Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff From Dan!
I loved this book - it's like having Dan along side you talking through his vast experience in the world of training and lifting.

This is a pleasure - i've been following Dan's advice and enjoying his writing since some of the early internet forums, so to have so much wit and wisdom at your fingertips is wonderful.

This is not a 'how to manual' in...
Published on 25 July 2009 by S. Cork

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time
Dan John is a man who is well respected in the field of weight lifting and body building. I have read lots on the topic of weightlifting and conditioning and John is often referenced. I was excited to get to grips with the methods of a man who has been alluded to in so much of what I draw influence from. I was disappointed.

The book itself is a collection of...
Published 17 months ago by Charles M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff From Dan!, 25 July 2009
By 
S. Cork "Steve Cork" (Haywards Heath, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book - it's like having Dan along side you talking through his vast experience in the world of training and lifting.

This is a pleasure - i've been following Dan's advice and enjoying his writing since some of the early internet forums, so to have so much wit and wisdom at your fingertips is wonderful.

This is not a 'how to manual' in terms of technical instruction. As the title suggests, it's more the philosophy behind it. That said it contains lots of ideas and programmes you can do along with the why's behind them.

My impression is that we don't have such a culture of lifting and therefore don't have easy access to great coaches in the UK. Therefore Dan's words are probably even more essential this side of the pond.

Get the book! (Got mine through Dave Draper's site) It will teach you lots, make you laugh, and add another layer to your understanding, appreciation and importantly application to training.

Thanks Coach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspiring, 22 Oct 2009
By 
M. GEORGE "Magnus" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you know Coach Dan John at all, then you will know that what he writes is worth reading. You might have seen the online download "From The Ground Up". This book, derived largely from his posts on Tnation and so on, is a compendium packed full of no-nonsense information. It is very well-written, every section has something you can implement, and his focus on old-fashioned hard work is just what we need as an antidote to much of modern so-called fitness writing. But more than this, the lessons in the book are I feel universal, and the subtitle is not at all pompous or pretentious. The lessons contained in this volume are applicable to so much of life. I had a copy rushed to me from the US, and cannot recommend it too highly. As a companion to Marty Gallagher's "Purposeful Primitive" and the books by Pavel Tsatsouline, this book is in good company. Add in Frank Forencich's "Play as if your life depends on it" and I think you are set. Together, they are all you really need to get informed, get motivated, and get stuck in. As for this book, it's probably a shame that a lot of people looking into training works will pass it by, settling instead for a generic weight training guide that will just be more of the same old nonsense that keeps getting recycled. Buy this one instead and find out about all the new old school stuff that works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Let Go: A Philosophy of Lifting, Living and Learning (Kindle Edition)
Dan's style of writing is humourous but at the same time very informative. He gives some great ideas for workouts, reiterates the principles that underpin a successful and long lifting career through emphasising nutrition, rest and solid consistent training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book and worth reading, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book and pretty informative, albeit I could not get anything revolutionary out of it as far as my workouts are concerned; I've read the author's articles before (T-Nation) and that might be the reason for it. It still managed to give food for thought though - therefore I gave it four stars. The author has a witty sense of humor and it makes the reading more enjoyable compared to some other training books.

For someone looking new ideas for their training regimen this is the book to look for, if you can get a good deal for it (I paid a little too much).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Never Let Go: A Philosophy of Lifting, Living and Learning (Kindle Edition)
Very inspirational book with loads of common sense ideas to becoming an alpha male. Easy read throughout, I enjoyed it a great deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 31 Jan 2012
I just wish I had this book 20 years ago, amazing content, the only exercise book I reread on a regular basis, and I still learn new things from it. If you want to learn how to train yourself and others, just get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 7 Dec 2010
A great book, well worth the money for anyone with even a passing interest in lifting heavy things, getting bigger, stronger, fitter, losing weight. With some good advice, lessons you don't have to learn yourself as Dan John has been there and done it already (the good, the bad and the ugly) and lots of good ideas for different training programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read, training like it should be, 3 Nov 2010
If your stuck with machines, like biceps and chest pumps buy this book. This will change your life to the better, you will get stronger, faster and learn a lot more about traning and training ideas. The book is also very well written, easy and fun to read.

A must have for people who trains and for trainers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 20 Sep 2010
If you have any interest in exercise, fat loss, strength training or athletic performance at any level, you ought to read this. Dan's teachings are worth a lot more than the cover price, and this book has paid for itself many times over in my household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Let Go-by Dan John., 16 Aug 2011
Dan John will go down as one of the best writers in the iron game.
This book will change your mindset into just what it takes to get in shape.
A huge amount of info that is easy to understand -not to mention a huge dose of motivation.
Love it -so much read it 3 times.
Ian Duckett-trainer- author on amazon kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews