Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2011
Red White & Blue is very much a film of two halves that almost entirely juxtapose one another.

The first is a subtle, dialogue-free character study about Erica, a young woman (played with a wonderfully quiet desperation by Amanda Fuller) who drifts though life, lost in the world, diving into bed with every man she meets simply in order to foundation her loneliness. It's a beautiful, transcendent montage of cinematographic successes.

The revenge-driven second half takes an astonishingly drastic U-turn as Erica's love life suddenly goes sour. Director Simon Rumley (The Living & The Dead) cranks up the tension and ups the violence to literally excruciating levels as he perfectly orchestrates a brutally aggressive, hideously violent powerhouse of a climax.

Rumley directs with a fantastic cinematic energy, performances are incredible all round and the film as a whole is a visual feast. Whilst some may find certain elements too challenging (the first half of the film is almost entirely free of dialogue), others will understand the sublime storytelling quality and emotional depth on display here.

Embrace what is one of the most beautiful and significant artistic ambitions this year, Red White & Blue.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
This beautifully imaginative revenge drama delivers everything to un-ease - SHOCK AND HORRIFY from its inspirational and deeply emotional beggining to its harrowing middle till the sick and twisted ending, not that heavy on gore and violence but the brutality does not let go in the end part of the film as the cruelty and grotesque scenes of revenge murder will give you all the horrible images to your mind because of how much strenght lies glued to the off - screen savagery. its been a while since I have seen an actual disturbing and relentless movie, its beautifully uncompromising and very surreal, an unbelievably sexually charged and vile sadistic tale of friendship, life , pain and revenge.

now this you must buy its gripping and a movie never to be forgotten.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
This is a very clever and thoughtful film that has a real warmth to it. The first half of the film looks at two characters. I woman who sleeps with lots of men and an ex-veteran who was disturbed as a child. Then we get reintroduced to a band member who becomes the third main character in the film. This is an Amazing film, all three characters are both likable or unlikeable depending on the scene. Your opinions and perceptions of the characters, why the act the way they do and do the things they do, change constantly throughout the film. The final scenes in the movie have a very violent tone but actually most of the violence in implied as apposed to shown. A film that many non-horror fans would also like.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 December 2012
I've given this three stars mainly for acting but as for the film as a whole I'd say it's quite slow and the ending feels rushed.

***SPOILER ALERT***
Erica(Amanda Fuller)is a promiscuous girl who we see sleep with countless men and eventually find out she was raped by her mother's boyfriend when she was four.Erica reluctantly gets to befriend nate who tells her about how he used to torture animals when he was a kid(OMG!! run for the hills Erica) & was honourable discharged from the military.They then get into a relasonship and when all's going well Erica is kidnapped from a bar by a guy who erica had unprotected sex with during a threesome and has realised she deliberately infected him with HIV.He then tries to get her to marry him but when she refuses he ties her up in the basement and when his mother dies he loses it and stabs her,in a panic he calls his friends who try to get her to the hospital but she dies and they cut off her head.This is when we get a rushed ending of nate basically torturing all those involved in order to get erica's head and body so he can bury her,the part where nate starts to skin a guy alive is quite disturbing and then it ends with him going to visit his sister.6/10
review image
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2012
Almost every person in this film had a redeeming feature, which made me care for them to some level and made it very difficult to take sides at many points. I thought the acting was terrific too by everyone in it. I was gripped throughout. Low budget I suspect but fantastic quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
A wonderfull film,its a gritty social type drama with lots of twists and turns,quite a bit of sex and horror
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
If you've seen the Director's previous 'The Living and The Dead' you'll know he's not afraid to confront the darker side of humanity and throw a harsh spotlight upon it.
I don't really want to say anything about the plot, so I'll just state that this is not a contender for bloodiest film. It's not a 'Martyrs' or 'Haute Tension', it is a dialogue-heavy, character-driven film. The performances throughout are superb, but 'Shine's Noah Taylor simply blew me away!
One for older (30+) viewers perhaps?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This film left me exhausted and drained.
What a fantastic sick and twisted little movie based on themes of love friendship revenge and retribution.
It starts off slowly then builds impetus until at the end it's like un uncontrollable runaway juggernaut.
It also features one of the nastiest scenes i've seen in a long time.
( When you see the scene with the killer, parents and child you'll see what i mean).
The beginning is a kaleidoscope of images with no dialogue which is confusing at first, but one the film settles down its like a punch to the solar plexus.
Totally recommended
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
So good that I had to buy it.Solid production
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
SOMETIMES ONE FORGET TO REACT ON A REALLY CALCULATED SADISTIC RAW PAYBACK LIKE IN THIS FILM.
FOR THE FIRST TIME I FIND MYSELF SITTING HER LOOKING AT SUCH A VIOLENT MAN AS SOME SORT OF HERO.
AN EYE FOR AN EYE EXPRESSION, IS NOTHING COMPARED TO THIS MANS REVENGE ON BEHALF OF THE GIRL
THAT GAVE HIM SOME FRIENDSHIP IN THE MIDDLE OF A DARK LIFE.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.34

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)