Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars24
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2014
Over all I enjoyed the story, although I have to say that I didn't feel it had that smooth flow which I like in a novel. However the mix betwwen the brutalitiy of the the Great War and the mystery that surrounded the regiment was nicely balanced. The story line was something completely different, possibly a little to far fetched but who knows..... I would thank the author for an enjoyable read, but I don't think I would go out of my way to read anything further he's written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
A young American goes looking for adventure in the hope of tracing his roots back in England. He decides to enrol in the British army, where he learns adventure is not all it is cracked up to be.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Full of historical inaccuracies, clichés and stereotypical characters. The storyline was too far fetched to be believable. Did not enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
It's a pity that the author insists on making his English characters constantly speak in American English, it's incredibly annoying. The Kindle version is also absolutely full of typos and sentences that have added or lost words which make them nonsensical. There are also several instances of completely wrong words being used. It's a good story, not particularly well told and spoilt by silly errors. The material and story line should have made a great read but sadly, not in this instance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
They say you should write about what you know.
Obviously Paul Westwood knows nothing about the Great War.
Utter tripe
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I haven't read many fictional books set during WWI I mostly read those set during WWII or more modern times or, the America Civil War. I enjoyed this book. It is a book about friendship, bravery, a boy from a foreign country looking to fight for his mother's country and along the way meets friends, tries to survive against murderous corruption and in the end, finds love.

Try the book, it is rather good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
This was a promising story and well thought out, and highly believable for the most part. It is only let down by what appeared to be a rushed finish that didn't mirror the easy pace to the earlier chapters.

One bug-bear.... Written in modern American English, with words such as gotten in it that probably wouldn't have been used at the time. Only minor, but annoying at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Interesting book, i've read it in couple of days even if when i bought it as free i wasn't excepting so much of it.
But finally i've enjoyed it.
And it is what i called an good discovery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
It was an ok story but I kept thinking at any moment Edmund Blackadder & Baldrick would turn up. Even though the hero was an American too much of the British stiff upper lip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
New kindle fire for my birthday downloaded several freebie books.
This read was short and superb reading ...deceptively moorish though.
Thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.