Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Game!
This is the best Hitman by far..... well so far :) It has a fantastic storyline. Great set of characters and even once you have completed it you could go back and play it again and again. So many different scenarios in which to complete missions and Agent 47 shows no mercy in completing his task in an efficient, clean manner. One thing I loved about this game which you...
Published 7 months ago by Warks2010

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a dissapointment.
Early indications on Hitman Absolution are pretty good, the new gameplay features work and appear robust, the dark sense of humour is there...the graphics are great, and it feels enough like the older hitman games mechanically and in terms of how you move about.

However, one of the key changes to the system turns out to be a bit of a disaster - those in the...
Published 19 months ago by W. Broom


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a dissapointment., 12 Dec 2012
By 
W. Broom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Early indications on Hitman Absolution are pretty good, the new gameplay features work and appear robust, the dark sense of humour is there...the graphics are great, and it feels enough like the older hitman games mechanically and in terms of how you move about.

However, one of the key changes to the system turns out to be a bit of a disaster - those in the same outfit as you can work out you are not one of their crew. In theory this is great but in practice it means you have to swap outfits a bit more often than you need to, and have to hold the bumper to burn up an instinct meter to get through certain chokepoints. There is a system for when they work out you're not one of them, which involves usually a fake surrender if you can walk them to a quiet spot...I can't really go into the reasons why this system is just not that much fun other than it esentially just squeezes the freedom and creativity from the game. Blood Money on 360 is a much better purchase if you've never played hitman before. This one...it's ok, but it's the kane and lynch of hitman games....nothing wrong with that but understand you're looking at a 7/10 game at best...not anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Game!, 6 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best Hitman by far..... well so far :) It has a fantastic storyline. Great set of characters and even once you have completed it you could go back and play it again and again. So many different scenarios in which to complete missions and Agent 47 shows no mercy in completing his task in an efficient, clean manner. One thing I loved about this game which you don't get in many games, is the ability to change your clothing and disguise yourself as a myriad of different characters, including policemen, army personnel, guards, civilians, chefs,etc. If you havent played any of the other Hitman games, it doesnt matter, this game will have something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitman Absolution - To Buy or Not to Buy?, 20 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Over the last few weeks we've met a variety of characters including Connor (Assassins Creed 3), the Master Chief (Halo 4) and David Mason (Black Ops 2). Now its time to meet Codename 47 (or Agent 47 if you prefer).

Codename 47 is back and he's never felt so deadly. I found myself quite surprised as this is definitely the first Hitman game that I've played with a clear narrative, I won't spoil the story but I'll just say that much as we see in Halo 4, we see a much more human side to the bald headed death dealer. I really enjoyed the story even though at times it can be a bit cringe worthy and found myself somewhat surprised by the insane tutorial mission and genuinely gripped by the following levels. I've had the game on Xbox since Saturday, I ordered it from Shopto.net and the single player campaign took me 13 hours to complete, the game is frustratingly satisfying and has more in common with a puzzler than most third person shooters.

The gameplay in Hitman Absolution is every bit as brutal, refined and deadly and is just what the doctor ordered. It offers both the novice and experienced Hitman players numerous ways to dispose of their target. This time around the IO have given us multiple opportunities to use a variety of accident kills, whether its a disco ball falling on a target or a giant skeleton you find literally thousands of ways to dispose of your targets littered round levels. And just in case all hell breaks loose there is a full cover system so you don't have to run around shooting people you can pick enemies off from cover. The new additions the addition of instinct meter which allows you too mark and execute targets using a similar system to what we saw in splinter cell conviction, I found that although the premise of this was exciting, I preferred the suitably named Precision Shot addition. If I'm honest I miss the traditional Hitman map and didn't really take to the X-ray vision but this wasn't a deal breaker. The controls are well implemented and the games engine feels cutting edge, you won't find yourself blocked by immovable boxes or restricted by lame game mechanics and I can honestly say that IO interactive have succeeded in creating a living breathing world filled with believable NPC's and deserving targets.

I remember playing through Blood Money and being blown away by the graphics when I first got a 360 and I feel exactly the same about Hitman Absolution. The newly crafted Glacier 2 system is awesome, the graphics are brilliant and remind me more of a glossy comic book. You will find yourself viewing the games world as somewhat twisted caricatured alternate reality with the remorseless 47 serving as your vehicle of exploration. On the 360 you'll see that textures are smooth, animations are beautifully organic and lighting is just right. I I am aware that IO have made comments about the game needing a next gen console to be at it best but i found that my Xbox coped with Hitman brilliantly. The game is truly an achievement and the solid frame rate will put other stealth em-ups to shame.

