Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfection ... at a price
Perhaps the defining characteristic of the Hitman series was its flawed genius. Clunky gameplay and a plethora of bugs were offset by novel originality and an atmospheric sandbox world. In `Hitman: Absolution', IO Interactive have perfected the formula albeit at a price.

First off, the perfection: never before has Agent 47 been so charged with menace. What's...
Published 22 months ago by M. Wenzl

versus
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but fair
Considering the large amount of time I've spent playing this, I feel a bit harsh giving only 3-stars, there are some good but way too many bad elements:

Positives

- Some of the levels are brilliant, open ended, funny, loads of options and accidents avaialble.
- The challenges for each level provide lots of re-playability without feeling...
Published 21 months ago by M. Cron


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfection ... at a price, 23 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
Perhaps the defining characteristic of the Hitman series was its flawed genius. Clunky gameplay and a plethora of bugs were offset by novel originality and an atmospheric sandbox world. In `Hitman: Absolution', IO Interactive have perfected the formula albeit at a price.

First off, the perfection: never before has Agent 47 been so charged with menace. What's more, you feel like a killer, a professional whose trade is artful murder. This has been pulled off in a couple of ways. First, IO have brought a physicality to 47 which was missing from the previous games and translates into every kill. Second, enemies can be taken down with far greater flexibility - no more sneaking up behind them at just the right moment only to somehow miss with your garrotte. Third, the shooting system is far more innovative. The new `instinct' system - which allows 47 to blend into his surroundings and monitor his foes - also allows `point shooting': i.e. stopping time to tag your targets before effortlessly taking them down in one deadly sweep. For diehards, this may be cheating, but its availability is limited and, besides, it's by no means forced upon you, acting as a cool flourish rather than a central gameplay mechanic.

However, there's a price to this: the free form sandbox gameplay in the previous games hasn't been left intact. Likely to make room for a smoother world with fewer bugs, IO have streamlined levels. The upshot of this is that the world is more economical, the gameplay richer somehow. But the structure is more linear and the settings themselves chronologically compartmentalised into sections. Generally speaking, there's just one main path through each level, with few detours - and stealth is a constant must as certain enemies will see through disguises. At no point are you being forced along. Levels focused on taking down a target have numerous approaches that can be taken, and, unless you want to go Rambo, patience is a must, just as before. But the overall feeling is that although the levels are large, their compartmentalisation makes them less complex. A mistake in one section won't affect the rest of the level, which sucks out some of the fun for perfectionists and diehards who enjoy balancing the consequences. It's much easier in this respect.

But the package IO Interactive have offered up is probably their best-rounded and it feels like a lot of love has gone into it. Although the story is simple, the characters are the best yet; the guns are incredibly satisfying to use; the environments are as atmospheric as ever; and the music doesn't suffer from the absence of the series' trademark composer, Jesper Kyd. The game has been described elsewhere as Lynchian - something which is very true, the elements at play here derivative of an Americana that is dark, morbid and surreal.

`Absolution' isn't flawed in the same way that its predecessors were. The perfected gameplay and streamlined structure marks a radical step in a new direction for the series. Hopefully, later instalments will keep the new gameplay system and bring back some of the freeform sandbox complexity (minus the bugs), but for now, the Hitman experience isn't going to get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait. Hitman is back with a vengeance., 28 Nov 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of the Hitman franchise since the very first one which was a PC exclusive title. I have thoroughly enjoyed every instalment to date, some of them admittedly have been better than others but they're all stellar titles and one of my personal favourite series of games of all time. As far as a quality stealth game goes, it's right up there with Splinter Cell and the Metal Gear games.

Now, I'll go so far as to say that I have not quite finished this new one as yet, although I get the impression I am indeed coming to the end. I shall do what I can to keep this free of spoilers.
If you look at the natural progression of games through the years it's actually quite impressive to see not only just how much it has changed, but what environments you are placed in and what options and tools you have at your disposal with which to find your target, and do what Agent 47 does best.

I shan't go too much into the story, but what I will say is it features a character who we as players of the whole Hitman franchise have really grown accustomed to. I had wondered for a while exactly what level of involvement this character had, and what the makers would do with them. Also, there are plenty of new characters introduced to us, and they, and what they do is simply unheard of in the world of the Hitman games, and it was really good to see Square Enix and I-O think outside the box and provide us with characters that really make us want to carry on playing.

Graphically, the game is nothing spectacular or groundbreaking but the Glacier 2 engine certainly is a solid one, which objects reacting how you expect them to, and textures being what we've become accustomed to in this generation of video games. There are a few levels early on that are quite dark, and some levels later on that have smoke or dust flying around, and this gives coverage for any rough edges. The dark levels are really well done though, and you really do feel immersed within the world, the atmosphere is just top notch.

Gameplay will be very familiar for Hitman veterans, with a couple of new additions (one of which might not sit well with some long term fans) just to keep the game fresh. This feature that might not sit well is called "Instinct" and will be a handy feature for those new to the Hitman franchise. Basically, to break it down, the Instinct feature allows you to ever so slightly slow down time, whilst simultaneously highlighting enemies (even through walls) as well as their patrol patterns in some cases, and important environmental elements available to you with which to make your assassination more like an accident. Having this mode turned on comes at a cost however. On the lower difficulty levels it doesn't drain too often, and when it does it regenerates over time as you'd expect. If you're simply stationary and you're using it to monitor patrol routes it isn't affected. But if you're using the cover of a disguise to get somewhere, you can hold down the R1 button as you walk past a group of people dressed similar to you and ducking your head slightly to stop enemies from blowing your cover. It's a great little system and will most likely provide a lot of players with assistance, but like I said some players may feel like it's cheating or that it makes the game too easy. It's not a necessity, but it certainly helps.
The other feature I mentioned is a cover system not unlike the one used in Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and this cover system is a very helpful mechanic. I did find that it is sometimes too easy to just come away from the wall and out of cover and this can be annoying but not enough to warrant making it a major flaw.

Previous Hitman games had their soundtracks created by Jesper Kyd, whose music I must admit I do thoroughly enjoy both in and out of a game. Especially his soundtrack for Hitman Contracts, which is still to this day one of the best video game soundtracks I have ever heard. This one, however, does not have Jesper Kyd behind the wheel. As a matter of fact, there isn't really a great deal of music to speak of. Which I wouldn't really say is a bad thing, because it's quiet when you really want it to be quiet, providing maximum immersion into the world so you can concentrate and really feel like you are in fact Agent 47. To be quite honest I was so very much immersed in what was going on around me that I didn't even notice the lack of music, and upon reflection I don't feel that those moments would be benefitted by having music behind them anyway, for they are perfect just the way they are.

For anybody who is looking for an online mode, there is the Contracts mode which has already exceeded 50,000 contracts made by players, for players. This mode allows you to go around the 20 levels that were initially released within the game (with DLC imminently on its way I would imagine) and create a contract within the boundaries of those levels. These contracts have parameters set by the creator, stating who the player is to assassinate, and how exactly to go about it, with a constant worldwide leader board to keep you up to date with just what you need to do to get a high rating. It's a really great concept, and one that I see myself spending a lot of time on, and it also increases the game's replay ability immensely, as there are so many contracts to choose from with a whole manner of variety to keep it fresh.

In conclusion, Hitman Absolution is very much all that I hoped it would be and so much more, I haven't been forced to think so much about my tactics in a game for a very long time, and this is a welcome return for not only that feeling of knowing that your tactics were on top form, but for the Hitman franchise as a whole. Very proud and pleased to give them my money for this one, I can see myself enjoying this game for many, many hours indeed. Well done Square Enix and I-O. You have not disappointed. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally we have a game that cares about offline mode, just like the old days!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. A. Patel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a miracle just how having no multiplayer makes a game so damn good, it's reminiscent of the days of the old consoles where online gaming wasn't big and how developers focussed solely on the single player aspect of a game, it shows a lot, these days there are not enough games like this, with the ABSENCE of multiplayer (yes, there is NO multiplayer and it's not a rushing game either so don't buy it if you're looking for some sort of Assassins Creed with guns type game) you can see just how much effort has gone into this game.

It is NOT a game for the rushing type of player, if this is your first Hitman game (as it is mine) you will get a surprise shock at how slow it is, you cannot simply rush into a place and kill your targets, it will take a long time stealthing your way around the environments, which I must say, are beautiful to look at, the amount of detail is stunning when running in HD, but back to the gameplay, the control mechanics take time to adjust to but are great after a while, they're fluid and avoid that clunky control mechanic seen in some games (RE6 we're looking at you here), as I mentioned previously, this game is SLOW, it forces you to take your time because if you rush, you will die, unless you're playing on easy, which I don't recommend as that will pretty much negate the point of the whole stealth aspect of the game, to stay alive you really really have to think, there are so many ways to kill your target, I had a pleasant surprise on my first one when it said there are TWELVE ways to kill one guy, which basically means a whole lot of replayability.

PROS:
- Superb gameplay mechanics
- Points system which makes you want to replay the level to complete the challenges in each level
- Story is very lengthy due to the massive amount of stealth which is rare these days
- Contracts mode, create your own challenges for the world to play and for you to play others contracts
- So many ways to go through a level, it's refreshing to see a game where YOU can CHOOSE your OWN way through a level!

CONS:
- None in particular

Overall, if you're new to the Hitman series (like me) I'd say this is a good place to start, as long as you have patience, if you're an action packed game lover, who loves rushing i.e CoD, Battlefield, MoH players stay away from this unless you can adjust to the slow pace of this, I love fast paced games like CoD don't get me wrong but this is a game for patient, collected and dare I say it, intelligent players..or rather, killers. Good luck 47.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just short of being perfect, 5 Dec 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
As we draw to a close on the current console's abilities, it's hard to still be impressed these days with new games, as every other game released right now, seems to be a copy of sorts of something else. Sleeping Dogs is very much like GTA. Max Payne 3 is just another decent 3rd person linear shooter. Call of Duty Black Ops 2 is... well.. if you want to be really harsh, just a very elongated expansion pack of Call of Duty 4. ( It is people deal with it ! LOL )

So it was such a suprize and joy to play a game as Hitman Absolution, and use in game mechanic's and ideas that are new and fresh even now; that the only real comparison anywhere close to the gameplay being Splinter Cell Conviction, and even then, it's just a small part of that game.

Having not played the previous Hitman game, "Blood Money", i can't confirm if the story for Absolution, continues that game from 6 years ago. What i can tell you is that as a stand alone game, you get up to speed very simply and very quickly with the excellent opening cinematics of Absolution.

The story is, you play as Agent 47, an ICA Hitman for hire. Your handler in the Agency is a lady called Diana Burnwood, but Diana has just gone rogue and taken a "package" with her that the agency wants back. You start the game by killing Diana, but what she tells you in her deathscene has you searching for your own Absolution.

The story is great to begin with, and it's all presented well with some supurb graphics and awsome soundtrack. What isn't so great is the characters you face along the way are out of place in the world your playing. They would be more at home in a superhero game like Batman than a real world hitman one, but even so they are all voiced and acted extremely well. The narrative does seem to wain a little towards the end of the game, and some levels later, i really wasn't sure why i was there to be honest.

Your journey though from start to finish, will be different to any other persons playing the game, and therein lies the real reason this is such a supurb game with extremely high replay value. This will be YOUR adventure even though level to level you all have the same goals.

As there is no hand to guide you, no large arrow saying move here, shoot this, that so many games use to pull you through like a lemming, it felt quite daunting to start as you weren't sure where to go. So you start to explore. Your instinct mode gives you the hints needed to figure it out, but the grey mass in your head will get a workout playing this game. Each level will be played out differently per player. You have to ready yourself to have to think your way through the game rather than be lead through the nose. You basically have to think and be creative like a Hitman!

Whilst on your first playthrough, you'll find things and objects to interact with you didn't realize you could, so you play the level again to use them. On your second playthrough you'll find even more things to use and wonder how to apply them. In all there is approximately at least 10 or more ways per level, ( and there are a lot of levels in a 20 hour playthrough ) to achieve the end goal, and depending on your mood, which you choose to do is up to you.

The game simply encourages the player to explore and take his time, find alternative routes, plan, perfect, and exeucte. And THEN my dear reader your playing as a true hitman should and when you will get the most from the game. Yes there is a small warehouse full of guns to be able to use each and every level, but to be honest, that is actually the most unsatifying way to complete the game, ie using a firearm. There are times and places where using a firearm is the way to go, and just as satisfying as using stealth, but whenever my cover was blown and i got into a firefight, i paused the game and reloaded the last checkpoint. It's not that you can't gun your way out of a situation, or that it's not fun to do so, just you won't really want to, and your not really supposed to gun your way all the way from A to B per level. Your get a higher score for being the silent, perfect assasin.

The fun is to be had in finding a way to ... for example... electricute a target whilst he's having a pee... or poisoning the chef when he's making dinner, or even turning on a gas stove without being spotted, then shooting the cooker from distance to make it all look like one big accident! THAT's where the game really shines. It's like an elaborated game of chess. How do you get the enemy to move one of his pieces over there out of the way, so i can swoop in for the kill ??

Your supposed to savour each and every segment of the game like a fillet steak dinner, but the game is also clever enough to know, if you sometimes want a quick fast food burger portion, you can still progress by having an old fashioned shootout. Instant gratification yes, but when your done slaughtering everyone you know you should have had something else to eat!

There has been much conjecture about the games AI and the disguise system. There are occasions where it is a bit too random and unrealistic, but nothing that is game breaking or a distraction. I played the game through on Normal difficulty, and frankly found that enough of a challange on it's own! Increasing the difficulty, decreased your abilities.

The controls can be a tad cumbersome, mainly just the execution killing system. RB, X, LT to highlight enemies, RT to pin point them, X to then excute. All seemed a bit too labourious when flustered, but seeing as the game has a very slow pace, this never was too much of an issue. That apart the controls were fine.

Contracts Mode is the games online version, where you don't play live with friends, but you play SP segments, created by users, with scores to better in the style you so wish, or within parameters set by the user. In the opening week alone there were 50,000 online contracts to play, which if you enjoyed the SP campaign will give you years of extra playability. Playing contracts gives you credits to then use to uprgade weapons and abilities, and there are a LOT of both!

Setting up a contract for others to play is simple and fun. You basically just play, and whilst playing set your parameters as you go along. How you make the hit is recorded with a base score for others to beat. The online section is certainly not a throwaway part as there are competitions, messages, and a social aspect to the game. It's very well thought out.

Finally on a practical note, it's refreshing to find a game released with no glitches or issues, it all worked perfectly from the off, all the way through.

Conclusion

As a huge fan of the spy genre, i personally got a HUGE kick out of playing Hitman Absolution. I can't but help feel the story was a bit of a let down and a disappointment though. It starts off in a very Bourne like manner, but it then veers off in a direction i feel didn't suit the introduction to the game, or indeed follow on from the contents of the prequel book, Hitman Damnation.

You CAN have too much of a good thing, as so much empahisis has been put into making each level difficult and slow paced, you can sometimes get frustrated and want to rush things for a bit of variety. There's no on rails sequences, driving, or cinematic quick time events. It's just full on steak steak steak from start to finish. It's hard to critizie the game for a lack of variety when each level actually has a lot of it in it, in the way to make the kill, just you did feel like you needed a change of pace from time to time, rather than the seriousness gruffness, full on from start to finish.

That being said, it's a strangley linear, yet non linear game that will have you coming back for more. I often found myself replaying the same small seqment for hours just to "perfect" the kill in that level, and every time i failed, i wanted to do nothing more than go back and try again to find out the right way to make the hit. The reason was, the satifaction of nailing the perfect annoymous kill, sometimes in a very fun and entertaining way, was hugely rewarding and very addictive. Then when you realize the game is chocked full of many hits like that from start to finish, Hitman will have you sitting at home over dinner, at work in the office, out driving the car.. thinking about how do you make that perfect signature kill ....

That my friend, is up to you to find out.

Rating 4/5

Silly in game characters, no change of pace, bring down what is an intelligent, graphically sumptuous, difficult, challanging, fun, with HUGE replay value game. This is a sytlish game. Don't rush through it. Take the phone off the hook, sit back and savour this classy experience. It's refreshing beacuse it's so different to anything else you will have played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but fair, 26 Nov 2012
By 
M. Cron (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
Considering the large amount of time I've spent playing this, I feel a bit harsh giving only 3-stars, there are some good but way too many bad elements:

Positives

- Some of the levels are brilliant, open ended, funny, loads of options and accidents avaialble.
- The challenges for each level provide lots of re-playability without feeling boring.
- The graphics, music and kill-sequences are superb, much more fluid and adaptable.
- A simple interface makes for easy control, making complex timing challenging but never frustrating.
- The new 'Contracts' levels are mildly diverting and can act as a welcome break from the main story.

Negative

- A dull, dull DULL story that is not wanted or needed, no-one wants a moral or emotional Agent 47...
- A large number of rubbish levels that are simply "get from A-B without being seen", or Uncharted-esque press button fight sequences.
- The accident kills are made blindingly obvious, and sledom require timing, you just set it up and then wait for a kill to be confirmed whilst doing something else.
- An inconsistent disguise/suspicion system.
- Terrible cutscenes and zero-dimensional characters (bad guys are all perverted swear factories, women are all pornstars, and the little girl to whom 47 is mysteriously devoted might as well be a platic doll.

It's a really mixed bag, we all know the best bits of previous games, the best levels were often contained buildings, with lots of subtle options, a bit of humour and some real originality (the hotel in the original hitman, the apartment in silent assassion, the country house in contracts, the suburban house and xmas party in blood money). At times Absolution recalls and recreates these levels, and when it does it is brilliant, but too often it loses it's way and becomes a matter of going through the motions of subduing and hiding guards until you can progress to the next good level. Losing the ability to inject food with poison was a very bad call...

Blood money is still far and away the best hitman game, all Absolution had to do was more of the same, with better graphics, and with the challenges component for re-plays, but instead they've tried to make it into a film, except with none of the depth or finesse required to make us give a solitary crap about any of the characters, IO have just made more bland cutscenes and more plot-advancing levels.

Having said all that, I've played it a lot, and will play it a lot more, and it's still better than a lot of the mindlessly linear, bulletfests that are currently stuffing up the market "cough...COD...cough!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a hit, maaaaan., 9 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I first played this upon its original release a few years ago and came away, well, unsatisfied with 47's latest offering. Time having gone by and most of the experience being forgotten though, I picked it up again on the cheap to give it a second chance and see whether or not I was just 'not in the mood' when I last played it. Well...

- The Story -
As I remembered, the story was the only redeeming part of the game and I still think that it is a quite enjoyable ride.
Hitman games have never taken too much time to go into great detail, they've always told you what you need to do and let you plod straight into the next mission.
Absolution is a far cry from that setup though with as many cutscenes as any other modern game and, well, I kind of liked it. It was nice to see a different side of 47's character as well as have some of the 'targets' be a bit more fleshed out, rather than just being 'another target' as I feel in other games. I actually felt like I wanted to kill somebody because of their actions, what they were trying to do or simply because I thought they were a d**k.
All the Hitman games have had good stories but Absolution easily has the best way of presenting the story, rather than the pages of dialog and text that I usually don't bother with in the other games (because I want to play a game, not read text).

- Graphics -
It's a better looking game than the other titles, that's to be expected. Even for the time of it's release though, the graphics aren't spectacular, especially with some of the 'main characters' having some awful looking textures that make them look partly zombified.
Random NPC targets still look out of place with their textures with many of them looking exactly the same, some having low quality textures that stand out from the rest of the game and as usual, their bodies contort into some painful looking messes when you're dragging them around.
The environments are the best looking part of the game though whilst it's better than a lot of games, it's still not as good as many others.
Taking into consideration that the game is published by Square (known for some astonishing graphics) and that it's developers released Tomb Raider and Thief (which again, are great looking games), I feel a lot more could have been done with Absolution.

- Gameplay -
This is where it starts to really crumble.
If you've played the older games then you'll know that they took place within small 'open world' style levels where you decide how you'll get to a target, how you'll kill him and how you'll escape. That's what I expect from a Hitman game.
Absolution is a bunch of REALLY small levels, a lot of the time with very limited options when it comes to planning your 'Hit'. The areas are usually a small bunch of guards, one (maybe two if you're lucky) options to get through the small area and a door to the next area which works as a loading screen/checkpoint.
It just doesn't have the same scale as the other games have or the same amount of planning and/or skill to get to the next area. Getting from A to B without killing anybody but the designated target (which the game promotes) wasn't a challenge and was easily done the first or second time. I didn't even find myself having to observe guard routes or look for paths through a level, I just 'winged it' and 'made it up as I went along' and still managed to remain undetected and kill my target, which from a game with it's nature, is really not what I was expecting.
A few levels do open up a bit more, but these are few and far between and still feel as though they're trying to guide you through a predetermined route rather than using my own initiative and imagination.

I guess the best way I can explain it is this:
With the older games, I could have properly looked around my environment, observed the target and noted what his 'routine' was, chosen my route through the level and the way in which I will carry out the hit, it all goes fantastically and I'm about to kill the target and make a break for the exit when ALERT! ALERT! ALERT! a guard has found the body of his naked friend near the start of the level which I thought nobody would find behind that tree.
You can't get that experience with Absolution because of its linear level design and masses of checkpoints and it's arguably the best part of a Hitman game, especially when you eventually obtain that perfect kill you were planning.

I also find myself with little reason to replay the game as I did with older games, which I replayed over and over to get those perfect hits. I mostly perfected each mission the first time I played it because of the diminished difficulty that came from both the linear level design combined with regular checkpoints so that if I did mess up, I could try again at the checkpoint from 1 minute previous. The ONLY thing that is left are a minimal amounts of 'alternate kills' and 'collectables' and honestly, Hitman isn't a franchise where collectibles should be existent when you're trying to get in and out like you were never there...You shouldn't be picking up random objects such as bottles and hammers just so it counts that you've 'collected it' because that's forensic evidence, and 47 doesn't leave evidence.

SOME improvements have been made, most noticeably 47's movement which feels a lot more 'natural' and less restrictive than past games, which tended to feel like you were moving a tank through an isle in ASDA. He also comes with some close combat QTEs, where usually I hate QTEs, but they feel really satisfying in Absolution, especially if it's to punch the guard that spotted you before reloading a checkpoint to teach him the lesson of "don't screw up my stealth again, you butt-munch!"
There is also 'point shooting' which allows you to stop time momentarily, carefully target a few enemies and then take them out with a swift few shots. It makes the game even easier but it does look flashy.

There are also some faults.
NPCs will be more suspicious to you if you're wearing the same outfit. It makes sense in a way, especially if a guard doesn't recognize their colleagues face, but it's way too overpowering considering people will start to get suspicious of you as soon as you enter their line of sight (even if your entire face is covered). This makes some levels where there are tons of the same NPC unnecessarily more difficult, whilst areas where there are only 1 or 2 of an NPC are made stupidly easy as nobody will get suspicious of you simply because you're dressed differently.
I also feel that the new 'instinct' mechanic is massively overpowering, allowing you to see every NPC, usable items and 'points of interest' through walls etc. It like many other new features, makes the game way too easy, though with the absence of a map in Absolution it's sadly necessary (unless you learn the patrol route of EVERY NPC in the game).

- Overall -
If you're a longtime fan of Hitman that enjoyed the feeling you get when your perfectly planned hit goes to plan and you end up with that glorious 'Silent Assassin' rank, you're going to be massively disappointed, especially when you're seeing 'Silent Assassin' so regularly with minimal effort actually put in to it, and the title suddenly becomes the expected result of a level rather than a glorious rank you worked for.
If you're new to the series, it's probably the best to start with since it's easily the most friendly to those who haven't touched a Hitman game before, especially since you won't be comparing it to the other games in the series.

- Pros -
+ Pretty decent story
+ Better movement controls
+ Has some fantastic kills (Knife throws are still my favorite)
+ It could be worse

- Cons -
- Very linear, especially compared to other Hitman games
- A lot of changes that have taken a huge chunk of the challenge away from Hitman via various 'features'
- Not as engaging as past games
- Minimal replay value if you're good with stealth based games (since you'll likely near perfect it on your first run)

It's possibly better than the first game and probably worth the price it is now but if you're looking for the real Hitman experience, pick up the 'HD collection' before this and play through 'Blood Money' instead (in my opinion, the best game in the series so far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars " Base!? We have ourselves an assassinator here, no, we haven't found him yet but we will! ", 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoy this game, Ok it's not as legendary as the brilliant "Blood Money" ( we'll have to wait for the forthcoming Ps4 Hitman release to make the ultimate comparison) but the elemental touches are there, once you have completed the game and maybe all the challenges i find going back to the game play is quite enjoyable, being able to stalk about listening to the quite often amusing comments by the AI Characters, and taking them out using a variety of implements laying about--currently the baseball bat is an amusing fave, the 'Coconut' sound of head knocking as well as the exclamations of surprise are quite funny. to attract victims i place a "Radio Of death" in the appropriate place or let someone run off to get help as a "Messenger of Death" and the body count despite the lack of common sense from the victims can be quite impressive. the proximity mine is another fave--Blackwater park Hotel being a very loud destructive venue to blow agency guards sky-high. The "magic Pockets" i don't think is a real issue bearing in mind it is a game and not "Real Life" although how he can successfully stuff away a sniper rifle into his bespoke suit is a mystery but i really think it adds to the Black Humor theme in this game. the Fiberwire is as usual the default weapon and is a real asset for Silent & signature Kills 'some missions require and the ability to drag away the victim with the fiberwire is a real bonus, though when you kill someone i cannot understand how the victim Coughs as they expire--but again this is the Black Humor undercurrent of the game and along with the crisp detailing of the graphics and playability makes this game enjoyable. there are the odd quirks like bodies bouncing around, thrown items disappearing into walls etc, guards being able to see your neferous activities, the funniest quirk are dead bodies lazily "Waving" as you stack 'em up, and hiding in a chest/closet in the immediate area and not obviously being spotted hiding there what with the heavy breathing and using L1 to Peek Out just makes me laugh. all in all play the game, complete it and come back and go thru each level and mess about. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlike the man himself, it's hit and miss!, 30 Dec 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I'll make this review quick and easy with some pros and cons!

Here are the pluses!

- The more open ended levels are great, and do feel like proper Hitman
- The variety of weapons is truly amazing; they must have quite an imagination at IO Interactive
- David Bateson is still the voice of 47 which is fantastic!
- The graphics are very, very good, even by modern standards, the visual effects in particular are outstanding
- The accident kills are still great fun

Now to the negatives which I'm afraid are rather more substantial:

- The game is far too story driven; which really limits the freedom of the missions.
- The various villians are just terrible; their evil is overplayed to the point of silliness
- Characters just seem to appear and vanish without any explanation - what happened to Birdie? Who's the random detective who has about two scenes?
- The AI are still erratic and unpredictable, and often fail you notice you as they walk right past your position.
- The new suspicion/instinct system doesn't work; why would a guard be less suspicious of you just because they left your line of sight? Just walking like a normal person is stranger than rolling around and ducking behind cover, even if its right in front of them. Ridiculous - one of the worst parts of the game.
- The aiming is very hard to control; anything over 15 feet is a challenge frankly
- Removing the ability to reload with a human shield; what was the purpose of this? Completely ruined the fun of stands offs
- The locations are far too limited; every other mission seems to happen in a hotel. The varied levels of Blood Money simply don't exist in this game.
- The routines of the targets are too quick and predictable.
- Too much running from the police/Dexter's men/the agency; completely destroys the feeling of freedom. These scenes last for ages and seem to happen after every major mission.
- Lastly, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, it's just not Hitman! There are about 2/3 levels out of 19ish that follow the traiditional HItman formula of being in the middle of a big, often public, place and finding a way to off your target. Many of the missions are compartmentalised and so arent properly open world at all. The onlt two proper levels are the ones that IO deviously showed in the gameplay trailers. They obviously know they're popular; so why not give us more? So stupid and illogical.

In conclusion; I love Hitman but this game was a big disappointment to be frank. Hoping for better next time round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a game. Get involved., 9 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game on release which is a year ago.. i still play it. This for me indicates that i really love this game. Ive traded in several games over that year but i have never been tempted to trade in Agent47...the main reason??

REPLAY VALUE... a concept that so many games forget to concentrate on.

The replay value of Hitman Absolution is amazing...so many varied levels...so many weapons..so many ways to go about each level...the level designs are so tight and amazingly immersive..i love the sense of threat that each level has and going about your business with excellent controls is a joy.

I made it my game of 2012 which really surprised me as i wasnt a huge hitman fan.

Some levels honestly give metal gear solid a run for their money...swap agent 47 for snake and it wouldnt feel out of place. Attacking the bomb factory is astounding..so many ways to execute your plan...through the toilets? up to the facotry roof? dress as the arms dealer for ultimate freedom? ah its sensational and i adore a game that makes me feel like I AM IN COMPLETE CONTROL.

People dont rate the disguise function very well...it semi works..you really have to find the DEFINITIVE costume in each level that grants you freedom..i will admit that at times it cant become so brutally frustrating when you spend 20 mins silently going about your business..then grabbing a decent disguise just to be HOUNDED by the enemies... maybe on certain levels where you can get the definitive costume for disguise then if does feel very rewarding.

The story is ok..its not something you will spend your waking hours thinking about but it helps keep the action coming.

This is a must own. This will fill your time for the next 3 weeks before the ps4 comes out.

Really looking forward to the sequel and i have to admit IO software are extremely talented. The game looks and feels absolutely brilliant. People NEVER watch me play video games...but ive had friends and girfriend sit and watch this masterpiece just because it looks so bloody good!

Go grab it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman Absolution (PS3) (Video Game)
It's Hitman. Nice game fun to play and so forth. But sadly it gets boring a long the way.

I would reccomend to play the game but wait and buy it when it is a bit cheaper.

Not worth full prize, but it is worth playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman Absolution (PS3)
Hitman Absolution (PS3) by Square Enix (PlayStation 3)
11.70
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews