Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfection ... at a price
Perhaps the defining characteristic of the Hitman series was its flawed genius. Clunky gameplay and a plethora of bugs were offset by novel originality and an atmospheric sandbox world. In `Hitman: Absolution', IO Interactive have perfected the formula albeit at a price.

First off, the perfection: never before has Agent 47 been so charged with menace. What's...
Published on 23 Nov. 2012 by M. Wenzl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a hit, maaaaan.
I first played this upon its original release a few years ago and came away, well, unsatisfied with 47's latest offering. Time having gone by and most of the experience being forgotten though, I picked it up again on the cheap to give it a second chance and see whether or not I was just 'not in the mood' when I last played it. Well...

- The Story -
As I...
Published 8 months ago by C. Mills


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfection ... at a price, 23 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
Perhaps the defining characteristic of the Hitman series was its flawed genius. Clunky gameplay and a plethora of bugs were offset by novel originality and an atmospheric sandbox world. In `Hitman: Absolution', IO Interactive have perfected the formula albeit at a price.

First off, the perfection: never before has Agent 47 been so charged with menace. What's more, you feel like a killer, a professional whose trade is artful murder. This has been pulled off in a couple of ways. First, IO have brought a physicality to 47 which was missing from the previous games and translates into every kill. Second, enemies can be taken down with far greater flexibility - no more sneaking up behind them at just the right moment only to somehow miss with your garrotte. Third, the shooting system is far more innovative. The new `instinct' system - which allows 47 to blend into his surroundings and monitor his foes - also allows `point shooting': i.e. stopping time to tag your targets before effortlessly taking them down in one deadly sweep. For diehards, this may be cheating, but its availability is limited and, besides, it's by no means forced upon you, acting as a cool flourish rather than a central gameplay mechanic.

However, there's a price to this: the free form sandbox gameplay in the previous games hasn't been left intact. Likely to make room for a smoother world with fewer bugs, IO have streamlined levels. The upshot of this is that the world is more economical, the gameplay richer somehow. But the structure is more linear and the settings themselves chronologically compartmentalised into sections. Generally speaking, there's just one main path through each level, with few detours - and stealth is a constant must as certain enemies will see through disguises. At no point are you being forced along. Levels focused on taking down a target have numerous approaches that can be taken, and, unless you want to go Rambo, patience is a must, just as before. But the overall feeling is that although the levels are large, their compartmentalisation makes them less complex. A mistake in one section won't affect the rest of the level, which sucks out some of the fun for perfectionists and diehards who enjoy balancing the consequences. It's much easier in this respect.

But the package IO Interactive have offered up is probably their best-rounded and it feels like a lot of love has gone into it. Although the story is simple, the characters are the best yet; the guns are incredibly satisfying to use; the environments are as atmospheric as ever; and the music doesn't suffer from the absence of the series' trademark composer, Jesper Kyd. The game has been described elsewhere as Lynchian - something which is very true, the elements at play here derivative of an Americana that is dark, morbid and surreal.

`Absolution' isn't flawed in the same way that its predecessors were. The perfected gameplay and streamlined structure marks a radical step in a new direction for the series. Hopefully, later instalments will keep the new gameplay system and bring back some of the freeform sandbox complexity (minus the bugs), but for now, the Hitman experience isn't going to get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little short of being great, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
As someone who had never played any of the older Hitman games it was always going to feel awkward jumping in when several older games have been released, though in the end Absolution was more than good enough to turn me in to a convert. There are a few drawbacks but in general this is a solid game that's only a few steps away from being one of the true greats.

To start with, the game has done really well in terms of presentation. The graphics look slick, the voice acting is very well done, the music sets a fantastic tone and the voice actors are all competent in their own right. It's all well executed and does a good job of creating a fitting atmosphere for the game.

The story however is just okay. The plot itself isn't all that ridiculous considering that this is a game but the characters are just caricatures and most of them are sorely in need of some depth; this being my first Hitman game also made it feel like I missed some greater context sometimes which didn't exactly help with feeling immersed.

The gameplay on the other hand feels great. Most of the game puts you in open ended levels where you can kill your targets in all sorts of creative ways and which gives you a lot of room to explore and experiment. You can use any of the dozens of weapons that are at your disposal but also make use of the environment, ranging anywhere from car explosions to inconspicuous electrocutions. Absolution is at its best when you explore the level to slowly and carefully plan your move before striking your targets all the while managing to avoid raising any eyebrows. Patience is most certainly a virtue here.

The game also offers plenty of replayability. Contracts mode allows players all over the world to create custom challenges for you to complete, which allows for a near-endless amount of new content for you get in to. This will be especially true for those of you who prefer a challenge, plenty of which is provided in this mode.

Unfortunately, there are a few things Absolution gets wrong too.

The AI in particular needs some improving, especially in regard to disguises that you might be wearing while sneaking through a level. These work in way where the people dressed the same as you will be the only ones who can detect you as an assassin. It's reasonable to get detected by all the meat shop workers while sneaking around in a small shop since there's a few of them and they all probably know each other, but it doesn't make any sense to do the same thing with the police. Chicago hires thousands of police officers yet somehow the disguise doesn't work with any of them even though there is no conceivable way that they all actually know each other.

It's also a little irritating that you can't save the game where you want. The only time the game saves is when you complete a level, or if you're playing on a lower difficulty, find a checkpoint within the levels. This isn't that big a problem but it does mean that once you're playing the game it forces you to commit a minimum amount of time, which seems out of date in this day and age.

Another thing that is particularly annoying is just how forgiving the game is. While the game encourages you to be stealthy and sneak through everywhere, it also gives you ample room to simply fight your way out of bad situations. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, since some of that is to be expected, but there are far too many levels where you can simply shoot your way through if you really wanted to, and the fact that this is possible is absurd in a game that is supposed to be based around stealth. The Point Shooting system in particular allows you to quickly kill a few enemies in mere seconds, which feels like it's really out of place and would be better suited to an adrenaline-filled action game instead.

Overall the game is good fun and generally gets things right, although there are a few niggling problems that stop it short of being truly great. It's certainly worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One tough cookie - with a gamebreaking bug!, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
Jayne (Land 'O' Puddings) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I had heard this game was tough - and it is if you want to fully complete all the extra challenges, and being a completest, I could not leave a level until all boxes were checked. It took a while to get in to, but it turned out to be a very addictive and fun game, albeit frustrating at times. You can replay levels though and come back to them later to finish any missed challenges, so it kept the game from becoming stale. Loads of weapons and play styles and hundreds of different ways to kill your enemy and if a level gets too frustrating, finishing it for the story isn't that tough really. But one problem......

It crashes. A lot, and this was after the update. It got so bad, it crashed during saving so I had to hard reset my PS3 and I got the dreaded broken save file. I was about 2/3rds of the way into fully completing the game, and I did not have the patience to go through all that again and there was nothing I could do to salvage it.

Based on the bug, I felt like giving the game one star, however this would have been unfair because it is an excellent game and I will go back to it one day, however I will have to copy my save game file across to another user account every every mission otherwise I would probably lose it all again. This means a lot of exiting and loading. Without the bug, it's a five star game. If you love stealth, a great story and OTT killing (with a bit of humour) it's definitely one for the collection, however keep copying that save file! There is also a great target practice 'mini game' which takes place in a gun shop and was really hard to beat, and I spent hours on it! Hitman Absolution is one of those rare games where it's so addictive I play it during all my down time. Another highly addictive stealth-ish game and one not to be missed is The Saboteur. Probably has the best gaming character ever and some serious explosions! It's a bit like GTA with climbing, however it has a lot more style and a brilliant atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a hit, maaaaan., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I first played this upon its original release a few years ago and came away, well, unsatisfied with 47's latest offering. Time having gone by and most of the experience being forgotten though, I picked it up again on the cheap to give it a second chance and see whether or not I was just 'not in the mood' when I last played it. Well...

- The Story -
As I remembered, the story was the only redeeming part of the game and I still think that it is a quite enjoyable ride.
Hitman games have never taken too much time to go into great detail, they've always told you what you need to do and let you plod straight into the next mission.
Absolution is a far cry from that setup though with as many cutscenes as any other modern game and, well, I kind of liked it. It was nice to see a different side of 47's character as well as have some of the 'targets' be a bit more fleshed out, rather than just being 'another target' as I feel in other games. I actually felt like I wanted to kill somebody because of their actions, what they were trying to do or simply because I thought they were a d**k.
All the Hitman games have had good stories but Absolution easily has the best way of presenting the story, rather than the pages of dialog and text that I usually don't bother with in the other games (because I want to play a game, not read text).

- Graphics -
It's a better looking game than the other titles, that's to be expected. Even for the time of it's release though, the graphics aren't spectacular, especially with some of the 'main characters' having some awful looking textures that make them look partly zombified.
Random NPC targets still look out of place with their textures with many of them looking exactly the same, some having low quality textures that stand out from the rest of the game and as usual, their bodies contort into some painful looking messes when you're dragging them around.
The environments are the best looking part of the game though whilst it's better than a lot of games, it's still not as good as many others.
Taking into consideration that the game is published by Square (known for some astonishing graphics) and that it's developers released Tomb Raider and Thief (which again, are great looking games), I feel a lot more could have been done with Absolution.

- Gameplay -
This is where it starts to really crumble.
If you've played the older games then you'll know that they took place within small 'open world' style levels where you decide how you'll get to a target, how you'll kill him and how you'll escape. That's what I expect from a Hitman game.
Absolution is a bunch of REALLY small levels, a lot of the time with very limited options when it comes to planning your 'Hit'. The areas are usually a small bunch of guards, one (maybe two if you're lucky) options to get through the small area and a door to the next area which works as a loading screen/checkpoint.
It just doesn't have the same scale as the other games have or the same amount of planning and/or skill to get to the next area. Getting from A to B without killing anybody but the designated target (which the game promotes) wasn't a challenge and was easily done the first or second time. I didn't even find myself having to observe guard routes or look for paths through a level, I just 'winged it' and 'made it up as I went along' and still managed to remain undetected and kill my target, which from a game with it's nature, is really not what I was expecting.
A few levels do open up a bit more, but these are few and far between and still feel as though they're trying to guide you through a predetermined route rather than using my own initiative and imagination.

I guess the best way I can explain it is this:
With the older games, I could have properly looked around my environment, observed the target and noted what his 'routine' was, chosen my route through the level and the way in which I will carry out the hit, it all goes fantastically and I'm about to kill the target and make a break for the exit when ALERT! ALERT! ALERT! a guard has found the body of his naked friend near the start of the level which I thought nobody would find behind that tree.
You can't get that experience with Absolution because of its linear level design and masses of checkpoints and it's arguably the best part of a Hitman game, especially when you eventually obtain that perfect kill you were planning.

I also find myself with little reason to replay the game as I did with older games, which I replayed over and over to get those perfect hits. I mostly perfected each mission the first time I played it because of the diminished difficulty that came from both the linear level design combined with regular checkpoints so that if I did mess up, I could try again at the checkpoint from 1 minute previous. The ONLY thing that is left are a minimal amounts of 'alternate kills' and 'collectables' and honestly, Hitman isn't a franchise where collectibles should be existent when you're trying to get in and out like you were never there...You shouldn't be picking up random objects such as bottles and hammers just so it counts that you've 'collected it' because that's forensic evidence, and 47 doesn't leave evidence.

SOME improvements have been made, most noticeably 47's movement which feels a lot more 'natural' and less restrictive than past games, which tended to feel like you were moving a tank through an isle in ASDA. He also comes with some close combat QTEs, where usually I hate QTEs, but they feel really satisfying in Absolution, especially if it's to punch the guard that spotted you before reloading a checkpoint to teach him the lesson of "don't screw up my stealth again, you butt-munch!"
There is also 'point shooting' which allows you to stop time momentarily, carefully target a few enemies and then take them out with a swift few shots. It makes the game even easier but it does look flashy.

There are also some faults.
NPCs will be more suspicious to you if you're wearing the same outfit. It makes sense in a way, especially if a guard doesn't recognize their colleagues face, but it's way too overpowering considering people will start to get suspicious of you as soon as you enter their line of sight (even if your entire face is covered). This makes some levels where there are tons of the same NPC unnecessarily more difficult, whilst areas where there are only 1 or 2 of an NPC are made stupidly easy as nobody will get suspicious of you simply because you're dressed differently.
I also feel that the new 'instinct' mechanic is massively overpowering, allowing you to see every NPC, usable items and 'points of interest' through walls etc. It like many other new features, makes the game way too easy, though with the absence of a map in Absolution it's sadly necessary (unless you learn the patrol route of EVERY NPC in the game).

- Overall -
If you're a longtime fan of Hitman that enjoyed the feeling you get when your perfectly planned hit goes to plan and you end up with that glorious 'Silent Assassin' rank, you're going to be massively disappointed, especially when you're seeing 'Silent Assassin' so regularly with minimal effort actually put in to it, and the title suddenly becomes the expected result of a level rather than a glorious rank you worked for.
If you're new to the series, it's probably the best to start with since it's easily the most friendly to those who haven't touched a Hitman game before, especially since you won't be comparing it to the other games in the series.

- Pros -
+ Pretty decent story
+ Better movement controls
+ Has some fantastic kills (Knife throws are still my favorite)
+ It could be worse

- Cons -
- Very linear, especially compared to other Hitman games
- A lot of changes that have taken a huge chunk of the challenge away from Hitman via various 'features'
- Not as engaging as past games
- Minimal replay value if you're good with stealth based games (since you'll likely near perfect it on your first run)

It's possibly better than the first game and probably worth the price it is now but if you're looking for the real Hitman experience, pick up the 'HD collection' before this and play through 'Blood Money' instead (in my opinion, the best game in the series so far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Base!? We have ourselves an assassinator here, no, we haven't found him yet but we will! ", 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoy this game, Ok it's not as legendary as the brilliant "Blood Money" ( we'll have to wait for the forthcoming Ps4 Hitman release to make the ultimate comparison) but the elemental touches are there, once you have completed the game and maybe all the challenges i find going back to the game play is quite enjoyable, being able to stalk about listening to the quite often amusing comments by the AI Characters, and taking them out using a variety of implements laying about--currently the baseball bat is an amusing fave, the 'Coconut' sound of head knocking as well as the exclamations of surprise are quite funny. to attract victims i place a "Radio Of death" in the appropriate place or let someone run off to get help as a "Messenger of Death" and the body count despite the lack of common sense from the victims can be quite impressive. the proximity mine is another fave--Blackwater park Hotel being a very loud destructive venue to blow agency guards sky-high. The "magic Pockets" i don't think is a real issue bearing in mind it is a game and not "Real Life" although how he can successfully stuff away a sniper rifle into his bespoke suit is a mystery but i really think it adds to the Black Humor theme in this game. the Fiberwire is as usual the default weapon and is a real asset for Silent & signature Kills 'some missions require and the ability to drag away the victim with the fiberwire is a real bonus, though when you kill someone i cannot understand how the victim Coughs as they expire--but again this is the Black Humor undercurrent of the game and along with the crisp detailing of the graphics and playability makes this game enjoyable. there are the odd quirks like bodies bouncing around, thrown items disappearing into walls etc, guards being able to see your neferous activities, the funniest quirk are dead bodies lazily "Waving" as you stack 'em up, and hiding in a chest/closet in the immediate area and not obviously being spotted hiding there what with the heavy breathing and using L1 to Peek Out just makes me laugh. all in all play the game, complete it and come back and go thru each level and mess about. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a game. Get involved., 9 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game on release which is a year ago.. i still play it. This for me indicates that i really love this game. Ive traded in several games over that year but i have never been tempted to trade in Agent47...the main reason??

REPLAY VALUE... a concept that so many games forget to concentrate on.

The replay value of Hitman Absolution is amazing...so many varied levels...so many weapons..so many ways to go about each level...the level designs are so tight and amazingly immersive..i love the sense of threat that each level has and going about your business with excellent controls is a joy.

I made it my game of 2012 which really surprised me as i wasnt a huge hitman fan.

Some levels honestly give metal gear solid a run for their money...swap agent 47 for snake and it wouldnt feel out of place. Attacking the bomb factory is astounding..so many ways to execute your plan...through the toilets? up to the facotry roof? dress as the arms dealer for ultimate freedom? ah its sensational and i adore a game that makes me feel like I AM IN COMPLETE CONTROL.

People dont rate the disguise function very well...it semi works..you really have to find the DEFINITIVE costume in each level that grants you freedom..i will admit that at times it cant become so brutally frustrating when you spend 20 mins silently going about your business..then grabbing a decent disguise just to be HOUNDED by the enemies... maybe on certain levels where you can get the definitive costume for disguise then if does feel very rewarding.

The story is ok..its not something you will spend your waking hours thinking about but it helps keep the action coming.

This is a must own. This will fill your time for the next 3 weeks before the ps4 comes out.

Really looking forward to the sequel and i have to admit IO software are extremely talented. The game looks and feels absolutely brilliant. People NEVER watch me play video games...but ive had friends and girfriend sit and watch this masterpiece just because it looks so bloody good!

Go grab it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not good enough, 22 Dec. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
After the long wait this is a long way from being anywhere near as good as the 3 hitman games released on ps2 because if I was rating them it would be 11/10 for each of them, each one a masterpiece, each one a classic.

Funnily enough 1st impressions of playing absolution immediately made me think of how much better it was than the older ones and i felt in safe IO hands as i got to grips with the 1st level but after a while i realised how flawed it was. Gone was the huge open world level that i was used to on hitman 2 and the sequels only to be replaced by ridiculous arcadey checkpoints and this has spoiled the game massively. Something else that jumps out at me after first playing is the hollywood blockbuster feel the game has where as the older ones felt a bit more lower budget with a european twist and this does not work as a blockbuster in fact it takes so much away from the game, where as before you could be on a mission in russia and you could hear soldiers ahead talking but couldn't understand what they were saying but this only enhanced the tension even more and added an extra dimension to the gameplay.

It is clear that IO have tried to make this appealing to both new fans and the hardcore old ones but i think they have failed big time. Io coming under square enix probably meant they lost control of how they wanted this game to feel.

However it is not all bad and if you are new to the series you will definitely like this game. The clunky inventory system has finally been given an upgrade and it is very user friendly now and the graphics are lush plus the game mechanics run smoothly and the gun mechanics feel great also.

You will have fun playing through this but on 2nd play through it feels dull and the acting is woeful apart from David Bateson who is as ever right on the money, beautiful delivery. I personally sorely miss Diana's original voice actor (Vivian Mckee) who i thought was just as good as Bateson in the originals.

Unfortunately absolution does not have the replayability as the original games did as i can play hitman 2 10 years after its original release and still enjoy it as much as the 1st time i played it, the same goes with contracts and blood money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait. Hitman is back with a vengeance., 28 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the Hitman franchise since the very first one which was a PC exclusive title. I have thoroughly enjoyed every instalment to date, some of them admittedly have been better than others but they're all stellar titles and one of my personal favourite series of games of all time. As far as a quality stealth game goes, it's right up there with Splinter Cell and the Metal Gear games.

Now, I'll go so far as to say that I have not quite finished this new one as yet, although I get the impression I am indeed coming to the end. I shall do what I can to keep this free of spoilers.
If you look at the natural progression of games through the years it's actually quite impressive to see not only just how much it has changed, but what environments you are placed in and what options and tools you have at your disposal with which to find your target, and do what Agent 47 does best.

I shan't go too much into the story, but what I will say is it features a character who we as players of the whole Hitman franchise have really grown accustomed to. I had wondered for a while exactly what level of involvement this character had, and what the makers would do with them. Also, there are plenty of new characters introduced to us, and they, and what they do is simply unheard of in the world of the Hitman games, and it was really good to see Square Enix and I-O think outside the box and provide us with characters that really make us want to carry on playing.

Graphically, the game is nothing spectacular or groundbreaking but the Glacier 2 engine certainly is a solid one, which objects reacting how you expect them to, and textures being what we've become accustomed to in this generation of video games. There are a few levels early on that are quite dark, and some levels later on that have smoke or dust flying around, and this gives coverage for any rough edges. The dark levels are really well done though, and you really do feel immersed within the world, the atmosphere is just top notch.

Gameplay will be very familiar for Hitman veterans, with a couple of new additions (one of which might not sit well with some long term fans) just to keep the game fresh. This feature that might not sit well is called "Instinct" and will be a handy feature for those new to the Hitman franchise. Basically, to break it down, the Instinct feature allows you to ever so slightly slow down time, whilst simultaneously highlighting enemies (even through walls) as well as their patrol patterns in some cases, and important environmental elements available to you with which to make your assassination more like an accident. Having this mode turned on comes at a cost however. On the lower difficulty levels it doesn't drain too often, and when it does it regenerates over time as you'd expect. If you're simply stationary and you're using it to monitor patrol routes it isn't affected. But if you're using the cover of a disguise to get somewhere, you can hold down the R1 button as you walk past a group of people dressed similar to you and ducking your head slightly to stop enemies from blowing your cover. It's a great little system and will most likely provide a lot of players with assistance, but like I said some players may feel like it's cheating or that it makes the game too easy. It's not a necessity, but it certainly helps.
The other feature I mentioned is a cover system not unlike the one used in Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and this cover system is a very helpful mechanic. I did find that it is sometimes too easy to just come away from the wall and out of cover and this can be annoying but not enough to warrant making it a major flaw.

Previous Hitman games had their soundtracks created by Jesper Kyd, whose music I must admit I do thoroughly enjoy both in and out of a game. Especially his soundtrack for Hitman Contracts, which is still to this day one of the best video game soundtracks I have ever heard. This one, however, does not have Jesper Kyd behind the wheel. As a matter of fact, there isn't really a great deal of music to speak of. Which I wouldn't really say is a bad thing, because it's quiet when you really want it to be quiet, providing maximum immersion into the world so you can concentrate and really feel like you are in fact Agent 47. To be quite honest I was so very much immersed in what was going on around me that I didn't even notice the lack of music, and upon reflection I don't feel that those moments would be benefitted by having music behind them anyway, for they are perfect just the way they are.

For anybody who is looking for an online mode, there is the Contracts mode which has already exceeded 50,000 contracts made by players, for players. This mode allows you to go around the 20 levels that were initially released within the game (with DLC imminently on its way I would imagine) and create a contract within the boundaries of those levels. These contracts have parameters set by the creator, stating who the player is to assassinate, and how exactly to go about it, with a constant worldwide leader board to keep you up to date with just what you need to do to get a high rating. It's a really great concept, and one that I see myself spending a lot of time on, and it also increases the game's replay ability immensely, as there are so many contracts to choose from with a whole manner of variety to keep it fresh.

In conclusion, Hitman Absolution is very much all that I hoped it would be and so much more, I haven't been forced to think so much about my tactics in a game for a very long time, and this is a welcome return for not only that feeling of knowing that your tactics were on top form, but for the Hitman franchise as a whole. Very proud and pleased to give them my money for this one, I can see myself enjoying this game for many, many hours indeed. Well done Square Enix and I-O. You have not disappointed. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Hitman! - With all the fun sucked out of it..., 9 Aug. 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
Six years since Blood Money and IO come up with this pile of tunk. 19 levels - each broken up into 4 or 5 mini levels the first four of which are just getting from one end to the other without being seen - BORING. I lost the will to live with this and yet the PS2 Hitman games are still some of my favourite games. By comparison, Absolution is just dull. The disguise and Instinct system is plain awful. You WILL be spotted by anyone who even glances in your direction and the game will then descend into a firefight. Maybe that's the point of it now. After all, what other use is there for a cover system? By the time there is a target to take out you will feel like taking your own life instead. Even this feels scripted now. In Story mode there are no more loadouts and nothing at all to unlock. Nothing to make you want to play it again. To add insult to injury, they kicked Jesper Kyd into touch and gave Absolution some instantly forgettable filmic score which sounds better on silent.
The only way IO and Square Enix could have made this worse was making it Co-Op. That will probably come in Hitman 6.
Absolution - S***e - Absolutely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally we have a game that cares about offline mode, just like the old days!, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Patel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a miracle just how having no multiplayer makes a game so damn good, it's reminiscent of the days of the old consoles where online gaming wasn't big and how developers focussed solely on the single player aspect of a game, it shows a lot, these days there are not enough games like this, with the ABSENCE of multiplayer (yes, there is NO multiplayer and it's not a rushing game either so don't buy it if you're looking for some sort of Assassins Creed with guns type game) you can see just how much effort has gone into this game.

It is NOT a game for the rushing type of player, if this is your first Hitman game (as it is mine) you will get a surprise shock at how slow it is, you cannot simply rush into a place and kill your targets, it will take a long time stealthing your way around the environments, which I must say, are beautiful to look at, the amount of detail is stunning when running in HD, but back to the gameplay, the control mechanics take time to adjust to but are great after a while, they're fluid and avoid that clunky control mechanic seen in some games (RE6 we're looking at you here), as I mentioned previously, this game is SLOW, it forces you to take your time because if you rush, you will die, unless you're playing on easy, which I don't recommend as that will pretty much negate the point of the whole stealth aspect of the game, to stay alive you really really have to think, there are so many ways to kill your target, I had a pleasant surprise on my first one when it said there are TWELVE ways to kill one guy, which basically means a whole lot of replayability.

PROS:
- Superb gameplay mechanics
- Points system which makes you want to replay the level to complete the challenges in each level
- Story is very lengthy due to the massive amount of stealth which is rare these days
- Contracts mode, create your own challenges for the world to play and for you to play others contracts
- So many ways to go through a level, it's refreshing to see a game where YOU can CHOOSE your OWN way through a level!

CONS:
- None in particular

Overall, if you're new to the Hitman series (like me) I'd say this is a good place to start, as long as you have patience, if you're an action packed game lover, who loves rushing i.e CoD, Battlefield, MoH players stay away from this unless you can adjust to the slow pace of this, I love fast paced games like CoD don't get me wrong but this is a game for patient, collected and dare I say it, intelligent players..or rather, killers. Good luck 47.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Absolution (PS3)
Hitman Absolution (PS3) by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
£9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews