Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, steep learning curve
I had read good things about Movie Studio 11 and decided to try it for myself. It lived up to my hopes and I'd strongly recommend it.

There are several versions. Take a look at Sony's product comparison page before deciding which is right for you, although Platinum is probably the right balance for most users: [...]

Vegas isn't the easiest video...
Published on 11 Aug 2011 by Mr Gumby

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but let down by DVD Architect Studio
My first project:
I used Sony Vegas 11 to convert my videos to the recommended inbuilt "DVD Architect Studio" mpeg2 format, create transitions etc.
Then I created all my menus, titles and submenus in "DVD Architect Studio 5" format.
Finally "make DVD" to burn and get "The file is an unsupported format"!
So I tried various other formats including AVI,...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by Open Source hobbyist


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, steep learning curve, 11 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had read good things about Movie Studio 11 and decided to try it for myself. It lived up to my hopes and I'd strongly recommend it.

There are several versions. Take a look at Sony's product comparison page before deciding which is right for you, although Platinum is probably the right balance for most users: [...]

Vegas isn't the easiest video editing product I've used, with a daunting interface, but anyone familiar with free packages such as Microsoft's Movie Maker or Apple's iMovie will find their way around the key areas fairly easily. Once they've done so, it shouldn't take too long to get to grips with some of the more sophisticated features and discover the versatility and power of Vegas. The excellent tutorials make essential viewing and the built-in help is comprehensive.

Maybe you're lucky enough to own a 3D camera, in which case the 3D editing, 3D YouTube upload and 3D Blu-ray authoring capabilities will be valuable. You even get 3D glasses in the box.

Other features are too numerous to mention but the comparison chart (see above) lists them. If all you want to do is chop some of your footage, combine clips, add titles and basic effects, you really don't need anything as powerful as Vegas and would do better with a simpler package. This might be Movie Maker or iMovie (they don't accept AVCHD footage from more-modern camcorders but free converters are widely available). Alternatively, you could pay for Cyberlink PowerDirector which I thought one of the easiest packages to learn despite its strong capabilities.

Vegas ran smoothly on my Win 7 64-bit i7 6GB machine, even though, disappointingly, there's no 64-bit version. I wasn't able to try it on any other PC. Check the system requirements before ordering.

If you're unsure about whether to buy Vegas, get the 30-day trial from the Vegas website first, especially if you have a less-powerful computer. In fact, that's a clever thing to do anyway, because the DVD in the package is unlikely to be the latest build (mine certainly wasn't); install the trial and use the product keys in the package to activate it. You can also download trial versions of competitors such as Corel VideoStudio, Pinnacle Studio and PowerDirector. Me, I've tried them all and will be sticking with Vegas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best amateur movie editor in the world, 2 Aug 2011
By 
CjW "chris" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've reviewed movie editors for Amazon before and I must say that Vegas is far more intuitive and simpler to use, despite being far more competent and capable of professional results (literally). eg To fade in, you drag the visual frame icon corner and a curved line appears, same for fade out, split - you just press 'S' that was a pig to find in Nero and crashed PowerDirector.
Zoom in/out on the time line - like magix did, but nero can't do and I can't find it in Serif either.

I've used
-Power Director 9 (confusing and slow, clunky and made enormous files from small ones - un-installed)

-Magix 16- The simplest and easiest before Vegas, but mine doesn't work on Win 7

-Nero 10 - simpler the worst set of programs I've ever tried to use. (Every included part, even the DVD burn was a
pain - Roxio did it with one click)

-Serif MoviePlus x5 - which is better value than the above and very effective.
Trouble is, you have to buy the extras with Serif, very cheeky!

Windows Movie maker, which was good on Win XP and now that's its on-line (LIVE), well - you can't upload a 1 Gb clip can you? Only good for joining snippets together

Sony Vegas has the extras built in and a separate program included which builds a DVD menu and structure for publishing your finished disc.

Very impressive and very easy to learn with interactive and very good tutorials in the work screen, not some shabby pdf manual you have to down load and find the bits you want your self - that applies to ALL the other software.

This should be your first choice, no need to buy anything else.

I am so relieved to have got it - makes my life so much easier, seriously - its that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony is The Best., 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
I've been editing HD videos mixed with stills since 1997 and used most domestic software that is available.
For what I do, Sony comes out top on features and flexability every time.
Once you get used to the programme, you start realising just how good it is and I've always felt more in control
of what I am doing. The quality of every operation is inspiring and that pushes you to producing a quality end product.
Among the other programmes I've used or tried are Pinnacle, VideoStudio X2 and 4, Prem Elements, Magix 16, Eduis 5,
Cyberlink. There are others but I wont bore you. They are all ok but.........
Although Sony Plat. does not offer Proxy files, you will find smooth previews whatever you throw at it.
It is important not to rush into editing but to learn how to set up a proposed project and it would pay you to spend
some time practising with video clips on the timeline.
If you are patient you will get some amazing results and really enjoy making videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best video editing system but watch out, 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
This is and always has been the best editing system. The only thing that I must tell you is that you must firstly download the Vegas Movie Studio upgrade as instructed when you first open the program. But, even more important, you must also upgrade the DVD Architect program. It does not tell you to do this but the build no. 150 which comes on this DVD does not accept the audio stream. You must get on to the Sony Creative Software website and download the latest update for build no. 156 which corrects this error.

Having said that, both programs are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movies Made Easy, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Ragnar - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
I have yet to use the DVD Architect software and have no intention of exploring the movie editor's 3D caability, but for editing video this is an excellent program, and even more so when you consider how reasonably priced it is.

I used a previous version (6 with Windows XP) and found it excellent. This version is compatible with Windows 7 (in my case, Ultimate, 32 bit). It is a joy to use and I find it remarkably intuitive, though that may be partly due to having used the earlier version.

The program comes with a range of transition effects, but to me the best thing about it visually is the ease and control available to the editor using cross-fades. You have complete control over length by simple overlap

Its audio editing capability is excellent too, though if you don't find it enough for your needs you can always export audio to your favoured audio editor and import it back. Sony would obviously like it if you used their own product (Sound Forge) for this purpose, but you can link Vegas to any audio editor you want, including Audacity, which is free.

I find Vegas very stable and a pleasure to ease. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars movie maker, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Peter Storr (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
£22 for vegas vs £539 for premier. it does everything premier does and everything microsoft movie maker doesnt. And cheap enough that its not even worth the hassle of torrenting it. it can be a touch confusing to start with but read the help tips and you'll soon pick it up.
WORTH EVERY PENNY! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars avchd editing, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
First I would have to say ,I am 74 years old, so a bit, (no a lot ) slow.
The Sony Vegas for me was quite difficult to understand. The instructions beit on line or the how do you do it, were very poor. But after a lot of trial and error
I think I am getting there. So I would have to rate the product as first class.
A great shame about the instructions, someone should write a book on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best home video editor is not yet perfect, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
All the press reviews of this editor have consistently placed it at the top of the class. It does have a steep learning curve but once you have learned how to do what you want editing is quick. Version 11 has much improved titling which in earlier versions was rudimentary and is the only reason I upgraded from 10. It is ideally coded for a two monitor setup as all the windows can be undocked and placed where you want.

Video projects are prepared for burning on DVD or Blu-ray in a separate program called DVD Architect. This is frequently updated and can be downloaded for free once you have made a one-off payment for a licence. It is initially difficult to use, but after a few hours of self training using the help provided one realises what a lot of control over the menu system one has. However there are a few problems as described by the reviewer who gave it 2 stars and its inability to burn a full HD AVCHD project to a standard DVD (as far as I can see).

Plenty has already been said about this editor so I won't say more. However, I think it now has a real competitor in the home market, namely Avid Studio, the successor to Pinnacle Studio. This is easier to use particularly for previous Pinnacle users, gives comparable results, is equally fast or faster, burns AVCHD to DVD and has a useful interactive graphic overview of the timeline placed just below the timeline. I like both editors but they both have annoying drawbacks. See my review of Avid Studio, Upgrade Edition from Pinnacle Studio 9 or higher, Liquid Edition v.6, or Avid Liquid 7 (PC) to read my further comments.

Sony Vegas is substantially cheaper than Avid and this may be the decider for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what you see is not always what you get, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
Ordered the version 11 at £19.99 and received the production suite version selling for £22.99. That was a nice surprise although it was the OEM (disk only) version and not a boxed item. That said it came within 2 days and is running on a five year old laptop with no problems. For the casual home movie maker this rocks. Don,t waste time trying to figure out how to use it, look for the user tutorials on YouTube, stacks of help and advice out there. Very very pleased with my purchase and the service from the vendor, top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie Editor, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) (Software)
Bought to replace my Pinnacle Studio 14 software which stopped putting the menu on the disc. I have only had this package a short time but found it easy to install and it appears to work well. Not as intuitive as the pinnacle software but after burning test samples, it appears to provide good results. A lot of referencing the tutorials required to learn this software but probably worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC)
Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 (PC) by Sony Creative Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews