Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Early Miles, 9 May 2012
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
This 3cd set of early Miles Davis pieces is a very tasty bargain at under £3. Material is culled from many of his classic fifties albums, including the iconic Kind of Blue (So What; Blue in Green; All Blues). Other albums include Round About Midnight ( Dear Old Stockholm; Tadd's Delight; Ah-Leu-Cha (live)), Porgy & Bess (Summertime; My Man's Gone Now; Bess, You is my Woman Now; It Ain't Necessarily So), Miles Ahead (The Duke; My Ship: a beautifully mellow duo), Milestones (Straight,No Chaser; Two Bass Hit; Sid's Ahead), all rated as outstanding Davis albums by Penguin Jazz Guide.

There's also material from other albums, plus some later versions of pieces from a 1974 set, and the sound quality throughout is very good. As an introduction to some of the 'cream' of early Miles, and at such a bargain price, it would be almost ideal, except for the fact that none of the source albums are listed, only dates given, so the beginner won't have a clue what to follow-up, esp given how productive these years were. Real laziness by Sony, and really an 'own goal' given how this set could have been used as a 'signpost' to boost sales of the many great albums featured.

Despite this, it remains a great introduction to one of Davis most productive periods. If you like what you hear on this set, the most cost effective way to aquire most of his greatest fifties albums (largely featured here) is to grab the wonderful Real Gone Jazz box set Miles Davis: 20 Classic Albums (10CD), currently for sale at less than £14, and mouth-wateringly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction, 16 Aug 2011
By 
P. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
When you look at the current price for this CD set you'd think that it is just another poor quality set from an unknown record company, but this set is by Sony who are the owners of the original recordings via Columbia Records. The sound quality is excellent and all the key tracks from the 1950's appear here, the packaging is quite good though you can see that Sony is trying to save a little money. Still, this is a great introduction to Miles Davis and would make an ideal gift for someone who is curious about Jazz but doesn't know where to start - Miles Davis is a great way to start a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Coollection, 13 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
Good music at a very good price.The tracks that have me foxed are Love For Sale,Stella and Green Dolphin.I guess they are from the 1958 sessions,with Julian Adderley and John Coltrane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 9 April 2013
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
As a rather latecomer to Miles Davis, I first purchased Kind Of Blue and Round About Midnight. Superb in everyway - Kind of Blue being my all time favourite. But I then went looking for a reasonable collection of his work that spanned the decades. I purchased The Essential Miles Davis and all seemed well. But missing from my collection was 'On Green Dolphin Street.' The hunt continued. And here it is with 'The Real Miles Davis' 3CD collection and what a fantastic price.

As with others I was hesitant at first thinking the cheapness meant dodgy release - not so. No worries. Excellent quality of sound and yes, 'On Green Dolphin Street' is included in its full version. The only downside is the missing detail on the recordings and which LPs they are taken from but, hey ho, so what! It makes you just want to go and find out, read-up on this jazz miestro and enjoy even more. Well done Sony. And well done Amazon for keeping the price very attractive.

Oh yes, 'On Green Dolphin Street' is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what only £3.49?, 18 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
Damn!!, only £3.49, I've just spent £6.00 on a second hand copy, still good value though. A fantastic collection I can listen too when I'm too lazy to play vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles of Davis, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
Good variety and excellent value for money. Bought for a nephew to introduce him to the joy of Miles Davis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Miles, 8 Nov 2012
By 
D. F. Bailey (St. Austell Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great compilation of Miles Davis's best tracks. The quality is very good and downloaded without any hitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Miles Davis, 26 Jan 2012
A "Must Have" for anyone new to Miles - and a surprisingly "often played" album for those of us who have been fans for decades. Good sound quality, wide pallet of tracks and excellent value. What more could you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC JAZZ AT IT'S BEST, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Miles Davis (Audio CD)
This is a must CD for any one who is interested in Jazz OR Miles Davis,
In general, This collection is a superb introduction for people new,
To jazz OR miles Davis as it is for those who are more familiar with,
His Music + ALL this fantastic music on (3) CD's for £2.99!!!,
You can't go wrong!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Miles Davis
The Real Miles Davis by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews