Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic
As a casual 360 player and long time 40k hobbyist, this one is right at my level. The campaign was a lot of fun to play through with great characters and a good plot. Everything is true to the Warhammer 40,000 universe, even the quirky little details that make the hobby world what it is. It was long enough to keep me hooked, but didn't drag; sufficiently challenging with...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by P. James

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hammer, meet Head
I wasn't familiar with the 'Warhammer' franchise before buying this game (I based my decision to buy it solely on how much I enjoyed the demo) and initially, it's bizarre mix of hulking space soldiers and (frankly, almost endearing) orcs put me in mind of Gears of War as reimagined by Rare. Now I've almost completed the single player campaign and also dabbled in the...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Peter Parker-Penn


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 31 Jan 2012
By 
P. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a casual 360 player and long time 40k hobbyist, this one is right at my level. The campaign was a lot of fun to play through with great characters and a good plot. Everything is true to the Warhammer 40,000 universe, even the quirky little details that make the hobby world what it is. It was long enough to keep me hooked, but didn't drag; sufficiently challenging with some tricky little spots, but not so much so that it stops being fun.

However, what has really captured my interest (unexpectedly so) is the online multiplayer mode. I've previously played through Halo, Gears and some of the others but never got into the online stuff, mainly due to the overly competitive nature of those multiplayer games. If you don't purchase that game the day it's released and play online all day every day, your character is quickly out-classed and makes for an unbalanced match.

This is different. Although there is the normal levelling up system which allows access to more weapons, perks and so on as you go through, you can still compete on an even footing with the other players. If you die, you have the option of cloning the loadout of the person who killed you for one life.

The only real grumble I have is the need to purchase some of the additional content that, by rights, you'd probably expect to be included as standard in a game of this nature. Some of the extra multiplayer modes are free DLC, but the Dreadnought Assault mode (which is a lot of fun) is 800 MS Credits. That being said, the game is so cheap to start with, even with the outlay on DLC, it's still better priced than the other titles.

Hardcore gamers probably won't enjoy this as much, but I think this is a cracking game and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hammer, meet Head, 15 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I wasn't familiar with the 'Warhammer' franchise before buying this game (I based my decision to buy it solely on how much I enjoyed the demo) and initially, it's bizarre mix of hulking space soldiers and (frankly, almost endearing) orcs put me in mind of Gears of War as reimagined by Rare. Now I've almost completed the single player campaign and also dabbled in the multiplayer, and I've got to say it's one of the most enjoyable, and certainly, one of the most action-packed games I've played recently. The orcs and other monsters come at you in waves. Luckily, you've got plenty of guns and melee weapons to see them off. In Gears you can despatch enemies with a chainsaw, and Space Marine tops that by also giving you an axe or huge hammer to finish off your foes with. The brutality of these finishing moves actually made me wince (particularly the 'hammer to the head' kill) and I'm really surprised that the game isn't an '18'. In fact with it's constant gunfire, explosions, chainsaw-revving, hammer-bashing and space marine boot stomping, this is the first game I've played which has given me a headache from all the noise.
It's clear that this is a 'AAA' title. Mark Strong voices the main character, Ray Winstone voices one of his comrades, and the voice of the head orc sounds like the guy who played 'Nick The Greek' in 'Lock Stock'. It plays really well and some of the environments look amazing in their sheer scale.
One (admittedly minor) downside of the game is that you can't crouch behind cover. I know that this is a deliberate design choice to force the player into the thick of the action, but sometimes the enemies numbers are so overwhelming that you just have to hang back and attempt to pick some of 'em off. Also, to regenerate your health, you have to perform a finishing move on your foe (signalled by a 'B' appearing over their head) after wearing them down with some blows from your weapon (oo-err missus!). Although this is very straightforward when your facing an orc, I found it quite difficult to get it right when I was fighting those red demons (basically, I'd usually bash them so much they would evaporate), but that could just be due to my playing style.
However, I've really enjoyed playing Space Marine and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an action-packed 'shoot n' slash' game. The reason I've given it three stars is that after fighting through the orc hordes once, I haven't really got that much of a desire to play through it again, so in some ways I'd have to say it may be one to rent rather than own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to the 40K universe, an action packed game and a brilliant story., 11 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I rarely write reviews on games as I find that oppinion on any game can vary widely and the only way to get a good idea if you will like a game is to play it.
That said I feel this game really deserves a review. I will add that if I repeat anything everyone else has said I apologise I haven't read the other reviews.

Environment 5*

I was amazed by how Epic had captured the feel of a Warhammer 40K environment just playing the demo and was then absolutely blown away while playing the full game. They have literaly got it to a T, the graphics are slightly cartoony while still retaining a wow factor and the architecture, vehicles, everything are spot on.

Canon 4.5*

The Epic team have worked with Games Workshop for a number of years now namely on the Dawn of War Franchise which has given them an in depth feel for the Universe their games are set in. This has allowed them to create Spacemarine to a level where any 40K player, tabletop and DoW, will instantly recognise everything and I real mean everything. The only divergence I found was in the vengeance launcher, but its such a minor thing half a star is harsh. I felt that Epic have represented the Ultramarines well. The use of the three different personalities for the characters stretches the accepted Ultramarine stereotype, but then so does Uriel Ventris.

Gameplay 4*

The combat system is pretty amazing and I can't remember ever playing a game that combines melee and ranged combat with such variety and so fluidly. That said it does have a few minor annoyances that hopefully will be ironed out either in the next game or in patches. Namely the camera which at times can be extremely irritating especially on multiplayer.

Multiplayer 4*

Not played a massive amount of Multiplayer but what I have played has been enjoyable and the customisation options are massive. As noted above the camera can be a real pain and the factor that some players have unlocked equipment that kills you really quickly can be annoying. relic seem to have anticipated this though and have therefore allowed you to copy your killers loadout to even the odds.

Story 5*

Not going to say much on this as I don't want to give anything away, but I will say its long, interesting and complex, oh and the ending is very true to character. Enjoy.

I've probably missed some things but this review has got too long, if you have any questions I will reply to sensible comments.

Thank you very much relic and if you could create a game with DoW and Spacemarine combined I think it would be perfect.

Escripion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Multiplayer made difficult by hard-core gamers, 22 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
SINGLE-PLAYER;

(I love Warhammer and Warhammer 40K by the way, just thought I'd mention it ;) )

I have nothing more to add to what the other reviews have said about single-player; you will notice upon reading them that they all sound pretty similar!

MULTI-PLAYER;

A big problem with the multi-player aspect is that a lot of gamers are already on the higher levels of 'XP'. For the newcomers, you'll walk in, and face opponents with all the perks and more powerful weapons. It was very difficult to defeat enemies on the opposing team using weak weapons; you just have to slug through it and slowly gain XP as you go until you get better equipment, although it is tough!

You would say well thats natural; if you play the game enough you will get good at it and naturally be 'quick-on-the-draw', but the major disadvantage is that a lot of newcomers, and even the more seasoned players, will get a little tired of playing the multi-player aspect of the game when it's being played at an almost 'olympic standard' of skill. It can suck the fun out of the game, and become more of a constrained art-form than fun. Some gamers are ridiculously good.

Again, I stress this not really a bad thing, BUT the point is that the public games are already literally flooded with such players; like Halo 3, it can become VERY difficult to get into and get the most out of multi-player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea but repetitive, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. L. A. Okeefe "scutterluke" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great idea for a game, as someone who used to play warhammer 40 K when I saw this game was coming out I thought I would give it a go. I liked the story and the graphics were excellent. The major twist in the game was not that major as the trailers had already told me what was going to happen and the twist when you complete the game you could see coming a mile off, but that was ok I was not expecting a master piece of storytelling, and I was reasonably pleased with that part of the game
The real let down was the game play mindless button bashing again and again. If my character died I would go back and try the same tactic again and again until I was successful. There was no thought required at all, just shoot everything until it gets too close then hack everything with your close combat weapon. Then on the next level/part of the game just shoot everything until it gets too close then hack everything with .... well you get the picture.

The only redeeming feature of this game is the potential it unlocks, the Games workshop universe is huge. If they make a follow up to this game with a tweaked game play system they have so much they can do, new worlds, new enemies, new allies, new vehicles , and other space marine chapters. I just hope if they so make a sequel or a spin off they revamp the basic game play and controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am WAR!, 10 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Storming single player campaign, great combination of hack and slash action, and shooting elements. Much faster action than Gears and similar games (no ducking and waiting for NPCs to pop out of their cover) just charge in and let rip!

Perhaps not the most original game, but who cares? It is well managed, intuitive controls, nice selection of weapons and tactics, decent story, solid graphics and execution moves.

Treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent and Solid, 9 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've been playing the single player campaign for 5+ hours now, and I like what I have seen.
As it says in the title this is a decent game, it is not the best game that will be out in these final few months of 2011 but it certainly will not be the worst!
As for the game, pretty standard third person shooter, it is a long way from orginal, every aspect of it you will have played before in other games this is not different, added to the shooting is a hack and slash element, it mixs the two very well,no need for frustration on the gamers part, simply press a different button and the sword is in play, press a different one again and gun is back out ready for use, there is a good range of weapons on offer, like gears simply select via the d-pad,as is common in most hack and slash games different button combos are there to be used and mastered, animation is okay, nothing spectacular but it is to acceptable levels,and certainly helps convey the 40k world well. voice acting is pretty weak, orks have those dodgy mockney accents, Chaos marines have their lisps etc, (just like Dawn of War)
If your a fan of 40k or like 3rd person shooters in general this game will keep you intrested, if your not into 40k then this is a pretty decent game on it's own merits and worth considering.
Of course the major problem for this game is - that it is coming out alongside a whole host of top-draw titles,and as good as it is, if you only have money for a limited number of games this year, then your not be choosing this over Gears, or CoD or Skyrim (to name but a few)
And as much as I like this game I can't advise you to spend your money on this game rather than them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 7 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While the campaign may get quite repetitive and tedious, the graphics are beautiful and the quality of play is great. The online... perhaps the best I have ever played, especially 'Exterminatus' mode, where four marines work together to defend themselves against 20 increasingly difficult waves of orks. Probably in my top 5 games of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, hopefully more to follow, 7 Jun 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
In short: A solid if unspectacular first attempt at a shooter in the Warhammer 40K universe on the latest generation of consoles which should appeal to anyone looking for something simple, fun to play and a little different from other shooters on the market.

In detail: This is a very solid opening foray into the world of Warhammer 40K as a shooter on the 360/PS3 platforms. All the main aspects of the game as a whole are above average, split with some very good elements and some less so.

The gameplay overall is enjoyable & very action oriented being an uncomplicated succession of shooting and slashing. The shooting element is a third person over the shoulder view, which does not make use of any cover system (beyond standing and trying to hide behind something via angles). The hand to hand combat sees you wading in with your weapon laying waste to scores of foes. This can get a little repetitive after a while and can lead to recurring button bashing albeit with a varied selection of hand to hand weapons. In short the two styles can be likened to GoW but without cover for the shooting element and Arkham Asylum without the long combo chains or use of environment for the hand to hand parts.
While this is good fun apart from shooting or hacking up your enemies there is little variation or interaction with the environment which may lead to some feeling of repetition after a while.

Graphically the above story of good and bad is very true. The levels and atmospherics are superb capturing the massive scale gothic style architecture which mankind of the 40K universe uses - for some 40K fans this giving life to the universe may be reason enough to buy. However the graphical rendering of the orks is not so good as, with the exception of the largest enemies, they generally appear more like something out of a comic and bearing little resemblance to the hulking green tide of violence portrayed in the 40K universe generally.
The sound likewise has good ambiance with some nice touches such as the exhortations of the computerised overseers not to let production drop despite the carnage going on. The voice acting of the orks is truly awful though, and again would be more suited to a comic strip than computer game.

Without giving away any spoilers the graphical and vocal elements improve as the game goes on.

The weapons are varied and provide a good degree of space marine shooty death kill but with nothing unexpected being the usual mix of long range, short range, general weapon etc. Fans of 40K may be a little disappointed with some of the representation of the weapons - e.g. the standard Bolter never gives the impression in graphics or sound that you are firing a booming succession of high calibre explosive shells feeling more like a standard assault rifle (this is also mirrored by the high number of shots it takes to put down all but the weakest of enemies).
For 40K fans the choice of the rather bland Ultramarines as the chapter to play seems to irk a little given some of the reviews I've read however as this is (hopefully) the first of several games set in this universe by choosing a more generic, covers-all-areas chapter rather than one of those with a more idiosyncratic style this game is made more accessible to the mass market it will need to support it as well as hopefully more titles.

Multiplayer is fun, though hard to begin with as the weapons unlocked at later levels are significantly better than those of the standard class which you begin with. You are given a choice of three classes which loosely translate as generalist, close quarters and heavy weapons. This should lead to more tactical playing though this is not essential to win and hard to implement unless playing in a party. There are none of the annoying kill streak rewards which can blight other shooter multiplayer games which also makes a positive difference in my view. The option to customise your character is a simple but nice touch allowing a large number of armour and Space Marine Chapter configurations, again this is a nice touch for those familiar with the 40K universe.

To sum up then a third person shooter worth buying for the differing environment in which it is set. For any fan of 40K this really is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd person shooter that's just above average, 12 April 2012
By 
Mr. E. G. J. Smith (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For those of you who already know the Games Workshop created Warhammer 40K universe the setting of this game will be familiar territory. For those who don't, it is the 41st century and the universe is in constant war. Mankind faces enemies in the form of twisted aliens as well as the forces of Chaos - demons who twist and taint the hearts of man. One of humanity's main defenses are the Spacemarines, genetically engineered supersoldiers clad in thick mechanical armour. You play Captain Titus of the Ultramarine chapter.

Over recent years, games such as Gears of War have been classified as Spacemarine shooters, and it shows the impact of the Games Workshop's iconic warriors that they are the stereotype that other armoured warmongers ae labelled as.

The studio have done well to make you feel like you are a heavily-armoured powerhouse. Every step seems like it weighs a ton, as it would do, but your character isn't sluggish; instead, your Spacemarine's super-muscular body and the mechanically-aided armour they wear mean that you can sprint across the battlefield and then twirl and spin in close-combat. The melee is bloody and the weaponry feels like it causes the damage you'd expect - the chainsword, part chainsaw part sword, grinds through the green-skinned orks with messy ease. The other-half of the combat, the shooting, also feels as you'd expect. The blocky bolter rifles thump into your Spacemarine's shoulder with each shot, and the explosive shells they fire burst into your enemies.

The game isn't perfect. It's linear, and the combat can feel a little repetitive at times. However, the levels are suitably epic, and being a fan of the Warhammer boardgames and models, I felt like I'd stepped into the worlds as I'd imagined them. The multiplayer is pretty fun, and the customisation that is available helps add a little more interest.

Bottom-line: A fairly decent 3rd person shooter with good melee thrown in. While it's not the most original, the universe it's set in IS the original. If you are a fan of Warhammer 40,000 then this game is an excellent item to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine (Xbox 360)
8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews