Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Game!
This is the best Hitman by far..... well so far :) It has a fantastic storyline. Great set of characters and even once you have completed it you could go back and play it again and again. So many different scenarios in which to complete missions and Agent 47 shows no mercy in completing his task in an efficient, clean manner. One thing I loved about this game which you...
Published 11 months ago by Warks2010

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a dissapointment.
Early indications on Hitman Absolution are pretty good, the new gameplay features work and appear robust, the dark sense of humour is there...the graphics are great, and it feels enough like the older hitman games mechanically and in terms of how you move about.

However, one of the key changes to the system turns out to be a bit of a disaster - those in the...
Published 23 months ago by W. Broom


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Game!, 6 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best Hitman by far..... well so far :) It has a fantastic storyline. Great set of characters and even once you have completed it you could go back and play it again and again. So many different scenarios in which to complete missions and Agent 47 shows no mercy in completing his task in an efficient, clean manner. One thing I loved about this game which you don't get in many games, is the ability to change your clothing and disguise yourself as a myriad of different characters, including policemen, army personnel, guards, civilians, chefs,etc. If you havent played any of the other Hitman games, it doesnt matter, this game will have something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best outing, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Don't be fooled by the trailer which made it look like an action game, it is a stealth game if you chose to play it that way. However the stealth element is stupidly hard, even for me, a seasoned veteran at the splinter cell games. The stealth element here requires a lot of luck. Even using a disguise doesn't work as if somebody has the same disguise they recognize you from 10 meters, even if its an obscure size and they only see you from behind for a split second. They made it too realistic for its own good in that regard.
There is too much choice as well. For example the king of chinatown level. You do not need 12 ways to kill the target, however that is what they give you.
Finally the graphics and gameplay are amazing. Which is not something you would associate with a Hitman game. The gameplay is fluid and so smooth whilst the graphics are breathtaking.
To conclude, stealth element too complicated a lot of the times, terrible story (truly shocking even by Hitman standards), great graphics, great gameplay, some great kills. Well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a dissapointment., 12 Dec 2012
By 
W. Broom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Early indications on Hitman Absolution are pretty good, the new gameplay features work and appear robust, the dark sense of humour is there...the graphics are great, and it feels enough like the older hitman games mechanically and in terms of how you move about.

However, one of the key changes to the system turns out to be a bit of a disaster - those in the same outfit as you can work out you are not one of their crew. In theory this is great but in practice it means you have to swap outfits a bit more often than you need to, and have to hold the bumper to burn up an instinct meter to get through certain chokepoints. There is a system for when they work out you're not one of them, which involves usually a fake surrender if you can walk them to a quiet spot...I can't really go into the reasons why this system is just not that much fun other than it esentially just squeezes the freedom and creativity from the game. Blood Money on 360 is a much better purchase if you've never played hitman before. This one...it's ok, but it's the kane and lynch of hitman games....nothing wrong with that but understand you're looking at a 7/10 game at best...not anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitman Absolution - To Buy or Not to Buy?, 20 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Over the last few weeks we've met a variety of characters including Connor (Assassins Creed 3), the Master Chief (Halo 4) and David Mason (Black Ops 2). Now its time to meet Codename 47 (or Agent 47 if you prefer).

Codename 47 is back and he's never felt so deadly. I found myself quite surprised as this is definitely the first Hitman game that I've played with a clear narrative, I won't spoil the story but I'll just say that much as we see in Halo 4, we see a much more human side to the bald headed death dealer. I really enjoyed the story even though at times it can be a bit cringe worthy and found myself somewhat surprised by the insane tutorial mission and genuinely gripped by the following levels. I've had the game on Xbox since Saturday, I ordered it from Shopto.net and the single player campaign took me 13 hours to complete, the game is frustratingly satisfying and has more in common with a puzzler than most third person shooters.

The gameplay in Hitman Absolution is every bit as brutal, refined and deadly and is just what the doctor ordered. It offers both the novice and experienced Hitman players numerous ways to dispose of their target. This time around the IO have given us multiple opportunities to use a variety of accident kills, whether its a disco ball falling on a target or a giant skeleton you find literally thousands of ways to dispose of your targets littered round levels. And just in case all hell breaks loose there is a full cover system so you don't have to run around shooting people you can pick enemies off from cover. The new additions the addition of instinct meter which allows you too mark and execute targets using a similar system to what we saw in splinter cell conviction, I found that although the premise of this was exciting, I preferred the suitably named Precision Shot addition. If I'm honest I miss the traditional Hitman map and didn't really take to the X-ray vision but this wasn't a deal breaker. The controls are well implemented and the games engine feels cutting edge, you won't find yourself blocked by immovable boxes or restricted by lame game mechanics and I can honestly say that IO interactive have succeeded in creating a living breathing world filled with believable NPC's and deserving targets.

I remember playing through Blood Money and being blown away by the graphics when I first got a 360 and I feel exactly the same about Hitman Absolution. The newly crafted Glacier 2 system is awesome, the graphics are brilliant and remind me more of a glossy comic book. You will find yourself viewing the games world as somewhat twisted caricatured alternate reality with the remorseless 47 serving as your vehicle of exploration. On the 360 you'll see that textures are smooth, animations are beautifully organic and lighting is just right. I I am aware that IO have made comments about the game needing a next gen console to be at it best but i found that my Xbox coped with Hitman brilliantly. The game is truly an achievement and the solid frame rate will put other stealth em-ups to shame.

So you've finished Hitman what's next? Welcome, Contracts mode. This is the games multiplayer offering and when I say multiplayer I mean you challenge your friend to finish levels with a higher score. In this mode, you can create contracts for your gamer account friend list and challenge them to assassinate targets that you have specified in the way you specify. Contracts is great and I am sure will be a real hit with the Xbox Live community. A few people on my friend list have set what they are referring to as impossible contract and evidently there is a lot of fun to be had with this mode.

Hitman is a stealth game which rewards experimentation over following a strict route the open ended levels and immense scale of the game make this a must play for all gamers. Is Hitman Absolution better than Hitman Blood Money, the answer is yes and no. If you play on normal if definitely much more forgiving but ramp it up to Purist and you'll find yourself playing levels at a cautious pace. I loved every minute of Hitman and intend to replay it once more using much more aggressive tactics. The campaign is massive but it isn't without its faults, the disguise system took a bit of getting used to and the sharp A.I. took me by surprise but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hitman as worthwhile purchase.

Score: 8/10

Summary
+ Playing as Codename 47 will make you feel like the Jackal.
+ The open ended approach to sandbox levels and missions.
+ Contracts mode adds almost unlimited replay value.

- Strange Disguise system overhaul.
- There are some small object interaction bugs.
- Odd Checkpoint System.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitman, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing Game, Great Value and it worked perfectly I would recommend this game to anybody who is in to Hitman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agent 47 is a beast, 9 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is amazing. There are two game modes, Personal Contract, which is the story, and the online contract.

The story mode has excellent graphics and characters, and the gameplay is solid with good disguises, which you can use to fool everyone around you.

The main part of the game is the 'online' part, where you can choose any level, and choose the targets you want to kill, the disguises, and how to kill them. This is where you have to be imaginative. You can create your own or play what other people have created. Are you the greatest Agent 47?

You have to redeem the online contracts code, which comes with your game.

All in all, amazing. The 'online' contract is so good that I haven't even finished the story yet. It's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cutting edge, 2 April 2013
By 
John Mitchell (Lossiemouth, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Finally, after six years Agent 47 makes his triumphant return. Does this latest adventure achieve success or has it been marked for failure?

Hitman Absolution picks up not long after Blood Money's conclusion where Agent 47 is betrayed by his handler at the ultra secretive agency, the story begins with the assassin in a difficult position that will outline the entire context of the story that proceeds. The story is well written and even manages to inject a little humour into its somber backdrop to its credit. The voice acting is of good quality and thankfully Dave Bateson returns as 47 which was for a time uncertain, purists become attached and rightly so. The disdain with the decision of Ubisoft in axing the voice of Michael Ironside as Sam Fisher has drawn widespread criticism for changing a winning formula.

Anyway, perhaps the biggest difference that you will notice with Absolution are the graphics. Blood Money was not a bad looking game but this takes it to the next level. The Glacier 2 engine looks fantastic and the crowds come to life even more than they did in Blood Money which were already impressive.

Now, to some drawbacks. The hideout of old is gone and as a result you're stuck with whatever weapons 47 can find in a given level. On the other hand, the contracts mode allows you to stipulate all those formalities, provided that you have found the weapons in game. Alternatively, they can be bought with credits which can be obtained through playing the campaign and contracts, but more on contracts later.

Purists may find Hitman too forgiving when compared to previous versions. Once again the "holding hands" approach of Square Enix titles does appear. The argument is a little stretched in that all the hints can be turned off and the gluttons for punishment can always opt to play on expert if they do desire.

The layout of levels is also perhaps too guided for some. Although it is entirely the player's choice, the challenges within the game give hints of how certain things can be done within a level. This allows experimentation but also erodes the uncertainty and trial by error of previous versions.

There are few negatives though overall and one of the biggest positives of Absolution would be the contracts mode. Instead of bolting on some lifeless multiplayer expansion, IO Interactive have created something unique and this should be applauded. The premise of contracts mode is to go through a level in the campaign but you choose the targets and the conditions of which the contract must be completed. Not only does it add replay value to the game but it also allows the player to be creative, akin to say the Forge in the Halo Universe. It's not that deep but is a start and at least IO Interactive have chosen to do something different when they could have gone in a different direction.

---Summary---
Graphics 9 Some of the best graphics on the system the engine looks great and melds with the graphics really well with some occasional hiccups.
Sound 9 Top notch voice acting throughout with all the right sound effects to match. Conversations within the game world add further to a great orchestral score.
Gameplay 8 Simplified it is but the player can still set the difficulty, therefore any challenge can be accounted for.
Lifespan 8 Solid campaign clocking in at around 10-15 hours. The contracts mode adds replay value in addition to replaying the campaign.

Hitman Absolution was worth waiting for. It is perhaps the most accomplished Hitman title to date and whilst things are signposted more than they were previously, this can still all be changed by the player which is crucial. Hitman is as fun as ever, here's hoping this is built upon as opposed to turning the series into a yearly "churned out" update. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gaming experience you can get your hands on!!!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been playing hitman games since they started the series. This game just makes everything else look like child's play. The way it squeezes your brain is amazing and combined with a great visual environment full of heart racing suspense you've got the perfect recipe. The level of interaction in this last game has really spiced things up. Thumbs up for a great masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 6 Years After Blood Money And..., 12 Mar 2013
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
...We get a pretty good fourth sequel in the Hitman franchise. Once again you resume the role of 'Agent 47' who, to start with, has to assassinate his former mentor. However things get ugly at that point as he has to protect her daughter from his enemies.

Its a relatively simple plot. Assassin kills the wrong type of person, protects their child for a unknown purpose (at first) whilst becoming a target himself. The plus side is that there have been a lot of improvements since the last game.
One of them is the graphics. The attention to detail is so superb it literally looks like you are watching a film in the highest HD.
Combat has had a large overhaul and is relatively easy to master. That's right, 47 can now do unarmed combat at last!
The weapons you can use can range from SMG's to plungers.
Lastly, 'Contracts mode' (Absolutions online mode) is great as you can create and upload your own contracts for Agent 47 to target. You can also upgrade weapons, change the starting costume of 47, change the mission title and backstory etc.

However the game does have problems. One of them is mostly in the campaign mode. The Hitman franchise has always advised players to be stealthy in the levels. In campaign mode, no matter how stealthy you try to be, you usually end up in some kind of shoot out reminiscent of a Jean-Claude-Van-Damme film. Sadly this happened too often for me to fully enjoy the campaign and have no intention of playing that part of it again soon. Another thing is that the campaign is also really short (takes about 12-15 hours).

A shame because this is otherwise a pretty good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game but missing the feel from the original series, 9 Mar 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As someone mentioned in another review, the game is more based on infiltration than the original series which had no real story basis behind it. Although i absolutely love the story, i feel that the missions lack the atmosphere which the older series had, and the game feels more like Splinter Cell than Hitman. In the older games every mission feels fresh, where as some of the missions in this game feel a bit over done, and i found after about 20 minutes of doing one mission, i wanted a change in atmosphere.

Even though parts for me felt quite repetitive, you can tell that the developers have tried to mix things up abit, if you include the landscapes and general areas in which you play. For instance you start of in Chicago and as the story goes on you go to various other areas of the country, one of my favourite parts of the game being in Hope, Dakota, where for me the best missions of the game were.

The game has improved though in terms of physical combat and movement, and the cutscenes are enjoyable as well. The kills this time around seem to have more feeling and weight to them than in previous titles. Overall i would say that i did enjoy the game, and the story was what kept me intouch overall. If it wasn't for the great story, then i don't know if i would have enjoyed it too much, i managed to complete the title in three days, mainly because i was engrosed with what was going to happen next in the story. The game does play well but i think for it to be a perfect 5 stars, i would have to see some more variation to the gameplay, more unique missions and maps.

If you're new to the Hitman series i think you'll find this fresh gameplay approach unique and entertaining, if you're a veteren Hitman gamer however, you may feel it lacking slightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360)
Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
£4.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews