Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Game!
This is the best Hitman by far..... well so far :) It has a fantastic storyline. Great set of characters and even once you have completed it you could go back and play it again and again. So many different scenarios in which to complete missions and Agent 47 shows no mercy in completing his task in an efficient, clean manner. One thing I loved about this game which you...
Published 7 months ago by Warks2010

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a dissapointment.
Early indications on Hitman Absolution are pretty good, the new gameplay features work and appear robust, the dark sense of humour is there...the graphics are great, and it feels enough like the older hitman games mechanically and in terms of how you move about.

However, one of the key changes to the system turns out to be a bit of a disaster - those in the...
Published 19 months ago by W. Broom


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I just love all the hItman series ,but this one I found so disappointing because of the controls.It is very different to the last games which I have played many times.He is very hard to maneouvre and spoils playing.My husband tried and found it exactly the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game at great price, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Khalida Parveen "Hassan" (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a huge hitman fan and this game does seem to be different than previous hitman titles but on it own rights it does not dissapoint. It has fluid gameplay as there are many ways to kill the target so replayability is great in this game. It is quite a long game as it took me more than 20 hours to complete it on professional. Graphically it is a very good looking game with amazing details to each level and runs smootly. The AI is great and responsive and the voice acting is very fluid and real. For me this is a bargain for its price and trust me you will not be dissapointed. Any it is 18 plus for a reason as kids will not be able to handle the missions as kids are used to shoot em ups which this game is NOT. GO buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save game corruption, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have been playing this game for several of hours, I absolutely loved it. It wasn't until the game suddenly froze at the beginning of level 14! So I thought this wasn't a problem so I turned my xbox off and turned it back on. When it came it said it couldn't find a saved profile so I had to start ALL over again but I'm not bothered too as I spent all my time doing so. So disappointed. :'(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game, more story based than the previous games but looks fantastic and plays really well, a must for any Hitman fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hitman Absol. Luiz's Review, 21 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is a good game, but it could be an excellent one, if the opportunity had been better used by the game producers. First of all, videos, cinematics, voice and graphics are excellent I have to give them that!! In an overall look the game is even fun to play, however, the in-game experience could be SO much better if only:

a) They had a save game button we could use anytime we wanted in order to better explore game levels and challenges in different ways; or at least, if they had placed the save game checkpoint in easier to find places (inside levels) or where we could actually find them at all! Another thing, it is just silly that you activate a save game checkpoint and then when you die, it respawns all the enemies you had already killed before - that just makes their so called "save game checkpoints" total lame and useless things.

b) They had better used their project time to make the game with less bugs. I mean, in many levels you find a bug on a challenge or something on "lost and found" that is supposed to be there, but it actually isn't. I am pretty sure that this sort of things and mistakes happens due to their projecting in rush in order to deliver the game before Christmas. And what makes it even worse is the fact that they're not even concerned in giving us an update that fixes such bugs after game release. Shame!!

c) The game story had been better planned. I mean, the guy is the "best" professional assassin ever, and during the game story he makes two huge mistakes and gets caught twice!! What kind of professional is that? And we end up playing tons of levels in order to correct his mistakes of underestimating people...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitman now has a Plot!, 26 Nov 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its been ages since the last Hitman game and I was really looking forward to this instalment in the Hitman series.

This game is very different to the previous games by adding a half decent plot into the mix rather then in the previous games where the plot was paper thin. The storyline involves 47, Diana his handler and Victoria. I dont want to spoil the storyline for anyone but it isnt a ground breaking plot but it is enjoyable.

Gameplay wise there has been alot of improvements the Loading Times are excellent, the new stealth kill animations are fantastic and it has another awesome soundtrack. The only down side is that they have broken up most levels into several areas. So for example 47 has to get to a certain floor in a hotel so the first part of the level is gaining access to the upper floors, the main issue I have with this is you could gun down everyone in the first section then when you move on the rest of the AIs act like nothing has happened.

The Contract game mode is also something I was abit unhappy with, yes its ok a good idea but it is very repetative.

What really sets this game apart is the introduction of Challanges, which adds to the lifespan of the game significantly. Having set challanges to kill certain targets in some ways such as poisoning coffee or collecting all the outfits for that level. The only poor thing about the challanges is that they do have the way that 47 would of done it himself and having to take these steps at times is very mundane when you know of a better more discreet way of getting the job done.

Overall I would give it 8/10 a very good game for Hitman fans but I would of expected more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A botched hit, 27 Nov 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to Hitman Absolution hoping it would carry on where Blood Money left off, unfortunately I think this game has gone in a different direction. Where Blood Money let you play vast maps pretty much however you wanted to, in most of the missions in Absolution you have to follow a script with not much room for deviation in a relatively small map, this of course limits your options and playing style. As such, some of the best methods of eliminating a target such as staging elaborate accidents seem rather mundane now as its pretty much a case of just pressing a button or pulling a lever. With this game I found there simply weren't as many options for taking out a target, something that made previous games so enjoyable.

Another gripe I have with this game is a lot of the levels in Absolution are aimed at evading enemy detection with no actual target to eliminate, I found this to be pretty tiresome. This was compounded by the new disguise system in which anybody dressed in the same costume as you is immediately suspicious, forcing you to use the new instinct feature or simply hide as if you weren't dressed the same as them in the first place, and if this doesn't work more often than not they start shooting anyway, forcing you to restart at the last checkpoint if you want the silent assassin score.

A feature from previous titles I missed was pre-selecting which weapons you started missions with and being able to modify them with silencers, scopes, and larger magazines. This has gone completely, in most cases you start most missions with just the silver ballers which sort of makes unlocking weapons redundant.

Other reviewers have mentioned the new checkpoint feature, this didn't bother me too much apart from the way anyone you have subdued or killed will re-spawn when you load from the last checkpoint. It would have been good to keep some continuity in this regard. As an aside continuity is also lacking in some cut scenes, where you've played a mission in disguise as chef, a lab tech, or whatever, as soon as the cut scene starts you'll see 47 in his signature suit, never mind.

On the plus side this game is visually stunning and there are some new features such as crowd dynamics that really work, however the linearity of the game and missions spoiled it for me. Overall it's a good game but not really up to par with with Blood Money or even Silent Assassin, a real shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 6 years later and 3 steps backward, 15 Jan 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Reviewing Absolution in the context of the previous Hitman games is guaranteed to bring disappointment having waited 6 years (not literally) alongside many others for this.

The most obvious evolution (not positive) is that Absolution is now clearly a third person shooter and NOT a stealth game due to;

1) The vast majority of personnel on the maps being hostile - opposed to Blood Money where only a fraction were armed in the context of a normal scenario

2) The shooting mechanics have dramatically improved - producing Gears of War style shoot-outs which seem to typify so many games now

3) All of the levels except one are linear with little if any room for exploring - not only this the the whole level dynamics are geared towards infiltrating enemy strongholds and NOT ordinary scenarios, that was what made Blood Money so enjoyable.

You could walk around a paddle steamer on the Mississippi, Mardi Gras street party, rehab clinic, socialite party .etc and blend into the background. This gave you time to walk amongst ordinary people, survey the surroundings and pick off targets through a multitude of methods from bizarre accidents at one end to sophisticated and slick executions or simply hacking them to death. In all it's macabreness, this is what produced so much reply value and excitement with Blood Money.

It may perhaps be unfair to continually compare with its predecessor, but the developers have clearly steered the game away from its traditional base to boost sales copies. All the ingenuity and originality of the previous games has been lost in a sea of third person shooter mediocrity of which we have dozens of across console platforms and the PC.

The scoring system is simply utterly bizarre, informing you of points deductions as you progress through the level, I mean what is this an arcade game? Compounded with the fact the stealing outfit/uniform dynamic has been completely gutted. Admittedly before it was unrealistic, as barring the most difficult setting you could pretty much change outfits at whim to avoid detection. However, moving to a more 'realistic' state is disingenuous to the rest of the game which has become more arcadey. Not only this, but 47 now possesses a super human ability coined 'instinct' (allowing him to see enemies through walls among other things) which you can use to shake suspicion when wearing outfits. Why make wearing outfits close to redundant and then counter that with an enhanced ability? Infiltrating areas in enemy uniform was one of the highlights and now this feature has been completely gutted.

Being such a fan of the serious I've tried to look for positives - Absolution uses a new engine which produces significantly improved graphics, probably on par with the original Gears of War (at best), however still a long way behind for 2012/2013.

Concise conclusion - if you are a long time fan of the Hitman series you are likely to be as disappointed as I, if you want a third person shooter with a few stealth features you will most likely enjoy the majority of the campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hitman missed the target i wee bit, 14 Dec 2012
By 
BALLYSEAGAL (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having pre ordered this game as soon as a release date was announced i couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I have loved all the previous games to bits and had many hours of fun talking to my mates about how we did did this contract or that contract.

For me this game has let me down a wee bit and i know some folk loved the fact it was story driven this time but not me. I wanted it to be just like the old games and it wasn't. Don't get me wrong the controls and the way the game look all tick the right boxes but it was missing something for me.

I'm of the school of thought if its not broken don't fix it. It should have been along the lines of previous games where your given a job to do, do the job, collect money. but no its got a setting like a film where your a cold hearted killer who gets a girl to rescue!! i'm sorry thats just not what being 47 is all about. They got rid of the map feature on this game and i can see why now because most of the time its all about getting from one part of a map to another rather than getting targets to kill.

I am now more looking forward to the HD Trilogy of old games getting re-released so i can get back to loving the bald assassin that is Number 47.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Item just as described excellent value and would certainly buy from the seller, 2 July 2014
By 
Collie Mam (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Speedy delivery. Item just as described excellent value and would certainly buy from the seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360)
Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
6.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews