional Hitman map and didn't really take to the X-ray vision but this wasn't a deal breaker. The controls are well implemented and the games engine feels cutting edge, you won't find yourself blocked by immovable boxes or restricted by lame game mechanics and I can honestly say that IO interactive have succeeded in creating a living breathing world filled with believable NPC's and deserving targets.

I remember playing through Blood Money and being blown away by the graphics when I first got a 360 and I feel exactly the same about Hitman Absolution. The newly crafted Glacier 2 system is awesome, the graphics are brilliant and remind me more of a glossy comic book. You will find yourself viewing the games world as somewhat twisted caricatured alternate reality with the remorseless 47 serving as your vehicle of exploration. On the 360 you'll see that textures are smooth, animations are beautifully organic and lighting is just right. I I am aware that IO have made comments about the game needing a next gen console to be at it best but i found that my Xbox coped with Hitman brilliantly. The game is truly an achievement and the solid frame rate will put other stealth em-ups to shame.

So you've finished Hitman what's next? Welcome, Contracts mode. This is the games multiplayer offering and when I say multiplayer I mean you challenge your friend to finish levels with a higher score. In this mode, you can create contracts for your gamer account friend list and challenge them to assassinate targets that you have specified in the way you specify. Contracts is great and I am sure will be a real hit with the Xbox Live community. A few people on my friend list have set what they are referring to as impossible contract and evidently there is a lot of fun to be had with this mode.

Hitman is a stealth game which rewards experimentation over following a strict route the open ended levels and immense scale of the game make this a must play for all gamers. Is Hitman Absolution better than Hitman Blood Money, the answer is yes and no. If you play on normal if definitely much more forgiving but ramp it up to Purist and you'll find yourself playing levels at a cautious pace. I loved every minute of Hitman and intend to replay it once more using much more aggressive tactics. The campaign is massive but it isn't without its faults, the disguise system took a bit of getting used to and the sharp A.I. took me by surprise but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hitman as worthwhile purchase.

Score: 8/10

Summary
+ Playing as Codename 47 will make you feel like the Jackal.
+ The open ended approach to sandbox levels and missions.
+ Contracts mode adds almost unlimited replay value.

- Strange Disguise system overhaul.
- There are some small object interaction bugs.
- Odd Checkpoint System.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)