Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supermarket life
On the face of it this is just life behind the scenes at a supermarket but it is actually very much more than this. After 20 years as a priest Simon Parke decided the life is not for him. But is life as a supermarket worker any better? Incidents involving staff and customers are related with humour and insight. Even trivial happenings tell us something about life in...
Published on 29 Jun. 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
This book was readable, even gentle amusing in parts
Published 4 months ago by Craig Bishop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supermarket life, 29 Jun. 2009
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the face of it this is just life behind the scenes at a supermarket but it is actually very much more than this. After 20 years as a priest Simon Parke decided the life is not for him. But is life as a supermarket worker any better? Incidents involving staff and customers are related with humour and insight. Even trivial happenings tell us something about life in general. The biggest insight I got from this book is that life is what you make it - if you're miserable - like Winston - then your life will be miserable.

Having worked in a supermarket myself I found this book fascinating and very true to life. Drawing a moral from each story might seem a little pious but Simon Parke's writing style and his self deprecating humour lifts it onto another plain entirely. I loved the supermarket workers themselves - Winston, Sapphy, Faith, Caspar and the managers Pinochio - because he never tells the truth, Kong - because he looks like the film character. All have their own hopes and fears and outside interests. Together the staff are from the four corners of the world and many different religions but in the main they work together reasonably harmoniously.

This is an interesting little book and easy to read and it may just make you see your life differently. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 8 Aug. 2010
This is a superb book. Simon Parke felt compelled, after 20 years, to give up his job of Parish Priest, but found the only place willing to take him on was a supermarket on their shopfloor. From this unpromising and potentially gloomy starting point, Parke manages to craft a book that is full of insight, humour, wisdom, and poignancy. It has a wonderful lightness of touch, very funny lines and observations, and utterly convincing character portraits as we become acquainted with his colleagues and regular customers. It's a very revealing insight into the workings of our major supermarkets - his trip to the gleaming headquarters to represent a colleague in a tribunal particularly harrowing in its contrast with the working environment of those facing the customers on the front line. It's deceptively simply written, completely without pretension, yet in gently reminding us of the consumer age in which we live, extremely salutory. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great for delivering pearls of wisdom amongst entertaining anecdotes. I have actually already started reading it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny book, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A funny book to read, esp. for those who have worked in a supermarket, how very true the things that go on in the opening hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Human nature - a review, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
Most types of men and women wander down the aisles. Some come to buy and some serve, often reluctantly. They come with other matters on their minds, some tragic, some merely mundane, some only interested in the profit motive. But all are important to them. Most of the people we meet are introduced sympathetically;just a few confirm our fears about supermarkets. As a penetrating insight into life in a supermarket this could not be bettered. The seemingly endless shelves stacked with all life's wants take on a new meaningViola Magnifico F1 Hybrid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks good - will read first before review - bis I've seen are funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Craig Bishop (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was readable, even gentle amusing in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shelflife, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Ernestmcheesman (lancashire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
excellent reading enjoyed it very much. Still waiting for delivery of mary berrys complete cook book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews