Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT SLEEPER
I was taken in by the opening credits as an outline of a brain turns into a city. I am a big sucker for that microcosm/ macrocosm stuff.

Edward has writer's block. He has a book contract for some reason, yet hasn't written a word. His girlfriend, who was his meal ticket leaves him. Bummed out he decides to go live on a bunk bed at Dad's place in New Jersey, but...
Published 20 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Decent enough entertaining up to a point ,held together by Bradley Coopers decent performance one or two twists in the storyline not bad if bought cheap
Published 10 months ago by Happy chap


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT SLEEPER, 8 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
I was taken in by the opening credits as an outline of a brain turns into a city. I am a big sucker for that microcosm/ macrocosm stuff.

Edward has writer's block. He has a book contract for some reason, yet hasn't written a word. His girlfriend, who was his meal ticket leaves him. Bummed out he decides to go live on a bunk bed at Dad's place in New Jersey, but then bumps into his ex-brother-in-law, who is a drug dealer. He offers Edward a pill that increases a person's use of their brain. They can recall everything they have seen or read and can correlate it to increase intelligence. The smarter a person is to begin with, the more data they have to work with. Edward is a smart guy to begin with, so he is able to start his book. The downside is that the pill wears off. Not only does one lose the abilities, but they get a little ADD, and throw up like a heroin addict. Too much of the pill causes a Mr. Hyde type of character including blackouts. Edward's supplier is murdered and Edward finds his stash of pills and a wad of cash.

Edward uses his ability to make money on Wall Street. He catches the attention of big time corporations as well as the Russian mafia. He quickly finds out people who take the smart pill eventually die from either taking too much or running out. Edward must try to balance his life.

I loved the concept. I loved how they did the drug effect with simple but effective camera tricks. Anyone who has come down off of cocaine, LSD, or heroin knows how Edward feels and he portrays a man coming off drugs very well.

I even liked the ending, although the last few minutes should have been stretched out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, intellectual thriller, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
The concept behind the film, being of a pill which can allow the user to make use of the full power of the brain, and the fact Robert De Niro is cast, makes this a must watch film in itself.

But what of it? A cleverly written script flows along without ever confusing the viewer, and the explanations as to how the pill works is kept to a minimum, to allow the scenarios to take place and ensure the plot isn't interrupted by needless medical jargon.

There are a couple of plotholes which occur, but that aside, the film is a worthwhile watch with many twists and turns, some of which happen in such a short period of time and really grab your attention. Although Robert De Niros role is 'limited', his very presence is suited to the overall casting and premise of the film.

The only real downside is the editing. Films are usually edited to ensure they fit into the 90 minute timeframe, and although the scenes in the first 80 minutes seemed to gel and had you transfixed throughout, the latter part felt rushed to achieve its conclusion. If only the cinema goers attention span was limitless.

Overall a stylish, entertaining, intellectual thriller, where dialogue and plot take centre stage rather than car chases and explosions, but a directors cut, where the film can flow for its duration would be ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'BRILLIANT WATCH', 20 Sept. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Limitless [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This for me is a ''must -see' movie.
The tale is about 'Eddie Morra'(Bradley Cooper) who leads a pretty mundane life, he write's, however this has not brought about any success...........his life is going nowhere.....until --his ex-brother-in-law hands him an untested tablet 'NZI' after a chance meeting.
The tablet suddenly gives 'Eddie' a level of clarity-of-mind and a wide memory range.
'Eddie'' wants more.............his sudden found knowledge and sharp reactions attract the attention of 'high-flyer's' in the business world including 'Carl Van Loon' (Robert De Niro) along many that will stop at nothing to obtain the 'tablet'
'Eddie's' abilities with the tablet are truly ''limitless' giving him the opportunity to earn an unlimited fortune, however he needs a constant supply from the designer of the drug.
Certainly worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film for our times, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Limitless [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Limitless is a film with some grand ideas - so grand that at times it struggles to encapsulate them. Much has been made of the film's stance on drugs but I actually think this is incidental to the story rather than at its core: Bradley Cooper's character takes addictive pills, therefore he will inevitably exhibit signs of drug addiction, that's it.

For me this film has two main themes:

Firstly - what the difference is between successful people and otherwise unsuccessful people. Might this be explained by some sort of conspiracy theory (one possibly involving a secret wonder drug?) It's a fanciful idea maybe, but it is a question worth exploring, one which many of those on the lower rungs will have pondered in some way at some time in their lives.

Secondly - and even more interestingly, the film highlights the fact that even without pills EVERYONE is (mainly because of the internet - though that is not a theme here) becoming omniscient which poses questions about what could this mean for the near future.

I think it's true to say that there are holes in the plot of "Limitless" and/or aspects which could have been better, but the grandness of the concept raises big questions that a film can't possibly answer. Some have criticised the film's weak ending - I think the ending is in fact ambiguous and not necessarily meant to be taken literally - similar in a way e.g. to the ending of The King of Comedy [DVD] [1982]

Overall Limitless's success comes down to the fact that its makers were able to convey such big ideas in a watchable way and, do so with such visual flare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIMITLESS, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
"I don't have delusions of grandeur. I have an actual recipe for grandeur."

So says Eddie Morra in this thought provoking thriller, based on the Alan Glynn novel "The Dark Fields".

It is said that we barely use 10% of our brain. (Some say the figure is probably nearer to the 1% mark. But who the heck really knows?)

What if we could take a pill, a mental Viagra, to access the remaining 90% at will? That's the premise of this film.

Eddie Morra, played by Bradley Cooper, begins to discover the possibilities after he has his first experience with NZT, a new experimental but unregulated drug. He writes his first novel in a few days ("Illuminating the Dark Fields", appropriately enough). He learns to play the piano in just three days. He becomes fluent in several languages. And he decides to make pots of money.

Pretty soon his growing reputation attracts the attention of big financier Carl Van Loon, played by Robert de Niro.

But other forces are at work who also want a slice of the action. In addition, Eddie has to work out what to do to counteract the side affects of the drug. And, like all drug addicts, he needs a constant supply coming on tap. Eddie also discovers, following 18 hours of missing time, that his new drug of choice does not mix well with alcohol.

One inconsistency in the movie is when Eddie forgets to pay off his loan shark the $100,000 he owes. Duh! The pill for the day must have been a placebo. (You would think the screenplay would come up with a more elegant way of introducing the Russian Mafia into the equation).

Could such a drug be available for mankind in the future? What would the implications be? Would the Beatles have made the Sergeant Pepper album without LSD? Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds?

As a thriller I would rate this a 4 star. I've upped it to 5 stars for the interesting sci-fi theme that the film deals with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining drug fuelled New York odyssey, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
This is well a directed and slickly edited film about addiction and dependency, decisions and consequences. A vivid and garish adventure into an unforgiving world. A dark humour pervades the film resulting in an enjoyable odyssey.

Bradley Cooper is impressive as Eddie Morra, a despondent failure. A chance encounter and a pill changes everything. He is presented with an opportunity to change his life and does so with alacrity. When the inevitable consequences of his drug dependency occur he needs to act quickly in order to survive. The film ends with an optimism not discernible in the previous 100 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Surprise, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
N. Lang "bluekapow" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
From the trailers I had seen, this didn't really look to be a great film, but after watching it I was rather impressed. Finally in a main role that has some bite, Cooper plays his role flawlessly.

The underlying theme is clever, making the viewer ask themselves some moral questions - what would you do given the chance?

Shot in a thoughtful and impactful way throughout, the director uses a miriad of colours and subtle effects to bring you into the different, clearer world in which our protagonist finds himself.

The ending was good, not the obvious choice, which makes the film better. De Niro's role wasn't quite fleshed out enough to have the impact intended, but overall a very enjoyable film, kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing good fun, 24 May 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
Bradley Cooper (The Hangover) plays Edward "Eddie" Morra an unkempt writer-come-loser who has recently been dumped by his long-term girlfriend (Abbie Cornish) for a complete lack of drive. When he bumps into his drug-dealing ex-brother-in-law, he is given an experimental new drug called NZT. The pitch is; it allows you to "access 100% of your brain", whilst there is no high or intoxication, NZT brings clarity like no other nootropic before. Everything you have learnt, seen, read, overheard or even just glimpsed becomes neatly ordered and integrated into your thoughts. Naturally, this turns Eddie into a super-motivated genius with the solution for anything. However when Eddie's dealer turns up dead and strange men start following him in the street, his meteoric rise to stardom - fuelled by NZT - starts to look like it might run out of steam all too soon. Will Eddie climb high enough before the drug runs out? Or will the shadier elements of the experimental pharmacological world catch up with him first?

Limitless is a great film with snappy direction (credit to Neil Burger) shot in such a way that the stylised scenes allow us to experience Eddie's high. The concept is supported by a great cast (Robert De Niro, the beautiful Anna Friel and Abbie Cornish) and some great scenes (The party where Eddie is literally everywhere at once and holding about thirty simultaneous conversations stands out). Of course this is Hollywood, so the morals of taking a drug to better yourself is countered by the negatives of addiction, withdrawal and inevitably, death. It's a weighty issue for this light-hearted film to deal with when all we really want to see is Eddie rule the stock market, solve the worlds problems and get the girl but obviously; it couldn't be that simple. There are numerous plot devices that are all mashed in together in an effort to reinforce the message that drugs are bad [M'kay] but in the end did we really need an incompetent Russian Mafioso and a completely inept private investigator following Eddie the entire film? Probably not, it doesn't add anything to the story, but that's what we've got and that's what makes this a four-star film opposed to a five star.

Extra content: There is a featurette called "A Man Without Limits", an unrated extended cut (it's about 6 minutes longer), the usual "making of" segment and an alternate ending which is definitely worth a watch if you liked the concept.

All in all, Bradley Cooper's most charismatic performance to date, a great story - despite the unnecessary plot threads - but ends up being bogged down by trying to lecture the audience on just how bad drugs are. If you love the film, check out the book it's based on; The Dark Fields by Adam Glynn for the un-abridged non-Hollywood version of the tale. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired me to take up writing on the side, 18 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that the inspiration I just wrote was the last thing I would expect to happen when I purchased this limitless (starring Bradley cooper) dvd at my walmart job for just five dollars back around September 2014. After all, my husband and I enjoyed watching limitless together when we saw it in movie theaters in 2011 and were both drawn to the idea of the possibilities that could be unleashed if a person can increase their intelligence/genius by just taking a pill. I was mainly looking to explore that possibility again when I purchased this limitless dvd,but something just clicked in me in the scene when he accomplishes the feat of writing his novel. There have also been a series of positive incidences that have also gave me a reminder on how seeking out wisdom and striving for the greatness of genius have been discussed; a natalie portman articIe online where she acknowledged the importance of intellectual growth (I intend to update this review later with one of the articles because I’m aware she is widely known for both her brains and beauty), coming across a book at my job where a woman realized that her beauty can only carry her so far and that her greater focus must be on wisdom, a local news article discussing benedict cumberbatch’s role in the imitation game, and a yahoo news connection on chris hemsworth starring in an upcoming movie based on someone known for their genius). However, I wish to avoid saying more on it and to just at least acknowledge that this movie limitless and the actor’s (Bradley cooper)portrayal inspired me to pursue a side writing career ( a new years resolution). Bradley cooper stars as the character of eddie morra, whose life turns 180 degree turn for the better when he is given a pill that expands his potential. Morra ends up attacting the wealth and love that he craves. However, he meets gets his life turned upside down by another powerful and wealth man named Carl Van loon (Robert DeNiro) who would like to exploit his abilities at morra’s expense. The following dvd extras are attributed to limitless; immortals, the warriors way, season of the witch, x-men first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 14 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Limitless [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed every single minute of this film. Bradley Cooper is great (love that he seems to have no vanity and never takes himself too seriously). The film is fast moving, action packed and full of twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Limitless [DVD]
Limitless [DVD] by Neil Burger (DVD - 2011)
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews