Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure W40K mayhem bliss
Space Marine is one of those games that, despite being no more than an average product when you stop to think about it.. Well you won't stop to think, because it's too damn fun. The textures aren't amazing, the story is nothing new in the W40K camp, the campaign is a bit short (8 hours)..But in the end it doesn't really matter because i find myself coming back to it and...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by José S.

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks gorgeous but way too short and shallow to leave a lasting expression
I have never been exposed to the world of Warhammer and Warhammer 40K before, apart from seeing the tabletop game being played or knowing about Dawn of War. Yet, I always found the world appealing , more so than many other dystopia worlds, mainly due to the fact that the lore borrows and steals from all corners of mythology, religion, symbolism and so forth. Roman...
Published on 19 Oct 2011 by H. Schunk


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks gorgeous but way too short and shallow to leave a lasting expression, 19 Oct 2011
By 
H. Schunk (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have never been exposed to the world of Warhammer and Warhammer 40K before, apart from seeing the tabletop game being played or knowing about Dawn of War. Yet, I always found the world appealing , more so than many other dystopia worlds, mainly due to the fact that the lore borrows and steals from all corners of mythology, religion, symbolism and so forth. Roman insignia, Greek mythology, the inquisition, it's all there to form a strange mix of future warfare and ancient mysticism. Yet, how much can I give Kudos for Games Workshop to create such a world ? Not much I suppose, so despite the visceral and grim setting, the game does not earn any marbles on this account.

The way the world is brought to life however is great. The level design of this game is amazing and while the layouts are just rail-shooter corridors, the architecture and world looks breathtakingly good and you find yourself in imposing cathedrals and dark tunnels. Unfortunately, many of the games most impressive levels/stages have you just running through them and I wonder why so many areas of this game are just empty and eye candy ?

Talking of battle, it is the core of the W40K game experience, mindless and brutal slashing and firing your weapon, I say mindless but you will have to make the odd decision as you can only carry four weapons. Yet, I completed the game in six hours and did not really put an awful lot of thought into it, this is by no means a game where you have to adapt your strategy before rushing into combat, a quick finger will do. But the visuals make combat more satisfying than it should be, orcs and chaos troops fly through the air in the best 'Havok' fashion and it is a delight to observe.

The controls needs 30 minutes to get used to as this game is not a FPS per se but uses an over-the-shoulder kind of 3rd person look and as such, you should make good use of the aim button.

As I said before, the graphics make this game more enjoyable than the gameplay makes it in the first place, but that comes from someone who can run this on max settings, if you cannot run the game with all the bling, there is much less enjoyment to be found here.

People complain about the lack of story and yes, there is not much of a story but not less story than in other recent shooters such as Dead Island, Borderlands or Left 4 Dead. There is bad guys and you will have to track them down, at least the game delivers a nice cliffhanger, but the lack of story is not that bad. It is a missed opportunity of course, considering how rich the world of W40K is (with hundreds of novels and RPG books out there) but they are probably saving the meat of the universe for the upcoming MMORPG.

The game only took me six hours to finish I did not enjoy it enough to play through it a second time so that is not a lot of bang for the buck, but if you are into achievements or multiplayer, there is still something left to do after you finished the game.

I enjoyed the game for what it is, a mind-numbing gore-fest of orc-slaying that is over before you can say 'Waaaagh', but I would not go back to it anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure W40K mayhem bliss, 9 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Space Marine is one of those games that, despite being no more than an average product when you stop to think about it.. Well you won't stop to think, because it's too damn fun. The textures aren't amazing, the story is nothing new in the W40K camp, the campaign is a bit short (8 hours)..But in the end it doesn't really matter because i find myself coming back to it and playing more and more.

- It's bloody fun, and by bloody i mean "lots of blood" bloody. In the campaign, you control Titus, a Space Marine captain who arrives on a planet to answer a distress call from the Imperial Guard, who are being attacked by Orks (led by a Ork Warboss that many players are empathizing with; he's probably the coolest character in the game, shame he doesn't show up many times). Your job is to help the Imperial Guard regain control of their bases and drive away the Orks, and to help you, there are two additional squad mates, also Space Marines. They'll throw in the occasional banter to split the pace between carnage and small cutscenes that advance the story.

- During the course of the game, you can pick up several ranged and melee weapons, from chainswords to stalker bolters (basically snipers), huge power hammers, a revenge launcher (one of my favs; you shoot a blue mine that attaches itself to a surface or flesh and detonates when you aim at it and press reload. There's loads of fun to have with it if you're creative). There are also upgrades to pick up, most of them improve your Fury skill (a power that fills up the more enemies you kill until you can use it and unleash more powerful attacks).

- There's no regenerating health in the SP. The only way to regain health is to perform an execution; they can only be performed on stunned enemies. You have to time it well and carefully because while you do it you are exposed to damage; time doesn't stop around you and enemies keep shooting at you, so don't think you can just keep spamming executions and expect to live long! The shields do regenerate though, when you're not being hit.
In the MP, both shields and health regenerate, but health regenerates quite slowly.

- The campaign takes roughly 8 hours to finish but it's worth playing through twice, because it's so much fun. There are also servo skulls (audio logs) that you can collect to know more about the background story and get an achievement.

As for the online:

- There are two modes; Seize the ground and Annihilation. The first is objective based, where you have to keep hold of certain areas (capture and defend) while winning points from captures, until the time finished or a team reaches 1000 points. Annihilation is your regular team deathmatch

- There are only 5 maps for now. I haven't gotten tired of any yet, and knowing Relic's track record i think we can expect that more will be added, possibly free even.

- Speaking of free, in 1 month the game will receive FREE DLC, called Exterminatus. It's you plus 3 buddies online fighting against oncoming waves of enemies, a sort of "Last Stand". Sounds like quite the fun. It'll have its own leaderboards too.

- In MP the level cap is 41, and until there you'll unlock more weapons, armor and perks. There 1.8 billion combinations to customize your soldier in terms of armor (aesthetics)... That's right, there's a lot of detail you can put into the look of your Space marine (or Chaos Space Marine, the other faction). You'll spend hours on it alone

- The biggest problem with the online is that it uses P2P instead of dedicated servers. I've had good matches and mostly lag free, but there's the odd match where things don't go well. There are also people having more laggy matches so it might depend on where you live... I doubt there'll be any lag in exterminatus though, plus you can even play that with 3 of your RL friends

Conclusion: it's not perfect, not did it set out to be. But it's what it's supposed to be; a very fun romp in the W40K universe with a lot of potential for future DLC. Not that this particular year so great gaming-wise but this is one of the best of the year SO FAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly suprised, 7 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I had high hopes for this game. I have followed the `hammer for over 20 years and so we share some history together. Many games have come and gone. Hex based strategy, RTS and now a shooter. Not been into the shooters lately so I had mixed feelings on this one, still its 40k and I love the world.
5 minutes into the game I was hooked. Great visuals and for once getting it working from DVD and then authenticate to steam worked smoothly. Straight to the campaign and into the carnage.

It feels good and stompy. Everything about the marines oozes strength. Great single player setup with close combat feeling in your face. Elites are tough and soon into my 3rd wave of exploding squigs the difficulty kicked in and I had to sit up in my seat. A pleasant 2 hours later I thought I would try multiplayer.
Better than single player by a long margin. The games are quick frenzied and bloody. A nice touch is after you have died you can have a copy of your killers setup for one life. This is a great leveller of the playing field; it gives you a taste of the newer weapons yet to be unlocked. The incremental release of guns and kit made me look at each of the 3 classes before I got too hooked on one strategy. Sound is perfect and now the "microphone on" patch is live it is near flawless. You need sound to judge what is happening ahead and change your tactics to suit. Graphics are good but I have just updated my PC so not sure on lower spec devices. Lag with a poor host but what's new.
I recommend this game, fun, accessible and if you love Warhammer it's an essential play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gears Of Warhammer, 12 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Relic have a great track record of bringing the Warhammer 40,000 universe to videogames with their superb Dawn Of War series of RTS games. Space Marine is their first crack at a 3rd person action game.

You play as Captain Titus, a super-hard Ultramarine, whose life-goals are based around the gory slaughter of aliens. Po-faced and humourless, this man does not take days off to sit in space-pubs. Handily, he's harder than a coffin nail and has a vast array of weaponry to despatch any cheeky aliens who cross his narky path.

At first glance, Space Marine appears to be a lot like Gears Of War, with one key difference - the cover system (or lack of...). As mentioned, Titus ain't the kind of bloke who hides behind skips, popping up to take pot-shots at his foes. He's much more the sort of man who tears into hordes of Orks, waving his chainsword and bathing in their blood. A nutter, basically.

The gameplay mechanics actively encourage this play style. Titus can generally bully his enemies to death or, if he feels particularly irked, he can Execute them with a nice bloody animation. The upside of performing executions is that Titus regains health from doing them. Battering enemies at close quarters fills up a "Rage" meter. Once full, Titus' wrath is can be unleashed and he'll deal extra damage in melee, have better aim with ranged weapons and as a bonus, he gains extra health from everything he kills.

You get the point. He's a bit of a psycho. Titus has loads of different guns to play with but you'll be unlikely to spend much time shooting stuff. Space Marine is much more an action game than a shooter. You're encouraged and rewarded for getting stuck in at every opportunity.

It's a shame then that this mechanic is also the game's biggest downfall. Titus turfs up, runs a bit, meets horde of Orks and attacks them. Then he runs some more, meets another band of greenskins and murders them all. Then same again. And again. And again. You're so vastly over-powered that the Orks are nothing more than cannon-fodder and you start to get bored of slaughtering huge numbers of them. All too quickly, this becomes a trudge and you can begin to understand why Captain Titus is so humourless.

Despite that, it doesn't actually ruin the game; it just loses some of the fun you might otherwise have had. In all fairness to Relic, this does fit in with the Warhammer 40,000 mythos perfectly so from that aspect it's a big success. It does, however, highlight a mythology that takes itself very seriously.

As such, Space Marine is a great game for Games Workshop adherents or for those who want to play a space-bada$$, banging eight bells out of large numbers of inferior creatures. It is WAR with a capital WAAAAGH and it's very well done. Captain Titus isn't exactly sympathetic though and by the end you kind of want him to just go away.

Overall, the Gears Of War series is a better experience, so be sure to play that first. But if you love Warhammer 40,000 then Space Marine is an essential game. Otherwise, Meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost Potential, 9 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It comes so close to being just fantastic... While you can't argue that the thing is pure Mana for 40k fanboys, if you ignore the fluff what's the reality?

The single player, while looking beautiful and having some great effects (the killing blows are fun, the combos can be entertaining) is a very dated affair of linear routes, small steps you can't climb, no jump (without jump pack), 1 dimensional characters and is very, very short. It has clipping issues - muzzle clearance is often not how it looks when you're close to scenery. It follows a tried and tested but very dated format of running through the hoardes of baddies to get to an `end of level Boss', who is then defeated by following a set pattern. Even the final Big Boss (spoiler alert) turns into something far less, with flying in a circle avoiding his blasts until you automatically close, then just following the on-screen button-press prompts. It's like you've been guided to win. It's definitely enjoyable, but there's no innovation, it relies on an old format and suffers from it - you just want so much more. Especially when it takes such a short time to complete.

So what about the multi-player? The online play? This seems to be where the game can really come into it's own. Colour schemes aside (it has ALL of them!)The options for customising your build are fantastic, really make a difference to both the way you play and feel of the game. With comms you can make very effective teams, even a pair can cause havoc when side by side with complimentary builds (I recently had a game where our team were winning easily until an Assault marine paired with a Melta bearing Tactical Marine annihilated us repeatedly). BUT (you knew it was coming) all of this is wasted. Because the Peer to Peer (P2P) matchmaking system, lifted directly from console games, means you have ridiculous lag and rubber-banding for far more games than you don't. "Waiting For Host" becomes the bane of the game. Even when you don't "migrate hosts" you're still strafing in a circle expending clips into stationary targets and suddenly just dropping dead for no apparent reason. The good games are very very good, but they're few and far between and this is not just my opinion. People are typing words to this effect in the chat channels all the time and my own gaming community, who embraced this hugely on release have pretty much stopped playing it because of the P2P lagfest.

Space Marine is a classic case of expectation not being met because some basic concepts were not addressed in either the Alpha or Beta stages of the game. This is "working as intended", and it's not good. The freely downloaded extra content of "Exterminatus" (4 player co-op games facing waves and waves of enemy) is immensely fun but quite a small addition. You'll get huge kicks from this game, but it doesn't have legs in my opinion. Wait till it comes down in price to avoid disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Single player is fun but generic, multiplayer fun but laggy, 17 Sep 2011
By 
K. Ramwell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Single player: Generic 40k story, Space Marines go in to kill Ork and Chaos because they're invading an Imperium world. 'nuff said. The graphics are pretty impressive for being a port to PC and only on DX 9, something I think an earlier reviewer didn't realise. It's a fun hack and slash that has completely fluid motion from ranged combat into close. It's great tearing into a group of Orks and seeing your character get covered in blood. However the campaign is very short, only 8 hours long or so which is pretty disappointing, but the multiplayer makes uyp for it (when it works)

Multiplayer: This is pretty fun and reminds me of my Quake 3 arena days because of its playstyle; it's more concentrated on frags and fun than tactics and K/D ratio in games such as Battlefield so it rewards ballsy players rather than a sneaky tactical type. As a previous reviewer said it is laggy but Relic are looking at patching this. In fact the PC would be patched by now but Sony are forcing them to fix the PS3 first. The main problem is that they adopted the p2p system of online gaming, which again we can thank the consoles for. It doesn't work but as I said it will be patched and hopefully addressed. As for the game modes themselves there's deathmatch and a kind of capture the flag. Both are very fun despite the 8v8 gameplay, which surprisingly works. As for the person saying that you can't quit midgame this is completely false. All you need to do is press escape and quit game (surprisingly). Mics are also constantly active but again this should be patched out. Overall it is pretty laggy due to the p2p system, but it's not impossible to get a decent host; the fun factor of this game is a massive plus, not had this much fun on an online game in a while.

I'd rate it at 7 out of 10, or 4 stars rounding up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, difference of scope/different take to other 3rd/1st person shooters, 12 Aug 2013
By 
C. Jonsson "Wolfhaven" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
To begin with, I have to say, the first 15-20 minutes I was slightly annoyed with this game.
Why?
I expected yet another Gears of War / Army of Two copy....

This is not that.

While I was getting annoyed with not being able to duck behind cover (no, you can't) I missed the very core of Space Marine -- you don't hide behind cover like a coward!
You charge your enemy head-on with chainsword and pistol, or gun them down with righteous bolter fire.... and if they get close, they you smash them to a pulp!

It took me those first 15-20 minutes to get the hang of it and stop trying to duck into cover as soon as I spotted something, but once I got the hang of the melee combos and difference of movement (you're not a nimble little ballerina dodging this way and that in general (though you can dodge if you're not using a heavy weapon), you're a hulking space marine - and there is weight and purpose behind your every step, every swing.).

Learning the melee combos is rather vital as you will often be swarmed by lesser enemies... not a real threat in and of themselves, but they will slow you down and knock you about while the big uglies shoot at you with everything they have, or you'll have something larger and scarier than you charging you as well... Often it's a huge mix of enemies, and you have to choose your priorities, not miss - and evade their combined attacks.

Pending which difficulty you set it on, it can either be an enjoying story - and a real challenge.

I profoundly loved this game to my surprise - and I'm baffled by the meagre 3,5 star score it has on Amazon, though like I said in the beginning - if you've played lots of Gears of War and Army of Two it'll take you some time to get used to the difference. It's possible that you stop after 5 minutes if you want a Gears of Wars clone - if that's what you want, then don't get this game, it's a new take on it, but if you're willing to try it out.... I think you'll be as enthralled by the visceral, fast-paced and tactical combat it presents.

Also, do try the multiplayer - it's awesome (though yes, I'd say every third match you join due to P2P matchmaking can have tremendous lag and be unplayable... if so, join another game and it'll be enjoyable once more.)

As it is, it's a wonderful single-player experience, multiplayer is very cool - somewhat reduced enjoyability by the multiplayer lag you'll experience every now and again.
Had they had dedicated servers for multiplayer this would have been a 6/5 from me. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well put together and hard :), 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game is superbly put together by relic and is sufficiently hard to get through on normal, the controls too are pretty decent to get to grips with though with a high dpi mouse I would recommend a 2000dpi setting till your confident enough to raise the sensitivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fun but Limited, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Story is good, though extremely cliche and as such not much to go with aside from a typical space marine story, especially what you'd expect from an ultra smurf plot.

Despite this, it was alright, The game play is a lot of fun for someone that likes a good old fashioned hack and slash with guns, its got its moments and the multiplayer is appealing.

Not something id honestly play frequently however, after a while, its fun, but it isn't overly repayable sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Value Entertainment, 17 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought the whole WH40k series (package deal as THQ are bankrupt) and Dawn of War2 was good but it is not really a RTS more a rat maze. The following sequels of DoW that followed failed to make the grade, this on the other hand is great. Its a FPS with good voice acting reasonable graphics, but the pace of the action and the combat is what makes it worth while. Its fun it really entertains its challenging and gives a sense of mastery when you succeed. The only fault is the same with most of the other WH40K games is that it is short but at least this one is bug free and fun to play. Invest and and enjoy the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD)
Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (PC DVD) by THQ (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£8.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews