Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Audio Recording & Editing Tool for Home Use
I have tried almost all well-known audio editing tools including those bundled with video editors and, in my opinion, nothing comes close to this Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 for ease of use, price, and performance. This tool has an intuitive user interface, reasonably priced - price here on Amazon about half the direct sale price by Sony online outlet - and most...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Kaio

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DIFFICULT OPERATION
This product lacks written operating instructions, Difficult to get into the full benefits especially if you are a novice at music editing.
Published on 11 Dec 2010 by Knuckles-MT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Audio Recording & Editing Tool for Home Use, 11 April 2012
By 
Kaio (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I have tried almost all well-known audio editing tools including those bundled with video editors and, in my opinion, nothing comes close to this Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 for ease of use, price, and performance. This tool has an intuitive user interface, reasonably priced - price here on Amazon about half the direct sale price by Sony online outlet - and most importantly the productivity is great, i.e., you can get a job done (audio recording, audio editing, and further manipulations with effects) with minimal overhead.

For someone mainly interested in audio restoration, the Tools menu provides a simple interface for tweaking restoration parameters (such as click removal, noise reduction) and testing the audio in real time with a convenient bypass toggle to compare the audio with and without a chosen restoration setup.

If a more comprehensive audio manipulation is desired, the Process and Effects menu commands provide more of the audio filtering and enhancing techniques. At any point, if you're satisfied with a particular setting, you can save the setup as a custom pre-set so that you can re-use it with other audio files (in effect you're creating kind of your own sound FX which is nice).

Beyond the above techniques, this tool also provides an interface to plugins for the likes of DirectX Audio to harness more creativity with audio recording and processing. This tool will also 'attempt to detect' if there are other sound FX plugins already on your computer but this cleverness could prove troublesome as I've noticed. I have CyberLink DVD Player and Video Editor installed on my computer, and browsing the FX Favourites menu showed that there are numerous CyberLink FX plugins. I thought I would give a try with these plugins, particularly as one with the name "CyberLink Audio Spectrum Analyzer" attracted my attention. Unfortunately none of the plugins worked, most of them resulting in a crash and prompting me to report the error to Sony Creative Software. One FX plugin I tried had a more serious consequence since it sets the program into a situation it can never get out of - on application launch it exits with an error "application has made an attempt to load the C runtime library incorrectly". Even re-installing will not get rid of this problem - you have to use the installation roll-back to revert to the installation state before you tried the plugin. There is a slim chance that this may happen to every user, but the morale of this story is - keep away from trying out FX plugins from other applications which this tool lists as usable; there is no problem in FX plugins that come with this tool (or presumably if you buy additional FX plugins intended for this audio tool).

This tool also allows you to load a video file (assuming that it's DRM free) but work on the audio track as if you just loaded an audio file. When played you see the video frames with nice animation and you can even copy a video frame into an image editor such as Microsoft Paint. Really nice!

The Quick Start Manual (in PDF on disc) as suggested by the title provides a good introduction. There is also help integrated with the program (accessible via the Help menu or F1 key) as well as a "Show Me How" which is a kind of mini e-Learning system that attempts to provide an interactive lesson for a chosen topic. In short, the help system provided to improve the usability of this tool is quite commendable.

The software supplied on disc is Version 10.0 Build 176. Following installation it will happily update to the latest Version 10.0 Build 177 after downloading a huge 142MB exe file.

I am well pleased with this excellent tool, but I didn't like how Sony ties the licence to a particular computer. You will note this when you enter the Product Key as this is linked to a machine ID (but don't as yet know how the machine ID is computed). While software companies are well justified to protect their intellectual property (to use techniques that combat piracy etc.) they shouldn't impose restriction on which machine the software is installed and used. I wish to use this audio tool both on my laptop and desktop under a single user policy rather than as a single machine policy (only one copy used at a given time) but I am yet to find out whether I'm able to install on more than one machine and run the application on which ever computer I choose.

As a matter of principle I do not like software product registration that tries to be intrusive beyond the registration for help and updates. I don't mind my name being linked to the Product Key because this deters copying programs and it's exactly what software companies should be satisfied with and no more. But, software companies should also be able to reverse the process of registration if the software is passed on to different ownership. I quite successfully did this with Magix Movie Edit Pro 17 Plus when I passed on the software to a friend (and re-registered under my friend's name) but not many companies are prepared to do this.

On the other hand, you may also come across software companies with shady practices which coincidentally I came across one just before I purchased this software - the NCH Software which authors the WavePad Audio Editor. WavePad Audio Editor may be a very capable audio tool but I found it as the most intrusive software I have come across so far - it installs numerous programs the user has no clue about; does a lot of data-mining from Registry such as email settings saved by other applications; and if you care to monitor your Registry, worryingly it makes hundreds of changes and makes you wonder what it does to your computer. Well, this is another extreme and I am glad I didn't go ahead with that purchase.

To come back to the good Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10, in addition to the main audio tool, there are also bonus extras:

1) iZotope Vocal Eraser;
2) iZotope Audio Enhancer, and
3) recorded sound effects in wav format - I think over a thousand of them assuming the folder name '1001 Sound FX' is meant to designate the number of sound effects stored under that folder (and sounds about right). A quick browse shows almost all sound effects you can think of - from washing hands, dog barking, to various weapon sounds and alien noises.

If you wish to elevate your skills into a Pro level, this tool has a Professional version with more capabilities, which means you can retain your existing skills and easily pickup advanced ones.

A solid audio recording and editing tool, together with all these extras for under 25 is a real bargain. Get it, and you won't regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Audio Studio does what it says, 6 Jun 2011
By 
P. Morris (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sony Audio Studio 10 is, several times updated, the successor to the old Sound Forge software which did the same job, and in fact its layout is identical. So is the performance. Luckily if it ain't broke don't fix it, so the new software works just as well as the old. The only discernable difference is that Sony now own it and have made sure it will work only on one machine - my old Sound Forge was installed on my PC and my laptop, but that was 10 years ago. The good news is that this "cheap" version of Sound Forge does everything the casual sound editor needs to do, so buying two will not break the bank. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerfull but simple to use., 30 Nov 2011
I've used an earlier version of Soundforge before, so when I needed to edit more music it was the first software that came to mind. It's easy to use but produces excellent results and as it only cost 20 quid (including postage) excellent value for money.
I'm using the software for semi-professional use, creating effect loops and music bites for show jumping competitions, but it's also good for home studio mixing and sound file re-formatting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's almost there!, 3 Aug 2010
By 
James Gh Cowan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just upgraded from version nine and version ten offers no earth shattering newby's. There is still no multi channel facility and it lacks even a basic noise removal filter. However, it is very intuitive, incredibly stable and what you put in is what you get out.The new lessons/tutorials are excellent and support is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony Sound Forge, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Bald Kiwi (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
As I am involved with a local Hospital Radio station, this software has proved useful in preparing items for later broadcast in my programme on the station. I've only given it 4 stars as there are other more capable versions out there, while this is a "light" version of Sony's own professional product, but it does do what I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy-to-use beginner's editing tool, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
An easy-to-use beginner's editing tool with clear instructions. For simple "topping and tailing" this is an ideal product for home studio editing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works really Well, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Upgrade for Win 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music editor for PC, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
A long time ago I used the Pro version for work and I was very impressed with it. This version is the home users version and is equally good for most of your home editing needs and more importantly does not have the pro price tag! It is very easy to use and Sony offer video support for basic editing on their website or via YouTube. I have always found SF fast - much faster than competing products and is not slowed down with bloat. I initially had issues with registration but one quick email to Sony and that got sorted straight away. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sony sound forge audio studio 10, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) (DVD-ROM)
it's ok, sony sound forge audio studio 10 (2011) release (pc).
thank you. good shop. i love it.
bye bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Check out the 2011 Release, 12 April 2012
By 
Kaio (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This audio tool also exists under a different Amazon product code, with the phrase "2011 Release" appended at the end - Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) - which, at the time of this writing, was even slightly cheaper. I think this version can also be upgraded to the 2011 Release after installation, but why not get the 2011 Release one? I have used and reviewed the 2011 Release and you may like to read that review.

I short, the best audio recording, editing, and restoration tool for home use. Note however that my review was based on the 2011 Release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC)
Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 2011 Release (PC) by Sony Creative Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews