Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars24
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2014
Errr...this is a strange vehicle for Depardieu, in my view. Not his 'usual' fare...There are moments which puzzle...like the cousin episode which rather threw me...on the other hand the motorcycle, for me, is the star of the show...a Münch "Mammoth" 1200 TTS, potentially built in the 1960's, a throaty, no nonsense bike... a good enough reason for me to purchase this rather bizarre movie...you, on the other hand, may have a different agenda.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
An in capitalist Europe amazingly clear Communist Manifesto! In the film, the deportee in lousy pension Depardieu goes (we know, in reality, he's a millionaire and has taken refuge as a tax refugee in Putin's territory), former Slaughterhouse worker, the career path of his life goes to show pension entitlements by the effort. His previous employers were all rascals, have him either black paid nowhere logged exploited only on shabby manner. A sobering that makes him flee in the arms of his niece "Miss Ming", which cleverly continues to receive the pension of her long-dead father (adored Greek structures?). He escapes into her "Art Brut" (defined as the art of the mentally ill or social outsiders). In the end he makes the pension evidence a garbage artwork, writes a poem and is (after initial frustration) reconciled in principle with the simplicity of his pension existence. Cursed career and wayward dreams (Isabelle Adjani) ticked. Arrived in solidarity with his wife, a supermarket clerk. No film for young people who should try to take up a profession. But one for retirees who stupidly are fixed in nostalgic for their gone professions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
you need courage to display yourself as G Depardieu does here, therefore "chapeux"! A French road movie is by default something out of the ordinary, however here the reason for the trip - which is usually weak in most road movies - makes a lot of sense: to collect evidence to support filing the request for full pension. The overall feeling is rather depressing, because we deal with aging, changes in the world we knew and mean people. However, it is recommednded
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
An unusual film for Gerard Depardieu to make, but he carries the momentum well. The flashback scenes jar at first but make sense later, and who needs an excuse to watch Isobelle Adjani grace the screen. However the real high point for motorcycle fans are the glimpses of the Munch Mammuth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
A beautiful picture portraying the simplicity of how life simply vanishes into work.
An amazing frank and touching performance from Depardieu. This was emphasised by the raw filming and complimented by the other actors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Gerard Depardieu is watchable in most films but this left me puzzled. I had seen good reviews elsewhere and expected a great film but it really is a bit quirky. Some scenes were out of context and unnecessary to the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 October 2011
Forced to retire from his job at a meatpacking firm, Serge (Gerard Depardieu), a bloated, mammouth-like former hippy biker, long hair still straggling down his back in greying locks, is at a loss how to spend his time, and is reduced to petty wrangling with the supermarket assistant on the cooked meat counter.

After a life of dead end jobs, his pension record is patchy, and his wife Catherine (Yolande Moreau) sends him off on the bike he hasn't ridden for years to obtain evidence of past employment to fill the gaps. There follows a sequence of amusing or poignant scenes, involving meetings with unsympathetic bosses or puzzling round buildings long ago changed to an unfamiliar use, culminating in Serge's meeting with the artistic, and probably also autistic daughter of a former friend. At this point, I thought Serge begins to recover a sense of his lost youth, or perhaps a period of liberation he has never had. Like a motorcycle out of control, the story does not end here but careers on in ever more fanciful images. We see a naked Depardieu squatting at the side of a pool - leaving me only with the sense that it must be the mark of a great actor to be capable of such unashamed lack of inhibition. Returning from his travels in a flowing caftan, arms spread wide in a universal blessing, he seems to have had some kind of revelation, but what does it all mean? Perhaps you may feel intrigued to watch this and tell me.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Not so good as I had hoped, but will watch again as I am sure to have missed some details which will make a difference.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Not as good as the trailer suggested as is with most films. Disappointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Quirky and whimsical, everything a good foreign language film should be.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.