So you've finished Hitman what's next? Welcome, Contracts mode. This is the games multiplayer offering and when I say multiplayer I mean you challenge your friend to finish levels with a higher score. In this mode, you can create contracts for your gamer account friend list and challenge them to assassinate targets that you have specified in the way you specify. Contracts is great and I am sure will be a real hit with the Xbox Live community. A few people on my friend list have set what they are referring to as impossible contract and evidently there is a lot of fun to be had with this mode.

Hitman is a stealth game which rewards experimentation over following a strict route the open ended levels and immense scale of the game make this a must play for all gamers. Is Hitman Absolution better than Hitman Blood Money, the answer is yes and no. If you play on normal if definitely much more forgiving but ramp it up to Purist and you'll find yourself playing levels at a cautious pace. I loved every minute of Hitman and intend to replay it once more using much more aggressive tactics. The campaign is massive but it isn't without its faults, the disguise system took a bit of getting used to and the sharp A.I. took me by surprise but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hitman as worthwhile purchase.

Score: 8/10

Summary
+ Playing as Codename 47 will make you feel like the Jackal.
+ The open ended approach to sandbox levels and missions.
+ Contracts mode adds almost unlimited replay value.

- Strange Disguise system overhaul.
- There are some small object interaction bugs.
- Odd Checkpoint System.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars After the initial excitement, this games horrendous., 20 Nov 2012
By 
B. white "UNDEAD WOLF 8D - Gamertag" (Uk - London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the Hitman games since the 2nd, silent assassin. Since when I was aged 12 and couldn't really get a silent assassin rating, nor understand what the game was really about. Yet I loved it, and ended up getting the others as they followed. The last game we played would have been Bloodmoney, that was an enjoyable game and thus I looked quite forward to this one.

Onto the game.
I was worried like many fans the game had gone all linear and perhaps had been dumbed down, but sadly this was all correct.

GAMEPLAY: 4/10

Where to start, I guess the menu. There are a nice number of options with which the player can configure Absolution. From turning off all of the tips and helpers when using Instincts to changing what thumb stick is to enter sneak. There's also several other things you can check such as your statistics, challenges, and safe house which isn't an actual safe house but the place where you can check all your weapons, upgrades, disguises, techniques etc.
I'm sure for the PC these options could only have tripled for performance settings. Sadly a mini map, score meter, and a number of other arcade and immersion breaking things are stuck on the screen unless you play the hardest difficulty.

- The controls. They aren't exactly the same as I remember but 6 years since the last game, they have been dumbed down for the masses. You click left stick to go into 1 simplistic sneak rather than LT/L2 to crouch/sneak slowly, or sneak fast. Streamlined is the word. Putting your weapon away is going into a weapon wheel and pressing down to holster, not nice and simple like the last games. You can't hold a big gun in your left hand anymore whilst using a pistol etc.

- Taking cover is now an option by pressing B when 47's near something that he can hide against. It feels a bit tacky, watching as the gun floats from one hand to the other when changing direction and such, you can blindfire though.

- Shooting, the big part of any Hitman game has been refined and in the process, ruined, instead of just shooting by pressing shoot and having good accuracy, you now hold LT to beam down the sight, or almost into 47's head, and strangely have less accuracy! at close range you can aim at someones head and not hit them, or with a assault rifle from cover and still end up being on the receiving end, ridiculous. The bottom line is shooting people feels bland and inconsistent.

- Instincts, personally I'm not really using this as I'm playing it on purist mode with all tips switched off. But from what I can tell, it's xray vision for cod players and teenagers, an audience grabber for higher sales, the whole game is which IO Interactive/Enix admitted, and the reason why the game didn't sell well. Remember the overview map from past games which was done via looking at a GPS type device, it tore you from the game whilst leaving you vulnerable, which balanced the game, a penalty for seeing everyone, now it's too easy and on the go for kids. It shows what targets are in the vicinity along with points of interest and pre-determined paths, which despite being able to be turned off becomes a useless feature as the screen will go monotone for no reason. Remember if you want a more challenging or more realistic approach, you can turn this off by playing Purist mode or via the options. But still a demeaning feature for a game series that is about thinking and planning, along with realism.

- CQC, close quarters combat has indeed been improved, in the last game, 47 would (quite comically to me) headbutt people with his bald head and leave them moaning in pain, or punch them over. Now they further this, you can again disarm people simply by pressing X, or you may enter a freeze frame series of quick time events, where you must push upto 3 buttons as they appear. It looks cool but CQC often never ends well in any game unless you're Ryu in Shenmue, in which case walking down a street angry and breaking all the thugs with timed buttons is just perfect. In Hitman however it's stupid, get a button wrong or slightly too late and it ends up a comical muppets back and forth punching til one is "dead".
Sadly you can no longer push the target forward, nor kneel on them on the ground to reload either during hostage taking (which I thought was creative) once you run out of bullets you may as well rid the shield. Those options plus the option to kill or knockout the human shield would have been good.

- Level design, this has been of much debate towards the release, and the cause of much worry for fans. Are the levels still open squared sandboxed with which you can roam. Or are they linear Splinter cell A-B types.
The answer is, they are pretty much linear..it's true.
One or two of the levels can be rectangular meaning you have an open area but must proceed in a direction to reach a target. This isn't necessarily bad, it just means you will need to put your skills to the test to get there. Some of them are more like squares placed near or on top of each other. The levels are broken down into smaller segments, and upon getting through them you cannot go back. Another big game breaker, it makes the levels feel small and gameplay unrealistic. This was never the case in previous games.
Yet another big problem is about half the games targets you finally get to after hard work sneaking and such, they are cutscenes of 47 somehow messing it up and getting in trouble.. Another thing not in previous games. It should go on the rails or into a cutscene! The final target is even a cutscene, removing many times any satisfaction of finally getting to a annoying character. The end of bloodmoney gave you the satisfaction of how to deal with any target.

- Disguises, here's you guessed it, another big problem. You can be wearing a disguise that covers your whole body almost, yet at the end of a corridor, a person will see the back you briefly and be alerted.. Very stupid and unlike previous games which gave you room the plan and use a disguise, unless you stood in front of someone for too long or acted suspiciously. Even taking a masked disguise, you cannot wear the mask..how silly.

- Animations, they are okay. But some are fake sadly, 47 gets a gun out his jacket, but in putting it away it disappears. You can snipe someone then hide a sniper rifle in your jacket. The gun floats from hand to hand during wall hug movement, he doesn't put a silencer on or take it off the gun, it magically appears and disappears..

There's no longer a list for several things you're standing next to (Drag body, take disguise, take gun) now big colourful arcade like buttons appear on the screen, another bad move, gearing the game towards kids.

- Difficulties, they come in 5 different ones and are clear in how they differ. This is a very important move because, being a game which now caters for both the more casual gamer and the hardcore fans, there needs to be several different options. Some complained about there now being no saves, only checkpoints. Both are irrelevant to me as I used neither before and preferred the old school tension of fearing dying and starting over again. The checkpoints glow at certain points on levels, this is a different approach to other games which acknowledge checkpoints upon reaching certain milestones. A glowing green symbol can ruin realism but then it gives people more choice.

GRAPHICS: 10/10

Maybe it's only redeeming feature;.. It's not often you get to play a game with graphics as wonderful as this game, and I'm not exaggerating. On one level you can see the rain water running down 47's head and the side of cars etc, it's one of the most beautiful things I've seen in a game, water pouring down a bald guys head in a grimey alleyway..
The visuals show IO have paid attention to visuals, and this does make for a more immersive game, which is a shame as everything else is ruined.
The lip sync with dialog is fine, the facial modeling too, the guns and bladed weapons have a brilliant shimmer in the suns light.
Sometimes the light bloom can be a bit powerful (47's shimmery head and overly white shirts) but this isn't of any bother. And the games artistic style is diverse. Yet at the same time unique (I remember seeing a piece of artwork with 47 coming through a door of white into a black room with both ballers raised and white light seeping around him)
Muzzle flashes of guns look great and so do the explosions, you can see bullets whiz past you when fired upon. Some may dislike the bloom but the game itself is more of a problem.

SOUND FX: 09/10

The sound effects of weapons are meaty and don't sound like toy guns or rip offs from other games (although guns used in most games are same models and will sound the same, it's great if on one game they can differ)
The dialog in the game is entertaining, whether from NPC's having a life like conversation, usually dipped in some dark humor, or that of story driven characters giving a good performance. The voice acting itself it nice, funny and Hollywood esque along with some cheesiness thrown in which goes with the games surreal environments and storyline perfectly. (Chicago isn't surreal, but I can't remember many other games where you walk around in a grow house bustling with weed and dancing cops that are high)
47 was going to be voiced by someone else, I didn't notice so much at first, but upon David Bateson returning and delivering his cold calculated performance as the original 47, I realized how bad the other voice actor was, not 47 at all, so his return is a important one. Continuity changes aren't worth the risk.
The musical score in the game is dynamic which makes everything you do have a nice flow to it. And though not by the original composer it's still good, there are still some operatics used but mixed with a bigger Hollywood movie styled sound.

STORYLINE: 07/10

It's ok. A nice little twist involved and a actual enemy or antagonist, not just lots of vague story pieces put together from short cutscenes and dialogue between missions like last games. It's not amazing, giving 47 too much emotion suddenly at times, whereas in last games he was a stone cold assassin. But if only they implemented more story without the cutscene/failed target assassinations and such.

Contracts mode is a good idea, but lame. Too lame. Not enough to differentiate everyones contracts, Same picture of the level, of the same looking targets, often the same title and description because people don't bother to fill it in. There needs to be much more diversity on this front it the mode is to succeed in the next game.

OVERALL: 3/10

A poor effort to reel in new fans, teens, cod gamers etc which hasn't worked. The core fan base would have expanded if they stuck to their guns, but copied 47 with his silverballers and sold them. Horrid and arcade like mechanics, controls etc. But thank goodness they've listened to their fans and admitted the game was to get more fans, promising the next game will have open and very detailed sandbox levels with no magic pockets or bad features. Lets hope Hitman 6 is a return to form, and more like Bloodmoney and co.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitman, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing Game, Great Value and it worked perfectly I would recommend this game to anybody who is in to Hitman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agent 47 is a beast, 9 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is amazing. There are two game modes, Personal Contract, which is the story, and the online contract.

The story mode has excellent graphics and characters, and the gameplay is solid with good disguises, which you can use to fool everyone around you.

The main part of the game is the 'online' part, where you can choose any level, and choose the targets you want to kill, the disguises, and how to kill them. This is where you have to be imaginative. You can create your own or play what other people have created. Are you the greatest Agent 47?

You have to redeem the online contracts code, which comes with your game.

All in all, amazing. The 'online' contract is so good that I haven't even finished the story yet. It's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cutting edge, 2 April 2013
By 
J. Mitchell (Lossiemouth, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Finally, after six years Agent 47 makes his triumphant return. Does this latest adventure achieve success or has it been marked for failure?

Hitman Absolution picks up not long after Blood Money's conclusion where Agent 47 is betrayed by his handler at the ultra secretive agency, the story begins with the assassin in a difficult position that will outline the entire context of the story that proceeds. The story is well written and even manages to inject a little humour into its somber backdrop to its credit. The voice acting is of good quality and thankfully Dave Bateson returns as 47 which was for a time uncertain, purists become attached and rightly so. The disdain with the decision of Ubisoft in axing the voice of Michael Ironside as Sam Fisher has drawn widespread criticism for changing a winning formula.

Anyway, perhaps the biggest difference that you will notice with Absolution are the graphics. Blood Money was not a bad looking game but this takes it to the next level. The Glacier 2 engine looks fantastic and the crowds come to life even more than they did in Blood Money which were already impressive.

Now, to some drawbacks. The hideout of old is gone and as a result you're stuck with whatever weapons 47 can find in a given level. On the other hand, the contracts mode allows you to stipulate all those formalities, provided that you have found the weapons in game. Alternatively, they can be bought with credits which can be obtained through playing the campaign and contracts, but more on contracts later.

Purists may find Hitman too forgiving when compared to previous versions. Once again the "holding hands" approach of Square Enix titles does appear. The argument is a little stretched in that all the hints can be turned off and the gluttons for punishment can always opt to play on expert if they do desire.

The layout of levels is also perhaps too guided for some. Although it is entirely the player's choice, the challenges within the game give hints of how certain things can be done within a level. This allows experimentation but also erodes the uncertainty and trial by error of previous versions.

There are few negatives though overall and one of the biggest positives of Absolution would be the contracts mode. Instead of bolting on some lifeless multiplayer expansion, IO Interactive have created something unique and this should be applauded. The premise of contracts mode is to go through a level in the campaign but you choose the targets and the conditions of which the contract must be completed. Not only does it add replay value to the game but it also allows the player to be creative, akin to say the Forge in the Halo Universe. It's not that deep but is a start and at least IO Interactive have chosen to do something different when they could have gone in a different direction.

---Summary---
Graphics 9 Some of the best graphics on the system the engine looks great and melds with the graphics really well with some occasional hiccups.
Sound 9 Top notch voice acting throughout with all the right sound effects to match. Conversations within the game world add further to a great orchestral score.
Gameplay 8 Simplified it is but the player can still set the difficulty, therefore any challenge can be accounted for.
Lifespan 8 Solid campaign clocking in at around 10-15 hours. The contracts mode adds replay value in addition to replaying the campaign.

Hitman Absolution was worth waiting for. It is perhaps the most accomplished Hitman title to date and whilst things are signposted more than they were previously, this can still all be changed by the player which is crucial. Hitman is as fun as ever, here's hoping this is built upon as opposed to turning the series into a yearly "churned out" update. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gaming experience you can get your hands on!!!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been playing hitman games since they started the series. This game just makes everything else look like child's play. The way it squeezes your brain is amazing and combined with a great visual environment full of heart racing suspense you've got the perfect recipe. The level of interaction in this last game has really spiced things up. Thumbs up for a great masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 6 Years After Blood Money And..., 12 Mar 2013
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
...We get a pretty good fourth sequel in the Hitman franchise. Once again you resume the role of 'Agent 47' who, to start with, has to assassinate his former mentor. However things get ugly at that point as he has to protect her daughter from his enemies.

Its a relatively simple plot. Assassin kills the wrong type of person, protects their child for a unknown purpose (at first) whilst becoming a target himself. The plus side is that there have been a lot of improvements since the last game.
One of them is the graphics. The attention to detail is so superb it literally looks like you are watching a film in the highest HD.
Combat has had a large overhaul and is relatively easy to master. That's right, 47 can now do unarmed combat at last!
The weapons you can use can range from SMG's to plungers.
Lastly, 'Contracts mode' (Absolutions online mode) is great as you can create and upload your own contracts for Agent 47 to target. You can also upgrade weapons, change the starting costume of 47, change the mission title and backstory etc.

However the game does have problems. One of them is mostly in the campaign mode. The Hitman franchise has always advised players to be stealthy in the levels. In campaign mode, no matter how stealthy you try to be, you usually end up in some kind of shoot out reminiscent of a Jean-Claude-Van-Damme film. Sadly this happened too often for me to fully enjoy the campaign and have no intention of playing that part of it again soon. Another thing is that the campaign is also really short (takes about 12-15 hours).

A shame because this is otherwise a pretty good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game but missing the feel from the original series, 9 Mar 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As someone mentioned in another review, the game is more based on infiltration than the original series which had no real story basis behind it. Although i absolutely love the story, i feel that the missions lack the atmosphere which the older series had, and the game feels more like Splinter Cell than Hitman. In the older games every mission feels fresh, where as some of the missions in this game feel a bit over done, and i found after about 20 minutes of doing one mission, i wanted a change in atmosphere.

Even though parts for me felt quite repetitive, you can tell that the developers have tried to mix things up abit, if you include the landscapes and general areas in which you play. For instance you start of in Chicago and as the story goes on you go to various other areas of the country, one of my favourite parts of the game being in Hope, Dakota, where for me the best missions of the game were.

The game has improved though in terms of physical combat and movement, and the cutscenes are enjoyable as well. The kills this time around seem to have more feeling and weight to them than in previous titles. Overall i would say that i did enjoy the game, and the story was what kept me intouch overall. If it wasn't for the great story, then i don't know if i would have enjoyed it too much, i managed to complete the title in three days, mainly because i was engrosed with what was going to happen next in the story. The game does play well but i think for it to be a perfect 5 stars, i would have to see some more variation to the gameplay, more unique missions and maps.

If you're new to the Hitman series i think you'll find this fresh gameplay approach unique and entertaining, if you're a veteren Hitman gamer however, you may feel it lacking slightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360)
Hitman Absolution (Xbox 360) by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
8.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews