Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary as hell... then not...
Not many films scare me these days. Mostly it's all gore or cheap shocks. But gut-churning scares are something of a rarity. Insidious, the new film from Saw director, James Wan, has chills and creeps a-plenty, with the obligatory jump-out-of-your-seat shocks thrown in for good measure.

Josh and Renai Lambert (Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne) have three kids, two...
Published on 16 July 2011 by Mr. S. Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK nothing great
The film was enjoyable as long as you don't critique it for a potential OSCAR award! The budget wasn't very high which is shown in the last 30 mins or so but on the whole it was a fresh take on the supernatural genre and I did enjoy it, maybe wouldn't watch it again for a while as there were a few frustrating parts but definitely not the worst film ever made...
Published 10 months ago by eve25


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary as hell... then not..., 16 July 2011
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
Not many films scare me these days. Mostly it's all gore or cheap shocks. But gut-churning scares are something of a rarity. Insidious, the new film from Saw director, James Wan, has chills and creeps a-plenty, with the obligatory jump-out-of-your-seat shocks thrown in for good measure.

Josh and Renai Lambert (Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne) have three kids, two young boys and a baby girl. Soon after moving into a new house, weird stuff starts happening: strange noises, glimpses of figures, the usual. When Rose is attacked by a spectral figure and their son, Dalton, ends up in a coma-that's-not-really-a-coma, they decide to move house again.

Obviously this doesn't help and Josh's mum (Barbara Hershey) calls in a psychic, Elise, and her team to help. Turns out it's not the houses that were haunted, but Dalton. You see, the young scamp can astral project himself to a place Elise calls The Further. Unfortunately, he's strayed too far and got lost, unable to find his way back to his body, which is now an empty vessel attracting spirits and demons like flies around... you know.

Luckily, the ability to project astrally is genetic (hard science!), so Josh has to go in and bring back his son before the big bad can get his literal claws into him.

Doesn't sound too scary, does it? Actually sounds a bit like a rip-off of Poltergeist. Yeah, well, it is a bit. But it's a flippin' scary one!

From the outset, you are peering into dark corners, wondering if you saw something there. Was that a face at the window? Did somebody walk by that open door just then? There's plenty of that and all's well and good while that's going on. It's when the astral projection sub-plot arrives that things go a bit awry.

The movie is terrifying right until Josh enters his astral state and then it all gets a bit Twilight Zone. Sure, there are some scares to be had and the demon is petrifying to look at (kind of like Darth Maul on a really bad day), but it all seems removed from the main body of the film, as though they came up short in the writing and had to add another fifteen pages to pad it out. As I said, a bit too much like Poltergeist.

Apart from that, however, I really, really enjoyed Insidious and I don't mind telling you, it did creep me out so much that I contemplated leaving the landing light on (I didn't in the end and every tiny sound in the house suddenly became amplified a zillion percent!). One of the producers of the film was Oren Peli, he of Paranormal Activity fame, and there was more than a hint of that film in Insidious.

By the way, watch the film and try to guess the budget... I'll wait here until you get back.... Done that? Not bad, eh? Anyway, did you guess the budget? Me neither, but apparently, the budget for Insidious was a paltry $1.5million. A million and a half bucks!! That wouldn't pay for the bowls of M&Ms on a big studio picture. For that alone, I am willing to cut the film a whole bunch of slack and recommend it to anybody who wants the willies scaring out of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely chilling., 17 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
Often the scariest films are about ordinary people in ordinary settings:this can work very well because one can identify easily with the situation and therefore experiance the fear and horror suffered by the victims.

This film falls into that catagory.The actors were very believable,including the children,which added to the chilling atmosphere as the plot unfolded.

It certainly raised the hairs on my back without any gore or cgi's in sight.Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
This films throws every horror cliché there is at the screen but still manages to scare the bejeesus out of you. Good build up, creepy faces in the background and jump out of your seats screams. You can pretty much predict what is going to happen but it makes you feel more part of the movie and it still makes you jump (there's nothing better than knowing when something scary is going to happen and still feeling scared).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly scary horror film!, 9 Oct 2011
By 
C. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insidious [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Nowadays I often watch horror films claiming to be the scariest film yet blah blah blah when they're really just tame and add nothing to the genre. Once again I watched Insidious with same casual expectations, however this time I was pleasantly surprised. Insidious is a horror that does not simply reel off every cliche and idea one by one until the end credits, oh no. In this film, there is a real feeling of dread and terror as each new scene approaches. There will always be people that say something isn't scary (usually because they are too vain or embarrassed to admit such a thing), and many will say it about this movie. In this case they would be wrong to do so, and this film does not deserve to be thrown in with the usual mountain of over hyped pap that is available. This film is scary. Very scary. At times I found myself sitting with my jaws agape because some of the shocks & scares just hit the spot so brilliantly. I won't go into detail about the story or characters - you don't need to know any of these details - just go into it with an open mind and sit back & enjoy. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this DVD had me very scared and on the edge of my seat which is what I want from a horror film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
If you like to get scared, watch this but just don't watch it alone! One of the best I would rate that I have seen in a few years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK nothing great, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
The film was enjoyable as long as you don't critique it for a potential OSCAR award! The budget wasn't very high which is shown in the last 30 mins or so but on the whole it was a fresh take on the supernatural genre and I did enjoy it, maybe wouldn't watch it again for a while as there were a few frustrating parts but definitely not the worst film ever made.

Would have really benefited from a higher budget and there was a few scary parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but different and effective!, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
Insidious tells the story of a family at breaking point
as there home is infested with demons attempting to posess
their child,telling the story of one families struggle with
good versus evil.

From the director of Saw combining with the makers of Paranormal
activity,Insidious is a new dimension in horror.There were parts
to me that were far fetched amnd borrowed elements from other movies
but overall deeply disturbing.Unlike Saw,Insidious concentrates more
on making the audeince jump out of their minds rather than put excessive
gore onto the screen.Their is also a twist at the end that still gives me
sleepless nights...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tiptoe Through the Tulips., 6 Oct 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
Insidious is directed by James Wan and written by Leigh Whannell. It stars Patrick Wilson, Rose Byrne, Ty Simpkins, Barbara Hershey, Lin Shaye, Andrew Astor and Leigh Whannell. Music is scored by Joseph Bishara and cinematography by John R. Leonetti.

The team behind Saw and Dead Silence bring us Insidious, one of the finest exponents of the haunted house movie in the modern era. Of course that doesn't count for much with those not particularly struck by the formula, but Insidious does seem to be one of the very few horror sub-genre movies to come out with better than average appraisals.

Of course it's not perfect, few films, especially in horror world, can stand up and come through unscathed by critics and fans alike, yet for the like minded adults who can set the mood and channel themselves into the boo jump and creepy atmosphere world wrung out by Wan and Whannell, then Insidious is the bomb.

Much has been made of the shift in the last third, where the film brings in Astral Projection as its reasoning for the pant soiling previously unleashed. Undeniably the film runs away with itself, goes too far and the last 15 minutes are a chaotic mess of bold ideas and inadequate staging. However, it's interesting to note how often the haunted house movie in recent times gets accused of not bringing something new to the table, something thrown at the wonderful Woman in Black that followed Insidious down the pipe. Here the makers offer up something different, true, it hasn't worked in the way they or the hardened genre fans would have liked, but personally I found on second viewing it is easily forgivable. It's like riding your favourite Big Dipper, you enjoy the spins and upside down scream moments, but just tolerate the flat standard drive stretches of track while your heart tries to steady its beat.

When Insidious is hitting its heights it's utterly thrilling and unnerving, paced to perfection, it builds from whispered voices on a baby monitor to entities invading the home of the poor Lambert family. The mystery element is strong, just what do they want? Why is son Dalton in a coma but the medical boffins have no idea why? How come the entities have followed the Lambert's even when they move house? The latter of which is refreshing to see in the screenplay, it's a logical move but so often it's not done in other horror movies. The jumps are nicely placed throughout and a number of scenes are so freaky they get under your skin and stay there for some time: seriously, I don't think I'll ever be able to listen to Tiptoe Through the Tulips again without my blood being chilled. The use of photographs and mirrors bring the goose flesh to the skin, while Lin Shaye's arrival as the paranormal physic, and the subsequent use of a gas mask, keep things ticking on the freaky deaky scale.

It borrows ideas and takes its tonal cues from other horror movies, definitely, and the second half doesn't live up to the promise of the first; hell I'll even concede that a certain entity is badly designed, but Insidious does have something new to offer the formula, it's also well performed by the cast, that itself is a rarity. It hasn't resonated with all, but it was a monster hit at the box office, making nearly $85 million in profit. The market for a good haunted house spooker is always open, Insidious, in spite of its second half irks, sits in the top draw with the best of them. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing break from all that torture..., 12 Aug 2011
This review is from: Insidious [DVD] (DVD)
Scares are back on the menu again in mainstream horror with Insidious, a modern take on classic possession and haunted house flicks, featuring a spooky child and the all important weird paranormal investigators that help to balance out the frights with a little welcome humour.

What a spooky movie can do that a torture-porn epic can't is take you on a rollercoaster ride. Moments of comedy are viciously cut dead by sudden jumps but then the funny parts help bring you back to earth a little before the next shock. I find this much more entertaining than spending 90 minutes looking between my fingers as hapless people get ripped to shreds by onscreen sadists. Body horror endurance tests are a part of the scene, but it's great to see something that harks back to classics like The Entity and Poltergeist while adding a fresh twist to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insidious [DVD]
Insidious [DVD] by James Wan (DVD - 2011)
8.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews