Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars95
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2011
Hobo with a Shotgun is directed by Jason Eisener and written by John Davies. It stars Rutger Hauer, Brian Downey, Gregory Smith, Molly Dunsworth, Robb Wells and Nick Bateman. Music is by Alexander Rosborough and cinematography by Karim Hussain.

A homeless hobo (Hauer) hitches a freight train lift into Hope Town and finds a city imploding with corruption, violence, drugs and sexual deviance. Initially trying to keep out of the way and get on with his meagre existence, the hobo finally cracks and decides he can no longer sit back and watch such lawlessness. Helping himself to a shotgun from the local pawn shop, hobo goes on a one man killing crusade.

Born out of a trailer that accompanied the original full release of Rodriguez/Tarrantino's Grindhouse venture, Hobo with a Shotgun is horror exploitation made with abundant glee. Blending Death Wish like vigilantism with 70s and 80s styled schlock, Jason Eisener has crafted an utterly tasteless, yet wonderfully entertaining, piece of cinema. Violence is broad and completely bloody, as heads are exploded, bodies punctured and characters slotted in a series of increasingly strange ways, while the characters that inhabit Hope Town are downright nasty and equally weird. From bully boy Tom Cruise homage brother bastards Ivan & Slick, to a paedophile Santa Claus, and on to The Plague-two metal suited fetish killers sent to take out the hobo-it's bizarreville for sure.

It's all driven by a great turn from Hauer, who manages to play it with raw and subtle emotion, even as the rage takes control of him and he deals death as surely as he delivers a memorable line. Around him are a bunch of no mark actors, but this works in the films favour, the material doesn't need star wattage to drive its motor, besides which, you will undoubtedly come out of the film remembering the characters these actors have played. Shot in suitably lurid Technicolor by Hussain and featuring an on the money score by Rosborough, all the elements for a Grindhouse feature fall into place. It basically does what the title suggests it will, yes it may at times veer towards crassness, and what social comment depthness is intended gets lost as Eisener gets carried away with the carnage, but this is a whole bunch of fun for adults who remember the past movies this homages and parodies in equal measure. 8/10
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Gory, gratuitous, manic fun, Hobo With a Shotgun is a grindhouse b-movie with plenty of guts to show. Rutger Haur hasn't had this much fun for years. Playing the part of the travelling hobo he arrives in a town run by a nefarious gang who have no limits when it comes to dishing out hard punishments.

Deciding something must be done he takes up arms with his shotgun and single handedly takes on the gang. The action is brutal and OTT. Nothing is shied away from. Heads leave their bodies, people are crushed and dismembered. Anything goes.

This isn't for the faint hearted and will offend a lot of people. However that would be missing the point. This is pure pastiche. Unabashed craziness harking back to the grubby grindhouse of he 70's. in short it is not to be taken seriously.

Cheesy and fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
It's very clear that Jason Eisener the director is a very sentimental guy. Here he is really wearing his sleeve on his heart or his heart on his sleeve, I forget sorry.

It's a throwback to the exploitation over the top violence that Eisener was clearly brought up watching.
Hobo is a good movie, quite shocking in some scenes and very shoot em up loud.
It's like watching an adult version of the old Batman TV series.
And it's very dark and glum which fits perfectly with the atmosphere. One would be forgiven for thinking that Eusener grew up in a dodgy east end estate the way he has shot this film.

And credit to Hauer for accepting the role. What other 70 year old would play a hobo.... with a shotgun.
Hauer is without doubt the coolest grandaddy of all time.

Oh and the DVD cover is wicked!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
I've just watched this movie again, for about the third time, and has lost none of its impression since my first viewing a year, or so, ago. Seriously, anybody who watches or buys a movie like this must have an idea of whats in store, so i dont understand the negative reviews. We know it models itself on 70s/80s grindhouse styles, bringing with it the flavour of exploitation movies of that era - over the top blood and gore, over the top budget acting by some key players, trashed and run down locations, some fantastical plot turns, etc. BUT these are all put in there rightful place in this AWESOME movie.
First, lets get this straight: everything, in the way this movie is made, is INTENTIONAL and DELIBERATE. The makers of this movie knew exactly what they were doing, and how to do it. Any acting that looks cheap is MEANT to look cheap - thats how it was in grindhouse movies of old, albeit unintentionally, and thats what gave those old low budget movies that extra flavour, something different, and on occasion, something refreshing and unique, and "Hobbo with a shotgun" pays homage to that.
Second: Rutger Haur puts so much weight behind his character that he manages to totally outweigh any shortcomings in the film, injecting so much heart and credibility into his role that you really do love his "hobbo". His lines are great, and he plays it straight, and there a few scenes that, plainly, take this way beyond your average grindhouse - the scene in the hospital where he talks to the babies, for instance - WOW! They really picked the right man for the role in Rutger, he did a bang-up job!
Also, his scenes with the girl he befriends add more depth to the film as a whole, and show that the makers had more in mind than just some mindless, copycat trashfest - this is a grindhouse homage with s big heart, and succeeds in bringing this unique genre to, at least,the next
level.
Third: the story itself is actually really good. Without giving too much away.........on the other hand no, i wont say anything. Its not world changing, and others have gone into it before in other reviews, but i will say that it moves along at a good pace, is never, ever dull or boring, and there's a few additions to the main plot that just make this different and more captivating than other movies of the same ilk.
Suffice it to say that i will be watching this again, many more times. My only regret this time was that i watched it in the afternoon - i think its a night time movie, but thats just my preference.
P.S. Top marks to Rutger for having the balls to take on a role in a movie that alot of so-called actors would be too afraid to do - TOP JOB!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 May 2012
This is one of the coolest movies ever made!! If your a big lover of Grindhouse movies and 80's classic cheesy gore movies and exploitation then look no further! This is everything rolled into one, the story is great a Hobo comes to a new town full of corruption and takes it into his own hands to sort it out!! Rutger Hauer is totally outstanding in his lead role, there is plenty of blood and guts to chew on for any horror fan, this is one awesome rollercoaster ride from beginning to end!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
Hobo with a shotgun is an awfully over-disturbing and utterly repulsive reminder of just how controversial Robocop is! but hobo is like 1000 times more discriminating to the planet, this is just plane sick and intellegently thought up in the most horrid way possible, its like a 1000 volts running through your brain after an hang over, the director and writer of hobo must be very warped people and I would not like to meet them lol
hobo is a film about a very shocking and beyong our imagination (twisted) world full of every day thugs and evil criminals sweeping through the streets and committing terrible and repulsive crime sprees, even the cops in this film are corrupt and the film itself = a negative view of life and people.
its just so upsetting and the whole film shows loads of brain damaging and devastating sick and depraved crimes that'll make you feel broken inside.

the problem with hobo is that the film will defiantly be too unpleasent and ruthless for a lot of people in the fact it contains beyond evil content and disgusting acts of the most cruel murder scnes on a film.

only buy this depressing and distresser if you can really handle what you are going to be forced to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
This movie is nothing more than gore and shock value, now you would think a film with a lot of blood, guts, sexual violence, kids getting killed would be quite funny but it's actually quite serious. This movie is set in a town in which the worst kind of crime goes down, it's a pretty scary film because of how it makes you think and that's another reason I like it, i heard it was very funny but I found it hard to find it really funny although it was funny in places and made me laugh. This movie has millions of those moments where you can't help but laugh, some parts are genuinely funny while other parts you think "Should I or should I not laugh?" It's a interesting movie and anyone who likes this kind of thing should give it a go. I wouldn't say this movie is a full on comedy, but it's not a full on drama either, I honestly don't know what you would call this? A very dark comedy/drama I guess, Either way, it's worth watching. I should also state this movie is very over the top so it's very easy not to take seriously, but some parts i felt i had to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
Hobo With A Shotgun seemingly an entry into the 70's Grindhouse revival on the back
of Tarantino/rodriguez output and similar films that followed like Larry Bishops Hell Ride,at
least that's what the early trailer seemed to suggest generating much interest at the
time.
In the end though the final film is much more in the vein of 80's and 90's Troma
output along the lines of Toxic Avenger and Class Of Nuk'em High.This is no bad thing though as
Rutger Hauer is on great form as the down and out avenger for a held-up community needing to
make a stand.Ably assisted by a plucky prostitute(Molly Dunsworth)He dispatches the wacky bad guys usually in some gory
inventive way.

The Blu Ray offers up a very nice image and a whole host of extras from cast/crew commentaries to
Q&A interviews and various making of extra features which given the low budget constraints of the film
are well worth watching for the work that went into making it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
With lines like "I want to cut off my c**k and rub it against your your t*****s" you know you are in for a cult classic! It is gloriously violent and hilarious with a rough looking Rutger Hauer running around with a shotgun dispatching justice on corrupt cops and crooks alike. Anyone who has watched the death wish franchise or Seagal films will recognise all the familiar tropes and cliches here that is wrapped around a sick sense of humour and ultraviolence. Check out the decapitation and head splattering scenes!

Of course this is not a film to be taken too seriously. It is essentially a revenge comedy with a splattering of blood but if you grew up on a diet of classic 80s movies like Rambo, Die hard and Mad max than you will probably love this B movie pastiche. It is certainly not for the faint hearted!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I've reviewed this film in full at Knifed in Venice for anyone looking the ins and outs of a critical review for anyone who doesn't it's great but if you don't like Exploitation cinema you'll not get much out of HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)