Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value, brilliant music, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
As much of Elvis Presley's catalogue is now over 50 years old, it has fallen out of copyright. This has resulted in a slew of cheap, nasty compilations from unknown record labels simply trying to cash in. Thankfully this 3CD Set does not fall into that category, being compiled and issued by the "rightful owner" of the sounds, RCA Victor themselves (now part of the Sony Group). As they originally held the copyright, the record company have actually been quite clever with this compilation by including a few tracks which are not yet out of copyright - therefore stealing a march on the cheapskate opportunists, who won't be able to release these tracks for a year or so yet. No doubt a newer compilation will be released later to keep them one step ahead. Good thinking!

So what we have here is an excellent, if rather unfocused, compilation of 90 tracks from the first years of Elvis's success. I say unfocused, as there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason in the order the tracks appear, other than that the majority of the hits are on the first two discs, with the third being, in the main, a collection of his finest religious recordings from the period. To my untrained ear, the vast majority of the tracks appear to be the original recordings; unfortunately the packaging does not confirm this, merely informing us, rather bafflingly, that in most cases that the track was recorded before 1972.

This is an ideal way to start an Elvis collection, or to replace some of your old vinyl with an excellent value compilation. All the early hits are here; "Heartbreak Hotel", "All Shook Up", Jailhouse Rock", "Love Me, Tender", "Hound Dog", "Are You Lonesome Tonight" - I could go on. Some of his best early performances, such as "That's All Right" and "Mystery Train" are also included, as are some of the film songs, such as "GI Blues", "Wooden Heart", "Loving You" and many others.

My only (very minor) gripe goes back to the order of the tracks. I would have preferred it to be along the lines of the similarly named "Real Johnny Cash" set, where the tracks are ordered chronologically in six full albums, with "bonus tracks" from the appropriate period inserted in between them.

Despite that, I really can't recommend this set highly enough. Ninety tracks at an amazing price! You'd be daft to miss out!

PLEASE NOTE - If you are reading this review, and thinking of buying this product, please make sure you are on the correct page for the three disc (90 track) version, as there is also an identically titled, and VERY similarly packaged version which has only one CD with 30 tracks on it. Amazon has posted my review on both pages for some reason, although I only reviewed the 3CD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Elvis, 25 Sep 2011
By 
S. A. Stringer (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
Iam a huge Elvis fan and this cd is just another great title to have in any collection!!! Fab! Fantastic! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at threepence a track - cheaper than a download!, 15 Sep 2011
By 
J. T. Meddle (Lancing, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
This is an astounding compilation of 90 songs by Elvis. It covers a wide range, in several styles, from well-known hits to lesser-known love songs, many of which are beautifully-rendered and ought to be played more often, since they show the superb vocal talent that Elvis offered to the world. Of course the tracks aren't in any specific order - that's a job covered better by individually-named LPs and/or box-sets of the Master-recordings. Best to treat this set as a sampler, to play anywhere, anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and recording quality, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
Disc 1 is mainly the very early stuff, very good.
Disc 2 a good mixture, although inevitably some important tracks - in my opinion - are missing.
Disc 3 contains too much of Elvis's religious work, there are plenty of albums specifically covering these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
I love anything this beautiful man has done. I like most Elvis fans have so many repeats of stuff it is so exciting when you can get something that you haven't already got him singing, this would be a good one to start a collection with though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
Great CD with some of Elvis`s old songs love to play it in my car. Would recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley I just can't Help Believing, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (MP3 Download)
Well I've been an ELVIS FAN for many Years, I just wanted this Song, So I could play it in my car,
I JUST CAN'T HELP BELIEVING in many things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only One., 17 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
There is and will only ever be one Elvis Presley,thank goodness we have his legacy to recall just how good he was.It is a pity he never came to these shores although would we have had the capacity to house one of the greatsest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Elvis (MP3 Download)
Have been a ELVIS fan since he first burst on the scene,in 1956 he can,t do nothing wrong would reccomend this to anyone who likes good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BARGAIN OF THE CENTURY!, 31 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Real Elvis (Audio CD)
Are you kidding? 90 original tracks by the King RCA labeled and mastered and sound great? YES! Glossy deluxe gatefold packaging, shrinkwrap protected? YES! At this price? YES! Don't miss out! What a spectacular gift for a fan you know or yourself! You will be ALL SHOOK UP! Completely spectacular....beyond belief! Buy it NOW! Trust me....and please comment back here when you are thrilled with this set! Best Elvis value I've ever seen/heard...bar none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Elvis
The Real Elvis by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews