Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampyrs are Alive
As reviewed on my 2000AD blog Brit Cit Reviews.

The first in a trilogy of novels by David Bishop, Operation Vampyr begins the story of the Rumanian Vampyr soldiers as previously seen in the legendary 1980s strip Fiends of the Eastern Front (it isn't neccesary to have read the original strip to be able to read the books however). Like the original strip,...
Published on 22 Mar. 2012 by Tim Allan

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More horrible than horror
Given that the brief 2000ad series which this trilogy is based on has stayed firmly buried in my head for over 20 years it's fair to say that the premise here is pretty solid, However this effort is simply abysmal. Sloppy in every area, your disbelief would need to levitate rather than just suspend to follow the plot without grimacing. It's almost as if the author decided...
Published on 26 Jan. 2009 by Oisin O. Ceallaigh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampyrs are Alive, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
Tim Allan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As reviewed on my 2000AD blog Brit Cit Reviews.

The first in a trilogy of novels by David Bishop, Operation Vampyr begins the story of the Rumanian Vampyr soldiers as previously seen in the legendary 1980s strip Fiends of the Eastern Front (it isn't neccesary to have read the original strip to be able to read the books however). Like the original strip, Operation Vampyr tells the tale from the perspective of the Germans, as they begin to uncover the truth about their Rumanian allies. Fortunatly these aren't crazed deranged Nazis we're talking about, these soldiers are just ordinary men fighting for their country. The main protaginists are the three Vollmer brothers, one an infantryman, one a tank commander, and one a pilot. The three characters are introduced individually with their stories gradually coming together roughly two thirds of the way through the novel. Each of the characters has their own encounter with the Rumanian Vampyr's, which recall memories of the original comic strip.

The story itself rattles along at breakneck pace, never allowing the reader to grow bored. Bishop's writing manages to effectively convey the horrors of war even when the Vampyrs aren't present. Indeed, I could probably have quite happily read this even if the supernatural element hadn't been present, and it had instead been a straight forward war story. The supernatural elements are however what make the novel go from being merely good to being genuinly great. The leader of the Vampyr's (as in the comic strip) is Lord Constanta, who is every bit the classic Vampyr. Suave and sophisticated when trying to appear normal, Constanta becomes a genuinly nasty villain as soon as what he truly is is revealed, and like all good villains gets some very memorable speechs. As well as the horrors of war, we also get to see the horrors inflicted by the Vampyr's. Some of the scenes in the novel are particularly nasty, perhaps most notably being the Russian POW camp, where the prisoners are slowly drained of blood untill they die. Its not just the bad guys who get the nasty scenes however, as the heroes of the novel viciously torture one of the Vampyrs in a particularly gruesome few pages.

As the first book in a trilogy, Operation Vampyr is an absolute belter. With a story which never lets up in its relentless pace, and characters whom the reader is made to genuinly care about, Operation Vampyr is far more than the mere pulp fiction you may imagine it to be at first glance. Exciting, dramatic, and with a final page which nicely sets up the rest of the trilogy, Operation Vampyr comes highly recommended. Considering how cheaply a second hand copy can now be found online, there's really no reason not to give this a try. I can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good unlikely horror with a war twist, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Priscilla Lyons-Booth (Lancing, W. Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like tales of Dracula, Transylvania and vampires you will love this series which uses the Eastern Front of WW2 as its setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More horrible than horror, 26 Jan. 2009
By 
Given that the brief 2000ad series which this trilogy is based on has stayed firmly buried in my head for over 20 years it's fair to say that the premise here is pretty solid, However this effort is simply abysmal. Sloppy in every area, your disbelief would need to levitate rather than just suspend to follow the plot without grimacing. It's almost as if the author decided that if the reader is willing to believe in vampires then they're game for any ridiculous turn of events. Buy the reissue of the classic comic strip, avoid this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One star because I cant give zero!, 5 Sept. 2006
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was a great idea; Romanian Vampires hidden amongst the Axis forces on the Russian Front. Its a perfect place to hide for these creatures on one of the most barbaric fronts of World War Two but how disappointing. I thought it might be Sven Hassel meets Anne Rice but sadly not. Its just didnt grip me at all.

If you are 14 or under you might like this but I just could not get in to it.

I did like the comic strip from 2000AD it was based on, so I would recommend that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 6 Jan. 2006
By 
Very easy to pick up and read and keeps the plot running smoothly. Once I started reading it I had problems keeping away from it.
describes the feeling of war really well and some great chapters, as well plenty of twists and surprises.
cant think of any bad points within the book so im giving it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awful, 12 April 2006
The worst book I have ever read, bar none.
The plot is paper thin, the characterisation is as clumsy as a sumo on stilts, it's as predictable as Brazil winning the World Cup and there's more suspense in broken elastic. A great premise totally failed by the sloppiest of sloppy writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 25 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didnt expect this book to change my life
it is however a good read that I enjoyed.

If you want an entertaining book to read and to pass the time this will do

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews